Goldcar Reviews

Have you hired a car from Goldcar recently? Why not submit a review of your experiences to help others?
Goldcar's Rating:
1.5/5 based on 472 reviews
5 stars
27
4 stars
17
3 stars
8
2 stars
7
1 star
274
Save money on your car hire! Get the best cover for your
Car Hire Excess Insurance
good except the excess is really expensive in the event of a claim

City/airport: tenerife

knighty's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (3/5) on 12 November 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Booked via youdospain then charged 240€ by goldcar. It was a total scam as we had already paid for insurance. Dreadful company and now ignores out emails. Still no refund!

City/airport: Malaga

Ripped off customer's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (1/5) on 9 November 2019

Terrible, avoid at all cost!

City/airport: Valencia

Cazzy17's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (1/5) on 5 November 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Refused to honour prepaid booking after declining overpriced upgrade or extra insurance

City/airport: barcelona el prat

stranded Barcelona airport's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (1/5) on 4 November 2019

This carhire company should not be trading they have failed to refund my excees and fuel money it is now a month since i returned the car ,i have emailed them but they will not answer my emails,i definately would never recommend this company Regards John Ramsay

City/airport: Barcelona

Jimbobarunio's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (1/5) on 1 November 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

This carhire company should not be trading they have failed to refund my excees and fuel money it is now a month since i returned the car ,i have emailed them but they will not answer my emails,i definately would never recommend this company Regards John Ramsay

City/airport: Barcelona

Jimbobarunio's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (1/5) on 1 November 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Through Rayanair we booked Goldcar and were told we would only pay another 1.50 euro at the desk. Instead Goldcar insisted on another 23 euro for aministation | so not best pleased.

City/airport: covera

lg's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (1/5) on 31 October 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

They conned us saying our car had a scratch on the roof . This was clearly a con and they charged us 350 euros . The car had 11 pieces of damage before we took it away from them . Car are in a bad condition and they are well worth avoiding . May seem cheap but they’ll get your money one way or another. Avoid at all costs . beware .

City/airport: Valencia

Mark's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (1/5) on 28 October 2019

They conned us saying our car had a scratch on the roof . This was clearly a con and they charged us 350 euros . The car had 11 pieces of damage before we took it away from them . Car are in a bad condition and they are well worth avoiding . May seem cheap but they’ll get your money one way or another. Avoid at all costs . beware .

City/airport: Valencia

Mark's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (1/5) on 28 October 2019

Good service. Car exactly as ordered, clean and tidy. Return easy and efficient. Good experience at good price.

City/airport: Edinburgh

JRN's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (4/5) on 28 October 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

You want cheap then go Goldcar. Check the car thoroughly, take photos, make sure everything works etc. 10 mins extra at pickup can save a lot of grief later

City/airport: Ibiza

Dadio's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (4/5) on 28 October 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Quick and easy pick up and drop off. Easy to find when returning car. No problems all good. Would use Goldcar again.

City/airport: Mahon

Rob's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (4.5/5) on 28 October 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Easy throughout, second time I used them in Sardinia, good rates, convenient location right at airport. Use Xcess cover to avoid their pricey upsell to a full, no excess insurance cover. Will definitely use them again.

City/airport: olbia

A from Devon's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (5/5) on 27 October 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

total scam to make you take out their insurance, including holding £1,000 deposit for over a month after returning the car if you don't.

City/airport: malaga

unhappy's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (1/5) on 27 October 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

When I went to collect the car, they told me that the CDW I bought was useless! In the event of the hire car being written off I would actually have to pay the full replacement value of the vehicle of which the CDW would obviously not cover. I then felt I had no option so then did but their 99 Euro cover just in case. When returning the car I queried my invoice which also had 10.33 Euro on it and was told that is was a government tax for renting a diesel car! I understand this but transparency is always good I feel! I feel completely ripped off. Goldcar,I welcome you feedback

City/airport: Malaga

Alex's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (1/5) on 27 October 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Very good price booked by rentalcars.com. we were served very quickly and were given a bit of a hard sell for not taking their insurance. No problem when we pointed out more existing damage on the car. Furthest hire co in the parking lot.

City/airport: Toulouse

Roy's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (3.5/5) on 27 October 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

ran into problems and could not drive car back to airport. Goldcar very helpful in allowing an extra driver to return the car

City/airport: la linea

micky21's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (4.5/5) on 27 October 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Really irritating was the the fact that I was told at the airport that I did not have a full insurace even though I had chosen one while booking on the website. The road risk insurance was not included and I was advised to pay additional 40 euros or so. It's very disappointing and disrespectful. I will not use Goldcars and rentalcars.com again.

City/airport: Palma de Mallorca

Pawel's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (1/5) on 25 October 2019

Older cars than normal with plenty of cosmetic damage but cheap. You get what you pay for.

City/airport: Bordeaux

Wilko's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (3/5) on 25 October 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Avoid this shocking scamming company!!! Holiday Autos said the only fees I would have to pay at Goldcar would be £4.42. when I got my credit card statement Goldcar had taken out £1,360.67 including a Barclay Card transaction fee of £76.71. I received a refund from Goldcar of £1,207.26. So I am out or pocket £153.41

City/airport: Valencia

Grumpy's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (1/5) on 24 October 2019

The service at Pisa was quick and efficient and the car was as offered

City/airport: Pisa airport

Simon's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (4.5/5) on 21 October 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

awful they made us cue for over one and a half hours in the searing heat. when we eventually got to the check out we were told we could take the car but if there was anything wrong with it on inspection we would have to get to the back of the cue or we could pay £180 insurance certificate to protect us. everyone was furious and it was totally unacceptable . only 2 people serving and a 30 man cue. SHOCKING never will i go anywhere near GOldcar.

City/airport: marseille

karen's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (1/5) on 20 October 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Very cheap but very dodgy, will push anything to claim damage or cleaning fees. Take LOTS of photos before and after, and photo of check out damage form. Despite doing so, on return was told all was fine on inspection only to later receive an email saying some of deposit would be withheld for damage. The damaged area was marked on check out form as damaged when collected and photos were taken. On going dispute to reclaim the money. If you can be bothered to take rigorous photos (include underside of car), carry out full clean before return and take out separate excess insurance they are a cheap option.

City/airport: Lanzarote Airport

Charlie's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (1.5/5) on 19 October 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Unlike reviews I have read about the company, they were extremely professional and the service has exceeded my expectations in every way possible. I rented a car through them with the comfort option (insured), and everything went smoothly with no trouble at all. This is the reason why I am taking the time to write these reviews to recommend gold car to everyone

City/airport: Istanbul Airport

Sam's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (5/5) on 19 October 2019

Unlike reviews I have read about the company, they were extremely professional and the service has exceeded my expectations in every way possible. I rented a car through them with the comfort option (insured), and everything went smoothly with no trouble at all. This is the reason why I am taking the time to write these reviews to recommend gold car to everyone

City/airport: Istanbul Airport

Sam's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (5/5) on 19 October 2019

If you have any comments or concerns about a review listed here please contact us for assistance.