RecordGo Reviews

Have you hired a car from RecordGo recently? Why not submit a review of your experiences to help others?
RecordGo's Rating:
2.4/5 based on 73 reviews
5 stars
12
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
28
Save money on your car hire! Get the best cover for your
Car Hire Excess Insurance
The service received from RecordGo was excellent. On dropping off the keys the car was checked promptly and there were no issues. It was a relief and a surprise to receive such a positive service from a car hire company.

City/airport: Alicante

Julie S's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (5/5) on 19 August 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

They are a bunch of scammers.when i returned the car in perfect condition.they asked me if i had extra insurance,i said yes,the guy proceeded to the front of the car,crawled under and told me i had damaged the underside,i told him i had driven the car with the utmost care and it must have been like that when i got it.he told me i should have spotted this on pick up.i told him i dont normally crawl under cards to check them,he told me that my extra insurance would cover it and proceeded to claim my 1100 euro excess.i asked him why he went straight to the passenger underside to look as soon as i said i had extra insurance and why he didnt check the other side.he then pretended to not understand properly.TOTAL SCAM

City/airport: alicante

tam scotland's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (1/5) on 15 August 2019

I would strongly recommend against hiring a car from RecordGo in Majorca. When we arrived at the car rental desk, there was a wait of over 2.5 hours to collect the car. This was a very unpleasant start to our holiday and staff were unsympathetic, despite us travelling with a young baby. The hire service maybe cheaper, but it is terrible value.

City/airport: Palma

MattLondon's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (1/5) on 12 August 2019

Too long waiting picking up car over 2 hours, car was filthy inside & out, damage was beyond a few scratches and headlight was broken from a big dent on front of car

City/airport: Palma Airport

Dazmo's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (1/5) on 11 August 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Too long waiting picking up car over 2 hours

City/airport: Palma Airport

Dazmo's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (1/5) on 11 August 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

When I went to collect car it wasn't ready. Had to go back to the office and change the paper work for another car. Finally when we got the car it was covered in scrapes and dings and these were not on the paperwork. Had to go back again to office to get the rep to go around the car with me. She kept trying to ignore the marks but we wanted them recorded as Didn't want to get billed for them. Once she had noted them down we had to go back to the office again ..and queue again to get paper work updated. Finally 40 mins later we were ready to leave. I pulled out of the car park space and did a final check. There were scrapes all along the bottom of the car. The car park was dimly lit. Had to get another rep over to record it and queue up again to get paper work corrected to show the damage. This car was less than a year old!!. Eventually after an hour we were ready to go. We kept being told that the marks were fine and not to worry about it. I am so glad we recorded every scrape and Mark because when we returned the car 2 weeks later they said just leave the keys and go. We were not happy with this and insisted they were happy with the car and signed it off before we left. So glad we insisted on this as they went over it with a fine tooth combe and a torch checking every panel and Mark. We would of probably lost our deposit otherwise as once we were away we would of found it hard to argue our case.

City/airport: Malaga

Si's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (2/5) on 10 August 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Do not use Record Go! I thought the price was too good to be true - unfortunately I turned out to be right! - we waited 25 minutes for our paperwork to be processed. - the member of staff asked us if we wanted to pay a €1400 refundable deposit or an additional €175 (to avoid us leaving the hefty deposit) which I found to be unusual. - we waited a further 15 minutes to collect our key from the car park office. - the car was parked inches from the next car and the drivers seat was an inch or so from the concrete pillar. My partner had to squeeze in the passenger side and climb across to the drivers seat to pull the car out for us to get in. - the two children’s car seats we had paid for were not in the car, so we had to go back to the office to collect them. - the family next to us had paid for a sat Nav but none of the staff knew how to change the language to English. - as instructed, we looked over the car for damage and scratches ‘longer than 4cm’ but we couldn’t find anything. - on return of the vehicle, the member of staff checking over the car found a scratch on the drivers hubcap measuring 4.5cm. There was no way we would have spotted this and think the car was strategically parked so we wouldn’t spot the scratch. - we were charged €175 for the damage and an extra €50 for paperwork. The member of staff shrugged his shoulders and told us ‘it wasn’t his problem’. We found the whole process not at all customer friendly and they literally just try to get money from you at every turn. Pay the extra and go to a company that actually tries to provide good customer service.

