InterRent Reviews

Have you hired a car from InterRent recently? Why not submit a review of your experiences to help others?
InterRent's Rating:
2.1/5 based on 70 reviews
5 stars
12
4 stars
7
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
44
Save money on your car hire! Get the best cover for your
Car Hire Excess Insurance
Just got back from Tenerife..We rented a car through RYANAIR's website.SHAME on you RYANAIR for having your name linked to these thieves!!AVOID INTERRENT,GOLD CARS,EUROPCAR.!! (Same companies ,off-shoot of Europcar)Their desks are next to each other at Tenerife South airport..Guess why.. We lost the first day waiting for 3.30 hours to get the car.All customers were complaining and arguing with their very rude staff.They treat all us customers ,like we are stupid..!Is this the "Welcome to Tenerife" way? They first tried to sell us their insurance for €150.When we refused,they offered it for €129,then for €109.They do not accept Ryanair's insurance..Finally, they charged my credit card €800 for insurance deposit and €107 for fuel(after waiting for 3 hours,you just feel like accepting anything, so you can to go and start your holiday),telling me that IF something will happen to the car ,I will be fully responsible.I left feeling that something bad will happen... Well,it did on the 3rd day..! We parked the car for 3 min,just going cross the street to buy something.When we got back ,one of the windows was in pieces..An English couple who just parked next to us and show what had happened,they told us that they have been robbed in a CATHEDRAL, £500.! They just wanted to go back home..We lost an another day at the police station and their desk at the airport to return the car... They finally charged us £400 for the broken glass(fiat 500),they refused to replace the car,but they kept the money for rest of the rental period !!(another 3 days).They also asked me to pay for some scratches on the car,but thank God I already had photos and videos, showing that those scratches were there ,before I got the car..!! AVOID,AVOID,AVOID...!!!! THEY RUINED OUR HOLIDAYS AND READING THEIR REVIEWS IT KEEPS HAPPENING..! Maybe the Police could do something about it? And of course RYANAIR ????

City/airport: TENERIFE SOUTH

SPY's rating of their experience of InterRent: (1/5) on 24 November 2018

I turned up late to pick up the hire car which wasn't there and was refused replacement, which meant I lost all my money £154.00, disgusting company, goldcar and interrent are the same company

City/airport: Standstead

Ants's rating of their experience of InterRent: (1/5) on 3 November 2018

The fact that the office is a shed outside the main Car Village building should concern you. The staff refused official legally recognised documents as identification and pushed their "special" all inclusive very expensive offer (min 160 pounds) instead. Both I and the two clients in front of me walked away in disgust. Modern day highway robbery - I will seriously NEVER think of using them again

City/airport: Stansted

Furious's rating of their experience of InterRent: (1/5) on 18 October 2018

1. The free shuttle has never arrived. We waited 50 minutes in the heat, ordered the shuttle several times during this time. 2. Had to take a taxi that cost us 14.60 euro 3. Customer service informed us that they won't take my bank card. Even though in France there is no such a thing as credit or debit card. We had enough on the card to make the deposit 'pending' this has always worked. 4. We ended up paying 267euro instead of 70 as we had to take the full insurance (no choice there) 5. Avoid this company! Rude customer service, very expensive, outside of the airport, free shuttle may come may not 6. We were told to e-mail our taxi receipt to customer service, here is the reply from Interrent: 'According to our records, our services were fully functional at your arrival time. We regret to inform you that the charges with your rental will be kept as per our terms and conditions and the previously sent rental documents. ' Overall I'm surprised that this place is still running.

City/airport: Florence

Evi's rating of their experience of InterRent: (1/5) on 17 October 2018

Horrible and Lying company. We were charged an extra insurance without our knowledge at the service desk in Rome Fiumicino, which we didn't need and want, since we already purchased when booking online. The employee told us that all is fine, we do not need to pay anything and that that money on the document is the deposit, which will be refunded back to us. Of course, they never did. Yes, we should have been more careful and attentive, but you don't expect a reputable car rental company to LIE to you in that way. NEVER NEVER CHOOSE INTER RENT! And please, help me spread the word.

