RecordGo Reviews

Have you hired a car from RecordGo recently? Why not submit a review of your experiences to help others?
RecordGo's Rating:
1.5/5 based on 109 reviews
5 stars
0
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
5
Save money on your car hire! Get the best cover for your
Car Hire Excess Insurance
If you are using your own insurance be very careful. I know to check the cars and take a video. In 15 years I have rented more than 50 cars at Alicante airport I have never seen an agent crawl under the front spoiler of the car to find some damage. I know I did not cause the damage, but could not prove it. The agent seemed to know where to look! Please be warned as they will debit your credit card and you have no comeback. Desperate times for rental companies but if you treat regular customers like this they will not come back. Don't get caught like this

City/airport:

Clive's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (1/5) on 29 October 2020

When we picked up our car at Seville there was only one poor girl doing both minibus transfers and check-ins. She was terribly stressed and clearly should not have been left alone to deal with everything by Record Go. As a result we were rushed through check in. The first two cars we were offered were badly damaged. Finally we accepted a third vehicle and signed the contract we were presented with in some haste. The girl was in tears with a queue at check in and more customers waiting at the terminal in the baking sun. We were trying to do her a favour by signing swiftly. Our reservation voucher clearly said unlimited mileage on it so we thought everything was straightforward. Our booking was for two months so unlimited mileage was obviously important so us. HOWEVER, on returning the car we were charged 1000 euros for extra mileage!!! Apparently in the small print of the contract (that we only had minutes to read) it said we had to get the car checked after 2000k. We believe we should have been notified of this tiny subclass ESPECIALLY as we had booked a car for two months and obviously risked doing more than 2000k. I will never recommend Record Go - their customer service on the day was unacceptable and they are unprepared to accept they are at fault for not giving us a decent check in process with proper advice. If we had known of course we would have complied with conditions of contract. Totally unacceptable behaviour from an appallingly run company. Never use them.

City/airport:

DJMac's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (1/5) on 30 September 2020

They are con artists. We hired a car from them at Malaga airport. The car had a lot of damage on it, which was indicated on their paperwork. I also took some photos to be safe. I returned it in the same condition, clean and with a full tank of fuel. When I got my next credit card statement I found that they had charged £995 claiming that I had caused the damage. I sent them the proof that I hadn't but they ignored it.

City/airport:

AntonyM's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (1/5) on 25 August 2020

Friendly helpful and calm staff!

City/airport:

Jon's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (4/5) on 17 July 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

BEWARE!! We booked through DiscoverCars.com and they provided a rental from Record-go and it was a terrible service. We got a flat and when I looked in the boot for a repair option, found the wheel or kit were missing. When we rang their road side assistance we were told that the car (and myself) would need to wait for a pickup truck from Seville. We had a 2 hour journey back to Seville, pickup another car and then drive back to our holiday base. Return-go told us they deliberately remove the spare wheel & repair kit!!!. So I lost out a day of our holidays and were charged over €400 for the pickup and €200 for new tyre!!

City/airport:

RonanB's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (1/5) on 17 March 2020

Pushy and arrogant at pick up when i asked questions on fuel policy and didn't want to purchase their extra insurance. On return charged me 270Euros for a tiny mark that could easily have been polished out, the lady checking the car went straight to the mark and didn't bother checking the rest of the vehicle. This company has excessive charges and over complicated policies. Please do not book with the and get caught out like i did.

City/airport:

NRB's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (1/5) on 4 March 2020

Very unpleasant when we didn’t buy their excess insurance (we had our own) and then on returning the car they they charged us £200 for a small scratch in front of the wheel that we hadn’t made (our pick up photos of the car didn’t show that area as it was sloping under car so we couldn’t defend) will never use them again.

City/airport:

Nothappy's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (1/5) on 26 February 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Really good, efficient, friendly, and cheap. Recommended.

