RecordGo Reviews

Have you hired a car from RecordGo recently? Why not submit a review of your experiences to help others?
RecordGo's Rating:
2.4/5 based on 104 reviews
5 stars
11
4 stars
9
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
27
Save money on your car hire! Get the best cover for your
Car Hire Excess Insurance
Friendly helpful and calm staff!

City/airport: Málaga

Jon's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (4/5) on 17 July 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

BEWARE!! We booked through DiscoverCars.com and they provided a rental from Record-go and it was a terrible service. We got a flat and when I looked in the boot for a repair option, found the wheel or kit were missing. When we rang their road side assistance we were told that the car (and myself) would need to wait for a pickup truck from Seville. We had a 2 hour journey back to Seville, pickup another car and then drive back to our holiday base. Return-go told us they deliberately remove the spare wheel & repair kit!!!. So I lost out a day of our holidays and were charged over €400 for the pickup and €200 for new tyre!!

City/airport: Seville

RonanB's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (1/5) on 17 March 2020

Pushy and arrogant at pick up when i asked questions on fuel policy and didn't want to purchase their extra insurance. On return charged me 270Euros for a tiny mark that could easily have been polished out, the lady checking the car went straight to the mark and didn't bother checking the rest of the vehicle. This company has excessive charges and over complicated policies. Please do not book with the and get caught out like i did.

City/airport: Alicante

NRB's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (1/5) on 4 March 2020

Very unpleasant when we didn’t buy their excess insurance (we had our own) and then on returning the car they they charged us £200 for a small scratch in front of the wheel that we hadn’t made (our pick up photos of the car didn’t show that area as it was sloping under car so we couldn’t defend) will never use them again.

City/airport: Malaga

Nothappy's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (1/5) on 26 February 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Really good, efficient, friendly, and cheap. Recommended.

City/airport: London

JoeBloggs's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (5/5) on 24 February 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Price is competitive but in exchange you have to do your own check in / contract on a large touch screen and scan your driving licence / documents Waiting time was about 10-15 min which is standard I think We got given a different car that we contracted and when pointed out the need for a larger bout all they wanted was for us to pay for an upgrade !! Gave up eventually and piled the suitcases on the back seats . The family in front of us had exactly the same issue .. The car hadn’t been cleaned properly and a piece of half eaten chocolate Kit Kat was left on the back seat . When we returned the car there was nobody to checked it out . We left the keys on a box and are crossing our fingers as , at this point , have little trust on the company !

City/airport: Malaga

Morla's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (2.5/5) on 23 February 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

The pick up is automated by machine and you are asked to photograph the documents. You are then directed to another floor and given the keys. One of the documents shows all the damage. This is very hard to check as it is dark so had to use torch on the phone. All a bit stressful. The return was ok the attendant looked round the car , checked the petrol and said all ok . There’s no way all the previous damage was checked

City/airport: Malaga

Dickie's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (3.5/5) on 17 February 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Quick pick up great car good service

City/airport: Malaga

Jimbo's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (4.5/5) on 17 February 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Conveniently on airport and quite polite at the desk. A bit of a wait for the keys but not too long. I've used this company frequently and I'd recommend them.

City/airport: malaga

Francesca's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (4/5) on 26 January 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Loooong waiting time although we booked the car ahead and almost no people

City/airport: Málaga

Kat's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (1/5) on 24 January 2020

The car hire company advertised as "on Airport" but the car collection was a very long walk, which was an issue for my wife who has walking difficulties.

City/airport: Malaga

Mike B's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (4/5) on 12 January 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Arrived early to airport and wouldn’t let me get a car earlier than booked. Quick to give the car over without doing checks missing bulbs . Quite scratched. Upon return checked over with a fine tooth comb. Took money from my credit card for “fuel” despite me bringing it back with a full tank.

