Sixt Reviews

Have you hired a car from Sixt recently? Why not submit a review of your experiences to help others?
Sixt's Rating:
3.0/5 based on 174 reviews
5 stars
45
4 stars
15
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 star
42
Save money on your car hire! Get the best cover for your
Car Hire Excess Insurance
Sixt gave us incomplete information when we picked the car up and, when we dropped it back off, their rep was supercilious and condescending.

City/airport: Edinburgh

Martin's rating of their experience of Sixt: (1/5) on 13 November 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Very good - didn’t try to get me to buy extras. Car fine.

City/airport: Bari Airport

19simon's rating of their experience of Sixt: (5/5) on 12 November 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Excellent streamlined service

City/airport: Belfast International

Ireland Trips's rating of their experience of Sixt: (5/5) on 6 November 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Scammers. I rent a car for 3 days and after some personal problems i brought the car back after 1 hr and 30 min. The total rent for 3 days was 80 £ . The lady at the reception and at the customer service at the phone they told me they still have to charge me for 1 DAY , i said Ok it's fine. how much will be , around 20 something £ .. and she said yes .. and rest of the amount will be refunded in your account. I said ok it's fine.. After 2 days, surprise.. i was charged 60 £ for 1 day !!! So i paid for 1 hr and 30 min , 60 £ . They 're scammers.. now i can see why the have 1 star review everywhere.. and also i paid a deposit of 300 £ which i was been told i ll be in my acc in 2-3 working days. Surprise.. i don t have my money back.. i called again and now the changed in 2 weeks.. ar you f..ing serious? i have to wait even for my money.. the lady said : ye... it s tricky.. will take a good 2 week or more.. AVOID THIS SCAMMER COMPANY !!!! THEY DESERVED ---- STARS.. !!!!!!!

City/airport: heathrow

Vlad's rating of their experience of Sixt: (1/5) on 5 November 2019

Problem free rental

City/airport: Funchal

TonyD's rating of their experience of Sixt: (4/5) on 1 November 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Promised a VW polo or similar and got a Skoda :-( plus absolutely no water at all in washer bottle. Very dangerous in my opinion and a basic check. Car was clean and ready though with a very quick transfer both ways.

City/airport: Thesaloniki

Dex's rating of their experience of Sixt: (1/5) on 30 October 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Great friendly service, lovely clean car and a free upgrade, would definitely recommend!

City/airport: Bristol

Verity's rating of their experience of Sixt: (5/5) on 28 October 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

They were fantastic from the beginning, very helpful, clear instructions, easy to pick up and drop off. Fantastic and highly recommend

City/airport: Dublin

rachel's rating of their experience of Sixt: (5/5) on 27 October 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

I had done a domestic flight from Edinburgh, They refused me the car I had booked as I did not have my passport. You are not required to carry your passport in UK. A driving licence is ID. They it was in their paper work! I had a hard copy of the requirements and the email from them the day before listing docs reqd. Oh NO I would have to wait for 2 hours for her supervisor. We finally came to an agreement using an way out of date emailed utility bill.I do not need this kind of hassel so personally will not use them again

City/airport: gatwick

poddy's rating of their experience of Sixt: (1.5/5) on 26 October 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Ripped off! After waiting nearly an hour to pick up a pre-booked vehicle, the Sixt staff member showed us the car and pointed out 3 of the "wheels" were damaged and recorded them as scratched "aluminium rims" on the rental agreement. We later returned the vehicle out of hours when their office was closed. Many weeks later, I've suddenly been charged for damage to the "tyres" - despite their photos showing the damaged tyres are directly next to the scratched rims (and on that vehicle it's impossible to damage the rims without damaging the tyres). They've just gone ahead and debited my credit card with the cost of replacing 3 tyres. They've not replied in any meaningful way to my querying their actions. They've also not bothered to review the photos of the previous incident where the "rims" were damaged, where they no doubt charged another customer. Not only was this a blatant rort, but they seem to have zero concept of customer care. We had already made a decision that we were unlikely to use them again given the long check-in times, which are very tough if you've travelled any distance with kids. However, their actions regarding the pre-existing damage are despicable. They've lost a customer for life, and I'll be making sure everyone I know is aware of their unscrupulous business practices.