City/airport:

JoeBloggs's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (5/5) on 24 February 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Price is competitive but in exchange you have to do your own check in / contract on a large touch screen and scan your driving licence / documents Waiting time was about 10-15 min which is standard I think We got given a different car that we contracted and when pointed out the need for a larger bout all they wanted was for us to pay for an upgrade !! Gave up eventually and piled the suitcases on the back seats . The family in front of us had exactly the same issue .. The car hadn’t been cleaned properly and a piece of half eaten chocolate Kit Kat was left on the back seat . When we returned the car there was nobody to checked it out . We left the keys on a box and are crossing our fingers as , at this point , have little trust on the company !

City/airport:

Morla's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (2.5/5) on 23 February 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

The pick up is automated by machine and you are asked to photograph the documents. You are then directed to another floor and given the keys. One of the documents shows all the damage. This is very hard to check as it is dark so had to use torch on the phone. All a bit stressful. The return was ok the attendant looked round the car , checked the petrol and said all ok . There’s no way all the previous damage was checked

City/airport:

Dickie's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (3.5/5) on 17 February 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Quick pick up great car good service

City/airport:

Jimbo's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (4.5/5) on 17 February 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Conveniently on airport and quite polite at the desk. A bit of a wait for the keys but not too long. I've used this company frequently and I'd recommend them.

City/airport:

Francesca's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (4/5) on 26 January 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Loooong waiting time although we booked the car ahead and almost no people

City/airport:

Kat's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (1/5) on 24 January 2020

The car hire company advertised as "on Airport" but the car collection was a very long walk, which was an issue for my wife who has walking difficulties.

City/airport:

Mike B's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (4/5) on 12 January 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Arrived early to airport and wouldn’t let me get a car earlier than booked. Quick to give the car over without doing checks missing bulbs . Quite scratched. Upon return checked over with a fine tooth comb. Took money from my credit card for “fuel” despite me bringing it back with a full tank.

City/airport: Alicante

Benjamin's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (3/5) on 14 December 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Good service, nice car

City/airport: Malaga

Gaz's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (3.5/5) on 8 December 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Bad from start to finish Record Go - Alicante airport This is my first experience of hiring a car abroad - and I can say one positive is it's taught me a lot. unless of course you buy all of their extras and insurance policies, they will rip you off at any opportunity. Arrived at airport - picked up a ticket, and others who had come after were seen first (now know this is due to priority 50.00 payment). The woman we saw was very pushy and rude. She charged my credit card for an additional driver, which I eventually had refunded when I showed her it was included in my booking for free through the broker holiday autos. she wasn't a happy bunny. Luckily I had read all of the info sent to me from holiday autos - which said to decline all extra insurances, warning me that I would have 1100 euros blocked on my credit card. I had excess refund insurance through axa - added it on through holiday autos. The woman was VERY rude, and tried to push the insurance policies, first offering 145.00 then 55.00. When I said no she was very aggressive and told me the insurance wasn't valid, and I'd be liable for all damage. Went to pick up the car, first off a fiesta - found that the cigarette lighter didn't work to charge sat nav - so given a seat Ibiza. Checked over the car - found scratches and told the guy at the office, who told me anything under 4cm isn't considered damage. He wouldn't come and look, telling me that everything is on the contract. I took photos of everything I could see. The car was fine driving, and did me for what I needed. Unfortunately the experience dropping off wasn't great. Handed over the keys. And straight away the woman went over to the back and pointed out 'damage'. A scuff, and 2 scratches under 4cm. But they seem to have their own rules when it comes to scratches. I was charged over 350 euros for the privilege. If you are going to go through 'Record Con' here's some tips... 1. Ensure you check ALL over the car and note down ALL damage no matter how small... including the interior. Take photos of EVERYTHING. They also have an app - although it doesn't allow you to take many photos of the same area. 2. Get them to come and verify the damage before you leave. Don't be sucked in to a false sense of security with the '4cm scratch' line. 3. If you have excess refund insurance - don't let them bully you to buy more. 4. Take photos of the interior before you leave - they have sent people bills for 95.00 euros for cleaning. 5. make sure you have a credit card - someone I met in the carpark had 1100 euros blocked on their debit card because they don't take certain credit cards. 6. Fill up your tank on the way back - and take receipts. Ensure you get your refund for petrol. They will take this 66.00 euros off of your credit card before you take your car. 7. Get receipts of all damage payments, take photos, and keep ALL paperwork so that you can claim anything you are charged back through your damage excess refund insurance. 1 * for customer service 5 * for conning customers ;)

