RecordGo Reviews

Have you hired a car from RecordGo recently? Why not submit a review of your experiences to help others?
RecordGo's Rating:
2.3/5 based on 81 reviews
5 stars
13
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
33
Save money on your car hire! Get the best cover for your
Car Hire Excess Insurance
A terrible bunch of hard sell conmen. Threatening no car unless took extra insurance. Fi d scratches on returns when all panels are covered in scratches in the first place. Do not use them !!

City/airport: Malaga

SteveW's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (1/5) on 24 September 2019

Complete scammers, do not use this company. Never known anything like it. Booked through Ryan Air, took out extra insurance to avoid any excess. Instructions on how to find them were ridiculous, others were having trouble too and we only found the minibus to take us to the office by accident. When there, they immediately asked if we wanted to take out more insurance, to which I replied we already had. They said not through us so you will have to pay £1400.00 on your credit card and will not get this money back for 30 days. We said fine but others who incur charges to their credit card said they didn’t want to and actually paid even more money. The car was filthy and full of scratches and dents. We videoed the car before we drove off and wrote down all the faults and got them to sign. We videoed the car again when we returned it. I recommend everyone do this, so they cannot scam you later, and they will! The woman who took the car back, named Christina was literally a witch. One nasty piece of work. We couldn’t believe how she spoke to us, the rudest person ever and very aggressive. Please, please let’s put this company out of business, they are nothing but robbing scumbags. Hire at your own peril.

City/airport: Barcelona

Betty's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (1/5) on 23 September 2019

Got very cross when I told another customer about excess insurance, said "You mustn't talk to other customers" I informed her that Franco was dead and I'd talk to anyone I please.

City/airport: Palma Majorca

Bovo's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (2/5) on 23 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

do not hire from these bunch of crooks, they take your money but do not want deal with any complaints and refund you. no contact number to call customer service you can see why service terrible .

City/airport: palma mallorca

tt's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (1/5) on 20 September 2019

Excellent

City/airport: Palma

Den's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (5/5) on 15 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Very Poor service!! waited over 2.5 hours to collect my car. Then they had the cheek to charge me €40 out of hours collection when I arrived way inside the out of hours time. Very rude staff. Forced to take out excess insurance even though it stated it on my car hire reservation. I was told that I wasn't covered as it wasn't their insurance even though I paid the excess along with the original booking. It was either pay it or I was told I wasn't getting the car. I noticed whilst waiting my turn in the queue customers were getting very aggravated the way they were being treated and at one stage the checking in staff pushed his face in to a waiting customers face and then refused to serve them. Will Never Use This Company Again!!!!

City/airport: Mallorca

Big Diapointment's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (1/5) on 11 September 2019

Very helpful, very competitive price via doyouspain . com, easy pick up clean car 30k on the clock quite a few dings etc but all listed on the handover sheet. was over an Audi A1 sport for 30 Euros at the desk which I didn't take but then wished I had as it was a lovely looking car when we got down to the pick up area. drop off was easy and stress free as well.

City/airport: Alicante

Gaz's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (4.5/5) on 29 August 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

I have never seen such a worst rental car company than this in my life. They are very far away from Barcelona airport (actually in next village) & the instructions were not given. After calling them 5 times, we actually found out where would they pick up in their van & take us there. At 11pm in the night, while signing the rental agreement €28.49 charge comes up which is non-refundable even if you return full tank. This is disastrous. Never paid such charges & also you are left with no choice at 11pm. The deposit they hold in the card is actually returned after 6 weeks for which you have to pay interest on your credit card. I sent them 5 emails & only one was replied. My car was damaged in Barcelona by an invader. They took money twice from credit card on top of deposit & they are still not replying after 2 months what is the actual cost as the invoice they sent was taken in first time. My insurance company is also chasing them for that, but still it remains unresolved after 2 months. One of their representative informed while returning the car that it is very common to get rental car damaged in Spain. So please avoid particularly this company. They are coming up as cheapest on the internet, but not at all reliable. You end up with many other expenses & particularly credit card interest on the bigger amount. All other car rental companies release deposit within a week (my experience so far from other companies is just next day), while they hold for 6 weeks. So please avoid!!

City/airport: Barcelona Airport

Ankit's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (1/5) on 22 August 2019

The service received from RecordGo was excellent. On dropping off the keys the car was checked promptly and there were no issues. It was a relief and a surprise to receive such a positive service from a car hire company.

