Locauto Reviews

Have you hired a car from Locauto recently? Why not submit a review of your experiences to help others?
Locauto's Rating:
2.5/5 based on 41 reviews
5 stars
8
4 stars
9
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
21
Save money on your car hire! Get the best cover for your
Car Hire Excess Insurance
Double price, half a big car! Never again! Beware, they will trick you!

City/airport:

Zoltán's rating of their experience of Locauto: (1/5) on 31 October 2023

Very quick pick up through their Smart Checkin. Avoided the airport desk & could go straight to the car park. Speedy check on return. All good

City/airport:

FSChester's rating of their experience of Locauto: (5/5) on 9 October 2022

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Friendly efficient operation

City/airport:

sh's rating of their experience of Locauto: (4/5) on 29 September 2022

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Pre-Paid and arranged prior to getting to the airport. All paperwork ready to agree and sign. Once I said I had excess cover there was no hard sell. The car had been checked and all issues agreed. No issues on return. Very satisfied.

City/airport:

Ruby Rust's rating of their experience of Locauto: (4/5) on 20 September 2022

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

The worst experience EVER !!! This people are CONMEN. I booked a FIAT PANDA. They asked me if I want extra insurance or just basic…and I went with basic. Afterward, they asked me if I wish an ulgrade to a better car, an Audi A3 for only 3 euro, for being their customer for the first time. I agreed, went to the parking lot and checked the car. It had minor scratches on the bidy which I acknowledge. when I brought back the car, they checked thoroughly and after 15 minutes found a 0.5 cm SCRATCH on the windshield. I could barely notice it, even in the light. They said that this was damage caused by myself, that the windshield had to be fully replaced and that my insurance doesn’t cover it. And guess what ?? My deposit was for 500 € and the cost of the damage was 495 €. I swear that this people pulled one of the ugliest and meanest tricks. this is their agency in Treviso airport, so please AVOID AT ALL COSTS !!!

City/airport:

Mortiimatii's rating of their experience of Locauto: (1/5) on 13 September 2021

I hired a car at Pisa - unfortunately on the motorway I was forced to the side of the road by a dangerous italian driver swerving in front of me. There was very slight damage to the car from running over the motorway edge markers. Locauto charged €280 + €70 fees but that didn't worry me as I had full insurance. However when I asked for photos of all the claimed damages, they kept sending me photos that did not show the damage! Eventually I got the needed photos and my insurers paid the claim. Then I got demands from a debt collection agency for €431- Locauto had passed the case on to them after I had paid! They are still pursuing me 3 months after the incident.

City/airport:

Chris's rating of their experience of Locauto: (1/5) on 26 December 2020

Scammers I arrived at Milano airport at Jan 15 and then I booked a car online with my Visa debit card which was charged 166 EUR. After 30 minutes I'm at their office to receive the car and they say that they need 500 EUR insurance via credit card and not debit card. I said I only have the debit card with me and so they cancelled my reservation and they said they will refund me and no further action is required. So I took a taxi and left the airport. 4 months later they still didn't refund me and I contacted them and they say they will keep the money!!!!!!!!!! This is steal. They said I didn't have a credit card and I had a debit card with me and it's not acceptable and based on their policy is to keep my money for giving me nothing. Scammers. I already applied for a charge back and let's see what visa will say now.

City/airport:

Athanasios Kaloutsas's rating of their experience of Locauto: (1/5) on 5 May 2020

We had a very good experience. The check in and check out were swift and efficient. I had read mixed reviews for the company but couldn't fault them. The car was brand new with no damage before or after we rented. That made check in very easy.

City/airport:

loseapoint's rating of their experience of Locauto: (4/5) on 1 March 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

We were quite nervous about hiring a car abroad for the first time, but it was a very positive experience. The staff were friendly and spoke excellent English, making everything clear. The car was clean and well maintained. We would definitely use Locauto again.

