RecordGo Reviews

Have you hired a car from RecordGo recently? Why not submit a review of your experiences to help others?
RecordGo's Rating:
2.7/5 based on 55 reviews
5 stars
14
4 stars
11
3 stars
5
2 stars
0
1 star
25
Save money on your car hire! Get the best cover for your
Car Hire Excess Insurance
Use frequently with no issues except the length of the queues at pick up. Good value.

City/airport: Palma de Mallorca

T6's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (4/5) on 4 June 2019

Record go let down terribly. Due to a delayed fight expendia called them and they would hold our hire car till 10am the next day. When we arrive they did not hold our car, they would provide us with a suitable alternative, they were rude, they did not care, when O asked about car for emergency they said that we were not and emergency and wouldn’t not help. ( our situation was that my husband, two young daughter and I were stranded in valcenia and they did not or have any customer service abilities all.

City/airport: Valencia

Let down traveller's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (1/5) on 25 May 2019

Unfortunately there isn’t an option for 0 stars. Avoid at all costs!! We booked through a third party company took out extra insurance to be told at desk it’s not worth the paper it’s written on and we must leave €2000 deposit or pay another insurance of €250!! And if there is a mark on the car more than 4cm you lose your €2000. Absolute con artists. So wish I’d seen all these damning reviews before booking. Also have to wait ages for bus to company and waiting around in an office an hour to collect.

City/airport: Ibiza

Bex's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (1/5) on 6 May 2019

pushy with extras and always trying it on with not having correctly recorded damage. slows down process by having to take rep to check over car before leaving airport.... gold car even worse!

City/airport: alicante

Nathan's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (3/5) on 25 April 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

They were very well priced, car was new, no problems with them at all.

City/airport: Alicante

Bn101's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (5/5) on 25 March 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Perfect. Half the price of others at the airport (even going for their highest price option with no excess). All the staff I spoke to were very friendly and professional and I was served immediately. Car was good, drop off quick and easy, fuel charge refunded quickly. Hassle free and one of the best car rental experiences I've had at an airport anywhere.

City/airport: Malaga

Matt's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (5/5) on 28 February 2019

Excellent price great car helpful staff. Thank you

City/airport: Alicante

Car hire Alicante's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (5/5) on 23 February 2019

After paying in advance for the car (all expences included, we were promised on their website), we were presented with hundreds of euros in hidden charges when we came to pick up the car at the airport (Malaga). Our protests were arrogantly dismissed and they just pointed to a 7 pages long contract written in small letters: "Look! See! It's contract!" Things turned out much worse when we actually went to the garage to pick up the car: We had booked two car seats for our son (2 years) and daugther (10 months), but the seats were of such a bad quality that words cannot do justice to describe their condition. Now, I have installed quite a few seats for children, but I had a very difficult time installing these, as they were very wobbly, and we were concerned for how safe they would be for our children. When we asked for assistance, they literally refused to help us, because "if we install them wrong, we are responsible" (!!!). Another couple had exactly the same problem; they spent 1 hour installing their seat, while we spent 1 1/2 on ours, late at night with tired and crying children. We were treated extremly arrogantly by their employee (Carmen), and she literally yelled and degraged my wife in front of other customers when she begged for help. I can honestly say that I have never experienced customer service this bad. STAY AWAY!!!

City/airport: Malaga

Roy's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (1/5) on 24 December 2018

Absolute disgrace , they claimed when we brought the car back that we had a mark on the bumper. I disputed it and he said why are you bothered anyway as your car insurance will pay for it. They new that I had taken my own insurance. Terrible service and when I asked for the proof for my insurance they still 4 months after the event have sent me nothing just ignored my emails. How can you hire a car for a week for 25 euros, there policy is to find a scratch or make it up knowing you have to get a plane and cannot argue with them its all okay. I jusrt wish they would charge an appropriate fee instaed of hood winking people that they have got a great deal. Terrible company and Goldcar are no better.

City/airport: Malaga

Marky's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (1/5) on 12 December 2018

Watch out! They take money from you credit without allowance (and nothing happened) after the rental period. And you cannot contact them!

