Sixt Reviews

Have you hired a car from Sixt recently? Why not submit a review of your experiences to help others?
Sixt's Rating:
3.1/5 based on 199 reviews
5 stars
50
4 stars
19
3 stars
2
2 stars
6
1 star
43
Save money on your car hire! Get the best cover for your
Car Hire Excess Insurance
They are a bunch of scam artists. I rented a Luton van with a tail lift. When I returned the van they claimed I scratched the underside of the tail lift. This is the part of the vehicle that lays down on the ground so you can roll your loads onto it to lift it up to the truck. It is in regular contact with the ground. This is akin to them accusing me of getting a pebble stuck in the tire treads. They are now trying to charge me 1000 GBP for the "damage". I know of three other people that have similar situations. I will never use this company again, nor should you.

City/airport: London

willien's rating of their experience of Sixt: (1/5) on 7 July 2020

Friendly service at pick up and nice clean car.

City/airport: Gatwick

RH's rating of their experience of Sixt: (4/5) on 27 May 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Claimed and invoiced me for damage to a car that I did not make. Their "Customer Services" declared me guilty before even asking for my evidence, which they promptly dismnissed. Juge, Jury and executioner. AVOID!

City/airport: Geneva

Chris B's rating of their experience of Sixt: (1/5) on 17 April 2020

Sixt is the biggest scam in man history, can’t believe they are official and have big stores. they should be in jail or hell for the amount of scam they do. I’ve rented a car from Manchester to London and When I dropped off In The London branch they took pictures of it and their was no damage nor scratches. After 3 weeks they send me a bill around (1 thousand Pounds) to cover the cost of painting the whole car and they said that their was damage in the car in the second inspection. CHEAP, UNETHICAL, THUGS not only they are these things but they don’t have any shame to come after 3 weeks and claim am responsible for such damage.

City/airport: Manchester

Ezzo's rating of their experience of Sixt: (1/5) on 3 April 2020

Absolute robbing B#$tards!!! Do not use this company! we ended up with a £1000 bill for paint damage we didn't do. Unfortunately i didn't take images of the car before we drove it away. Proving the damage want caused by me was impossible, just as them proving i did do it was. t&c's in their favour in this situation so you will be forced to pay. They have no interest in working with customers to resolve any issues like this. Scam artists at work here! AVOID AT ALL COSTS!!!! YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED!!

City/airport: salzburg

Greyhounder's rating of their experience of Sixt: (1/5) on 28 March 2020

I would never recommend Sixt. I rented a car in London and bought extra insurance they kindly recommended for foreigners. It would have been nice of them to inform me about possible congestion charges while driving through the centre of the city: I got a penalty of 180 pounds. OK – my fault... Additionally 7 months later a freaking German debt collection company raised a demand for unpaid costs: everything is long paid, including the penalties, including the extra protection and now I have to spend my time sorting this mess up. Why do these types of companies still exists – should be long bankrupt with peer-to-peer car lending so easily available and with much better service.

City/airport: Caledonian Road, London

Never use Sixt!'s rating of their experience of Sixt: (1/5) on 16 March 2020

Hire company we’re fine, the car was damaged but accurately recorded on the hire documents. The car was clean and under a year old

City/airport: Faro airport

Ronny's rating of their experience of Sixt: (5/5) on 4 March 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Great service- - quick collection and drop off. No nonsense.

City/airport: Lisbon

Surftraveller's rating of their experience of Sixt: (4.5/5) on 22 February 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Was the cheapest big name, and glad I spent a bit more. Car wasn’t brand new, but it was fine and they didn’t try to wring money out of me to make up for the hire being dirt cheap.

City/airport: Bucharest airport

Ray's rating of their experience of Sixt: (3.5/5) on 22 February 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Very quick and confident

City/airport: Bristol

Bob's rating of their experience of Sixt: (4/5) on 16 February 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Excellent and friendly service. Even got a coffee when dropping off the vehicle.

City/airport: Cambridge

Dave's rating of their experience of Sixt: (5/5) on 10 February 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Easy pick up at airport - no queues; car good; Sixt are a bit more expensive than some but worth it

City/airport: Munich

John's rating of their experience of Sixt: (4/5) on 2 February 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Good price, well organised.

City/airport: Funchal

Ant's rating of their experience of Sixt: (5/5) on 28 January 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

