Sicily By Car Reviews

Have you hired a car from Sicily By Car recently? Why not submit a review of your experiences to help others?
Sicily By Car's Rating:
2.7/5 based on 19 reviews
5 stars
3
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
5
Save money on your car hire! Get the best cover for your
Car Hire Excess Insurance
Service was professional and car excellent

City/airport: Venice

Wednesday knight's rating of their experience of Sicily By Car: (5/5) on 1 March 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

SCAM ALERT! Stay away! Very misleading price and disorganized company with predatory practices. In addition, my ordered optional extras were not honored, nor reimbursed (even though I already paid for them). Also, my deposit has not been returned. However, thankfully, the car worked. Anyway, final rental cost ended up being 4x greater than what was falsely advertised. So, do yourself a favor and spend a few more dollars at a larger, reputable, and better organized car rental company that conducts business in good faith and honor.

City/airport: Rome Termini

Roberto da Silva Ribeiro's rating of their experience of Sicily By Car: (1/5) on 28 February 2020

Really smooth. Car was as expected. Only blip was snow chains were not supplied in car. Apparently you have to collect them.yourself. Would use again though.

City/airport: Bergamo

Wee G's rating of their experience of Sicily By Car: (3.5/5) on 16 February 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Sicily by car has had a lot of bad publicity, my experience: they were very courteous and apologetic, probably trying to make up, on return they did not inspect the car with a magnifying glass as many do and signed the "no new damage box" without hesitation. Although theres a large deposit this didn't bother me thanks to reduce my excess. I had it covered. Sicily by car is probably my first choice on my next car hire requirement. As I can see they are trying to win thier customers back and are not interested in ripping people off as most car hire companies do.

City/airport: Treviso

Faz's rating of their experience of Sicily By Car: (4/5) on 25 January 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

They are irreliable. There have hidden expenses. They don't say the real prices.. The prices are much more higher than they say. I paid three times more of the price that I had agreed. They are rude and they offend you. Don't prefer them.

City/airport: RomaTermini

Kallia's rating of their experience of Sicily By Car: (1/5) on 17 January 2020

DON'T CHOOSE THIS CAR RENTAL COMPANY! We rented a Seat Toledo car from Milan. It wasn't the car we reserved and we paid more for this car, because they told us it was the last one. The car was looking good, though. When we returned the car, we had the gas tank fulled 10 km before arriving at the parking spot, but they charged us with 50 euros more, saying that the gas tank wasn't full. We tried to reach them several times but they did not respond! We do not recomend this company.

City/airport: Milan

Ruxi's rating of their experience of Sicily By Car: (1/5) on 3 January 2020

I had the worst car rental experience ever! I do not recommend Sicily by Car! I rented a 9-seat Mercedes van more than two months before our trip to Italy. We fully payed the bill for the car rent at moment when we booked it. When we arrived to Malpensa Airport Terminal 1 rent desk of Sicily by Car we encountered several problems. First of all, we needed to pay extra ~340 eur, for "super inssurance" as vans can not have standard insurance (at least employee claimed that), so thet there would be 0 risk for damage (ok, seems legit reason). On top of that they reserved 500 euros (why? if they had super insurance?). We needed to pay extra 80 for the 2 childers seats (although they where included in the first bill), and at the end they do not even have Mercedes vans and gave us Citroen instead. Needless to say the service was slow as well. When we received the car it did not have baby chairs in it – so we needed to get back to their office to ask again for the baby chairs. When we returned the car after our trip with same fuel level when we received the car, Sicily by Car made us to fill the fuel to the max despite it was not full when we received the car.

City/airport: Malpensa airport, Milan

Marta's rating of their experience of Sicily By Car: (1/5) on 16 October 2019

A good car - only 8000 kms on the clock. Not properly cleaned - windscreen filthy.Otherwise everything went smoothly.

City/airport: Milan - Malpensa

Highly Satisfied's rating of their experience of Sicily By Car: (3.5/5) on 5 October 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

I use Sicily car car at Perugia airport every year, even if other companies are sometimes cheaper. The reason is that they are always efficient and friendly and don’t try to sell me insurance I don’t need, as I always take out my own excess. At this airport I wouldn’t use anyone else.

City/airport: Perugia Airport

spiderkemp's rating of their experience of Sicily By Car: (5/5) on 13 August 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Very good rates, clearly used by Italians also. Friendly, low pressure.

City/airport: Naples

Limoncello Lover's rating of their experience of Sicily By Car: (4.5/5) on 13 July 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Waited in queue to collect pre booked car for well over an hour with small children. Long walk with luggage and children to collect car, and same on return. Unhelpful staff refused to assist fitting of two child seats hired with car. Struggling in very hot weather with baby and two year old. Car was good. Return quick and efficient.

City/airport: Bari Airport

Old Moaner's rating of their experience of Sicily By Car: (1.5/5) on 21 June 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Good price and kiosk easy to find in the terminal building. Queue can be very slow, as there are only two desks and lots of customers. They do try to sell additional insurance, but no pressure if you decline, provided you accept the 700 euro retention against your credit card. I've used them on three occasions with no issues upon return on any of them (including an after hours return). Last time, the car was not very clean on the outside, but they were clearly very busy and it wasn't a big deal to me. They have a Full to Full policy, and if you return it less than full, they will direct you to the nearest petrol station to avoid their admin fee (only a couple of minutes away so no big deal). Overall, a contented customer, and I will continue to use them in future trips

City/airport: Bergamo

Nikki's rating of their experience of Sicily By Car: (4/5) on 19 June 2019

DO NOT RECOMMENDED. THEY charged us €90 for using debit card, without properly informing us about extra charges for if. Guy behind the desk told us that extra deposit will be taken because it's a debit card, and we agreed on it. Money were taken from our account after we gave the car back and left the country and it turned out it's not a deposit but extra cost and they are not going to give it back.

City/airport: Bergamo

Polinka's rating of their experience of Sicily By Car: (1/5) on 30 May 2019

yes fine not too much pressure to buy company's insurance. Fairly quick service and polite. Good returns

City/airport: Bergamo

The Indian's rating of their experience of Sicily By Car: (3.5/5) on 27 May 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

booking information stated full tank to full tank but although the paperwork stated the car was full it was only 2/8ths which they corrected the paperwork. I wanted them to fill it but that wasn't forthcoming, however the tank was still half full on return and no offer of refund, I always prefer full tank to full tank but this was the only thing that disapointed me,

City/airport: bari Airport

kb's rating of their experience of Sicily By Car: (1.5/5) on 26 May 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

I paid extra for the sat-nav (integral) didn't use it,it was in Italian and I couldn't work out how to change the language. They still made me pay 39 €.

City/airport: Bari Palese

Baz's rating of their experience of Sicily By Car: (5/5) on 17 June 2018

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Car fine. Minor damage on it but all noted prior to collections

City/airport: Rome airport italy

Kim's rating of their experience of Sicily By Car: (5/5) on 24 October 2017

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

If you have any comments or concerns about a review listed here please contact us for assistance.