Goldcar Reviews

Have you hired a car from Goldcar recently? Why not submit a review of your experiences to help others?
Goldcar's Rating:
1.9/5 based on 255 reviews
5 stars
31
4 stars
25
3 stars
14
2 stars
8
1 star
177
Save money on your car hire! Get the best cover for your
Car Hire Excess Insurance
Gold Car have been appalling throughout my rental car process and ultimately cheated my group out of £210 through hidden charges (diesel charge, airport tax, flexi-fuel policy) and taking deposit money out from my bank account rather than blocking it (what they were meant to do) - and then returning the deposit at a significantly worse exchange rate. I tried to fight this, but every time I log a complaint to explain the issue to them, they give a weak response and close my case. I have tried reopening complaints several times but they keep closing the case with extremely inadequate responses. AVOID AT ALL COSTS - your booking will end up costing you more than a more reputable car hire company.

City/airport: Malaga

Ollie G's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (1/5) on 10 February 2019

Do not trust this company in any way they offer ridiculously cheap car hire then add very expensive fines once you have left the vehicle even if theres nothing wrong with the vehicle. I was charged an extra 30 euros to vaccum the car and my father was told the rear door of his vehicle was damaged but he only hired a three door car!! all very dodgy check the other reviews! Getting your vehicle at the airport can take up to an hour but the worst part is the theft they can legally take from your credit card once you have dropped the vehicle off. They have been investigated for this and fined millions of Euros already but that hasn't stopped them from continuing this practice. AVOID AT ALL COSTS

City/airport: alicante

mark's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (1/5) on 31 January 2019

They try to get as much money out of you as possible. They frighten you with stories of Vandalism and strongly encourage you to take out their extra insurance. We were made to spend another £350 on top of costs already paid. Beware and read all reviews about this company on tripadvisor and other sites, I wish we had.

City/airport: Tenerife South

Friendlylady55's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (1/5) on 25 January 2019

I am desperately trying to find a way to get Goldcar to enter a discussion with me about my recent contract. They are not responding to any method so far. They have made an additional charge for cleaning seats which were blocked off during my use of the car.

City/airport: Tenerife South

Alison's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (1/5) on 11 January 2019

I hired a car from Goldcar Murcia in August 2018. I already had my own personal insurance so I was only expecting to pay the excess waiver as explained on the Goldcar website. When I arrived in Murcia to collect the car I was told that my insurance was invalid (even though the lady didn’t even look at my insurance paperwork) and I was forced into paying an extra £180 for there own all singing all dancing insurance policy.

City/airport: Murcia airport

Scott Litchfield's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (1/5) on 4 January 2019

I hired a car from Goldcar Murcia in August 2018. I already had my own personal insurance so I was only expecting to pay the excess waiver as explained on the Goldcar website. When I arrived in Murcia to collect the car I was told that my insurance was invalid (even though the lady didn’t even look at my insurance paperwork) and I was forced into paying an extra £180 for there own all singing all dancing insurance policy.

City/airport: Murcia airport

Litchy87's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (1/5) on 4 January 2019

Charged for "damage" not we were not responsible. Said "damage" was already sprayed over.

City/airport: Murcia

Cbs's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (1/5) on 4 January 2019

Initial cheap price but hidden costs. Charged me extra for diesel without telling me, on one occasion car was not full but paid for full full, took ages to sort difference out. Stay away unless you want stealth charges

City/airport: Alicante

subby's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (1/5) on 28 December 2018

Stay Clear of this company, InterRent, Rodium & RentAcar. They are all part of the same group, who try to lure you with cheap car rental rates. When you pick up the car, the staff try to sell you their insurance cover, if you decline it they become extremely rude, unhelpful and upset. They are thieves and will find any opportunity to charge your credit card for damages to the car. When returning your car ensure you get a written all clear, or rest assured you will be charged for damages! The Spanish Tourist authority & government needs to investigate this companies practices.