City/airport: Alicante

Melissa W's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (1/5) on 8 August 2019

This was the first time I have rented a car and was worried about the bad reviews of all car hire companies. Record Go also had its fair share of bad reviews l, all be it from a couple of years ago. I weighed up hiring from Record Go or with one of the premium brands and decided on Record Go as I didn’t want to pay there times the amount for a similar car. I was pleasantly surprised there was no hard sell to take their extra insurance, the car was in an acceptable condition with all damage noted on the paperwork. Drop off was easy and we were told the car did not have any new damage. We then received our deposit back within two days. I would use Record Go again

City/airport: Malaga

Jimbo's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (5/5) on 5 August 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

RecordGo are the worst and most devious car hire company I have ever used, and I've used a lot! The car collection area is in darkness, so I had to use a torch to look over the car to locate any scratches they had missed on their paperwork, oh, and they had missed some! When the car is returned the drop off area is under 100's of spotlights, so obvioulsy no torch needed! Sly sly tactics... the lady then proceeded to find a scratch only someone who knew the car inside out could find and we were charged €300 for a tiny scratch that we certainly did not do, I can assure you. It would have taken me all week to find the scratch she conveniently located. I wonder how many people have been charged for this one same scratch! They're a classic shelf life company to make money quick by offering some of the cheapest (on the face of it) car rentals but they proceed to 'sting' their customers. They have to make their money somehow right. Given their appalling reviews they clearly don't care and will probably close down soon having ripped off 1000's of people. Absolute scammers, I would never touch them again, and hope anyone reading this doesn't either. Avoid at all costs, never used such no moral type of car rental compnay before!

City/airport: Malaga

Laura's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (1/5) on 24 July 2019

Tried hard to sell extra insurance on pick up but gave up when told them about my excess policy. Gave us a brand new car :)

City/airport: Malage

Flemfield's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (4/5) on 19 July 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Despite bad reviews, I recommend Record go. I booked a small-size (like ford focus size) car with full coverage on their webpage (as I understand, it is important is to not make an order via other webpages) for 3 weeks in Alicante. Service was ok and quick (full coverage includes also fast-track). Instead of a small car, I got completely new Opel Mocca Eco which ran only 1100 km. I had parking radars and back camera, air-con (of course), navigator, and car-play. I had the full-full option and when returning the car I was not able to find gas-station around the airport (some gas-stations which are in show by google were closed). I was stressed and decided to not drive around any longer as I was already 15 minutes behind return time. It was basically my fault, I supposed to reserve more time for tanking, can't blame record go for that. I explained the situation while leaving the car key and to my surprise, I got gas almost all pension money back and Record-go didn't charge me for tanking service, however, it is good to notice that my tank was almost full but anyway not full enough according to rental conditions. I have an only positive experience with record go and will definitely rent a car there next time.

City/airport: alicante

Tatiana's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (5/5) on 15 July 2019

Check very carefully, they try to charge you for a service and refuelling charge even when you present the car back as you took it. It is not fair, and you cannot complain they just tell you NO. Please book with another company that is upfront about its policy

City/airport: seville

john's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (1/5) on 15 July 2019

As good as you could reasonably expect. Nothing special but certainly acceptable. Had to make a three hour round trip to return our vehicle did to faulty air conditioning (VW Caddy - done less than 1,000 miles from new) and they initially argued against a replacement! Bit of pressure and they soon backed down! However, we would use them again.

City/airport: Palma

MNSevenoaks's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (3.5/5) on 13 July 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

The price was ridiculously low when accompanied by excess insurance taken out separately. My car was 1.5 hrs late for some reason, but I did receive a better car than booked so that made up for it. Would be nice if staff were available 24hours for early drop offs.

