RecordGo Reviews

Have you hired a car from RecordGo recently? Why not submit a review of your experiences to help others?
RecordGo's Rating:
2.1/5 based on 91 reviews
5 stars
14
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
39
Save money on your car hire! Get the best cover for your
Car Hire Excess Insurance
Bad from start to finish Record Go - Alicante airport This is my first experience of hiring a car abroad - and I can say one positive is it's taught me a lot. unless of course you buy all of their extras and insurance policies, they will rip you off at any opportunity. Arrived at airport - picked up a ticket, and others who had come after were seen first (now know this is due to priority 50.00 payment). The woman we saw was very pushy and rude. She charged my credit card for an additional driver, which I eventually had refunded when I showed her it was included in my booking for free through the broker holiday autos. she wasn't a happy bunny. Luckily I had read all of the info sent to me from holiday autos - which said to decline all extra insurances, warning me that I would have 1100 euros blocked on my credit card. I had excess refund insurance through axa - added it on through holiday autos. The woman was VERY rude, and tried to push the insurance policies, first offering 145.00 then 55.00. When I said no she was very aggressive and told me the insurance wasn't valid, and I'd be liable for all damage. Went to pick up the car, first off a fiesta - found that the cigarette lighter didn't work to charge sat nav - so given a seat Ibiza. Checked over the car - found scratches and told the guy at the office, who told me anything under 4cm isn't considered damage. He wouldn't come and look, telling me that everything is on the contract. I took photos of everything I could see. The car was fine driving, and did me for what I needed. Unfortunately the experience dropping off wasn't great. Handed over the keys. And straight away the woman went over to the back and pointed out 'damage'. A scuff, and 2 scratches under 4cm. But they seem to have their own rules when it comes to scratches. I was charged over 350 euros for the privilege. If you are going to go through 'Record Con' here's some tips... 1. Ensure you check ALL over the car and note down ALL damage no matter how small... including the interior. Take photos of EVERYTHING. They also have an app - although it doesn't allow you to take many photos of the same area. 2. Get them to come and verify the damage before you leave. Don't be sucked in to a false sense of security with the '4cm scratch' line. 3. If you have excess refund insurance - don't let them bully you to buy more. 4. Take photos of the interior before you leave - they have sent people bills for 95.00 euros for cleaning. 5. make sure you have a credit card - someone I met in the carpark had 1100 euros blocked on their debit card because they don't take certain credit cards. 6. Fill up your tank on the way back - and take receipts. Ensure you get your refund for petrol. They will take this 66.00 euros off of your credit card before you take your car. 7. Get receipts of all damage payments, take photos, and keep ALL paperwork so that you can claim anything you are charged back through your damage excess refund insurance. 1 * for customer service 5 * for conning customers ;)

City/airport: Alicante

Lauried's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (1/5) on 9 November 2019

DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY!!!!!!! They charged us for scratches on the car that we have never made and they just took the money from our creditcard without informing us about it, no mail, no phonecall, no explenation!!!! They say we made the scratches, that is NOT TRUE, they were already there when we picked up the car. We sent them an e-mail with a video we took of the car, they have not responded to this mail at all. I HAVE NEVER before experienced anything like this, I strongly recommend everyone to STAY FAR AWAY FROM THIS COMPANY!!!

City/airport: Malaga

Aud's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (1/5) on 31 October 2019

Horrible experience on multiple counts: - Waiting one hour at reception without pushing rental to when we actually received vehicle (as is the normal custom) - Making a range of mistakes during pick-up, trying to charge us additional days and arguing that we had booked more days than we had (which we had to then show twice since it didn't seem to go through) - Charge excessive fees for insurance (they reel you in with their low day rate, but in the end paying the same as any major int'l chain, which are much much better). - Horrible vehicle pick-up garage, walking 5 stories down (without elevator/proper walkway) and nearly impossible to drive out with large car (while their staff is flying around blind corners at high speed - highly unprofessional) - Unable to drop-off vehicle at night - our rental was until Monday morning 10AM, we had a flight at 9AM and wanted to drop off vehicle at 6-7AM, but were forced to drop vehicle at 10PM the evening before since they would not have been open otherwise and would've simply continued charging us as they require you to deliver vehicle while office is open (cheap way to incur extra costs - which rental agency doesn't have a keybox for dropoff? One that tries to scam you into additional charges) - Staff not helpful during drop-off, had to drive the car down into the depths of the tiny 5 floor garage again (first time after 100's of rentals that a staff hasn't taken the vehicle from the office drop off) - Unfriendly staff - Bogus ticket claim and already charged my card admin fee of 40eu without any evidence of ticket Will never rent from them again and advise others to stay away - much better to go with reliable int'l agencies (Avis, Sixt, Budget, Europcar, etc.).

City/airport: Barcelona

AGCV's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (1/5) on 28 October 2019

bit of a queue picking car up and it's frowned on that you have your own excess cover but the price was ridiculously cheap and the dropping off experience was very positive

City/airport: palma

philh's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (4.5/5) on 22 October 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

When we arrived we struggled to find the minibus to the depot. The system to enter our booking did not accept our booking number. The receptionist denied we have already paid our insurance with our booking .so we had to take out a second policy . The basic policy did not cover more than 100ks per day so we paid extra for that. They took off E55 for fuel up fromt To date this has not been refunded . On return they wanted another E 95 cleaning charge - the whole experience was horrendous-and is still not sorted . avoid like the plague.