City/airport: Rome Fiumicino

Khachatur's rating of their experience of InterRent: (1/5) on 5 October 2018

Not sure how to start, really. I rented a economic car with Axa insurance, in Faro airport, for 1 week. On the day of the arrival, terminal desk took me almost more time to get the car than the actually flight from Bristol. Unbelievable. Afterwards I decided to take the company full insurance. Well, if you rent car on any company PLEASE consider pay extra for full insurance or you can have so much hassle. Now... The nightmare. Drove from Faro to Viseu (560km). Thought the 6 months Seat Ibiza with 9000km on the clock would be nice, but after 100km it broke. Engine ko. Luckily I managed to drive it to nearest petrol station, on the A2 motorway, near Aljustrel. I rang Inter Rent and promptly they arrange assistance and because car could not been fixed they sent a taxi which took us to Lisbon, to Europcar. Yes, Europcar, the "opponent". Questioned why, and answer was that no other rental company was open at that time. 00:00. In there, I've been told that no car was available. So rang them back and another solution was being studied. Finally at almost 4AM another taxi arrived to take us to Rent a Star company so we could have a car to keep our trip to our destination. Mercedes C180 completely new. But just for 24hrs. It needed to be taken back to Porto airport Rent a Star within next 24hrs. And then go to Inter Rent to pick up another car. Absolutely nightmare. All this and maybe more than 20 phone calls to try sort out this problem. Needed to cancel plans because of this. Needed to pay petrol from Viseu to Porto (150km), and then back. Adding the cost of the tolls. I will try to get this amount refunded. But nothing pays me the hassle and the poor service of the company. No one from the approximately 20 phone operators deserve any credit. Not even an effort to help. Common. Wouldn't be nice to a client to be treated as that? Car broken down. Taxi to Lisbon, fair enough. Courtesy car, fair enough. But then, making me drive to Porto to exchange car? Wouldn't have been better for someone from Inter Rent to come to the client with a car and take the other back? What the heck??? Absolutely miserable service. Think twice before you hire!!! It only could have been worst if I had a baby or a disable person with me. Other than that, it was an absolutely nightmare!!!

City/airport: Faro airport

Fernando Cardoso's rating of their experience of InterRent: (1/5) on 1 October 2018

A real scam, rented a car in Menorca and it was never explicit the full to empty fuel, and they charged €30 to give you the full tank + €50 for the petrol, which the second should have been refunded to me as I brought back full thank, it has been 2 months and I still haven’t got my refund back, many unsuccessful emails and calls to customer service. I WILL NEVER use this company again and don’t recommend, the cheap will end up expensive and give you lots of headaches.

City/airport: Menorca

Mari's rating of their experience of InterRent: (1/5) on 24 September 2018

Despite telling the receptionist that we did not want extra cover and also showing her our own independent insurance cover documents, she still went ahead and included extra cover. As we had had to wait about an hour for service, we were in a rush to get away before the shops closed at midday until Monday, so didn't notice this addition until we received an email copy of our rental agreement the day we returned home. After contacting Auto-Europe through whom we had booked with Interrent, we were told that as we had signed the contract, there would be no refund. We will NEVER use either of these companies for car hire again. Appalling service. Buyer beware!

City/airport: Marseille

Crystalpearl's rating of their experience of InterRent: (1/5) on 21 September 2018

I boomem a car in Malaga with prepayment for my father and his wife. They came to pick up the car 2.5 hours later than the scheduled time, while Interrent assistants were talking and stalling them with security options, 3 hours ran out and they told us that by their rules if you don’t pick up the car within 3 hours , booking is not guaranteed. So they said the only option was to take a different car which was 5 (!) times more expensive and way too large. Obviously, they didn’t refund the money paid for the initial booking so we had to walk away without money AND with no car and a holiday in front of us. Terrible service in Spain! They took the money They didn’t give a car They didn’t offer any good options (say, come and pick up the car that we paid for the next day)

City/airport: Malaga

Aveal's rating of their experience of InterRent: (1/5) on 15 September 2018

they are the worst - never any more - their office is far from the airport - poor communication for their location - took me almost 2 hrs to find them (and I am Italian) - they changed the price because of the insurance - (I was able to observe 5 clients in total, before and after me, they changed the rental cost to all 5 clients. - Car not clean and with few dents on the outside - Poor clients service - At the end, more expensive than other rental companies - completely unprofessional service

City/airport: Rome/Fiumicino

Alfredo's rating of their experience of InterRent: (1/5) on 7 September 2018

This is the worst car hire company i have ever seen , i book for seven seater but instead i was giving a citreon C -ELySEE i was force to buy additional insurance of 60 euro the staff were so rude, threatened you like you were there to beg for the car and they are just doing a favour .

