Sixt Reviews

Have you hired a car from Sixt recently? Why not submit a review of your experiences to help others?
Sixt's Rating:
2.9/5 based on 123 reviews
5 stars
23
4 stars
9
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
27
Save money on your car hire! Get the best cover for your
Car Hire Excess Insurance
They were very easy to deal with and good value. Don't forget to bring your ID even if you have filled in the check-in form. Sixt Reading doesn't offer anywhere to leave a vehicle for the duration of the hire.

City/airport: Reading

Gav's rating of their experience of Sixt: (4/5) on 21 August 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Excellent service especially as we should have arrived at Treviso!

City/airport: Marco polo venice

Gavsus's rating of their experience of Sixt: (5/5) on 20 August 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

I had a great experience with Sixt and would definitely use them again.

City/airport: London

J Lee's rating of their experience of Sixt: (5/5) on 19 August 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Much better than the rest

City/airport: Croatia

Goldie's rating of their experience of Sixt: (3/5) on 18 August 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Very good. Bit too much of a hard sell on car upgrade and taking out CDW protection though)

City/airport: alghero

the_original_invisible's rating of their experience of Sixt: (4/5) on 18 August 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

AVOID AVOID AVOID! Awful experience hiring a car in Dubrovnik city centre, Croatia. Read the reviews and do not use them! We picked up a car and had been ‘upgraded’ to a bigger car, that was covered in scratches, didn’t have GPS even though we had paid extra for it so we were given a handheld one but told we got 60 minutes free calls with that one. We had made them aware we were going to Bosnia for a day trip. On route to Kravice waterfalls we get a flat tyre... shouldn’t be a big issue. However we were given a car with NO SPARE TYRE and the liquid tyre repair kit was empty, the fluid has been used up and not replaced. With no options we called the breakdown line and got told as we were in Bosnia they couldn’t do anything they only covered Croatia so to call a different number. The next person we spoke to told us they couldn’t help and to call the original number back who then decided they could do something. The GPS phone they gave us didn’t work so we had to do this on our mobiles and now have £45 charges on our phone bills. We waited 4 hours for a recovery truck and then a 3 hour drive in a truck to Croatia. We only had the car for 5 hours. We spent longer waiting for recovery and sitting in the recovery truck! I then had to go back the next day and wait in line for 45 minutes at the Sixt office to be told ‘we have forgiven the fuel costs’. Following further complaints all I have been given is ‘forgiven fuel’ and no charge for the Sixt insurance. I used Avant car in Split and had a much better experience. This ruined our holiday. Honestly, read the reviews and do not use them.

City/airport: Dubrovnik city

Erin's rating of their experience of Sixt: (1/5) on 18 August 2019

Not given me the car I wanted and charged me an extortion sum. Completely mis-sold me their product and I paid 5 times more than what I would have paid at Thrifty

City/airport: Heathrow

Nas's rating of their experience of Sixt: (1/5) on 18 August 2019

Pick up was fine although did not have booked vehicle available. Drop off was a little chaotic.

City/airport: Heathrow

JohnnyCougar's rating of their experience of Sixt: (4/5) on 17 August 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Decent car. Happy with service and ease of handback but collection at Corsica airport was disappointing staff at desk seemed disinterested and aloof and almost seemed to ignore that we were there. Also almost no English spoken by the staff which was difficult as we had very little French. Maybe it is typical of French attitude.

City/airport: Corsica

Dave's rating of their experience of Sixt: (4.5/5) on 17 August 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Great service Great car Helpful staff It was just what I expected.

City/airport: Malta International

Jon's rating of their experience of Sixt: (4/5) on 13 August 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

All good, fast service. Only suggestion is that on collection more time is given to read through and understand what is to be signed for. It seemed very rushed, and at this stage, you do not want to make any mistakes.

City/airport: Split

Traveller's rating of their experience of Sixt: (5/5) on 7 August 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Rented the car for 3 days and paid 280£, they later came back and asked to pay 350£ for a 2 inch scratch that I haven't noticed when I got the car. Apparently it's a common scam, I should have known better. Please avoid.

City/airport: Oslo Airport, Gardermoen

Mikhail's rating of their experience of Sixt: (1/5) on 2 August 2019

Very helpful and informative

City/airport: Alicante

Reuster's rating of their experience of Sixt: (4.5/5) on 1 August 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Failed to deliver and telephone communication is a nightmare. I will never use SIXT again.

City/airport: Stuttgart

Sup3r's rating of their experience of Sixt: (1/5) on 24 July 2019

Everything as expected. Car was not washed pre pick up but a discount was given because of this. Drop off at Tallinn airport was painless once the drop off point was located.

City/airport: Pärnu

PedrofaeLeith's rating of their experience of Sixt: (5/5) on 24 July 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

helpful and no high pressure, efficient

City/airport: Palma

PB's rating of their experience of Sixt: (5/5) on 24 July 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Great service. Very helpful

City/airport: Luton airport

Mike's rating of their experience of Sixt: (4.5/5) on 23 July 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Despite saying no to all the ‘extras’ they offered they still put them on and received a further 86 euro bill at the end. Helpfully this does come back through until you are back home! Would not use again-corrupt!

City/airport: Palma mallorca

Cheltenhamdaisy's rating of their experience of Sixt: (1/5) on 19 July 2019

Excellent experience at both ends of the hire. No hidden charges and lovely staff. Refreshing!

City/airport: Marseille

Emma's rating of their experience of Sixt: (5/5) on 17 July 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

I would strongly advise not to rent from Sixt in Belfast. Cannot be trusted, will cheat you on little damages and have a terrible customer service attitude - never ever again and I would advise everyone who visits Belfast to avoid them at all costs ...

City/airport: Belfast

David's rating of their experience of Sixt: (1/5) on 16 July 2019

got lost in the car park due to poor airport signage - but a friendly Sixt man came over to us and showed the way out. Never been let down by this company - but have often been helped out

City/airport: Malpensa

Muswell Bob's rating of their experience of Sixt: (4.5/5) on 15 July 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Very good . No queues to collect . free upgrade. Quick efficient allocation close to airport. Car clean and in good condition. Return a little hard to locate but staff helpful and on the ball. One even ran after me to give me something I had left in the car by mistake

City/airport: Milan bergamo

Tess's rating of their experience of Sixt: (5/5) on 12 July 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

A bit of a queue to get the car but they had a good ticket queueing system. Chap was very polite and did NOT try to sell me additional insurance (a rarity) - he did enquire how much luggage we had and did offer an upgrade if I needed it for my golf clubs. They have an auto toll collecting system which they activated for a small charge - that all worked well. Car return was simple and quick where we both signed off to say that there was no additional damage which was emailed to me. For once a pleasant experience with a hire car.

City/airport: Lisbon

John E's rating of their experience of Sixt: (4.5/5) on 4 July 2019

Did what they were supposed to. Didn’t like that I had my own excess waiver cover.

City/airport: Paphos

Pipsmith's rating of their experience of Sixt: (3.5/5) on 30 June 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

My insurance is £200 a year paid £300 for a week with sixt don't go anywhere near them

City/airport: Belfast international

Gordon's rating of their experience of Sixt: (1/5) on 29 June 2019

If you have any comments or concerns about a review listed here please contact us for assistance.