City/airport: Palme

Al's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (1/5) on 10 December 2018

This company give Car Hire firms a VERY BAD name. I will never use them again and strongly suggest you do not either

City/airport: Malaga

Moxy's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (1/5) on 15 November 2018

Absolute scam. Car pickup in complete darkness, hidden scratches, excess charge £190. On top of that charged for fuel despite returning the car full as described in policy. Never refunded. Do not use

City/airport: Malaga

westy's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (1/5) on 25 October 2018

I hired a car for 4 days 2 weeks ago, the car had done 69,000kms (unacceptable for a rental) and had 15 points of damage on it. I discovered that evening that only one headlight was working, and there was no washer fluid for the windscreen. I'm still waiting for my fuel deposit back after 2 weeks (it was returned full and they have my 95 Euros) , and i still have a 2000 Euro block on my credit card - they have not as yet replied to my emails etc. The staff were rude and unhelpful, a young crowd who really did not care whatsoever. Apart from ' Sicily by Car', the worst experience of renting a car in my 30 years of doing so - Avoid, there's plenty of better companies out there!

City/airport: malaga

charleswood888's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (1/5) on 22 October 2018

We hired through rental cars and paid for the insurance against the excess charge.The whole process was a disaster! Firstly the queue at the airport checkin took nearly an hour,then after a very long walk to the end of the hire garage we had to wait another30 mins to be allocated our car.it was covered in dents and marks which we took photos of and the lady booking us out got fed up with marking all the marks and put "Scratches all round" which made me nervous,they then took 60 euros for the petrol on a full to full basis and blocked 1100 euros on the card .Well when we returned the car on 28th sept there was a small chalk Mark on the front wing,this got the attendant very excited to charge me,I wiped of the chalk Mark which revealed 2 very small marks barely visible to the naked eye and invisible to the camera pictures we took!They were not consistent with the chalk graze more consistent with the large dent one same wheel arch,despite me showing him the original sign out form I was invoice for 380 euros,this is disgusting and is robbery.It is now 15 October and have still not received refund for fuel and they have also taken 370euros of my card.yes I can reclaim from rental cars insurance,but the point is never ever hire a car from this company,I feel that my insurance company have been well and truly robbed,and if this scam is carried out only a few times a week it soon comes to some very serious money that they are stealing!!

City/airport: Malaga

Rooster's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (1/5) on 15 October 2018

Do not use this company. Absolute scam. Parents waited 1.5 hours to pick up car on arrival, we arrived later and to avoid the queue had to pay €50 for the express option. Pick went ok but cars parked miles away in very badly lit part of underground car park so difficult to assess any existing damage. On drop off a rep came to check the car and immediately identified a small chip on the bumper (the kind that would have been cause by a stone flying up from road) that we could barely see even when pointed out. The lady was extremely rude when we said that other companies would have included this as wear and tear stating 'what does it matter, you have insurance'. We had paid for full insurance via rentalcars.com as Record Go own insurance was double the price. They charged €300 for this chip. Essentially they are covering the wear and tear on their fleet of cars by using the insurance from 3rd parties. They have a security guard on the door to the office because of the sheer number of angry customers. Never seen anything like it. Do no be tempted by the price. Use another company.

City/airport: Malaga

MC's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (1/5) on 30 September 2018

esta compañía engaña y extorsiona dinero - después de deducirlo, recolecta dinero de su tarjeta de crédito sin su conocimiento.

City/airport: malaga

SL's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (1/5) on 29 September 2018

Wholeheartedly agree with all of the negative comments posted by others. Arriving at Palma Airport excited for our holiday was followed by TWO HOURS of hell waiting for one of their incompetent, unmotivated and completely immoral individuals to call our number. When we finally got to the counter, in between long casual chats with colleagues, the woman asked for all the info we gave online once again. And then – it’s sell sell sell. 1400 euro deposit or 120 insurance. (They force you to take one, despite the fact that the online booking spells out ‘insurance included’). Plus fuel, around 70. So the cheap rates seen online are simply lies. But that’s not the end of it. When you finally get to the car park for collection – ANOTHER QUEUE. And when we got in the car, beyond stressed by this point, it was full of crumbs and dust inside and marked with water and scratches outside. Take photos of everything straight away if you are unlucky enough to end up with this company. Returning it was fast in our case but I think we were lucky to get the one OK employee. CHOOSE ANY COMPANY BUT RECORD GO!

City/airport: Palma

Lizgreen's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (1/5) on 19 September 2018

The worst experience we’ve had to date! Customer care is non existent, staff are rude, queues last for 5 hours unless you are willing to pay €50 to fast track. Pre purchased insurance apparently doesn’t cover you so had to purchase again at the desk to then be hit with a €200 invoice for a scuff mark - insurance doesn’t cover that apparently! Would not use Record Go again!!