City/airport: Pisa Airport

John B's rating of their experience of Locauto: (5/5) on 3 October 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

We found Locauto staff to be very efficient, the car we hired was a bit bland but it was fit for purpose, I would have given full marks if it had less scratches on it and had covered less kilometres (20,000)

City/airport: Bologna

Runningscania's rating of their experience of Locauto: (4/5) on 16 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

DO NOT book anything with Interrent or Gold Car! They are the same company and will try to scam you whenever possible. Costumer service is terrible as they will never reply to your emails. Recently I have hired a car at the Malaga airport. I have booked previously online and when I arrived at the Interrent office everything was ok and the car was ready to go. The employee asked me a few details, driving licence etc and then asked me to pay a deposit of 200€. I then asked him what was the deposit for and he told me that it would be for the petrol and then everything would be refunded once the car was handed back with a full petrol tank. I accepted to pay the 200€ with my credit card and then was asked to sign on the pinpad. Surprisingly 7 days after giving the car back, I only received part of the deposit (76€). I went over all the paperwork that was handed to me and found that several charges were added to the contract (which is in the middle of several pages with a staple placed next to the charges) without me being informed or even mentioned: "recargo aeropuerto 9.82€, C. extra V. Diesel 10.33€, Cobertura Super 73.73€, Fianza Tarjeta 62.81€ and smart Return 12.36€". Some of these charges I can't even image what they mean as they were never mentioned or explained during the whole process. I had even mentioned to the employee that I had my own insurance. I speak both English and Spanish, so there was nothing missed in translation during this transaction. After contacting Interrent by phone, they keep asking me to send them an email but then they never reply. In my opinion a company that review themselves with this kind of behaviour shouldn't be trusted. I don't even want to imagine if you get involved in a traffic accident or in other kind of scam they promote. Be smart, do not book with them. You might save some money but will end up paying much more if something goes wrong or if they just decide to rob you.

City/airport: Malaga

Another victim's rating of their experience of Locauto: (1/5) on 15 August 2019

Better than expected (some negative online reviews had left me cautious). They did offer to upsell but this was easy to decline. There was a problem with the car on return and this was dealt with appropriately.

City/airport: Pisa International

CP's rating of their experience of Locauto: (4/5) on 6 August 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

So far i have.not been ripped off by this company but i will take legal action if i do. Having read the reviews i filmed the whole car inside and out in front on the loauto employee on return. I refused to sign anything until he checked the car and i signed that there was no damage and the car was full. This way you have proof how the car looked on delivery. They dont like being filmed so be warned. I respected that and didn't film him. Based on reviews from other customers i wouldn't use this company again.

City/airport: Catania

Scotslad500's rating of their experience of Locauto: (1/5) on 27 July 2019

Localauto in Palermo is by far the worst car rental experience we have ever experienced and that we have rented cars almost all over Europe. Before we left, we ordered a car from Enterprize with the highest possible protection at rentalcars. After payment, it automatically referred us to a crazy localauto. When we arrived in Palermo to pick up the car, they forced us to another insurance, which we refused because we already paid one full insurance. After we returned the car in order, clean and without damage, a localauto came to us, walked around the car once without looking at it properly, then pointed to one wheel and said there was a little scratch and it would cost us about 85 euro. We said it wasn't true and we wouldn't sign it and he shrugged and said that it would cost a lot more then. Because we hurried to the plane, we finally signed it, then we can solve it through rentalcars. We have been home for a week and no one has even returned a 500 euro deposit.

City/airport: Palermo

Velta's rating of their experience of Locauto: (1/5) on 26 July 2019

No problems with car hire. The car had some minor scratches when we collected it, but all of them were duly noted by the car hire company, and there was no issue when we returned the car.

City/airport: Catalina

Kitkat's rating of their experience of Locauto: (4.5/5) on 25 July 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Warning! Charging customers for fictitious damages, a real Italian scam Company! No more Locauto!!

