Sixt Reviews

Have you hired a car from Sixt recently? Why not submit a review of your experiences to help others?
Sixt's Rating:
3.0/5 based on 184 reviews
5 stars
47
4 stars
16
3 stars
2
2 stars
5
1 star
45
Save money on your car hire! Get the best cover for your
Car Hire Excess Insurance
V good. Efficient

City/airport: Belfast

Allen's rating of their experience of Sixt: (4/5) on 15 January 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Great service easy and friendly great car at a good price

City/airport: Paphos

And's rating of their experience of Sixt: (5/5) on 13 January 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Nice customer service Great ride Great price

City/airport: Sheppard bush

Jae's rating of their experience of Sixt: (5/5) on 12 January 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

I've been hiring cars for years and been using this company over 10 years! 6 weeks ago i hire a car in Portugal Porto and i do my usual thing inspect the car and take loads of pictures! So i noticed there was a chip on the windscreen. so i took a picture and told one of the workers! But So when i returned the car the man said this is new damage but i show him my pictures and he agreed the damage was already there but he had to make a noted of it and 6 week later customer service would like me to debited: 557.87€ from my credit card! Even with my photographic evidence with time and date they still want me to paid? PLEASE AVOID THIS COMPANY !!

City/airport: oport

Nick's rating of their experience of Sixt: (1/5) on 8 January 2020

Car was perfect and reasonably priced

City/airport: bucharest

Mr A's rating of their experience of Sixt: (5/5) on 30 December 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Significant pressure at desk to buy extra, unwanted, 'unnecessary' insurance which was equivalent to 100% of a week's hire charge. Booked on the basis of a Nissan Qashqai as advertised but not available at desk so given a Kia Sportage as an alternative which was a huge disappointment and vastly inferior to the Qashqai.

City/airport: Las Palmas

Raynpa's rating of their experience of Sixt: (2/5) on 30 December 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Friendly staff at the front desk, but the staff in the parking lot didn’t want to conduct a joint check of the car upon receipt, and they didn’t show me how the car’s features worked (sat nav, media system, etc). Upon the return of the car, they said I missed some faults when inspecting the car, but that was because they made me check it alone and I wasn’t sure what I should have been looking for. Very unprofessional especially when other car rental companies are much better during the check out process.

City/airport: London

PS's rating of their experience of Sixt: (1/5) on 29 December 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

I've come to terms with the fact that I've been scammed with the 'phony scratches' trick.Far worse is that 4 months down the line I can't get a proper invoice so as I can claim on my insurance. 4 months of being'fobbed off.'

City/airport: Vilnius airport

Worst ever's rating of their experience of Sixt: (1/5) on 10 December 2019

Hi, just to let everyone know ... YOU WILL PAY AT THE END OF RENTAL AGREEMENT. No one will explain you how it works : deposit money etc ... Also if you unlucky to get a penalty ticket you need to pay 40£ to Sixt only for them to send your details to police council etc (obviously you need to pay that penalty in full). No point for a coorporate account as you are going to pay more that a normal rent (i pay 109£ a day for a van that i supuse to pay 46 £ only... reason? Christmas is comming! Please don’t rent from them !

City/airport: London Wembley

Dan Edy's rating of their experience of Sixt: (1/5) on 6 December 2019

Found a 3mm stone chip on return tucked into the bottom left corner of the windscreen impossible for me to confirm it was there or not in collection due to adverse weather conditions when checking car. Discovered on motorway that screen wash was empty.

City/airport: Milton Keynes

Squonk's rating of their experience of Sixt: (1/5) on 21 November 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Sixt gave us incomplete information when we picked the car up and, when we dropped it back off, their rep was supercilious and condescending.

City/airport: Edinburgh

Martin's rating of their experience of Sixt: (1/5) on 13 November 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Very good - didn’t try to get me to buy extras. Car fine.

City/airport: Bari Airport

19simon's rating of their experience of Sixt: (5/5) on 12 November 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Excellent streamlined service

City/airport: Belfast International

Ireland Trips's rating of their experience of Sixt: (5/5) on 6 November 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Scammers. I rent a car for 3 days and after some personal problems i brought the car back after 1 hr and 30 min. The total rent for 3 days was 80 £ . The lady at the reception and at the customer service at the phone they told me they still have to charge me for 1 DAY , i said Ok it's fine. how much will be , around 20 something £ .. and she said yes .. and rest of the amount will be refunded in your account. I said ok it's fine.. After 2 days, surprise.. i was charged 60 £ for 1 day !!! So i paid for 1 hr and 30 min , 60 £ . They 're scammers.. now i can see why the have 1 star review everywhere.. and also i paid a deposit of 300 £ which i was been told i ll be in my acc in 2-3 working days. Surprise.. i don t have my money back.. i called again and now the changed in 2 weeks.. ar you f..ing serious? i have to wait even for my money.. the lady said : ye... it s tricky.. will take a good 2 week or more.. AVOID THIS SCAMMER COMPANY !!!! THEY DESERVED ---- STARS.. !!!!!!!