City/airport: Alicante

Benjamin's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (3/5) on 14 December 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Good service, nice car

City/airport: Malaga

Gaz's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (3.5/5) on 8 December 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Bad from start to finish Record Go - Alicante airport This is my first experience of hiring a car abroad - and I can say one positive is it's taught me a lot. unless of course you buy all of their extras and insurance policies, they will rip you off at any opportunity. Arrived at airport - picked up a ticket, and others who had come after were seen first (now know this is due to priority 50.00 payment). The woman we saw was very pushy and rude. She charged my credit card for an additional driver, which I eventually had refunded when I showed her it was included in my booking for free through the broker holiday autos. she wasn't a happy bunny. Luckily I had read all of the info sent to me from holiday autos - which said to decline all extra insurances, warning me that I would have 1100 euros blocked on my credit card. I had excess refund insurance through axa - added it on through holiday autos. The woman was VERY rude, and tried to push the insurance policies, first offering 145.00 then 55.00. When I said no she was very aggressive and told me the insurance wasn't valid, and I'd be liable for all damage. Went to pick up the car, first off a fiesta - found that the cigarette lighter didn't work to charge sat nav - so given a seat Ibiza. Checked over the car - found scratches and told the guy at the office, who told me anything under 4cm isn't considered damage. He wouldn't come and look, telling me that everything is on the contract. I took photos of everything I could see. The car was fine driving, and did me for what I needed. Unfortunately the experience dropping off wasn't great. Handed over the keys. And straight away the woman went over to the back and pointed out 'damage'. A scuff, and 2 scratches under 4cm. But they seem to have their own rules when it comes to scratches. I was charged over 350 euros for the privilege. If you are going to go through 'Record Con' here's some tips... 1. Ensure you check ALL over the car and note down ALL damage no matter how small... including the interior. Take photos of EVERYTHING. They also have an app - although it doesn't allow you to take many photos of the same area. 2. Get them to come and verify the damage before you leave. Don't be sucked in to a false sense of security with the '4cm scratch' line. 3. If you have excess refund insurance - don't let them bully you to buy more. 4. Take photos of the interior before you leave - they have sent people bills for 95.00 euros for cleaning. 5. make sure you have a credit card - someone I met in the carpark had 1100 euros blocked on their debit card because they don't take certain credit cards. 6. Fill up your tank on the way back - and take receipts. Ensure you get your refund for petrol. They will take this 66.00 euros off of your credit card before you take your car. 7. Get receipts of all damage payments, take photos, and keep ALL paperwork so that you can claim anything you are charged back through your damage excess refund insurance. 1 * for customer service 5 * for conning customers ;)

City/airport: Alicante

Lauried's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (1/5) on 9 November 2019

DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY!!!!!!! They charged us for scratches on the car that we have never made and they just took the money from our creditcard without informing us about it, no mail, no phonecall, no explenation!!!! They say we made the scratches, that is NOT TRUE, they were already there when we picked up the car. We sent them an e-mail with a video we took of the car, they have not responded to this mail at all. I HAVE NEVER before experienced anything like this, I strongly recommend everyone to STAY FAR AWAY FROM THIS COMPANY!!!

City/airport: Malaga

Aud's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (1/5) on 31 October 2019

Horrible experience on multiple counts: - Waiting one hour at reception without pushing rental to when we actually received vehicle (as is the normal custom) - Making a range of mistakes during pick-up, trying to charge us additional days and arguing that we had booked more days than we had (which we had to then show twice since it didn't seem to go through) - Charge excessive fees for insurance (they reel you in with their low day rate, but in the end paying the same as any major int'l chain, which are much much better). - Horrible vehicle pick-up garage, walking 5 stories down (without elevator/proper walkway) and nearly impossible to drive out with large car (while their staff is flying around blind corners at high speed - highly unprofessional) - Unable to drop-off vehicle at night - our rental was until Monday morning 10AM, we had a flight at 9AM and wanted to drop off vehicle at 6-7AM, but were forced to drop vehicle at 10PM the evening before since they would not have been open otherwise and would've simply continued charging us as they require you to deliver vehicle while office is open (cheap way to incur extra costs - which rental agency doesn't have a keybox for dropoff? One that tries to scam you into additional charges) - Staff not helpful during drop-off, had to drive the car down into the depths of the tiny 5 floor garage again (first time after 100's of rentals that a staff hasn't taken the vehicle from the office drop off) - Unfriendly staff - Bogus ticket claim and already charged my card admin fee of 40eu without any evidence of ticket Will never rent from them again and advise others to stay away - much better to go with reliable int'l agencies (Avis, Sixt, Budget, Europcar, etc.).