City/airport: Alicante

Lauried's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (1/5) on 9 November 2019

DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY!!!!!!! They charged us for scratches on the car that we have never made and they just took the money from our creditcard without informing us about it, no mail, no phonecall, no explenation!!!! They say we made the scratches, that is NOT TRUE, they were already there when we picked up the car. We sent them an e-mail with a video we took of the car, they have not responded to this mail at all. I HAVE NEVER before experienced anything like this, I strongly recommend everyone to STAY FAR AWAY FROM THIS COMPANY!!!

City/airport: Malaga

Aud's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (1/5) on 31 October 2019

Horrible experience on multiple counts: - Waiting one hour at reception without pushing rental to when we actually received vehicle (as is the normal custom) - Making a range of mistakes during pick-up, trying to charge us additional days and arguing that we had booked more days than we had (which we had to then show twice since it didn't seem to go through) - Charge excessive fees for insurance (they reel you in with their low day rate, but in the end paying the same as any major int'l chain, which are much much better). - Horrible vehicle pick-up garage, walking 5 stories down (without elevator/proper walkway) and nearly impossible to drive out with large car (while their staff is flying around blind corners at high speed - highly unprofessional) - Unable to drop-off vehicle at night - our rental was until Monday morning 10AM, we had a flight at 9AM and wanted to drop off vehicle at 6-7AM, but were forced to drop vehicle at 10PM the evening before since they would not have been open otherwise and would've simply continued charging us as they require you to deliver vehicle while office is open (cheap way to incur extra costs - which rental agency doesn't have a keybox for dropoff? One that tries to scam you into additional charges) - Staff not helpful during drop-off, had to drive the car down into the depths of the tiny 5 floor garage again (first time after 100's of rentals that a staff hasn't taken the vehicle from the office drop off) - Unfriendly staff - Bogus ticket claim and already charged my card admin fee of 40eu without any evidence of ticket Will never rent from them again and advise others to stay away - much better to go with reliable int'l agencies (Avis, Sixt, Budget, Europcar, etc.).

City/airport: Barcelona

AGCV's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (1/5) on 28 October 2019

bit of a queue picking car up and it's frowned on that you have your own excess cover but the price was ridiculously cheap and the dropping off experience was very positive

City/airport: palma

philh's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (4.5/5) on 22 October 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

When we arrived we struggled to find the minibus to the depot. The system to enter our booking did not accept our booking number. The receptionist denied we have already paid our insurance with our booking .so we had to take out a second policy . The basic policy did not cover more than 100ks per day so we paid extra for that. They took off E55 for fuel up fromt To date this has not been refunded . On return they wanted another E 95 cleaning charge - the whole experience was horrendous-and is still not sorted . avoid like the plague.

City/airport: Barcelona

Will's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (1/5) on 16 October 2019

Veronica at Record was brilliant from the start. She made what can be a tiresome experience a pleasant experience. She explained everything clearly and a smile is always a good way to begin a holiday. Well done Record👍

City/airport: Malaga

Steve O's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (5/5) on 10 October 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

First review I’ve ever written and writing it to stop anyone from using this company. It’s systemised, formalised scam. Every step is made to try and con you out of money, I’ve never seen anything like it. Am amazed it hasnt been shut down by authorities, as can’t imagine some of the exploitation and trickery can possibly be legal. They should be put out of business immediately

City/airport: Palma, Mallorca

Freddie's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (1/5) on 27 September 2019

Busy, too busy

City/airport: Palma

Old Fart's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (1.5/5) on 26 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Rented car via internet company, took insurance out to cover damage etc.on arrival at record reception, had to wait ages to be seen by someone. Was informed needed to pay extra €70 because over 70yr,then if didn't pay€20 would be limited to 125km per day!!! so in desperation took out full insurance €217 because had been there for so long arguing the point but getting no where.What a load of bandits!! So be aware.

City/airport: Malaga

OAP's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (1/5) on 25 September 2019

If you have any comments or concerns about a review listed here please contact us for assistance.