City/airport: Barcelona

Will's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (1/5) on 16 October 2019

Veronica at Record was brilliant from the start. She made what can be a tiresome experience a pleasant experience. She explained everything clearly and a smile is always a good way to begin a holiday. Well done Record👍

City/airport: Malaga

Steve O's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (5/5) on 10 October 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

First review I’ve ever written and writing it to stop anyone from using this company. It’s systemised, formalised scam. Every step is made to try and con you out of money, I’ve never seen anything like it. Am amazed it hasnt been shut down by authorities, as can’t imagine some of the exploitation and trickery can possibly be legal. They should be put out of business immediately

City/airport: Palma, Mallorca

Freddie's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (1/5) on 27 September 2019

Busy, too busy

City/airport: Palma

Old Fart's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (1.5/5) on 26 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Rented car via internet company, took insurance out to cover damage etc.on arrival at record reception, had to wait ages to be seen by someone. Was informed needed to pay extra €70 because over 70yr,then if didn't pay€20 would be limited to 125km per day!!! so in desperation took out full insurance €217 because had been there for so long arguing the point but getting no where.What a load of bandits!! So be aware.

City/airport: Malaga

OAP's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (1/5) on 25 September 2019

A terrible bunch of hard sell conmen. Threatening no car unless took extra insurance. Fi d scratches on returns when all panels are covered in scratches in the first place. Do not use them !!

City/airport: Malaga

SteveW's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (1/5) on 24 September 2019

Complete scammers, do not use this company. Never known anything like it. Booked through Ryan Air, took out extra insurance to avoid any excess. Instructions on how to find them were ridiculous, others were having trouble too and we only found the minibus to take us to the office by accident. When there, they immediately asked if we wanted to take out more insurance, to which I replied we already had. They said not through us so you will have to pay £1400.00 on your credit card and will not get this money back for 30 days. We said fine but others who incur charges to their credit card said they didn’t want to and actually paid even more money. The car was filthy and full of scratches and dents. We videoed the car before we drove off and wrote down all the faults and got them to sign. We videoed the car again when we returned it. I recommend everyone do this, so they cannot scam you later, and they will! The woman who took the car back, named Christina was literally a witch. One nasty piece of work. We couldn’t believe how she spoke to us, the rudest person ever and very aggressive. Please, please let’s put this company out of business, they are nothing but robbing scumbags. Hire at your own peril.

City/airport: Barcelona

Betty's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (1/5) on 23 September 2019

Got very cross when I told another customer about excess insurance, said "You mustn't talk to other customers" I informed her that Franco was dead and I'd talk to anyone I please.

City/airport: Palma Majorca

Bovo's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (2/5) on 23 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

do not hire from these bunch of crooks, they take your money but do not want deal with any complaints and refund you. no contact number to call customer service you can see why service terrible .

City/airport: palma mallorca

tt's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (1/5) on 20 September 2019

Excellent

City/airport: Palma

Den's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (5/5) on 15 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Very Poor service!! waited over 2.5 hours to collect my car. Then they had the cheek to charge me €40 out of hours collection when I arrived way inside the out of hours time. Very rude staff. Forced to take out excess insurance even though it stated it on my car hire reservation. I was told that I wasn't covered as it wasn't their insurance even though I paid the excess along with the original booking. It was either pay it or I was told I wasn't getting the car. I noticed whilst waiting my turn in the queue customers were getting very aggravated the way they were being treated and at one stage the checking in staff pushed his face in to a waiting customers face and then refused to serve them. Will Never Use This Company Again!!!!

City/airport: Mallorca

Big Diapointment's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (1/5) on 11 September 2019

Very helpful, very competitive price via doyouspain . com, easy pick up clean car 30k on the clock quite a few dings etc but all listed on the handover sheet. was over an Audi A1 sport for 30 Euros at the desk which I didn't take but then wished I had as it was a lovely looking car when we got down to the pick up area. drop off was easy and stress free as well.

City/airport: Alicante

Gaz's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (4.5/5) on 29 August 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

I have never seen such a worst rental car company than this in my life. They are very far away from Barcelona airport (actually in next village) & the instructions were not given. After calling them 5 times, we actually found out where would they pick up in their van & take us there. At 11pm in the night, while signing the rental agreement €28.49 charge comes up which is non-refundable even if you return full tank. This is disastrous. Never paid such charges & also you are left with no choice at 11pm. The deposit they hold in the card is actually returned after 6 weeks for which you have to pay interest on your credit card. I sent them 5 emails & only one was replied. My car was damaged in Barcelona by an invader. They took money twice from credit card on top of deposit & they are still not replying after 2 months what is the actual cost as the invoice they sent was taken in first time. My insurance company is also chasing them for that, but still it remains unresolved after 2 months. One of their representative informed while returning the car that it is very common to get rental car damaged in Spain. So please avoid particularly this company. They are coming up as cheapest on the internet, but not at all reliable. You end up with many other expenses & particularly credit card interest on the bigger amount. All other car rental companies release deposit within a week (my experience so far from other companies is just next day), while they hold for 6 weeks. So please avoid!!