City/airport: Bergamo

Lars P's rating of their experience of Locauto: (1/5) on 16 July 2019

Reception was perfect, but return they charge you for nonsense scratches !!! Avoid this company

City/airport: pisa/airport

MichoRiet's rating of their experience of Locauto: (1/5) on 12 July 2019

Terrible experience. We hired a basic small car and took out full insurance. We arrived late at night and foolishly did not inspect the car thoroughly. The rep from Locauto ran the light from his tablet over it briefly and we did not pay too much attention as were happy to be starting our holiday. We drove to our hotel and parked the car for a week and then drove back to the airport a week later. The car was still immaculate or so we thought as we had hardly used it. They immediately accused us of scraping the back right wheel trim, which we could not have done as had never never parked the car against any kerb! The staff were rude and continued to accused us of damaging the car. Please do not make the mistake we did and check the car carefully before you drive away in it, and also take videos. They are crooks and should not be trusted. They ruined the end to what had been a great holiday. Since I have returned to the UK I have looked at their reviews - they are terrible - please do not book with them!

City/airport: Milan, Linate

Sunnie's rating of their experience of Locauto: (1/5) on 8 July 2019

Fake Damage To anyone that may choose to use this company, my advice is be very careful and ensure you check every inch of the car you hire. Take a full video and examine the car with microscopic detail and ensure that ANY damage no matter how small is logged and agreed BEFORE you sign it out. You run the risk of being charged a very large sum for any tiny dents or pay an extra £40 to insure against this risk or better still pay a little bit more and stick with one of the major brands

City/airport: pisa airport

the equaliser's rating of their experience of Locauto: (1/5) on 29 June 2019

I hired a Fiat Panda at the airport on 13 6 19 and was served by Silvia whom I found very courteous and efficient. However, I was taken aback when she said that the hire did not include vehicle roadside assistance or recovery. She said I would have to pay €2 a day to receive this cover. I told her that any car I have hired in the past included this in the hire contract. She insisted that I would have to pay and for peace of mind, I did and it cost me an extra €33. 96. I felt very aggrieved at this but just wanted to get on with my holiday. Rentalcars.com, with whom I made the online booking state on the contract with them that £140. 28 was the total for the hire. The car and every other aspect of the hire from Locauto was fine, pity about the above which I think is just another way to screw more money from the unsuspecting hirer.

City/airport: Pisa Airport

Satchmo's rating of their experience of Locauto: (3/5) on 20 June 2019

I hired a Fiat Panda at the airport on 13 6 19 and was served by Silvia whom I found very courteous and efficient. However, I was taken aback when she said that the hire did not include vehicle roadside assistance or recovery. She said I would have to pay €2 a day to receive this cover. I told her that any car I have hired in the past included this in the hire contract. She insisted that I would have to pay and for peace of mind, I did and it cost me an extra €33. 96. I felt very aggrieved at this but just wanted to get on with my holiday. Rentalcars.com, with whom I made the online booking state on the contract with them that £140. 28 was the total for the hire. The car and every other aspect of the hire from Locauto was fine, pity about the above which I think is just another way to screw more money from the unsuspecting hirer.

City/airport: Pisa Airport

Satchmo's rating of their experience of Locauto: (3/5) on 20 June 2019

All perfect: new car and helpful and courteous staff

City/airport: Bologna Station

Kam's rating of their experience of Locauto: (4/5) on 16 June 2019

The car was late being returned by previous driver but company extended my hire by more than the time lost initially.

City/airport: Carvoeiro

Target's rating of their experience of Locauto: (4/5) on 3 May 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Very good, very helpful

City/airport: Pescara

Phil the fish's rating of their experience of Locauto: (5/5) on 26 April 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Their behaviour shows a clear intent to deceive. I collected the car and performed the inspection at night in total darkness, as the attendant did not have a torch o even a phone(!) - I had to use my own phone with a dying battery after travelling all day. When returning, the attendant told me "If you have filled the tank, there is no need to inspect the vehicle, have a safe trip". Lo and behold, they later charged me for a scratch I hadn't spotted (and which of course I did not cause).

City/airport: Verona

thoughfuldiner's rating of their experience of Locauto: (1/5) on 11 September 2018

If you have any comments or concerns about a review listed here please contact us for assistance.