City/airport: barcelona

sylvester's rating of their experience of InterRent: (1/5) on 3 September 2018

Awful experience with inter rent in Venice. Took us ages to find the transfer meeting point. We arrive at office and told our berlingo type car has been rented as we are 40 minutes delayed on the strict 59 min pick up time. We are then forced to pay an extra £130 for a slightly better car. The man was so rude and patronising and was clearly enjoying ripping us off for more money. He says if we don’t want to pay extra we are welcome to cancel booking and find an alternative car hire which of course they know very well will cost more. When we get out of the office there are 3 berlingo type vehicles in their bays which he insists have all been rented out. Every person in the queue had to pay more money for some reason or another! Absolute rip off and you should avoid at all costs!!!!

City/airport: Venice

Lucy j's rating of their experience of InterRent: (1/5) on 29 August 2018

I would like to warn everyone to rent a car from Intercars (Tenerife) !!! This company is a big joke. They offer you good price and when you arrive you are being forced to take extra insurance, so at the end price will triple. At the airport they gave me car with scratch and dent on sides and form you get there is no info about this, so when you return car they might charge you like 500 euro to access their insurance. So be careful! Take photos and get back to these “nice” people and make them write this on form so you won’t be responsible for it when returning car. They were supposed to refund me money for full tank of gasoline that I filled at the gas station but guess if they did(no). When at the airport they offered me insurance for 103 euro and I agreed ( too tired to read form) Lady at front desk took my debit card and deducted 189 euro(shame I believed her) I wrote to customer service about this situation and no reply..!!! I strongly recommend to avoid these people as they probably make money on extra charges, so the price will be double or triple.. I guess the way to make money is to prey on fact that people go for holiday and extra money for something is acceptable for them and too tired to argue with them. At the front desk they are nice and polite and then s..t happens like this. So if you don’t want lose extra money , stay away from them. Shame!! Intercars is a gold mine, as when they rip you off they don’t get any consequences. You can write, call them but nothing you will manage. So hiring car for 110 euro ended up 299 euro…!!! Shame on them.

City/airport: tenerife

paul's rating of their experience of InterRent: (1/5) on 16 August 2018

Hello, I am writing here to share my recent experience with Inter rent which has been extremely disappointing. I rented a car for 4 days at their agency based in Catania Airport, Sicily. When picking up the cars, I have presented my American express Credit Card to the receptionist as the T&C stipulated that it was accepted by the company. However, their system rejected the Amex and the receptionist asked me to provide another credit card or pay insurance for €160. Since we were in a hurry, I had no choice but paying this insurance knowing that I could request the refund by calling their customer service. Especially that it was a problem is their system. During my stay in Italy, I have tried to call the company several times but no one picked up the phone. After 2 weeks waiting time, sending 3 emails and messaging on FB to communicate the issue, Inter rent finally came back to me to tell me that it was my fault and they are refusing to reimburse me the amount that they should have never charged initially. I’m very disappointed by the service and the way Inter-rent is handling this situation, especially that it’s their own responsibility. Inter rent is not respecting at all what has been communicated in their T&C which is clearly stipulating that American Express are considered as “Accepted Credit Cards”. I have discussed with other people that used inter-rent and it seems that many of them experienced the same problem. Their agents told them that the system did not accept the Amex and pushed them to pay for the insurance instead. Even worst, their customer service is rejecting the responsibility on their customers instead of providing a professional service? All of this for an amount that is lower than €160? I will never use this company again, it is the worst customer experience I ever had renting a car and my advice to people reading this post is to not use this company as you will be clearly disappointed.

City/airport: catania

LouDut's rating of their experience of InterRent: (1/5) on 6 August 2018

Do not rent a car from this company. When we left the car back they told us there were 2 scratches on the car we had to pay for. The first one was under the car which we had to get down on the ground to see and the other was on the wing mirror which had been on the car when we got it. We were told by the staff it was our duty to photograph the car when we had got it which we hadn't and if we had we certain,y would have missed the scratch underneath the car. My daughter who is a solicitor asked for the procedures on how to contest these claims the girl dealing with this suddenly claimed she could not speak much English. We were forced to sign a form that we agreed to this and pay €370 if we hadn't they were going to take €900 euros off our card. We asked to talk to a manager who like the girl who was serving us was rude. Their name badges were turned the wrong way and when I asked for both their names or their IDs they refused and when I went to take a picture this the 2 girls and then a male member of staff tried to take my phone off me I refused to delete the pictures until they gave me their names of which they would only give us the managers. We are going to fight this legally I am writing this as I don't want anyone going through what we did.

