Locauto Reviews

Have you hired a car from Locauto recently? Why not submit a review of your experiences to help others?
Locauto's Rating:
2.5/5 based on 30 reviews
5 stars
3
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
10
Save money on your car hire! Get the best cover for your
Car Hire Excess Insurance
We were quite nervous about hiring a car abroad for the first time, but it was a very positive experience. The staff were friendly and spoke excellent English, making everything clear. The car was clean and well maintained. We would definitely use Locauto again.

City/airport: Pisa Airport

John B's rating of their experience of Locauto: (5/5) on 3 October 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

We found Locauto staff to be very efficient, the car we hired was a bit bland but it was fit for purpose, I would have given full marks if it had less scratches on it and had covered less kilometres (20,000)

City/airport: Bologna

Runningscania's rating of their experience of Locauto: (4/5) on 16 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

DO NOT book anything with Interrent or Gold Car! They are the same company and will try to scam you whenever possible. Costumer service is terrible as they will never reply to your emails. Recently I have hired a car at the Malaga airport. I have booked previously online and when I arrived at the Interrent office everything was ok and the car was ready to go. The employee asked me a few details, driving licence etc and then asked me to pay a deposit of 200€. I then asked him what was the deposit for and he told me that it would be for the petrol and then everything would be refunded once the car was handed back with a full petrol tank. I accepted to pay the 200€ with my credit card and then was asked to sign on the pinpad. Surprisingly 7 days after giving the car back, I only received part of the deposit (76€). I went over all the paperwork that was handed to me and found that several charges were added to the contract (which is in the middle of several pages with a staple placed next to the charges) without me being informed or even mentioned: "recargo aeropuerto 9.82€, C. extra V. Diesel 10.33€, Cobertura Super 73.73€, Fianza Tarjeta 62.81€ and smart Return 12.36€". Some of these charges I can't even image what they mean as they were never mentioned or explained during the whole process. I had even mentioned to the employee that I had my own insurance. I speak both English and Spanish, so there was nothing missed in translation during this transaction. After contacting Interrent by phone, they keep asking me to send them an email but then they never reply. In my opinion a company that review themselves with this kind of behaviour shouldn't be trusted. I don't even want to imagine if you get involved in a traffic accident or in other kind of scam they promote. Be smart, do not book with them. You might save some money but will end up paying much more if something goes wrong or if they just decide to rob you.

City/airport: Malaga

Another victim's rating of their experience of Locauto: (1/5) on 15 August 2019

Better than expected (some negative online reviews had left me cautious). They did offer to upsell but this was easy to decline. There was a problem with the car on return and this was dealt with appropriately.

City/airport: Pisa International

CP's rating of their experience of Locauto: (4/5) on 6 August 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

So far i have.not been ripped off by this company but i will take legal action if i do. Having read the reviews i filmed the whole car inside and out in front on the loauto employee on return. I refused to sign anything until he checked the car and i signed that there was no damage and the car was full. This way you have proof how the car looked on delivery. They dont like being filmed so be warned. I respected that and didn't film him. Based on reviews from other customers i wouldn't use this company again.

City/airport: Catania

Scotslad500's rating of their experience of Locauto: (1/5) on 27 July 2019

Localauto in Palermo is by far the worst car rental experience we have ever experienced and that we have rented cars almost all over Europe. Before we left, we ordered a car from Enterprize with the highest possible protection at rentalcars. After payment, it automatically referred us to a crazy localauto. When we arrived in Palermo to pick up the car, they forced us to another insurance, which we refused because we already paid one full insurance. After we returned the car in order, clean and without damage, a localauto came to us, walked around the car once without looking at it properly, then pointed to one wheel and said there was a little scratch and it would cost us about 85 euro. We said it wasn't true and we wouldn't sign it and he shrugged and said that it would cost a lot more then. Because we hurried to the plane, we finally signed it, then we can solve it through rentalcars. We have been home for a week and no one has even returned a 500 euro deposit.

City/airport: Palermo

Velta's rating of their experience of Locauto: (1/5) on 26 July 2019

No problems with car hire. The car had some minor scratches when we collected it, but all of them were duly noted by the car hire company, and there was no issue when we returned the car.