City/airport: Palma airport (Mallorca)

MillyC's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (1/5) on 14 September 2018

I rented a car with Record at Malaga airport through rentalcars.com. The telephone service with rentalcars.com was fantastic and the booking was made easily. I booked a car in the Ford Fiesta or similar class with a full-to-full fuel policy and unlimited milage. I was required to leave 1100EUR damage deposit and 60EUR fuel deposit. I also requested to cross the border into Gibraltar which was accomodated for with a 20EUR charge. Things went downhill from there. When checking in to collect the car, another customer had returned complaining their car had a foul smell, was damaged and didn't have any fuel and wanted to replace his car. This didn't give me good hopes for my rental. I was given a Nissan Micra which was in terrible condition - bumps, scrapes, sratches all over and the front bumper was hanging on by a thread. The car was in desperate need of a service. When I accelerated, the engine sounded like a bag of nails and hardly moved. The front tyres were also extremely low on tread. I returned the car with a full tank of fuel and requested the fuel deposit to be refunded. The lady who served be told me it hadn't actually been charged, only blocked on my card in case they needed to charge it (like the 1100EUR damage deposit). Days went by and the fuel deposit had actually been charged and hasn't been refunded. I got in touch with rentalcars.com and they refunded it back onto the card I booked the rental with without fuss. Overall, Record are a total shambles and I advise people to pay a litle bit more and hire from a reputable company. The locals all recommended a company called Del Paso which I will be trying next time. The service from rentalcars.com was fantastic and I can't fault them.

City/airport: Malaga

Chris's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (1/5) on 7 August 2018

17 June 2018 - Perfect, I've got a new Renault Megane (9km), fast pickup, very fast drop off.

City/airport: Malaga

Adrian's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (5/5) on 20 July 2018

Got scammed for an existing scratch for 195 euros. Steer well clear unless you are prepared to take out their own overpriced excess insurance. Have reported them to Junta De Anadlucia and Malagas equivalent of consumer complaints.

City/airport: Malaga

malagabboyz's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (1/5) on 20 July 2018

Easy pick up speedily in car and off , car clean and smart easy drop off

City/airport: Mahon

gj's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (4.5/5) on 26 June 2018

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Biggest CROOK ever !! Robbed in daylight !! Hire car at your own risk !!!!! Hired car through rentalcar.com from RECORD GO on 08-06-18 for 8 hours . It was  rainault captur.  For pease of mind, I also bought full insurance from Rental car.com . When reached the counter,  I was forced and pressed to take full insurance which is €61. Lady on the desk , dint want to listen anything from my end, she was on the mood of hard push insurance sell . I was advised that the insurance I have bought from rentalcar.com,  it covers nothing and I may have to pay extortionate amount of money if something happened.  I was shocked and quite intimidiated however  rentalcar.com assured me that my full protection  actually covers everything.  Thanks God. Before the car was handed over to me I had to hand over €1400 deposit for the car and €64 for fuel deposit from my credit card .  I had to put all the deposit because I have refused to take full insurance from the counter which I was perfectly  agree with. I was also advised that if the dent or body damage is above then  2cm I have to pay. I was told there is a dent on the front side however upon inspection we found more small dent on the body which we took photos. Points to be noted that the car was kept on the dark place in parking  so I couldn't really check all around. We had no collision nor any damage, journey was really good . Car was kept in secured car park in al hambra palace ,Granada for couple of hours . Story got more dramatic when we came to return this car in our scheduled time . The lady whom we handed over the key , she was more into looking for pre existing spot and she found one. It was the right hand side wing and very very light marks which I wasn't aware of at all . She dint check anything else which was suspicious. She has advised me that I will be charged .  When my friend  showed his  frustration in nice manner, she has threatened  us and in rude manner she stated that if  we want to miss the flight we can start arguing with her . Knowing the fact that we have to catch flight in 2 hours so we have decided to settle down. We all passenger felt  the whole situation was like pre planned.  I dint take full insurance from them hence  they have targeted me . Heard a lot about car rental companies but I never seen such robbery in UK what I have experienced in Malaga airport. They have pre planned and manipulated the situation. They have charged me €279 for which was really laughable. I was looking for trading standard or such in Malaga or Spain where I can complain.  I would advise everyone , better go for renowned trusted rental car hire and pay extra rather than paying less upfront  and ended up  with extortionate amount on this crooks  RECORD GO car rental hand. Please Avoid !!!!!

