Our Reviews

Feedback for Car Hire Excess Insurance has been compiled from 227 customer reviews:

Easy to purchase and very good value. Much cheaper than the insurance offered by the car hire companies.

Very good indeed

Easy to organise,competitive price. Happily I didn’t have to make a claim.

Great Company. Very easy to deal with. Price six times lower than hire company. Thankyou

Very good service - gave me peace of mind that I would be covered if needed be. Will use again.

Very clear and easy to understand with no hidden issues.

COULD NOT HAVE BEEN EASIER ,WOULD USE AGAIN 5*

excellent and simple too

Straight forward process. No reason to doubt the adequacy of the cover provided. Hopeful not to need to claim on policy but just in case!

Excellent response times.

Very economical and trust company I would recommend it

Quick and easy and far better value than what care hire company costed

Fairly straight forward site to use. Slightly expensive for vans, although that seems to be the same for all companies. Shame that it could not be done annually as with cars.

I bought this with the USA add on to help me rent a car in the USA. When I arrived at the rental desk to pick up the car and showed the “reduce my excess” paperwork if was pointed out that 3rd party coverage was not included and therefore I still had to buy the rental company additional insurance package.

We added a comment , by Customer Service Team:

Hi there, Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear that you are unhappy and that the cover purchased was not as required. We do not offer the third party coverage under our car hire scheme, we offer full CDW cover for the value of the vehicle up to the policy limit in the USA and Canada, but we do not cover third party damages. What our cover provides is specified via our website. Kind regards Rebecca

Excellent service, have renewed with them several times and fortunately never had to use the policy. There are a lot of con artists in the car hire market out there and I hope this protection never has to be used against them

Excellent support

Very simple site to use

Very easy to arrange

Everything was easy to book.

Booked a policy in my hudband's name for a 4 day trip recent to Portugal. I then found an old policy with me as a named driver (at no extra cost) and made enquiries to have my name added. Was notified it would cost an extra £18+ so I declined as I did not wish to drive on this occasion. Fast forward to pick up rental at airport. Booking made and paid for by me on my credit card, as was excess policy but rental company would not release the car unless it was in my husband's name. He never uses his credit card (only kept for emergencies) All good so far but he couldn't remember his pin number and accessed his app which allowed him access to all his account details but sadly would not show his pin number. 15 attempts later and after everal.phonecalls to.card provider proved unsuccessful. Had long talks at the rental desk and we managed to drive out of Lisbon Airport some 3 hours later, had car pick up booked for 9.30am but left airport at 12.30pm. Original booking had to be cancelled and a new booking made in my name, paid with for with my card and my husband listed as a named driver. I contacted your company and explained my dilemma asking to add my name to policy as per rental company advise as the policy needed to be in the name on car hire agreement. I was told that it couldn't be done. I then asked if I could cancel the policy and buy a new one , again I was told that it was not possible since the car had already been picked up. I then asked if I could purchase another policy in my name and list my husband as a named driver but unfortunately You said no. I enquired if you could help me in anyway but was told that you could not. Bottom line, I purchased an annual.policy which was useless and the worry of anything happening during our 4 days away was not comfortable as we would have been faced with a huge excess if €2400 has we had an accident.

We added a comment , by Customer Service Team:

Hi there, Thank you for your feedback, I am sorry to hear that you are unhappy. Family cover is no longer free under the cover which is why my colleague quoted you the additional premium to be added. If you had either contacted us to add yourself to the cover or to repurchase and cancel in your name before you had collected the vehicle we would have been able to assist, but this cannot happen after you become responsible for the vehicle. These are the terms of the cover. Kind regards Rebecca