Goldcar Reviews

Have you hired a car from Goldcar recently? Why not submit a review of your experiences to help others?
Goldcar's Rating:
1.7/5 based on 532 reviews
5 stars
29
4 stars
23
3 stars
9
2 stars
7
1 star
212
Save money on your car hire! Get the best cover for your
Car Hire Excess Insurance
Gold car took insurance and petrol off credit card without even discussing extra insurance, the extra insurance was not even discussed at the time of collection ( this had been purchased in Uk so we would have declined this had it been mentioned. After having a full fuel tank, 81 euros was taken from our credit card and we were told this would be reimbursed if we returned the car full, which we did, filling up on the morning of our flight on the way to the airport. As yet this has not appeared on our credit card, told to contact company via website to make a complaint. The website does not indicate how to do this without calling Spain. I feel we were conned so that they could get as much out of us as possible.

City/airport:

Deb's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (1/5) on 4 November 2021

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Car ok, not great but unhelpful and unfriendly airport and telephone customer service staff.

City/airport:

SRC's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (1/5) on 1 November 2021

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Plenty of staff at the desks in the terminal. Tried to push their own insurance as do all rental companies.

City/airport:

Paul's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (4/5) on 25 October 2021

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Very poor. Was told that I needed to phone DVLA for a code as I still have an old paper Lisense. Of course I couldn't get through but she could have told me to get the code online. We had to hire another car through goldcar and get my son to drive it. Nice bonus for the unhelpful woman. £230 down the drain!!

City/airport:

Tris's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (1/5) on 23 October 2021

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

goldcar. Pure scammers! The trick; the cheapest rates are communicated through brokers such as Doyouspain.com and rentalcars.com and are therefore at the top of the list of car rental companies. You then book with your credit card... BUT when you arrive at your destination (in my case Barcelona) you suddenly have to pay extra amounts because the same credit card 'only' contains your initials (and not your full first name)! (normal in the Netherlands!) Suddenly you could be someone else...while you have booked with it and can show that it has been paid for...but they refuse to comply! So whether you want to tap off a few hundred Euros .... and if you don't do it, you won't get the car... Very unreliable! You have been warned! Spread the word! And oh yes...Doyouspain.com (in my case) knows about it...but of course doesn't do anything...after all, they get paid per booking...so they are happy to participate in this scam.

City/airport:

GerS's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (1/5) on 21 October 2021

The staff at Barcelona Airport T1 refused to offer the services that were printed on our Rentalcar.com voucher despite the fact it was all confirmed in black and white on our booking. Every step the Goldcar staff was taking, was meant to make the process difficult for no reason and make sure we couldn't be able to resolve the issue unless we paid much more money than what we were supposed to. Please note that they were 4 people at the desk and no other customers at all when this started. The airport was empty and we were the only customers at the time. They were not under any stress, but decided to make our lives a complete nightmare by being rude, inflexible and refusing to speak to a Rentalcar.com customer service representative on the phone to resolve the issue. The Spanish tourism industry and rental car industry are suffering from the impact of Corona, yet Goldcar's employees seem to think that the best thing to do is to abuse the very few customers they have. They also failed to realise that I could understand Catalan and Spanish and heard all the insults and ploy they were putting into place to make us wait an hour for no reason at all. So far we had been loyal customers and not had an issue. We didn't mind that their cars are never properly cleaned, because we only used the cars on occasion to shop and quickly go from a to b. It was always a cheap alternative and therefore quality of the car was not much concern. However the treatment we recently got is unacceptable and we are escalating our complaint through Rentalcar.com

City/airport:

Fab's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (1/5) on 9 September 2020

This company is an absolute scam. While sitting waiting for get the car - I witnessed two people freaking out on the staff- who were rude and unhelpful. Then we took the car and they wouldn’t accept any cards to put the deposit on so we had to pay the 400 euro in insurance. We went to check the car and it was completely beat up. We went up 20 mins later and tried to cancel completely and they refused to refund the entire 400 euro and said it cost 140 euro for having the car for a “day” which was only 20 mins to go to the garage and back to the office. Please don’t use this company!!