City/airport: Malaga

Tamara's rating of their experience of InterRent: (1/5) on 4 August 2018

They tell you all is ok as they checked the car back. Then 15 euros get charged on my credit card for no reason.And they still fail to give a reason

City/airport: Berlin

isayoldchap's rating of their experience of InterRent: (1/5) on 20 July 2018

They are the worst car hire company I have ever come across I returned the first car with a 1.5cm scratch that could easily have been there on pick up as it was under the front bumper not only did they charge me 950 Euros for damage but they also added the car hire price twice all this without authorisation from my credit card. I fought with them for many months to get money back even threatened them with solicitors to no avail.. They were rude and nasty when talking to you and do not care about the customers experience. I did not realise this was the company I had chosen this year as the first incident was 3 years ago ..This time they just went on and on and on about My Excess Insurance from Reduce My Excess not being any good and if the car even broke down they would just take the car back and leave me without one so you are more or less blackmailed into taking their full insurance .. Also beware Do You Spain advise that if you take their Excess Waiver Interrent will only hold back 350 Euros.. NO THEY WONT they still insist on the whole amount. I have advised Do You Spain of this but they cant really do anything about it .. JUST DONT USE INTERRENT ...

City/airport: Alicante and Murcia

Elle's rating of their experience of InterRent: (1/5) on 17 July 2018

Excellent service - vehicles clean. Staff very helpful. Visit Spain a lot and have used many different car hire companies over time but since interRent came to Malaga use it all the time

City/airport: Malaga

Syd261's rating of their experience of InterRent: (5/5) on 24 June 2018

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Although I had 'reduce my excess' insurance the Interent rep brow beat me intobuying their own insurance, insisting that the one I had was useless. It was easiest to comply, even if it cost us an extra 50€. When I returned the car with a nearly full tank, they charged me for a full tank. My recommendation for this company is avoid at all costs.

City/airport: Marseilles

Kentface's rating of their experience of InterRent: (3/5) on 22 June 2018

Good service and quick

City/airport: Lanzorte

Dai's rating of their experience of InterRent: (5/5) on 14 June 2018

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

value for money , great new 5 door car provided , service at collection and return good and timely

City/airport: Tallinn

skeenie's rating of their experience of InterRent: (5/5) on 6 June 2018

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Honestly the worst company ever. We secured a vehicle in Spain, paid up and didn’t think anything of it. After arriving in Spain we were told they recommended something a bit bigger that what they recommend. We said there was only three of us so that was unnecessary. Her story quickly changed to “oh sorry sir your car is no longer available because you took longer that 2 hours to arrive after your original booking time”. We were 1 hour and 7 minutes over the time, and when we said this, the lady Suddenly struggled with English and was saying something about a time mix up and how she could give us a great deal on a different car. After around 45 minutes of arguing we had to arrange for a car 3 times he price because we had no other option. Please avoid, taking advantage of stranded customers.

City/airport: Alicante

Jestnut's rating of their experience of InterRent: (1/5) on 5 June 2018

They told me that the policy I had bought from you was insufficient and I had to pay about 50€ for their policy. The car was rubbish to drive but that's not their fault although a little instruction from them would have been welcome.

City/airport: Marseilles

Mike's rating of their experience of InterRent: (1/5) on 5 June 2018

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Refused my car at Stanstead Airport because I did not have ID showing my address other than my driving licence. Even though the confirmation email/voucher I received clearly states "What you will need to pick up your car - passport, driving licence, voucher, credit card". Unbelievable that they are so willing to leave customers high and dry with a car, the guy infront of me didn't get his car either. Thankfully Enterprise saved the day, I paid a bit more but at least they know how to look after their customers.

City/airport: Stanstead

Chris's rating of their experience of InterRent: (1/5) on 25 May 2018

Contentious Damage Report and Abusive Repair Charge After multiple hires at UK airports and despite few customer service disappointments I kept hiring from them because of price. However, after my last hire in March I have given up and I will not hire again. I don't recommend InterRent for the following reasons: - I was charged for damage I am convinced I didn't do - An abusive damage repair charge of GBP382 for a small superficial scratch on rear bumper (polisher and cloth would do) - A strong need to generate revenue because I didn’t take the excess insurance. I had alternative cover. - Staff with very poor customer service approach and worse customer retention vision

City/airport: London Gatwick

Jesus Oregui's rating of their experience of InterRent: (1/5) on 16 May 2018

If you have any comments or concerns about a review listed here please contact us for assistance.