City/airport: Alicante

Julie S's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (5/5) on 19 August 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

They are a bunch of scammers.when i returned the car in perfect condition.they asked me if i had extra insurance,i said yes,the guy proceeded to the front of the car,crawled under and told me i had damaged the underside,i told him i had driven the car with the utmost care and it must have been like that when i got it.he told me i should have spotted this on pick up.i told him i dont normally crawl under cards to check them,he told me that my extra insurance would cover it and proceeded to claim my 1100 euro excess.i asked him why he went straight to the passenger underside to look as soon as i said i had extra insurance and why he didnt check the other side.he then pretended to not understand properly.TOTAL SCAM

City/airport: alicante

tam scotland's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (1/5) on 15 August 2019

I would strongly recommend against hiring a car from RecordGo in Majorca. When we arrived at the car rental desk, there was a wait of over 2.5 hours to collect the car. This was a very unpleasant start to our holiday and staff were unsympathetic, despite us travelling with a young baby. The hire service maybe cheaper, but it is terrible value.

City/airport: Palma

MattLondon's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (1/5) on 12 August 2019

Too long waiting picking up car over 2 hours, car was filthy inside & out, damage was beyond a few scratches and headlight was broken from a big dent on front of car

City/airport: Palma Airport

Dazmo's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (1/5) on 11 August 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Too long waiting picking up car over 2 hours

City/airport: Palma Airport

Dazmo's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (1/5) on 11 August 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

When I went to collect car it wasn't ready. Had to go back to the office and change the paper work for another car. Finally when we got the car it was covered in scrapes and dings and these were not on the paperwork. Had to go back again to office to get the rep to go around the car with me. She kept trying to ignore the marks but we wanted them recorded as Didn't want to get billed for them. Once she had noted them down we had to go back to the office again ..and queue again to get paper work updated. Finally 40 mins later we were ready to leave. I pulled out of the car park space and did a final check. There were scrapes all along the bottom of the car. The car park was dimly lit. Had to get another rep over to record it and queue up again to get paper work corrected to show the damage. This car was less than a year old!!. Eventually after an hour we were ready to go. We kept being told that the marks were fine and not to worry about it. I am so glad we recorded every scrape and Mark because when we returned the car 2 weeks later they said just leave the keys and go. We were not happy with this and insisted they were happy with the car and signed it off before we left. So glad we insisted on this as they went over it with a fine tooth combe and a torch checking every panel and Mark. We would of probably lost our deposit otherwise as once we were away we would of found it hard to argue our case.

City/airport: Malaga

Si's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (2/5) on 10 August 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Do not use Record Go! I thought the price was too good to be true - unfortunately I turned out to be right! - we waited 25 minutes for our paperwork to be processed. - the member of staff asked us if we wanted to pay a €1400 refundable deposit or an additional €175 (to avoid us leaving the hefty deposit) which I found to be unusual. - we waited a further 15 minutes to collect our key from the car park office. - the car was parked inches from the next car and the drivers seat was an inch or so from the concrete pillar. My partner had to squeeze in the passenger side and climb across to the drivers seat to pull the car out for us to get in. - the two children’s car seats we had paid for were not in the car, so we had to go back to the office to collect them. - the family next to us had paid for a sat Nav but none of the staff knew how to change the language to English. - as instructed, we looked over the car for damage and scratches ‘longer than 4cm’ but we couldn’t find anything. - on return of the vehicle, the member of staff checking over the car found a scratch on the drivers hubcap measuring 4.5cm. There was no way we would have spotted this and think the car was strategically parked so we wouldn’t spot the scratch. - we were charged €175 for the damage and an extra €50 for paperwork. The member of staff shrugged his shoulders and told us ‘it wasn’t his problem’. We found the whole process not at all customer friendly and they literally just try to get money from you at every turn. Pay the extra and go to a company that actually tries to provide good customer service.