City/airport:

Michelle's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (1/5) on 5 September 2020

Ive used many rental compannies and this is definetly the worst one so far

City/airport:

Malc's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (1/5) on 4 September 2020

NOT HAPPY AT ALL, On the website they show very low prices So I also paid for extra insurance as it was a reasonable price on line, but when you get to your destination they will say that any credit of your credit card is not working so that you don’t leave the £1200.00 as a deposit for any issue, but they Made me pay for £471.00 with my debit card so that it’s one payment and you don’t get it back, And there was lots of add on, I was really not happy but if I didn’t pay for it I was not able to get a car for my 2 weeks , I have tried to contact them and we can’t get in touch with them, I have spoken to some of my family and friends and the same situation happened with them We need to put a stop to this sort of rep off, you will not get anymore business from me no more and I will make sure everyone will know..............

City/airport:

Nick's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (1/5) on 1 September 2020

Scammers

City/airport:

Hate Goldcar's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (1/5) on 28 August 2020

am reluctant to even award this company one star to be honest. Awful experience. Booked a car to collect from Marseille airport through Opodo and selected the ‘premium insurance’ cover, along with ‘insurance protection’ which included: Damage & theft excess refund Tyres, windows, mirrors & wheels Key cover & personal possessions (Note that no other insurance options were offered) However, when we arrived to collect the car, we were told that the package we had purchased included no insurance at all and that we would be liable to pay for any damage done (we were then shown a list of outrageous prices we would be forced to pay for each bit of damage to the car). We were then presented with 2 options: 1) Pay an extra 270 euros for full insurance; 2) Have a 1500euro deposit placed on our credit card which would be refunded on our return if no was damage done, MINUS a 450 euro ‘transaction fee’!!!!!! Opodo had stated in their paperwork that we would have to pay this deposit and that we should refuse any request to purchase extra insurance at the rental desk. However, what they failed to mention was that we would have to pay 450 euros (in transaction fees) for the privilege of doing so! We also had several extras added without our permission, including: Smart return Couverture Mega Relax These came to a total of 40 euros We will NEVER book a car from this company again and I strongly advise you don’t either

City/airport:

Louise's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (1/5) on 15 August 2020

Not going to go into details, but they are crooks. Battered cars, awful wait times, awful customer service, they insist on a deposit for full full petrol, which I've never had before. Simply put just don't use them

City/airport:

Dissatisfied Goldcar Customer's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (1/5) on 8 August 2020

took 3hours due to problems with there systems also they took full excess payment ( £1130) off my credit card where other firms only block the amount

City/airport:

jj's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (1/5) on 27 July 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Apart from 2 hour wait to collect very fair

City/airport:

Sidney's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (3.5/5) on 25 July 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

I can just warn everyone about the financial strategy of this rental car company, called Goldcar. It relies on hiding costs as best as they can to appear cheaper than others. But the moment you rent a car, you will end up paying more than with any of the more serious companies. At Nice airport a female staff used attempted intimidation against me as a female driver in order to manipulate me into buying more extras. She, for instance, asked me if I’m sure that I want to drive this vehicle without having any second driver registered (pointing to my male partner). When I said no, she claimed that my driving license is less than a year old. After I corrected this very obvious mistake, she didn’t even apologize but started the next try on selling me another package (side note: a second driver costs extra). This woman looks at a large number of driving licenses every day. Mine is a standard EU driving license. No one can tell me that this wasn’t by intention. Another example is that she asked if I’d know how to refuel a car (if not they have a service, which, as a side note, costs extra). These a not the kind of questions she had asked the man before me in the queue. Her attitude combined with what she said make me feel discriminated as a female driver. And that all of this is systematically backed by a modular cost structure of Goldcar itself. In addition, we found out that the full insurance I had thought of buying was not an actual full insurance. Initially the price was 268,23€ for a full insured Fiat 500 for 5 days. In the end, we payed 142,95€ more for the actual full insurance, which let us to leave with a whopping 411,18€. That is more than a rental from other, more serious, rental companies and car models of higher segments.