City/airport: heathrow

Vlad's rating of their experience of Sixt: (1/5) on 5 November 2019

Problem free rental

City/airport: Funchal

TonyD's rating of their experience of Sixt: (4/5) on 1 November 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Promised a VW polo or similar and got a Skoda :-( plus absolutely no water at all in washer bottle. Very dangerous in my opinion and a basic check. Car was clean and ready though with a very quick transfer both ways.

City/airport: Thesaloniki

Dex's rating of their experience of Sixt: (1/5) on 30 October 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Great friendly service, lovely clean car and a free upgrade, would definitely recommend!

City/airport: Bristol

Verity's rating of their experience of Sixt: (5/5) on 28 October 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

They were fantastic from the beginning, very helpful, clear instructions, easy to pick up and drop off. Fantastic and highly recommend

City/airport: Dublin

rachel's rating of their experience of Sixt: (5/5) on 27 October 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

I had done a domestic flight from Edinburgh, They refused me the car I had booked as I did not have my passport. You are not required to carry your passport in UK. A driving licence is ID. They it was in their paper work! I had a hard copy of the requirements and the email from them the day before listing docs reqd. Oh NO I would have to wait for 2 hours for her supervisor. We finally came to an agreement using an way out of date emailed utility bill.I do not need this kind of hassel so personally will not use them again

City/airport: gatwick

poddy's rating of their experience of Sixt: (1.5/5) on 26 October 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Ripped off! After waiting nearly an hour to pick up a pre-booked vehicle, the Sixt staff member showed us the car and pointed out 3 of the "wheels" were damaged and recorded them as scratched "aluminium rims" on the rental agreement. We later returned the vehicle out of hours when their office was closed. Many weeks later, I've suddenly been charged for damage to the "tyres" - despite their photos showing the damaged tyres are directly next to the scratched rims (and on that vehicle it's impossible to damage the rims without damaging the tyres). They've just gone ahead and debited my credit card with the cost of replacing 3 tyres. They've not replied in any meaningful way to my querying their actions. They've also not bothered to review the photos of the previous incident where the "rims" were damaged, where they no doubt charged another customer. Not only was this a blatant rort, but they seem to have zero concept of customer care. We had already made a decision that we were unlikely to use them again given the long check-in times, which are very tough if you've travelled any distance with kids. However, their actions regarding the pre-existing damage are despicable. They've lost a customer for life, and I'll be making sure everyone I know is aware of their unscrupulous business practices.

City/airport: Heathrow

Alex's rating of their experience of Sixt: (1/5) on 22 October 2019

We decided to pay a bit more to avoid the rip-off merchants and very long queues at the airport. We weren't disappointed, though we did have to queue for 15-20 minutes at the desk when picking up the car. No hard sell on the excess-cancellation insurance, which was a relief. And whilst we hadn't put the slightest scratch on the car, it was good to see they only checked it over quickly, and not with a microscope. It was nearly new, and very nicely appointed. As I say, a bit more than the cheap guys, but still worth it for the quality, service and lack of hassle.

City/airport: toulouse-blagnac airport

Flyer55's rating of their experience of Sixt: (4/5) on 22 October 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Excellent service provided by professional and friendly staff.

City/airport: Palma de mallorca

Diddy's rating of their experience of Sixt: (5/5) on 21 October 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Staff really nice but we were unfortunate that there had been 4 delayed flights arrive in just before us so we had a quite a while to wait before being seen too.

City/airport: Faro airport

mermaid's rating of their experience of Sixt: (4/5) on 20 October 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Excellent service, quick and easy, easy returns

City/airport: Portugal

Christopher's rating of their experience of Sixt: (5/5) on 19 October 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Very helpful

City/airport: Faro Airport Portugal

Grandma 26's rating of their experience of Sixt: (4.5/5) on 17 October 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

If you have any comments or concerns about a review listed here please contact us for assistance.