I never thought it would happen to me after using Sixt happily in Lisbon and Faro regularly over the last few years. I even moved from using car trawling websites such as Argus to go direct as they were so easy to use on most occasions. HOWEVER I think I became complacent. Beware if you are a regular Sixt user - the issues and practices that others speak about on say e.g. TripAdvisor Faro Forums may come back to haunt you. We arrived on 19 December at Faro Airport under rental agreement RA – 9430746908. We had requested a car in the group IFMR and received a Renault Kadjar which I was happy with. The staff at desk and inspecting car were all super friendly and easy. HOWEVER the parking lot as others have mentioned was unreasonably low light and also there had been rain. We looked over the car and agreed on the pre noted damages. I notified the staff member of a small indent near an already marked damage on drivers side rear wing panel. He said it was noted but not on the official agreement and not to worry as it fell below the size of mark required to be added to the rental agreement / damage list. This was a mark already present and agreed face to face that would could not add it to their damages as it was below 3 cm! ARRRGGG though - In this case when we returned it a very angry and aggressive male staff member called Miguel went straight to it measured it up and magically made it our problem and our liability despite me telling him the previous conversations while picking up. I had taken images in the carpark when we picked it up and even in the dark light and the fact that the car was black and it had rain drops all over it I can still see the small dent there - just. None of this matters. The Sixt experience / customer treatment after that - you have to remember like most unfortunate people complaining here you are trying to get you and maybe your family to a flight pronto - was disgraceful. The attendant taking the car in Miguel had a good laugh at us all, staff members would not give their names, the manager seemed to have an arguement about the validity of the mark with Miguel but backed off. It was a shambles. In the end we had to leave and decide not to sign the acceptance that we made this tiny indent. All three kids very dejected and annoyed by then as we were. We had paid for the fuel and left this all square. First day of the new year and Sixt take £86 off my card for the fuel but without saying what it was for and totally without consent. No reply to any of my emails asking what the charge is. No help. We wait - thinking that the £86 charge is maybe the fee for the tiny indent repair. No reply to emails apart from standard 'we are dealing with your request' Eventually get reply in the post and it's to say we are liable for repair payment for the tiny already on car. This request comes by international mail and is a statement saying they will take for £365 from my credit card. Pretty shocked by that especially when you realise that all the other knocks or dents on the car already listed are NOT repaired and some poor hirer has had to pay for them. Think about that next time you hire a car. The dents you see someone has been charged a fortune for - yet they are NOT repaired. So that's a scam right there - theres a great article in the FT about it which highlights how these companies specifically renting high at airport have to up their extra charges on you. In our case though we genuinely picked up a car with the belief that we were doing so our most trusted company. It has put me off all car hire tbh. When they have your details i.e credit card they can take what they want and they will. I do not receive replied from Portugal Sixt and cannot affect the outcome of this seemingly. I urge you to think about NOT hiring at Sixt unless you fancy the same headache. I cannot advise another car hire company though but TripAdvisor forums with local knowledge have good suggestions.

City/airport: Faro Airport

PaulMac's rating of their experience of Sixt: (1/5) on 22 January 2020

V good. Efficient

City/airport: Belfast

Allen's rating of their experience of Sixt: (4/5) on 15 January 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Great service easy and friendly great car at a good price

City/airport: Paphos

And's rating of their experience of Sixt: (5/5) on 13 January 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Nice customer service Great ride Great price

City/airport: Sheppard bush

Jae's rating of their experience of Sixt: (5/5) on 12 January 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

I've been hiring cars for years and been using this company over 10 years! 6 weeks ago i hire a car in Portugal Porto and i do my usual thing inspect the car and take loads of pictures! So i noticed there was a chip on the windscreen. so i took a picture and told one of the workers! But So when i returned the car the man said this is new damage but i show him my pictures and he agreed the damage was already there but he had to make a noted of it and 6 week later customer service would like me to debited: 557.87€ from my credit card! Even with my photographic evidence with time and date they still want me to paid? PLEASE AVOID THIS COMPANY !!

City/airport: oport

Nick's rating of their experience of Sixt: (1/5) on 8 January 2020

Car was perfect and reasonably priced

City/airport: bucharest

Mr A's rating of their experience of Sixt: (5/5) on 30 December 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Significant pressure at desk to buy extra, unwanted, 'unnecessary' insurance which was equivalent to 100% of a week's hire charge. Booked on the basis of a Nissan Qashqai as advertised but not available at desk so given a Kia Sportage as an alternative which was a huge disappointment and vastly inferior to the Qashqai.

City/airport: Las Palmas

Raynpa's rating of their experience of Sixt: (2/5) on 30 December 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Friendly staff at the front desk, but the staff in the parking lot didn’t want to conduct a joint check of the car upon receipt, and they didn’t show me how the car’s features worked (sat nav, media system, etc). Upon the return of the car, they said I missed some faults when inspecting the car, but that was because they made me check it alone and I wasn’t sure what I should have been looking for. Very unprofessional especially when other car rental companies are much better during the check out process.

City/airport: London

PS's rating of their experience of Sixt: (1/5) on 29 December 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

I've come to terms with the fact that I've been scammed with the 'phony scratches' trick.Far worse is that 4 months down the line I can't get a proper invoice so as I can claim on my insurance. 4 months of being'fobbed off.'

City/airport: Vilnius airport

Worst ever's rating of their experience of Sixt: (1/5) on 10 December 2019

Hi, just to let everyone know ... YOU WILL PAY AT THE END OF RENTAL AGREEMENT. No one will explain you how it works : deposit money etc ... Also if you unlucky to get a penalty ticket you need to pay 40£ to Sixt only for them to send your details to police council etc (obviously you need to pay that penalty in full). No point for a coorporate account as you are going to pay more that a normal rent (i pay 109£ a day for a van that i supuse to pay 46 £ only... reason? Christmas is comming! Please don’t rent from them !

City/airport: London Wembley

Dan Edy's rating of their experience of Sixt: (1/5) on 6 December 2019

Found a 3mm stone chip on return tucked into the bottom left corner of the windscreen impossible for me to confirm it was there or not in collection due to adverse weather conditions when checking car. Discovered on motorway that screen wash was empty.

City/airport: Milton Keynes

Squonk's rating of their experience of Sixt: (1/5) on 21 November 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Sixt gave us incomplete information when we picked the car up and, when we dropped it back off, their rep was supercilious and condescending.

City/airport: Edinburgh

Martin's rating of their experience of Sixt: (1/5) on 13 November 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

If you have any comments or concerns about a review listed here please contact us for assistance.