City/airport: Catalina

Kitkat's rating of their experience of Locauto: (4.5/5) on 25 July 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Warning! Charging customers for fictitious damages, a real Italian scam Company! No more Locauto!!

City/airport: Bergamo

Lars P's rating of their experience of Locauto: (1/5) on 16 July 2019

Reception was perfect, but return they charge you for nonsense scratches !!! Avoid this company

City/airport: pisa/airport

MichoRiet's rating of their experience of Locauto: (1/5) on 12 July 2019

Terrible experience. We hired a basic small car and took out full insurance. We arrived late at night and foolishly did not inspect the car thoroughly. The rep from Locauto ran the light from his tablet over it briefly and we did not pay too much attention as were happy to be starting our holiday. We drove to our hotel and parked the car for a week and then drove back to the airport a week later. The car was still immaculate or so we thought as we had hardly used it. They immediately accused us of scraping the back right wheel trim, which we could not have done as had never never parked the car against any kerb! The staff were rude and continued to accused us of damaging the car. Please do not make the mistake we did and check the car carefully before you drive away in it, and also take videos. They are crooks and should not be trusted. They ruined the end to what had been a great holiday. Since I have returned to the UK I have looked at their reviews - they are terrible - please do not book with them!

City/airport: Milan, Linate

Sunnie's rating of their experience of Locauto: (1/5) on 8 July 2019

Fake Damage To anyone that may choose to use this company, my advice is be very careful and ensure you check every inch of the car you hire. Take a full video and examine the car with microscopic detail and ensure that ANY damage no matter how small is logged and agreed BEFORE you sign it out. You run the risk of being charged a very large sum for any tiny dents or pay an extra £40 to insure against this risk or better still pay a little bit more and stick with one of the major brands

City/airport: pisa airport

the equaliser's rating of their experience of Locauto: (1/5) on 29 June 2019

I hired a Fiat Panda at the airport on 13 6 19 and was served by Silvia whom I found very courteous and efficient. However, I was taken aback when she said that the hire did not include vehicle roadside assistance or recovery. She said I would have to pay €2 a day to receive this cover. I told her that any car I have hired in the past included this in the hire contract. She insisted that I would have to pay and for peace of mind, I did and it cost me an extra €33. 96. I felt very aggrieved at this but just wanted to get on with my holiday. Rentalcars.com, with whom I made the online booking state on the contract with them that £140. 28 was the total for the hire. The car and every other aspect of the hire from Locauto was fine, pity about the above which I think is just another way to screw more money from the unsuspecting hirer.

City/airport: Pisa Airport

Satchmo's rating of their experience of Locauto: (3/5) on 20 June 2019

I hired a Fiat Panda at the airport on 13 6 19 and was served by Silvia whom I found very courteous and efficient. However, I was taken aback when she said that the hire did not include vehicle roadside assistance or recovery. She said I would have to pay €2 a day to receive this cover. I told her that any car I have hired in the past included this in the hire contract. She insisted that I would have to pay and for peace of mind, I did and it cost me an extra €33. 96. I felt very aggrieved at this but just wanted to get on with my holiday. Rentalcars.com, with whom I made the online booking state on the contract with them that £140. 28 was the total for the hire. The car and every other aspect of the hire from Locauto was fine, pity about the above which I think is just another way to screw more money from the unsuspecting hirer.

City/airport: Pisa Airport

Satchmo's rating of their experience of Locauto: (3/5) on 20 June 2019

All perfect: new car and helpful and courteous staff

City/airport: Bologna Station

Kam's rating of their experience of Locauto: (4/5) on 16 June 2019

The car was late being returned by previous driver but company extended my hire by more than the time lost initially.

City/airport: Carvoeiro

Target's rating of their experience of Locauto: (4/5) on 3 May 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Very good, very helpful

City/airport: Pescara

Phil the fish's rating of their experience of Locauto: (5/5) on 26 April 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Their behaviour shows a clear intent to deceive. I collected the car and performed the inspection at night in total darkness, as the attendant did not have a torch o even a phone(!) - I had to use my own phone with a dying battery after travelling all day. When returning, the attendant told me "If you have filled the tank, there is no need to inspect the vehicle, have a safe trip". Lo and behold, they later charged me for a scratch I hadn't spotted (and which of course I did not cause).