City/airport: Malaga

Avi's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (1/5) on 11 June 2018

Biggest CROOK !! Robbed in daylight !! Hire car at your own risk !!!!! Hired car through rentalcar.com from RECORD GO on 08-06-18 for 8 hours . It was rainault captur. For pease of mind, I also bought full insurance from Rental car.com . When reached the counter, I was forced and pressed to take full insurance which is €61. Lady on the desk , dint want to listen anything from my end, she was on the mood of hard push insurance sell . I was advised that the insurance I have bought from rentalcar.com, it covers nothing and I may have to pay extortionate amount of money if something happened. I was shocked and quite intimidiated however rentalcar.com assured me that my full protection actually covers everything. Thanks God. Before the car was handed over to me I had to hand over €1400 deposit for the car and €64 for fuel deposit from my credit card . I had to put all the deposit because I have refused to take full insurance from the counter which I was perfectly agree with. I was also advised that if the dent or body damage is above then 2cm I have to pay. I was told there is a dent on the front side however upon inspection we found more small dent on the body which we took photos. Points to be noted that the car was kept on the dark place in parking so I couldn't really check all around. We had no collision nor any damage, journey was really good . Car was kept in secured car park in al hambra palace ,Granada for couple of hours . Story got more dramatic when we came to return this car in our scheduled time . The lady whom we handed over the key , she was more into looking for pre existing spot and she found one. It was the right hand side wing and very very light marks which I wasn't aware of at all . She dint check anything else which was suspicious. She has advised me that I will be charged . When my friend showed his frustration in nice manner, she has threatened us and in rude manner she stated that if we want to miss the flight we can start arguing with her . Knowing the fact that we have to catch flight in 2 hours so we have decided to settle down. We all passenger felt the whole situation was like pre planned. I dint take full insurance from them hence they have targeted me . Heard a lot about car rental companies but I never seen such robbery in UK what I have experienced in Malaga airport. They have pre planned and manipulated the situation. They have charged me €279 for which was really laughable. I was looking for trading standard or such in Malaga or Spain where I can complain. I would advise everyone , better go for renowned trusted rental car hire and pay extra rather than paying less upfront and ended up with extortionate amount on this crooks RECORD GO car rental hand. Please Avoid !!!!!!!!!!!!!

City/airport: Malaga

Avi's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (1/5) on 9 June 2018

On arriving in Ibiza we made our way outside to locate Record Go. We located the pick up point where a shuttle was parked to be told they were full and couldn’t take us. No apology or explanation. We asked what we were supposed to do and were told by the driver he would come back for us. 20 minutes later and we were able to get on the shuttle. We arrived at their depot where we waited a further 20 minutes to be seen. We were then called over to the desk to be told we had to pay €40 euros as we were late to collect the car. We explained about the shuttle and having to sit and wait but he did not care, acted without compassion and told us we had to pay. I was becoming quite upset and stressed at this point as this was the start of our holiday and I had already paid everything upfront when booking online. I am also pregnant so felt cute stressed. The man we were dealing with then told us there was a €29.99 charge for their handling fee and that we needed to pay for the fuel in advance - €69. There was nothing about this in the terms and conditions. We were told we would receive a refund of any fuel we did not use - based on other reviews we don't expect to get this back. Due to my emotional state at this point the man dealing with us agreed to not charge us the late fee (how kind!) He also told us we should have gone with their insurance and not Rentalcars and seemed quite annoyed about this. We then collected the car, taking photos of any scratches and damage before setting off. There were 15 marks noted on the paperwork already. On returning the car a week later we waited for the car to be ‘inspected’. A Record Go worker then came over to check the car. We were quite apprehensive as a customer parked across from us had been charged €150 for having sand in his boot! Even though in the terms and conditions it says the price includes cleaning. The guy inspecting this customers car looked very apologetic as it was his manager who had advised of the charge. We were told by this customer later on that he was told by the RecodGo worker since the manager had started it had been awful and they were being told to search and charge for as much as they could. The same man checking our hire car was really looking for any scratch he could find. We were standing behind the car near the boot corner when a Nissan Duke car being driven by a Record Go employee reversed and crashed hard into the rear of our hire car! We were stunned by what had just happened. Within seconds we were suddenly told our vehicle was fine and we could go. We ask the them to sign off the car as being returned without damage, which they then did by stamping our documentation. I took a couple of photographs of the damage that we had just occurred too. We asked about the fuel being returned to us which they said would be automatically refunded however, we shall see. I am hoping we get our full deposit back too. Do not use this company!

City/airport: Ibiza

NMai's rating of their experience of RecordGo: (1/5) on 4 June 2018

If you have any comments or concerns about a review listed here please contact us for assistance.