City/airport:

Hani's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (1/5) on 18 July 2020

Never Goldcar again. Misinformed on the insurance (told me that the booking I had done through a 3rd party site didn’t have insurance) and when I filed the Official complaint paper they stamp only the 1 of the 3 pages.. disgrace .. very disappointing service

City/airport:

Harry's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (1/5) on 28 June 2020

Rent from Goldcar at your peril I have rented from Goldcar on a number of occasions as I rent a car in Malaga every 2 weeks, and they are normally (on the surface) one of the cheapest rental companies in Malaga. However when I add in the charges they have made to my credit card once I have returned to the UK on a number of occasions, it makes them a very expensive option. They get very poor reviews consistently and are the only Spanish rental company that does not belong to the European Car Hire Conciliation service, which is why they can constantly ignore any emails or complaints. Indeed the Daily Mail have listed them multiple times as the worst car hire company in Europe. In November they charged me 180 Euro for damage to a vehicle (which I disputed but could get no comment from them), however they had actually taken 300 Euro from my credit card. I went to the ECHC who told me that they cannot get involved with Goldcar as the company does not co-operate with the conciliation service. Thankfully I was insured so approached my insurer. The Insurers were sympathetic and informed me that they had many people with similar experiences with Goldcar. They were very happy to re-imburse the 180 Euro, but said that regardless of the proof I had that Goldcar had taken 300 Euro from my credit card, they could only re-imburse me the amount that was on the Goldcar documentation (180 Euro). I then proceeded to try and get get the refund of 120 Euro from Goldcar, after several months of Goldcar ignoring every email I sent (in excess of 25) and every form I filled in online (twice per week) I eventually contacted the Centro Europeo del Consumidor en España. Who contacted Goldcar and miraculously almost 8 months after initially chasing them for the money, they immediately agreed that they should have returned the 120 Euro to me straight away And refunded it back on my card the following day - no word of apology or explanation. This is not the first time I have had to chase Goldcar to refund money they owed to me. How many people have been repeatedly ignored by Goldcar so-called 'Customer Services' and have eventually given up, and Goldcar keep the money. I would recommend giving them a wide berth - they are essentially a disreputable company with no customer service at all and they use every trick in the book to extort money from you - including tellling lies as you collect the car. I have been told that unless I take their insurance at the desk I would not be able to hire a car. I have also been told that if I scratched a vehicle I would be liable for the full amount of the vehicle value in excess of 8000 Euro if I did not have their insurance. I have an annual policy from Insurance4Carhire which I would highly recommend, and covers you for all the things such as excess etc.. that is not normally covered by the basic insurance. Goldcar told me that this insurance is not valid in Spain and not worth the paper it is printed on - however over the years I have had punctures and flat batteries and they have never failed to re-imburse the costs. It is worth paying a little extra to rent from Record or Firefly (both members of the conciliation service) and in my experience have customer service staff who respond within 24 hours, are helpful and are happy to assist you if you have a query about a charge or rental. Rent from Goldcar at your peril - you have been warned!

City/airport:

Russell's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (1/5) on 31 May 2020

Ripped off. Charged for an upgrade that I didn't want. The guy at the hire desk in Fuertaventura Airport told me they didn't have the Seat Mi that I had ordered so I could have a Fiat 500 at no extra cost. Guess what, next credit card bill and they've taken an extra £55 on top of my rental cost. Why. I had signed for an upgrade. Just don't book with them. They are set up as a company to scam customers. Even my credit card company couldn't get my money back. Please don't use them. They are scum and shouldn't be in business. How on earth they have 'real reviews on their website with a 7.3 out of 10 rating, I have no idea. Probably a lie just like the rest of the blurb. Stay away from them. You ahve been warned.

