Sixt Reviews

Have you hired a car from Sixt recently? Why not submit a review of your experiences to help others?
Sixt's Rating:
3.4/5 based on 95 reviews
5 stars
39
4 stars
24
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 star
24
Save money on your car hire! Get the best cover for your
Car Hire Excess Insurance
Having used Sixt for many years, I now will NEVER use them again. They are trying to charge me for damage that was already on the vehicle at the time of collection. The car had significant damage to all 4 alloys on collection along with a big dent in the driver side wing. They are now bullying me into paying for damage I did not cause. Steer well clear!

City/airport: London Shepherd’s Bush

Kate's rating of their experience of Sixt: (1/5) on 11 June 2019

v good, did not overly push thier insurance

City/airport: alicante

ian's rating of their experience of Sixt: (4/5) on 9 June 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Do not use this company. Still waiting my deposit £300.00 customers service 1/10 Once again do not use this company Sixt.

City/airport: Edinburgh

Pun's rating of their experience of Sixt: (1/5) on 4 June 2019

Really quick process to get the car. Everything I needed was available. They asked if I wanted to reduce the excess, but said I'd taken out this insurance and they were fine with that. No hidden extras. Great service.

City/airport: Nantes

MickeyP's rating of their experience of Sixt: (5/5) on 4 June 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Efficient and friendly service, good value. Hire car was clean on collection and gave no problems

City/airport: Frankfurt

Wandering Wurzul's rating of their experience of Sixt: (4/5) on 2 June 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Very impressed.

City/airport: Bordeaux

Gav's rating of their experience of Sixt: (4.5/5) on 31 May 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

very slick con man

City/airport: malaga

chris's rating of their experience of Sixt: (1/5) on 16 May 2019

made a booking for a Opel Insignia or simillar. When I arrived at Copenhagen at the Sixt booth I was told thry only had a mini cooper available! I had to make an upgrade which was more expensive than the whole rental

City/airport: Copenhagen

RMM's rating of their experience of Sixt: (1/5) on 14 May 2019

They should have less than a star. The disorganization is alarming. The system allowed me to book at the Bromley branch to get a van at 7.00 in the morning. We left meetings and all to ensure van was booked, call them at 6pm on an expensive number. phew!! the staff says to mine that the reservation is canceled as branch only opens at 8 even though we still had a booking. I gathered the kids from where we had gone to for them to enjoy themselves on hols. Rush to use a computer as I can't use a phone to rebook or ask what the problem is. I go online and there is a mail saying the reservation was made , what to bring to collect the van at 7. I call them and speak to a very non-challant rude man. He says ' you booked at short notice'. I am shocked at his poor customer services skills. The system should not let me book if it is short notice and we are talking 2 days in advance. He actually asked me if he should cancel the whole reservation. No remorse nothing . I tell him that I do not understand why the system let me book a vehicle if it's not there, he says he never told me the vehicle is not there. In all actuality that was what he told me. I ask what I can do? he says he does not know. I ask if I turn up at theirs at Bromley if the vehicle will be there, he says it should be but the Manager still has to look into the request. He asks me again if he should cancel the request as I say it would have been best if I booked with Europa. He says ' I will cancel the request so you go and book with Europa'. I tell him his service is poor, I am not even shouting, I say he is rude, he drops the phone on me. STAY CLEAR PLEASE. This company will mess up your plans like bigggg time. his staff will drown this company.

City/airport: Bronley

Shocked customer's rating of their experience of Sixt: (1/5) on 17 April 2019

I ordered a SUV/4x4 vehicle as we were going skiing in the Alps. The car I was given was a BMW X3, I informed then that I would be drive between countries I was informed that I was covered, we collected the car from the allocated space, on return I followed the direction using the SixT app to the drop off location, a very friendly gentlemen met me, took the keys as we emptied the car, he informed me everything was good with the car and then some else drove it away. The drop was location was next to my terminal. The process was very quick and easy.

City/airport: Munich

Andrew Bristow's rating of their experience of Sixt: (5/5) on 12 April 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

They are such an unethical company! Scammer!

City/airport: Milton Keynes

Tsitsi's rating of their experience of Sixt: (1/5) on 8 April 2019

The returns area at Lisbon Airport sounds like the starting Grid of a F1 race as agents over rev, skid and generally abuse the returned cars. My car was cleared of any issues, they subsequently tried to charge me for damage to a wing mirror. I fought my case and in the end they backed off, but I would not trust them again

City/airport: Lisbon

Fuppy57's rating of their experience of Sixt: (1/5) on 6 April 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

The most unreliable company. Just stay away

City/airport: Belfast

Ss's rating of their experience of Sixt: (1/5) on 4 April 2019

The most unreliable company I ever seen

City/airport: Belfast

Sam's rating of their experience of Sixt: (1/5) on 3 April 2019

No problems with them over many years of hiring a couple of times a year

City/airport: Larnaca

LAP's rating of their experience of Sixt: (4.5/5) on 1 April 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Good staff quick service and great cars

City/airport: Dublin

Lolojo's rating of their experience of Sixt: (5/5) on 29 March 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Needed to return to UK urgently and only available flight was to Gatwick. I turned up at Sixt with no reservation and the staff were great - friendly, helpful, efficient. In no time we were on our way North. I returned the car to Manchester airport the next day (where my originally scheduled flight was due and where I'd left my own car) and the staff were also very friendly - when I had to return because I'd left my spectacles in the vehicle they had them ready for me. Very good service and the six people I actually dealy with at Gatwick North, Gatwick South and Manchester could not have been frienlier or more helpful.