City/airport: Alicante

Emeto420's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (1/5) on 23 December 2018

They ruined our holiday. Starting with a scam that says 1.89£/day for a car + fees. Well when we got to the place..."fees" was more than everybody has expected. So let's drop the thing that instead of paying £30 at the moment of booking and at the place the total ammount was 67+128+11+63 (make your calculations). The worst thing was this: when we arrived at the drop off place, we forgot to fill up with fuel and we were already in the parking place. I've asked the guy from the desk to give me a ticket to get out of the parking so I can fill up with fuel. The guy says he DOESN'T HAVE TICKETS. (Incredible) After argue and moments of anger I said: ok... let's return the car, what we have to do? And he said: give me the key and that's all. I said this is crazy...no signing anywhere? No checkings on the car? And he said no. For the missing fuel (9 litres) they have charged me £50 as a fee and £9 for fuel. This is Interrent or Goldcar (is the same)

City/airport: Barcelona

Adrian's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (1/5) on 19 December 2018

Flat battery. Charged for callout even though it was car at fault not me. Did Change car after that. Did get money back

City/airport: Lanzerote

Trevor's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (1/5) on 17 December 2018

Goldcar are the worst company I have ever had to deal with. horribly stressful experience from the second you enter to their office. Awful customer service, hidden charges they don't tell you about etc etc.. please avoid, don't be fooled into using goldcar because they are the cheapest you will regret it. They still owe us money and we returned the car full of petrol in perfect order over 2 months ago. impossible to get hold of anyone at customer services they do not even have a phone number?? AVOID GOLDCAR UNLESS YOU WANT TO BE COMPLETELY RIPPED OFF!!

City/airport: Albufeira

Damo's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (1/5) on 3 December 2018

In september my father rent a car from your company. He clearly pointed out that he wants a car in gasoline. Then he came to the airport service and when there was CLEARLY SAID that he wouldn't have to pay any extra cost, your employee, seeing that my father's english is not so good, started talking very fast, didn't want to slow down, and when my father wanted to put me on the phone to translator what's going on, your employee just told him that he won't talk to nie because of the Police. Excuse me, but which law determines that? So my father with unsufficient english was left alone forced to sign rental documents where you put your extra payments 1.for a car in DIESEL, that he clearly didn't want, and 2. for a tax that he had to pay because of making extra payment on the airport. Is this a joke? Then, after few days when I came to the airport with my parents to left the car I started talking with your emoloyee, and she told me that it is a frequent situation, nothing big and that we should write a complain and for sure you will return the money. That's what we did, and guess what! Your answer was that my father knew what he agreed for and that he should be HAPPY that he was given a car in diesel that he had to pay extra for, because diesel is cheaper. Your company is a joke. Your attitude towards your customers is grossly disrespectful. You feed on people disability to understand your terms, you pushed to my father something he didn't want, made him pay for that and then you insolently told him he should be happy. If a fuel is more expensive than a diesel and your customer wants a car in fuel it is not you to decide which car he should rent. I will give your company the worst reviews anywhere I can and I will advice against using your services to all my friends. I strongly recommend using your competition services, because I have never had any problems with them.

City/airport: Lisbon airport

Marta's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (1/5) on 20 November 2018

stay well away from Goldcar rental. They make you take out their insurance. we had to pay nearly €200 before picking up car or we were not able to collect our car. My husband had already payed them on line before we drparted u.k. but goldcar said it was not valid. They are crooks. do not use.

City/airport: alicante

Baileycakes's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (1/5) on 17 November 2018