City/airport: Heathrow

Alex's rating of their experience of Sixt: (1/5) on 22 October 2019

We decided to pay a bit more to avoid the rip-off merchants and very long queues at the airport. We weren't disappointed, though we did have to queue for 15-20 minutes at the desk when picking up the car. No hard sell on the excess-cancellation insurance, which was a relief. And whilst we hadn't put the slightest scratch on the car, it was good to see they only checked it over quickly, and not with a microscope. It was nearly new, and very nicely appointed. As I say, a bit more than the cheap guys, but still worth it for the quality, service and lack of hassle.

City/airport: toulouse-blagnac airport

Flyer55's rating of their experience of Sixt: (4/5) on 22 October 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Excellent service provided by professional and friendly staff.

City/airport: Palma de mallorca

Diddy's rating of their experience of Sixt: (5/5) on 21 October 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Staff really nice but we were unfortunate that there had been 4 delayed flights arrive in just before us so we had a quite a while to wait before being seen too.

City/airport: Faro airport

mermaid's rating of their experience of Sixt: (4/5) on 20 October 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Excellent service, quick and easy, easy returns

City/airport: Portugal

Christopher's rating of their experience of Sixt: (5/5) on 19 October 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Very helpful

City/airport: Faro Airport Portugal

Grandma 26's rating of their experience of Sixt: (4.5/5) on 17 October 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Horrible company they have so many loop holes to make you pay more. For instance the card that pays has to be the main driver how rediculous, my girlfriend who doesn’t even have a driving licence booked the van and on completion of paying for the van it states the card has to be in the name of the driving...

City/airport: Cambridge

Fva's rating of their experience of Sixt: (1/5) on 16 October 2019

Very professional they tried the usual up selling and CDW trick but I declined. They supplied a brand new vehicle. The rate was very competitive

City/airport: Maspalomas

Tel's rating of their experience of Sixt: (4.5/5) on 11 October 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Booked through AutoEurope, so all paid up front. Paid more for Sixt, as they usually ave shorter queues. The man on the desk insisted on trying to sell me insurance, despite my repeatedly declining, explaining that I had this excess waiver product. I had to say 'no thank you' at least 7 times. Ultimately, and despite this, he added 'glass and wheels' cover to the hire without telling me, so after I returned home I discovered that they had charged me a further €31. Shoddy.

City/airport: Palma de Mallorca

Andjons's rating of their experience of Sixt: (1/5) on 9 October 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

I always use them

City/airport: Leeds

Sarah201182's rating of their experience of Sixt: (5/5) on 6 October 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

The car given was not the type/grade of car booked. No argument, just given. Windscreen washer fluid was empty. AdBlue was empty. On return, staff were totally dismissive.

City/airport: Catania

Bosun's rating of their experience of Sixt: (1.5/5) on 5 October 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

I returned a hire car to Sixt St. Pancras and the staff refused to inspect it. Having checked over the car I wasn't concerned, and have never had any issues with hire companies. Two weeks later Sixt tell me they have have a damage claim with photos of quite substantial damage that clearly is from another car hitting the side. I disputed and heard nothing for 9 months, then they sent me a bill with an engineers report that had new photos on it with even more damage, taken in a different location. Their own photos showed that they were trying to charge me for damage that clearly happened months after I returned the car. I am still disputing the charges from Sixt and getting nowhere, and get conflicting and random responses from them only after escalating it. Do not hire from Sixt!

City/airport: Heathrow

Tom79's rating of their experience of Sixt: (1/5) on 4 October 2019

Needed a car to travel north for a few days. Ordered a car having seen the latest offer on TV. Great friendly branch staff. No car available in the group I book, so an awesome free upgrade to something that should have cost 3 times as much. Only problem was I didn't want to give it back :)

City/airport: London

Jimbo09990's rating of their experience of Sixt: (5/5) on 3 October 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Waited an hour for pickup. Did not have our booked car available. Was forced to upgrade with additional fees. Lowsy customer service. Never again.

City/airport: Lisbon City Central

Nic's rating of their experience of Sixt: (1/5) on 27 September 2019

Car was dirty & not presented well for a hire car. The staff tried to add on extras without informing us of extra cost. Probably wouldn’t use Sixt again.

City/airport: Miami

Al's rating of their experience of Sixt: (1.5/5) on 25 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Initial impressions very good but have now been hit with an outrageous bill for alleged damage to driver door

City/airport: Lisbon

Malcolm's rating of their experience of Sixt: (1/5) on 25 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

If you have any comments or concerns about a review listed here please contact us for assistance.