City/airport: Gatwick

Peter's rating of their experience of Sixt: (5/5) on 23 March 2019

Avoid at all cost. They charge fake cost at return

City/airport: Madrid Barajas T4

Jose R's rating of their experience of Sixt: (1/5) on 21 March 2019

Absolutely terrible. I'd booked a small van for a house move - I'm not comfortable driving vans, which is why I booked something smaller. When I arrived, I was given a much larger van that I did not want, as they didn't have any of the small ones left. There was no vehicle inspection and I was told not to worry about the damage on the vehicle, as they knew it was already there. After returning (out of hours), I later received an email saying that damage had been found, which I would be liable for. Very disappointed, as there were no incidents in the van which would have caused any damage. Poor service and now I'm looking at a bill for damage, which I have not caused. Will never use again.

City/airport: Manchester

Huntington88's rating of their experience of Sixt: (1/5) on 15 March 2019

Very quick and easy for paperwork and car collection

City/airport: Faro airport

josh's dad's rating of their experience of Sixt: (4/5) on 7 March 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Extremely rubbish service i would not recommend this branch to anybody absolutely no customer service am disgusted how they tret me .

City/airport: Sheffield

Jay's rating of their experience of Sixt: (1/5) on 6 March 2019

AVOID USING THIS COMPANY. Scam you for damage not caused. When picking up the car they tell you not to worry about any damaged seen and refuse to put it on the paper work then when you return they charge you for it saying you done it.

City/airport: Lisbon

S,,,'s rating of their experience of Sixt: (1/5) on 9 January 2019

This is by far the worst car rental company I have ever dealt with and hope ever will!!!! hired a minibus to take 13 of us to a charity event (including a 1 year old baby). I opted for the premium roadside assistance etc and paid the extra £100 or so.On our journey we had just left our hotel when an artic lorry ran into the rear of us ( no one was seriously injured ).this happened outside Crewe at 11am on a Saturday. After phoning the sixt support line, we were left with a smashed up vehicle at the side of the road in the wind and rain.1 hour passed we phoned again ! sixt were not able to get any dealers to answer the phone , but if we wanted we could try one ! 2 hours later we phoned them back again as they had not got back to us , we were told not much they can do ,I told them we were going to have to try and get taxis and there van would be unsecured due to lack of windows and I was told I would be in breach of t & cs and id be liable ! .another hour passed and we called back ,now they said they could not get us a 17 seater ,but we managed to find out they were sending someone to recover their van (no us just the van).we made our way back to our hotel. Now with no van. Due to us travelling from all over the uk I now only needed a 7 seater but this was not available either I asked for 2 cars but no to this. They said I could try traveling to Birmingham airport and rent another !after several more calls and stress they told us we would have to make out own way home and TRY and claim it back. so I picked the van up in Glasgow so I had to pay £700 on train tickets not to mention food hotels and taxis. I have submitted form and still nothing. Total disgrace to abandon its customers in wind and rain including a 1 year old baby miles from anywhere . "All services may only be ordered by a direct claim with Sixt 24-hour Roadside Assistance. They shall also determine the type and extent of service required to ensure the renter stays mobile." There words not mine

City/airport: glasgow

john's rating of their experience of Sixt: (1/5) on 18 September 2018

I gave them 3 chances and failed all 3 times. I had booked with them for a recent holiday to Gran Canaria, for a "luxury convertible" car, category, in which they stated 3 makes the BMW series 2, Audi A3 and Open Cascada. Then after booking online and confirming my preference (for either the BMW or Audi), I called directly their offices who confirmed to me that this would be no problem. In addition they advertise that by downloading their app and put in your credentials one is able to select their specific car directly in the app before the day of rental. Absolutely none of what I told you above was true, and it was all misleading. Registering on their app was an absolute nightmare and required more information than one needs to apply for a passport. Not only that, after finally managing to register, it emerged that one can only select the preferred car about 30 minutes before rental (which in my case meant while I was in the air flying into the airport). Now the best part, when arriving at their airport desk, I was told that they didn't have any of the cars advertised. They only had the VW Beetle conv.. That was not even a question of non-availability on the day, but they just do not have these anywhere on the Island. There was absolutely no recourse to escalate the situation. The agent was extremely unhelpful. Basically everything I was told was a lie. This was the third time I've come across this type of misrepresentation from this car rental company. NEVER AGAIN!!!

City/airport: Las Palmas

Chacho's rating of their experience of Sixt: (1/5) on 6 September 2018

Firstly we were 20 minutes late and they gave our car away. Secondly they had no other car to give us. Lastly the employee yelled at me to the point I felt unsafe and thought of calling the police.

City/airport: Athens Peristeri

JC's rating of their experience of Sixt: (1/5) on 1 August 2018

If you have any comments or concerns about a review listed here please contact us for assistance.