City/airport: Alicante

Melissa W's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (1/5) on 8 August 2019

This was the first time I have rented a car and was worried about the bad reviews of all car hire companies. Record Go also had its fair share of bad reviews l, all be it from a couple of years ago. I weighed up hiring from Record Go or with one of the premium brands and decided on Record Go as I didn’t want to pay there times the amount for a similar car. I was pleasantly surprised there was no hard sell to take their extra insurance, the car was in an acceptable condition with all damage noted on the paperwork. Drop off was easy and we were told the car did not have any new damage. We then received our deposit back within two days. I would use Record Go again

City/airport: Malaga

Jimbo's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (5/5) on 5 August 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

RecordGo are the worst and most devious car hire company I have ever used, and I've used a lot! The car collection area is in darkness, so I had to use a torch to look over the car to locate any scratches they had missed on their paperwork, oh, and they had missed some! When the car is returned the drop off area is under 100's of spotlights, so obvioulsy no torch needed! Sly sly tactics... the lady then proceeded to find a scratch only someone who knew the car inside out could find and we were charged €300 for a tiny scratch that we certainly did not do, I can assure you. It would have taken me all week to find the scratch she conveniently located. I wonder how many people have been charged for this one same scratch! They're a classic shelf life company to make money quick by offering some of the cheapest (on the face of it) car rentals but they proceed to 'sting' their customers. They have to make their money somehow right. Given their appalling reviews they clearly don't care and will probably close down soon having ripped off 1000's of people. Absolute scammers, I would never touch them again, and hope anyone reading this doesn't either. Avoid at all costs, never used such no moral type of car rental compnay before!

City/airport: Malaga

Laura's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (1/5) on 24 July 2019

Tried hard to sell extra insurance on pick up but gave up when told them about my excess policy. Gave us a brand new car :)

City/airport: Malage

Flemfield's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (4/5) on 19 July 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Despite bad reviews, I recommend Record go. I booked a small-size (like ford focus size) car with full coverage on their webpage (as I understand, it is important is to not make an order via other webpages) for 3 weeks in Alicante. Service was ok and quick (full coverage includes also fast-track). Instead of a small car, I got completely new Opel Mocca Eco which ran only 1100 km. I had parking radars and back camera, air-con (of course), navigator, and car-play. I had the full-full option and when returning the car I was not able to find gas-station around the airport (some gas-stations which are in show by google were closed). I was stressed and decided to not drive around any longer as I was already 15 minutes behind return time. It was basically my fault, I supposed to reserve more time for tanking, can't blame record go for that. I explained the situation while leaving the car key and to my surprise, I got gas almost all pension money back and Record-go didn't charge me for tanking service, however, it is good to notice that my tank was almost full but anyway not full enough according to rental conditions. I have an only positive experience with record go and will definitely rent a car there next time.

City/airport: alicante

Tatiana's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (5/5) on 15 July 2019

Check very carefully, they try to charge you for a service and refuelling charge even when you present the car back as you took it. It is not fair, and you cannot complain they just tell you NO. Please book with another company that is upfront about its policy

City/airport: seville

john's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (1/5) on 15 July 2019

As good as you could reasonably expect. Nothing special but certainly acceptable. Had to make a three hour round trip to return our vehicle did to faulty air conditioning (VW Caddy - done less than 1,000 miles from new) and they initially argued against a replacement! Bit of pressure and they soon backed down! However, we would use them again.

City/airport: Palma

MNSevenoaks's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (3.5/5) on 13 July 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

The price was ridiculously low when accompanied by excess insurance taken out separately. My car was 1.5 hrs late for some reason, but I did receive a better car than booked so that made up for it. Would be nice if staff were available 24hours for early drop offs.

City/airport: Malaga

Grapes's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (5/5) on 3 July 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

The overall car hire was good at the price they offer. The collection process, once we had worked out we had to take a ticket, was simple took about 20 minutes as it was busy and the lady was clear and helpful. The car did have an undocumented mark, but we took photos as advised and had no issues on return. Again the return area was busy and took 20 minutes to be seen and signed in but again no issues. They do take a 60 Euro deposit for Fuel but as we returned the car full this was refunded automatically to my credit card within 48 hours. Overall a good experience with a Budget car hire firm.

City/airport: Palma

IanC's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (4/5) on 25 June 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Great hire experience, no issues at all and was easy to find where to return car to. Only criticism was took over half an hour to be seen by someone at the desk when we arrived

City/airport: Palma Airport

Slenny's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (4.5/5) on 19 June 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Attention! Beware of this company. They charged me by a scratch that I didn't do. The cheap turns out very expensive. When I did the hire online, it said that I will pay 11.27€. In the end, with admin fee, fuel tank fee and the little scratch that I didn't make, I payed 488.63€. Holidays ruined! Avoid this company.

City/airport: Seville

mavim's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (1/5) on 15 June 2019

If you have any comments or concerns about a review listed here please contact us for assistance.