City/airport: Verona

thoughfuldiner's rating of their experience of Locauto: (1/5) on 11 September 2018

Hi My experience was excellent . The Airport staff stayed behind to organise our hire although everyone else had gone . The Hertz rep. was very abrupt and unhelpful, which is the reason we tried Locauto . Everything was plain sailing

City/airport: Treviso

C.U.Jimmy's rating of their experience of Locauto: (3.5/5) on 16 August 2018

Had a good experience with the rental however three months after renting the car I got an email saying I had gone into a Traffic Limited Zone in Bologna 3 times for 10 seconds. The Italian government may send me a charge for this, but because Locauto have been so harshly made to surrender an email address they have charged me 50 euro for the trouble. FOR ALL THREE TIMES. That's 150 euro to send one email address. I have checked all the documentation and see no evidence of this, they have become unresponsive when I talk to them now, despite previously being welcoming when they didn't have my money and have ignored my claim for otherwise and taken money out of my account without my permission. I am outraged at this behaviour and would not recommend them to anyone. Their hidden fees will kill you.

City/airport: venice mestre

Max's rating of their experience of Locauto: (1/5) on 30 July 2018

Scammers. Use Locauto and Enterprise at your peril. Unethical business practices; - charging for an additional days rental, even when it was agreed on 2 separate occasions that the start time and drop off time had moved back by 5 hours, the total duration was within the allocated days of hire - charging for a scratch on the underside of the front bumper, which was only noticeable if you lay down on your back and had to use a mobile device to see it. To make matters worse, it was not incurred by me, but it was only picked up when dropping off as if they knew it was there. i.e. the tools, environment and process used during the pickup is vastly different to the drop off. Set up. Either it was caused by a previous renter and it wasn't picked up by the customer service representative (doubtful), or it was caused by the customer service representative when parking the car (likely). - Rude customer service who just ignore your dispute, despite a very considered and polite message - Charging for additional services (road side assistance, excess cover, etc.) even though the contract clearly states this was not included - Whilst associated with Enterprise, they themselves ignore you. Neither myself or my friends and family will ever use this brand, or the Enterprise brand again. This is unfortunate for both brands as between us we rent at least 15 cars a year. Thats a significant loss of business. Their loss is their competitors gain. All for a few hundred Euros.

City/airport: Pisa Airport

sykes's rating of their experience of Locauto: (1/5) on 3 July 2018

Very good and reliable rental company with reasonable prices. Their vehicles are almost brand new. I always use Locauto. Definitely one of the best car hire at Pisa Airport.

City/airport: Pisa Airport

Mr P's rating of their experience of Locauto: (5/5) on 2 April 2018

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

terrible company. signed me for extra administrative fees whatsoever. problem with the highway gate the highways sent the company letter I have to pay extra 1.21 eur Locauto charged me for extra 48.8 eur!! another fine I asked them to send me the contract instead of this they charged my credit card for more!!! crooked company/

City/airport: milan malpensa

john's rating of their experience of Locauto: (1/5) on 4 November 2017

Hire a car in September - hardly drove it. On my return they went straight to a scuff under the bumper ( yes under the car) and have charged me 37f5 euros - avoid avoid avoid

City/airport: brindisi

andy's rating of their experience of Locauto: (1/5) on 13 October 2017

Quick and easy exercise, with friendly staff.

City/airport: Pisa airport

Roberto's rating of their experience of Locauto: (4.5/5) on 5 October 2017

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

I hired the car through Rentalcars.com under name of Enterprise and ended up with collecting car from Locauto. On returning car there was a tiny dent (caused by someone in carpark opening door on to us). Man siad that will be 330 euros and despite asking for paperwork was told it would be sent. No paperwork has been sent and of cause charge has appeared on my credit card statement. i am challenging it as dent was very minimal and not certain that repair has been undertaken. It is a shame as agents were helpful, spoke english well, car was beautifully clean and they seemed thorough on handover.

City/airport: Pisa Airport

whatsforteamum's rating of their experience of Locauto: (1/5) on 9 September 2017

If you have any comments or concerns about a review listed here please contact us for assistance.