I went on holiday to Majorca and wanted to hire the car for the week so that we could explore the island. I went on a comparison website and I got a quote from Gold Car at 130.18 Euros. This was for a 5 door hatchback. I checked the reviews of the company, which, were mixed. I also checked the reviews of the other car hire companies but they were all the same. I have had experience of hire car companies in Majorca before and the biggest complaint about them from my experience and from the reviews is the pushy sale on insurance. I knew that I would be faced with the big insurance sale when I got to the hire desk so to spare me from this pain and to give me peace of mind, I took out excess waiver insurance before I went away with the aptly named icarhireinsurance underwritten by Zurich insurance. This enabled me to go to the hire desk and say no to insurance with conviction and the knowledge that it wasn’t required. As an insurance broker, I read my excess waiver policy and knew exactly what it was covering me for. It would cover any accidental damage losses that fall below the car hire companies excess. The hire company excess in this case was 1,400.00 Euros. Whilst at the hire desk I could hear the discussion going on at the desk next to me. The man, like me had purchased excess waiver insurance and said with confidence “I do not need insurance as I have excess waiver cover”, the woman at the desk argued with absolute conviction that, what he had purchased, was not good enough, and that he didn’t know what he was talking about. He went from a man confident in knowing what he had purchased, to unsure and then to passing her his credit card and paying the additional £125.00, having believed what the woman was telling him. She made him feel stupid by telling him repeatedly, “sir, what you have purchased, is not good enough, you do not know what you are talking about”. I was bracing myself for the same argument and I knew that I wasn’t going to fall for the insurance scam. In fact, whilst at the hire desk, I read my document again and there is a paragraph in the schedule that states: ‘Some Car rental companies would prefer you to buy their own policy to remove the excess when you hire a vehicle from them and may try to undermine your confidence in our policy at the rental desk. If they try to tell you that your policy is “invalid” or that they “don’t recognise” it and that you should buy theirs its worth remembering that our policy is independent from any car hire company and our promise is to reimburse you for any excess or CD”/LDW claim is not affected by who you hire your vehicle from or what they tell you”. This reaffirmed what I knew so when the man at the hire desk asked me if I wanted insurance I was pleasantly surprised that he accepted my ‘no’ and advised me that I would need to pay a deposit for the insurance of 1400 Euros. As well as the 1400 Euro Insurance deposit, I was also advised I would need to put a deposit of 160 Euros for fuel and a 26 Euro payment for Airport tax. A total of 1,586 Euro’s. I handed my debit card and they advised me that they would not accept a debit card and that I would need to hand over a credit card. That wasn’t a problem and I did so. When I checked my card, it had actually been processed at £1,459.29 at a rate of .9164 cents to the pound. I went on holiday for 7 days and brought the car back 7 days later. There was no damage and the company were satisfied with the fuel and confirmed that I would be refunded the fuel and insurance deposit shortly. I waited a few weeks before looking and when checking my bank was surprised to note that there was a significant difference between the deposit taken and the refund. I noticed that this was due to the exchange rate. When taking my deposit the hire car company took the money at a rate of .9164 cents to the pound and when refunding, refunded an amount of £1,334.96 a rate of .8590 cents to the pound. Whilst away, there was no significant change in the interest rate and was very surprised at this disparity, which, strangely worked in Gold Cars favour by approximately 7%. I expected to receive a refund of £1,435.00 having taken off the airport tax so was surprised to receive a refund of £100 less. I called Gold Car customer services and they were not much help. They asked me to email their customer service address. Which I did. I received a response from Gold Car who advised as follows: Dear client Thank you for your email about the exchange rate relating to your recent Goldcar vehicle rental. Our records show that you paid with a debit card and there was no option but to complete the transaction at the prevailing exchange rate. We encourage customers to use a credit card for the deposit as the sum is simply blocked and unblocked without a charge actually being made. Our records show you accepted and signed for the charge so it cannot be refunded or calculated at a different exchange rate once the rental period has ended. I hope this clarifies matters but please do get back in contact if you require further information. Kind regards, Patricia H I was pleased with this response as I did pay by credit card and not debit card and I felt that they would therefore, agree that they would refund the difference. I wrote back to the company advising them that I had in fact paid by credit card and would therefore, like to receive a refund. I have emailed them a further 3 times since without a response. It would seem that Gold Car are not willing to discuss this further with me and that this is a way for them to make further money out of people who are not willing to fall for the insurance scam!

City/airport: Palma, Majorca

DanHillier's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (1/5) on 5 November 2018

DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY They have taken £180 from my deposit for alleged damage that I did not cause and was only visible when they go a torch out to inspect a light scuff on the front bumper which you could not even see without the torch and this was the only spot they inspected with the torch!! they tried to blame me for 2 other scratches but fortunately I had photographs of these from when I collected the car. After asking several times I have still not received proof of damage and therefore unable to claim on my excess insurance taken out with Reduce my Excess and my credit card seems to be unable to help. They also charged us for a new car £50 even though we did not book or request a new car CHECK YOUR PICK UP PAPERWORK CAREFULLY.

City/airport: Valencia

shas123's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (1/5) on 2 November 2018

Scammers- took money off my credit card for alleged damage after I returned it out of hours. When I queried it I was eventually told there was a problem with their internal processes so after a few weeks I was refunded. I have never received details of what the alleged damage was

City/airport: Verona

Richard H's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (1/5) on 2 November 2018

If you don't take their excess insurance they will blame you for damage you didn't do and take substantial money from your CC account without notice! They have several other scams to get money from you so unless you're entertained by someone trying to steal from you, it's probably best not to use them.