City/airport: Malaga

Grapes's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (5/5) on 3 July 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

The overall car hire was good at the price they offer. The collection process, once we had worked out we had to take a ticket, was simple took about 20 minutes as it was busy and the lady was clear and helpful. The car did have an undocumented mark, but we took photos as advised and had no issues on return. Again the return area was busy and took 20 minutes to be seen and signed in but again no issues. They do take a 60 Euro deposit for Fuel but as we returned the car full this was refunded automatically to my credit card within 48 hours. Overall a good experience with a Budget car hire firm.

City/airport: Palma

IanC's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (4/5) on 25 June 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Great hire experience, no issues at all and was easy to find where to return car to. Only criticism was took over half an hour to be seen by someone at the desk when we arrived

City/airport: Palma Airport

Slenny's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (4.5/5) on 19 June 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Attention! Beware of this company. They charged me by a scratch that I didn't do. The cheap turns out very expensive. When I did the hire online, it said that I will pay 11.27€. In the end, with admin fee, fuel tank fee and the little scratch that I didn't make, I payed 488.63€. Holidays ruined! Avoid this company.

City/airport: Seville

mavim's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (1/5) on 15 June 2019

Use frequently with no issues except the length of the queues at pick up. Good value.

City/airport: Palma de Mallorca

T6's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (4/5) on 4 June 2019

Record go let down terribly. Due to a delayed fight expendia called them and they would hold our hire car till 10am the next day. When we arrive they did not hold our car, they would provide us with a suitable alternative, they were rude, they did not care, when O asked about car for emergency they said that we were not and emergency and wouldn’t not help. ( our situation was that my husband, two young daughter and I were stranded in valcenia and they did not or have any customer service abilities all.

City/airport: Valencia

Let down traveller's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (1/5) on 25 May 2019

Unfortunately there isn’t an option for 0 stars. Avoid at all costs!! We booked through a third party company took out extra insurance to be told at desk it’s not worth the paper it’s written on and we must leave €2000 deposit or pay another insurance of €250!! And if there is a mark on the car more than 4cm you lose your €2000. Absolute con artists. So wish I’d seen all these damning reviews before booking. Also have to wait ages for bus to company and waiting around in an office an hour to collect.

City/airport: Ibiza

Bex's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (1/5) on 6 May 2019

pushy with extras and always trying it on with not having correctly recorded damage. slows down process by having to take rep to check over car before leaving airport.... gold car even worse!

City/airport: alicante

Nathan's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (3/5) on 25 April 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

They were very well priced, car was new, no problems with them at all.

City/airport: Alicante

Bn101's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (5/5) on 25 March 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Perfect. Half the price of others at the airport (even going for their highest price option with no excess). All the staff I spoke to were very friendly and professional and I was served immediately. Car was good, drop off quick and easy, fuel charge refunded quickly. Hassle free and one of the best car rental experiences I've had at an airport anywhere.

City/airport: Malaga

Matt's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (5/5) on 28 February 2019

Excellent price great car helpful staff. Thank you

City/airport: Alicante

Car hire Alicante's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (5/5) on 23 February 2019

After paying in advance for the car (all expences included, we were promised on their website), we were presented with hundreds of euros in hidden charges when we came to pick up the car at the airport (Malaga). Our protests were arrogantly dismissed and they just pointed to a 7 pages long contract written in small letters: "Look! See! It's contract!" Things turned out much worse when we actually went to the garage to pick up the car: We had booked two car seats for our son (2 years) and daugther (10 months), but the seats were of such a bad quality that words cannot do justice to describe their condition. Now, I have installed quite a few seats for children, but I had a very difficult time installing these, as they were very wobbly, and we were concerned for how safe they would be for our children. When we asked for assistance, they literally refused to help us, because "if we install them wrong, we are responsible" (!!!). Another couple had exactly the same problem; they spent 1 hour installing their seat, while we spent 1 1/2 on ours, late at night with tired and crying children. We were treated extremly arrogantly by their employee (Carmen), and she literally yelled and degraged my wife in front of other customers when she begged for help. I can honestly say that I have never experienced customer service this bad. STAY AWAY!!!

City/airport: Malaga

Roy's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (1/5) on 24 December 2018

If you have any comments or concerns about a review listed here please contact us for assistance.