City/airport:

Russell Exley's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (1/5) on 29 May 2020

I'll never, ever, rent with GOLDCAR again!!! If you ever decide to rent a car online, think twice before using GOLDCAR. I had a reservation made for these days, which of course I was unable to use because of the COVID-19. In other words, it didn't cancel, it was the pandemic situation that prevented me from using the service. But GOLDCAR argued with contractual technicalities and refused any kind of refund - neither total nor partial - although I have warned then of the situation in advance. For a tiny value they will win "for free" - without providing the service (and they know that the service cannot be used, they don't even have to have the car ready!) they will loose a customer (yes, I rented there for some time now). Next time I'll need a rented car I'll definitely not go to GOLDCAR even if I have to pay the double or 3 times more. ENJOY MY FREE EUROS - THEY'RE THE LAST YOU WILL EVER GET FROM ME!!!

City/airport:

slira's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (1/5) on 18 April 2020

They do not deserve even a 1 star! When I arrived at the office and the assistant at the desk gave me the keys and rudely pointed the direction where I should go and collect the car without even making an effort to come with me to show it personally. Also, the assistant got really rude when I said I do not want full insurance. Then I asked someone to come and check the car with me but the guy said that I do not need anyone to check the car I should check it by myself, which I thought was due to the good condition of the car and also that the company is reliable. However, after returning the car they found scratches on the car. The scratches are tiny and can not be seen with a naked eye. The guy used a special light and straight away find the tiny scratches which was odd it seems like he knew about them. After these false claims, the manager came and I show her the location of the scratches and she could not point them because they can not be seen without a piece of equipment there are very small. My point is the scratches have been there before. I am not professional and I do not wear special equipment with me when renting a car and also I do not check cars every day. It has not been done exactly the same checks on delivering and receiving the car. It is not fair the way the car was checked in and checked out it was two completely different procedures. The car was not checked when I took it by a professional member of GOLDCAR but was checked on dropping off. The whole procedure was unfair. They did not show me any invoice the manager just promised me that I will be charged with 200 euros for the front door and when I got off the plane I received an email that I will be charged 450 euros instead. Be aware!!!

City/airport:

Svetoslav's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (1/5) on 31 March 2020

Excellent service provided by multi lingual staff. Have used numerous times.

City/airport:

Natti's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (5/5) on 16 March 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Intimidatory scare-tactics were employed to try to add €300 excess protection to my booking. Even told that a mechanical breakdown would be at my expense. I will never use Goldcar again as a result of this horrible experience !

City/airport:

LordNidderdale's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (1/5) on 15 March 2020

After the usual attempts to sell excess insurance and up grade to a bigger vehicle the hire was fine. My only comment would be you have to sign an electronic pad in the office to accept their damage report before you have viewed the vehicle.

City/airport:

Mark's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (4/5) on 12 March 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Its not hard to find negative views of this company. I'm sure some hires go without a problem, but beware, they really will try and rip you off. Check your invoice carefully before you hire and before you pay on the credit card. I refused insurance after a fight, actually, with their sales patter, they slipped it very easily under the radar. I was told I had to pay a fuel deposit and car deposit. I didn't check my invoice until later and there were charges on there not even mentioned to me, let alone explained. Also they have taken charges from my credit card that don't correspond to the invoice. And no explanation given to me. Watch a useful video on you tube explaining how they operate.

City/airport:

Sharpy's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (1/5) on 2 March 2020

We recently hired a Goldcar picking it up at Valencia Airport. The man in the office could not have done better, I have hired four Goldcars now without problems. I must say that it is better to book directly with Goldcar not a third party booking it for you. I was very pleased when returning the car, again, the same man from whom I collected the car could not have done better.

City/airport:

Bryn's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (5/5) on 28 February 2020

If you have any comments or concerns about a review listed here please contact us for assistance.