City/airport: Murcia

Don Falcon's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (1/5) on 22 October 2018

AVOID GOLDCAR - I GOT A 920 EURO BILL FROM THEM... Their cars are cheap for a reason. If you dont pay the additional insurance which costs more than the rental charge, you will end up with a large bill - FACT. I wasnt even told about the additional insursnce but I know others have been affected by this. I rented a car in valencia last week that was riddled in scratches (not supprising because the Reg is KKK). I returned the car with no more scratches than was already on it and the day after I was sent photos of all sorts of scratches that I can garentee you were not on when I dropped it off. They took 1500 euros off my credit card when I picked it up without my say... I was told the credit card charge was for fuel and now they have refunded some back but minus 920 euros for the scratches already there and more that they must have done after I returned the car. There are many forums about Goldcar, and even Facebook had a Goldcar Victims Page who are helping me claim my money back. They are owned by Europcar so avoid them too. I had a had a great holiday with my wife and 9 month old baby, but this has really angered me, I don't know how their staff sleep at night knowing how they rip people off. Do not use Goldcar and spread the word. How they are still allowed to be in business is beyond me.

City/airport: Valencia

Frank's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (1/5) on 21 October 2018

Got an online deal for the rental but then was strong-armed at the airport into purchasing their insurance (said they would hold $1200 on my credit card for a month if we didn't purchase through them). Car worked fine for 2 days and on the 3rd it stopped going into reverse. We called the company and they sent a tow truck out within a few hours. (Tow truck guy also couldn't get it in reverse - we had to push it out of the parking lot to get it to the truck). Took them a day to find us a replacement and we had to go over an hour away to pick it up. I expected they would refund us for the day that we were without a car, but not only did they not compensate us (after having purchased their full insurance) they then charged us because the tank wasn't full when it was towed away. The guys there claimed the car worked fine and so wouldn't do anything for us. We ended up paying double what we anticipated, when a day without a car (at a farm stay with nothing around us) and were treated like crap. Avoid this company!

City/airport: Rome airport

Singapore Weiss's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (1/5) on 20 October 2018

Mis-sold insurance and not offered any refund, Customer service is terrible and i advise anyone thinking of using this company to please search around and try elsewhere,you will regret it otherwise.

City/airport: Crete

Si79's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (1/5) on 18 October 2018

Good to see I can rate them Zero star . Just been scammed by them out of 250 euros for the faintest mark on the rear drivers side door. The mark was so faint I had to put my reading glasses on to even see it. The staff follow a well rehearsed script. If you are silly enough to rent from them make sure that you both video and photograph all aspects of the car before you leave both when you collect and when you return the car. While we were delivering back the car 3 others were being scammed. If we failed to pay they threatened to call the police and would refuse to drive us to the airport (maybe 1km) I guess we could have called a taxi but we were running late for our plane after spending so long disputing the charge.

City/airport: Rhodes

Neilmo's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (1/5) on 16 October 2018

Poor service on arrival just wanted sell you extra CDW insuranace, which i already had with another company. Got charged fuel surcharge and airport tax. Highlighted by operator to return car fuel empty and now been charged 82 euros for returning empty. A joke of a company and be warned do not use Gold Car they will spoil your holiday

City/airport: Seville Airport

Pedro's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (1/5) on 15 October 2018

Staff is fully aware of cars condition, but when it comes to tick the damages on the form, they are not helpful at all, even if you are asking to help, and if you miss even smallest scratch even from beneath the car, when you will return your car, they will go straight forward to the place you have missed - where you didn't noticed the scratch and will charge you for the damage even you are 100% sure, it was before you took the car. I will never ever again use this company and wouldn't recommend to use to anybody - they renting cars cheap, but then charging for hidden damages. I'm lucky, I did have a full insurance cover and been paid back. But why I should lie to the insurance company about damage I didn't made and deal with them for couple of weeks with the correspondence?

City/airport: Rhodes

Thomas's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (1/5) on 13 October 2018

IT IS A TOTAL SCAM: NEVER RENT WITH THIS COMPANY. They fined us for damaged done previous to our rent. Proved with photos and the ignored us. They make a first inspection with the car where they mark just a few things, when you take the car back. Their inspection lasted 30 seconds, and they fined us. They totally knew what they were doing.

City/airport: Malta international airport

Moisés Garcia's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (1/5) on 9 October 2018

If you have any comments or concerns about a review listed here please contact us for assistance.