City/airport: Barcelona

AGCV's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (1/5) on 28 October 2019

bit of a queue picking car up and it's frowned on that you have your own excess cover but the price was ridiculously cheap and the dropping off experience was very positive

City/airport: palma

philh's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (4.5/5) on 22 October 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

When we arrived we struggled to find the minibus to the depot. The system to enter our booking did not accept our booking number. The receptionist denied we have already paid our insurance with our booking .so we had to take out a second policy . The basic policy did not cover more than 100ks per day so we paid extra for that. They took off E55 for fuel up fromt To date this has not been refunded . On return they wanted another E 95 cleaning charge - the whole experience was horrendous-and is still not sorted . avoid like the plague.

City/airport: Barcelona

Will's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (1/5) on 16 October 2019

Veronica at Record was brilliant from the start. She made what can be a tiresome experience a pleasant experience. She explained everything clearly and a smile is always a good way to begin a holiday. Well done Record👍

City/airport: Malaga

Steve O's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (5/5) on 10 October 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

First review I’ve ever written and writing it to stop anyone from using this company. It’s systemised, formalised scam. Every step is made to try and con you out of money, I’ve never seen anything like it. Am amazed it hasnt been shut down by authorities, as can’t imagine some of the exploitation and trickery can possibly be legal. They should be put out of business immediately

City/airport: Palma, Mallorca

Freddie's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (1/5) on 27 September 2019

Busy, too busy

City/airport: Palma

Old Fart's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (1.5/5) on 26 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Rented car via internet company, took insurance out to cover damage etc.on arrival at record reception, had to wait ages to be seen by someone. Was informed needed to pay extra €70 because over 70yr,then if didn't pay€20 would be limited to 125km per day!!! so in desperation took out full insurance €217 because had been there for so long arguing the point but getting no where.What a load of bandits!! So be aware.

City/airport: Malaga

OAP's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (1/5) on 25 September 2019

A terrible bunch of hard sell conmen. Threatening no car unless took extra insurance. Fi d scratches on returns when all panels are covered in scratches in the first place. Do not use them !!

City/airport: Malaga

SteveW's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (1/5) on 24 September 2019

Complete scammers, do not use this company. Never known anything like it. Booked through Ryan Air, took out extra insurance to avoid any excess. Instructions on how to find them were ridiculous, others were having trouble too and we only found the minibus to take us to the office by accident. When there, they immediately asked if we wanted to take out more insurance, to which I replied we already had. They said not through us so you will have to pay £1400.00 on your credit card and will not get this money back for 30 days. We said fine but others who incur charges to their credit card said they didn’t want to and actually paid even more money. The car was filthy and full of scratches and dents. We videoed the car before we drove off and wrote down all the faults and got them to sign. We videoed the car again when we returned it. I recommend everyone do this, so they cannot scam you later, and they will! The woman who took the car back, named Christina was literally a witch. One nasty piece of work. We couldn’t believe how she spoke to us, the rudest person ever and very aggressive. Please, please let’s put this company out of business, they are nothing but robbing scumbags. Hire at your own peril.

City/airport: Barcelona

Betty's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (1/5) on 23 September 2019

Got very cross when I told another customer about excess insurance, said "You mustn't talk to other customers" I informed her that Franco was dead and I'd talk to anyone I please.

City/airport: Palma Majorca

Bovo's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (2/5) on 23 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

If you have any comments or concerns about a review listed here please contact us for assistance.