Locauto Reviews

Have you hired a car from Locauto recently? Why not submit a review of your experiences to help others?
Locauto's Rating:
2.5/5 based on 14 reviews
5 stars
4
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
7
Save money on your car hire! Get the best cover for your
Car Hire Excess Insurance
Their behaviour shows a clear intent to deceive. I collected the car and performed the inspection at night in total darkness, as the attendant did not have a torch o even a phone(!) - I had to use my own phone with a dying battery after travelling all day. When returning, the attendant told me "If you have filled the tank, there is no need to inspect the vehicle, have a safe trip". Lo and behold, they later charged me for a scratch I hadn't spotted (and which of course I did not cause).

City/airport: Verona

thoughfuldiner's rating of their experience of Locauto: (1/5) on 11 September 2018

Hi My experience was excellent . The Airport staff stayed behind to organise our hire although everyone else had gone . The Hertz rep. was very abrupt and unhelpful, which is the reason we tried Locauto . Everything was plain sailing

City/airport: Treviso

C.U.Jimmy's rating of their experience of Locauto: (3.5/5) on 16 August 2018

Had a good experience with the rental however three months after renting the car I got an email saying I had gone into a Traffic Limited Zone in Bologna 3 times for 10 seconds. The Italian government may send me a charge for this, but because Locauto have been so harshly made to surrender an email address they have charged me 50 euro for the trouble. FOR ALL THREE TIMES. That's 150 euro to send one email address. I have checked all the documentation and see no evidence of this, they have become unresponsive when I talk to them now, despite previously being welcoming when they didn't have my money and have ignored my claim for otherwise and taken money out of my account without my permission. I am outraged at this behaviour and would not recommend them to anyone. Their hidden fees will kill you.

City/airport: venice mestre

Max's rating of their experience of Locauto: (1/5) on 30 July 2018

Scammers. Use Locauto and Enterprise at your peril. Unethical business practices; - charging for an additional days rental, even when it was agreed on 2 separate occasions that the start time and drop off time had moved back by 5 hours, the total duration was within the allocated days of hire - charging for a scratch on the underside of the front bumper, which was only noticeable if you lay down on your back and had to use a mobile device to see it. To make matters worse, it was not incurred by me, but it was only picked up when dropping off as if they knew it was there. i.e. the tools, environment and process used during the pickup is vastly different to the drop off. Set up. Either it was caused by a previous renter and it wasn't picked up by the customer service representative (doubtful), or it was caused by the customer service representative when parking the car (likely). - Rude customer service who just ignore your dispute, despite a very considered and polite message - Charging for additional services (road side assistance, excess cover, etc.) even though the contract clearly states this was not included - Whilst associated with Enterprise, they themselves ignore you. Neither myself or my friends and family will ever use this brand, or the Enterprise brand again. This is unfortunate for both brands as between us we rent at least 15 cars a year. Thats a significant loss of business. Their loss is their competitors gain. All for a few hundred Euros.

City/airport: Pisa Airport

sykes's rating of their experience of Locauto: (1/5) on 3 July 2018

Very good and reliable rental company with reasonable prices. Their vehicles are almost brand new. I always use Locauto. Definitely one of the best car hire at Pisa Airport.

City/airport: Pisa Airport

Mr P's rating of their experience of Locauto: (5/5) on 2 April 2018

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

terrible company. signed me for extra administrative fees whatsoever. problem with the highway gate the highways sent the company letter I have to pay extra 1.21 eur Locauto charged me for extra 48.8 eur!! another fine I asked them to send me the contract instead of this they charged my credit card for more!!! crooked company/

City/airport: milan malpensa

john's rating of their experience of Locauto: (1/5) on 4 November 2017

Hire a car in September - hardly drove it. On my return they went straight to a scuff under the bumper ( yes under the car) and have charged me 37f5 euros - avoid avoid avoid

City/airport: brindisi

andy's rating of their experience of Locauto: (1/5) on 13 October 2017

Quick and easy exercise, with friendly staff.

City/airport: Pisa airport

Roberto's rating of their experience of Locauto: (4.5/5) on 5 October 2017

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

I hired the car through Rentalcars.com under name of Enterprise and ended up with collecting car from Locauto. On returning car there was a tiny dent (caused by someone in carpark opening door on to us). Man siad that will be 330 euros and despite asking for paperwork was told it would be sent. No paperwork has been sent and of cause charge has appeared on my credit card statement. i am challenging it as dent was very minimal and not certain that repair has been undertaken. It is a shame as agents were helpful, spoke english well, car was beautifully clean and they seemed thorough on handover.

City/airport: Pisa Airport

whatsforteamum's rating of their experience of Locauto: (1/5) on 9 September 2017

A bit of queue when picking up the car but the restwas perfect. Nice new clean car.

City/airport: Trieste

Hector's rating of their experience of Locauto: (4.5/5) on 3 September 2017

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Alamo outsource to a company called Locauto who I suggest people avoid. I was charged 105 Euro for being one hour late and charged 264 Euro for scratches on the passenger side alloy wheel hub. Both charges were in my opinion excessive. I did not take photos of the wheel but would advise anyone else who ends up using Locauto to make sure they take plenty photos before driving the car away.

City/airport: Pisa International

JohnL's rating of their experience of Locauto: (1/5) on 14 August 2017

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Had to wait for 35 minutes in 45 degree heat , very little shade for courtesy bus . Staff not very helpful and struggled with speaking English . Not sure they appreciate they are in the Tourist business . Directions to drop off car not the best when we returned . Car was spotless and lovely to drive however.

City/airport: Pisa airport. Pisa

Big T's rating of their experience of Locauto: (1.5/5) on 12 August 2017

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Extremely nice and pleasant staff. Upgrade to an Audi for only €21 for the week.. Would use again.

City/airport: Milan

CJ's rating of their experience of Locauto: (5/5) on 29 July 2017

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

I booked the car hire through Auto Europe, who acted as agent for Locauto. The hire car desk was easy to find in the airport terminal; the assisant was pleasant and efficient - there was no pressure to sell damage excess insurance. She simply asked if I already had such insurance. The car was parked in a covered car-park a short walk away from the terminal. The car was clean and had just over 30,000km on the clock. We had the car for 5 days and had no problems. We returned it to the same place and, after a short inspection and agreement that it was ok, I signed to complete the hire. First impressions of locauto were good: an efficient firm, no frills and no hassle. I would use them again.

City/airport: Bologna airport

MorNe's rating of their experience of Locauto: (4/5) on 10 July 2017

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

If you have any comments or concerns about a review listed here please contact us for assistance.