City/airport: Barcelona Airport

Ankit's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (1/5) on 22 August 2019

The service received from RecordGo was excellent. On dropping off the keys the car was checked promptly and there were no issues. It was a relief and a surprise to receive such a positive service from a car hire company.

City/airport: Alicante

Julie S's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (5/5) on 19 August 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

They are a bunch of scammers.when i returned the car in perfect condition.they asked me if i had extra insurance,i said yes,the guy proceeded to the front of the car,crawled under and told me i had damaged the underside,i told him i had driven the car with the utmost care and it must have been like that when i got it.he told me i should have spotted this on pick up.i told him i dont normally crawl under cards to check them,he told me that my extra insurance would cover it and proceeded to claim my 1100 euro excess.i asked him why he went straight to the passenger underside to look as soon as i said i had extra insurance and why he didnt check the other side.he then pretended to not understand properly.TOTAL SCAM

City/airport: alicante

tam scotland's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (1/5) on 15 August 2019

I would strongly recommend against hiring a car from RecordGo in Majorca. When we arrived at the car rental desk, there was a wait of over 2.5 hours to collect the car. This was a very unpleasant start to our holiday and staff were unsympathetic, despite us travelling with a young baby. The hire service maybe cheaper, but it is terrible value.

City/airport: Palma

MattLondon's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (1/5) on 12 August 2019

Too long waiting picking up car over 2 hours, car was filthy inside & out, damage was beyond a few scratches and headlight was broken from a big dent on front of car

City/airport: Palma Airport

Dazmo's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (1/5) on 11 August 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Too long waiting picking up car over 2 hours

City/airport: Palma Airport

Dazmo's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (1/5) on 11 August 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

When I went to collect car it wasn't ready. Had to go back to the office and change the paper work for another car. Finally when we got the car it was covered in scrapes and dings and these were not on the paperwork. Had to go back again to office to get the rep to go around the car with me. She kept trying to ignore the marks but we wanted them recorded as Didn't want to get billed for them. Once she had noted them down we had to go back to the office again ..and queue again to get paper work updated. Finally 40 mins later we were ready to leave. I pulled out of the car park space and did a final check. There were scrapes all along the bottom of the car. The car park was dimly lit. Had to get another rep over to record it and queue up again to get paper work corrected to show the damage. This car was less than a year old!!. Eventually after an hour we were ready to go. We kept being told that the marks were fine and not to worry about it. I am so glad we recorded every scrape and Mark because when we returned the car 2 weeks later they said just leave the keys and go. We were not happy with this and insisted they were happy with the car and signed it off before we left. So glad we insisted on this as they went over it with a fine tooth combe and a torch checking every panel and Mark. We would of probably lost our deposit otherwise as once we were away we would of found it hard to argue our case.

City/airport: Malaga

Si's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (2/5) on 10 August 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Do not use Record Go! I thought the price was too good to be true - unfortunately I turned out to be right! - we waited 25 minutes for our paperwork to be processed. - the member of staff asked us if we wanted to pay a €1400 refundable deposit or an additional €175 (to avoid us leaving the hefty deposit) which I found to be unusual. - we waited a further 15 minutes to collect our key from the car park office. - the car was parked inches from the next car and the drivers seat was an inch or so from the concrete pillar. My partner had to squeeze in the passenger side and climb across to the drivers seat to pull the car out for us to get in. - the two children’s car seats we had paid for were not in the car, so we had to go back to the office to collect them. - the family next to us had paid for a sat Nav but none of the staff knew how to change the language to English. - as instructed, we looked over the car for damage and scratches ‘longer than 4cm’ but we couldn’t find anything. - on return of the vehicle, the member of staff checking over the car found a scratch on the drivers hubcap measuring 4.5cm. There was no way we would have spotted this and think the car was strategically parked so we wouldn’t spot the scratch. - we were charged €175 for the damage and an extra €50 for paperwork. The member of staff shrugged his shoulders and told us ‘it wasn’t his problem’. We found the whole process not at all customer friendly and they literally just try to get money from you at every turn. Pay the extra and go to a company that actually tries to provide good customer service.

City/airport: Alicante

Melissa W's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (1/5) on 8 August 2019

This was the first time I have rented a car and was worried about the bad reviews of all car hire companies. Record Go also had its fair share of bad reviews l, all be it from a couple of years ago. I weighed up hiring from Record Go or with one of the premium brands and decided on Record Go as I didn’t want to pay there times the amount for a similar car. I was pleasantly surprised there was no hard sell to take their extra insurance, the car was in an acceptable condition with all damage noted on the paperwork. Drop off was easy and we were told the car did not have any new damage. We then received our deposit back within two days. I would use Record Go again

City/airport: Malaga

Jimbo's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (5/5) on 5 August 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

If you have any comments or concerns about a review listed here please contact us for assistance.