Sixt Reviews

Have you hired a car from Sixt recently? Why not submit a review of your experiences to help others?
Sixt's Rating:
3.1/5 based on 148 reviews
5 stars
35
4 stars
12
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
32
Save money on your car hire! Get the best cover for your
Car Hire Excess Insurance
DO NOT BOOK car hire through sixt. Intimidating, high-pressure sales on pick up forced us into additional agreement that we didn't need or want. Which came with hefty additional costs of course. Misled as to what we were paying for on pick up and return-no card receipt issued until after event on specific request. On collection we joined 4 other customers querying the additional costs charged- all in hundreds. On many previous occasions we gave never had these issues with other companies. Months later no satisfaction through customer services. Sixt should be investigated by agencies who govern this business if you look at reviews continually mentioning their sales practices.

City/airport: Dubrovnik

NB43's rating of their experience of Sixt: (1/5) on 24 September 2019

Class.

City/airport: Dublin

Stephen's rating of their experience of Sixt: (5/5) on 24 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Could not be faulted, from collection to drop-off, everything went very smoothly indeed. The very slight damage to the car on collection had been noted and the exact terms of the rental agreement were explained quickly and simply on collection. The car was clean, had only covered 7000Km and was provided at a competitive rate. I have avoided car rental in Italy, due to poor customer service and even poorer cars - this isn't the case with Sixt. They were genuinely five star.

City/airport: Brindisi

Uxbridgehorn's rating of their experience of Sixt: (5/5) on 21 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

I chose Sixt because it had received good reviews on Which and was reasonably priced (neither expensive nor suspiciously cheap). It lived up to the reviews and all went smoothly.

City/airport: Edinburgh

Sara123456789's rating of their experience of Sixt: (4.5/5) on 20 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Just ok

City/airport: Thera

Santa's rating of their experience of Sixt: (4/5) on 18 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Very good. Efficient and quick.

City/airport: Dublin

DaveJC's rating of their experience of Sixt: (4.5/5) on 17 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Great, fast, friendly service.

City/airport: Cagliari

Bemorerob's rating of their experience of Sixt: (5/5) on 14 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Worst car hire company I have ever used. They have cheated me twice in 5 years.

City/airport: Manchester

Brian's rating of their experience of Sixt: (1/5) on 12 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

straightforward hire process , nice car , no problems encountered

City/airport: glasgow city centre

jangit's rating of their experience of Sixt: (5/5) on 12 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Very efficient and friendly

City/airport: Marseille

Brean petergulliver57@gmail.co.com's rating of their experience of Sixt: (4.5/5) on 11 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

The car was fine - upgraded from a Golf to a Corolla saloon, and in perfect condition. Delivery to our hotel in Vilnius happened just as it should. But collection from our hotel in Riga was a complete foul up - Sixt failed to collect at the time in the rental contract, failed to ring back when they said they would, then dumped on us the problem of finding safe, legal parking until they could get around to collecting the car. This really spoiled our experience of the car rental.

City/airport: Vilnius

Woofer's rating of their experience of Sixt: (3.5/5) on 9 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

The car was fine - upgraded from a Golf to a Corolla saloon, and in perfect condition. Delivery to our hotel in Vilnius happened just as it should. But collection from our hotel in Riga was a complete foul up - Sixt failed to collect at the time in the rental contract, failed to ring back when they said they would, then dumped on us the problem of finding safe, legal parking until they could get around to collecting the car. This really spoiled our experience of the car rental.

City/airport: Vilnius

Woofer's rating of their experience of Sixt: (3.5/5) on 9 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Always used SIXT as you always get a decent car, very easy to deal with if you have any problems

City/airport: Bordeaux

Rf's rating of their experience of Sixt: (4.5/5) on 8 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Nice pickup area, nice car.

City/airport: Heathrow

Royal Caribbean Cruiser's rating of their experience of Sixt: (5/5) on 4 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Adequate but expensive

City/airport: Paris

Neil's rating of their experience of Sixt: (1.5/5) on 3 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Do not use. They sneaked extra charges on our bill without making them explicit. They charged you at the end of the hire when you have not got time to argue as you need to get your flight.

City/airport: Split

Sierra Mike tango's rating of their experience of Sixt: (1/5) on 3 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Car came clean and in good condition only issue we had was we felt extremely bullied into taking their full insurance and made to feel if we didn't then the car would've been damaged within our rental agreement

City/airport: Pula Airport

Xy's rating of their experience of Sixt: (3/5) on 2 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Thieves. Small scratch on bumper £300 to put right apparently. Fortunately I had bought my own excess insurance - despite their attempts to guilt me into buying the overpriced damage waiver saying my policy was not valid. Tried to up sell me to a bigger car I didn't want at the airport and knowing well those were the only cars they had. I didn't fall for that scam fortunately. They even asked me to give them a 5* review! Car rental is murky industry I went with Sixt thinking paying more would mean a better service - I was wrong.

City/airport: Palma

G-unit's rating of their experience of Sixt: (1/5) on 29 August 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Worked well - good, well prepared car - bigger than ordered. Very efficient hand over and return at Billund. Invoice forwarded by e-mail within 3 hours.

City/airport: Billund

BBill's rating of their experience of Sixt: (4/5) on 27 August 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Easy to deal with, easy to find counter at the terminal, and car collection just 200m from exit. Easy return, all in all exactly what it said it would be like

City/airport: Bari airport

Timh's rating of their experience of Sixt: (5/5) on 24 August 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

No issues very quick return when they saw I was I a hurry

City/airport: Montpellier

Lee's rating of their experience of Sixt: (5/5) on 24 August 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Very good service from Sixt, very friendly employees, and generally a stress-free experience.

City/airport: Thessaloniki

PS's rating of their experience of Sixt: (5/5) on 24 August 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

I found the 'hard sell' at the airport difficult. They sold me breakdown cover on a brand new vehicle, stating that if I didn't take it I would have to pay if the vehicle had to be recovered during my trip. I do not know whether this is the case. They told me that I needed to bring the car back to the airport with an empty tank - it was full when I picked the car up and charged me £51 for a tank of fuel. I checked with the company who I booked the car through whether this was correct and they advised me to fill up the tank as per my rental agreement document and to ask for a refund of my £51 which I did. They told me that Sixt would not recognise my 'excess insurance' which I had taken out separately and put a £1200 hold on my credit card. All in all, I found renting a car with Sixt placed great stress on me during the holiday. Not to be recommended. Having said that, the car was brand new and very clean and when I returned the car, the staff were polite and courteous.

City/airport: Dubrovnik

Ali's rating of their experience of Sixt: (1/5) on 23 August 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Good service. Best desk in the Airport. Car new and in great condition.

City/airport: Aeroporti Di Puglia

Ads's rating of their experience of Sixt: (4.5/5) on 21 August 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Very good. Tried the hard sell re extra insurance but excellent otherwise. Easy to collect and drop off.

City/airport: Pula Airport

Jon's rating of their experience of Sixt: (4.5/5) on 21 August 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

If you have any comments or concerns about a review listed here please contact us for assistance.