Goldcar Reviews

Have you hired a car from Goldcar recently? Why not submit a review of your experiences to help others?
Goldcar's Rating:
1.4/5 based on 426 reviews
5 stars
20
4 stars
12
3 stars
4
2 stars
6
1 star
261
Save money on your car hire! Get the best cover for your
Car Hire Excess Insurance
Good car hire awful key collection experience.Staff got aggressive when I declined buy their grossly overpriced Damage Waiver

City/airport: Palma Majorca

dp's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (1/5) on 24 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

receptionist said my charges were for a full tank of petrol which would be refunded when I returned the car.He did not mention that he had also charged for super car insurance and something called smart return. I did not realise this at the time because the petrol was the only item mentioned. As I had Reduce my Excess insurance I did not need this. When I called Golcar and filled in 2 incident reports after I got home to the Uk. Their response was that as I had signed the forms there could be no refund for the charges apart from the petrol. I even sent a copy of the Reduce my Excess insurance to them to show that I had not needed theirs. I also wrote 3 emails to them to which, as yet, they have not replied. Very unhappy customer

City/airport: Malaga

Ricky Sandford's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (1/5) on 24 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Overcharged me for services I didn't request. Asked me to sign €1400 but took €1560. Robbed, all I can say is you have been warned. Car was washed, full of fuel and in the same condition when returned. Staff have obviously been told to lie about what you are being charged. Tried to contact them online but it says they don't recognise my contract number.

City/airport: Palma

Chris Pearce's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (1/5) on 23 September 2019

The Goldcar Rep tried to trick me into paying 280 euros for their damage waiver.When I told her that I had bought a third party damage waiver insurance she became very aggressive and told me the car was not insured.This incident spoiled the start of our holiday.

City/airport: Palma Majorca

dp's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (1/5) on 23 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Yeah right! I recommend them if you want to RUIN your holiday!!! CHAPTER 1 - 4 hours lost and lots of tension I rented a car for 2 weeks from this company. I paid a sum of money while doing the booking online, the remaining amount of 200euro I was supposed to pay on car pickup. When I arrived at the front desk, SURPRISEEEE I was asked to pay 480euro (instead of 200) for whatever extra taxes and charges. Asked them to check again, because I don’t need extra insurance or whatever other taxes they added… but they replied that 480euro is the minimum and mandatory I have to pay to get the car. So I’ve wasted 4 hours in the airport, on the phone, on various calls, discussing initially with Expedia (the website I used to rent the car from) and then they put me in the call with customer service from GOLDCAR. Everyone agreed that I was right and I am not supposed to pay 480 euro, as they asked me in the front desk. So I got back on the front desk, told them that this guy from customer service agreed that there is a mistake. “Aaah, yes! Sorry, you were right” was their answer so I paid 200 euro and picked the keys and contract. CHAPTER 2 - The angry blonde girl shouting to everyone Went to garage, found the car, inspected and found some extra damages. Went to their office in the car park and found this blonde girl at the desk, shouting and behaving very rude with 2 customers before me. Now was my turn, she asked me to bring the car in front of the office in order to take pictures. I told her the car is just near the office, like 3 spots away, she asked me again to park it there in front of the office and pointed with the finger where. (Until here everything was still politely) Alright, brought the car exactly over there, she saw me, came outside of the office and started shouting really rude to not block the access and park the car in the parking again. :facepalm: So I did. Went back to the office, waited the queue and then after asking her if possible to come and record the additional damages, she finally took the camera and came really angry! Took the pictures of 2 of 6 damages and 4 she said that is gonna write on my contract. Went back to the office, she started handwriting in Spanish (language I don’t understand) something on 2 small lines. I asked her what is written over there and she asked me rudely to use Google Translate. So here we started arguing, I took off my phone and started recording. She was really unhappy about that… and then It was a lot of fun, NOT!!! CHAPTER 3 - I hope not to be

City/airport: Barcelona Airport

Kat's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (1/5) on 22 September 2019

Yeah right! I recommend them if you want to RUIN your holiday!!! CHAPTER 1 - 4 hours lost and lots of tension I rented a car for 2 weeks from this company. I paid a sum of money while doing the booking online, the remaining amount of 200euro I was supposed to pay on car pickup. When I arrived at the front desk, SURPRISEEEE I was asked to pay 480euro (instead of 200) for whatever extra taxes and charges. Asked them to check again, because I don’t need extra insurance or whatever other taxes they added… but they replied that 480euro is the minimum and mandatory I have to pay to get the car. So I’ve wasted 4 hours in the airport, on the phone, on various calls, discussing initially with Expedia (the website I used to rent the car from) and then they put me in the call with customer service from GOLDCAR. Everyone agreed that I was right and I am not supposed to pay 480 euro, as they asked me in the front desk. So I got back on the front desk, told them that this guy from customer service agreed that there is a mistake. “Aaah, yes! Sorry, you were right” was their answer so I paid 200 euro and picked the keys and contract. CHAPTER 2 - The angry blonde girl shouting to everyone Went to garage, found the car, inspected and found some extra damages. Went to their office in the car park and found this blonde girl at the desk, shouting and behaving very rude with 2 customers before me. Now was my turn, she asked me to bring the car in front of the office in order to take pictures. I told her the car is just near the office, like 3 spots away, she asked me again to park it there in front of the office and pointed with the finger where. (Until here everything was still politely) Alright, brought the car exactly over there, she saw me, came outside of the office and started shouting really rude to not block the access and park the car in the parking again. :facepalm: So I did. Went back to the office, waited the queue and then after asking her if possible to come and record the additional damages, she finally took the camera and came really angry! Took the pictures of 2 of 6 damages and 4 she said that is gonna write on my contract. Went back to the office, she started handwriting in Spanish (language I don’t understand) something on 2 small lines. I asked her what is written over there and she asked me rudely to use Google Translate. So here we started arguing, I took off my phone and started recording. She was really unhappy about that… and then It was a lot of fun, NOT!!! CHAPTER 3 - I hope not to be

City/airport: Barcelona Airport

Kat's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (1/5) on 22 September 2019

Horrible. Awful customer service. Extremely high pressure sales adding hundreds of euros of extras and refusing to remove them. Staff used threatening behaviour. I would never use Goldcar ever again even if the other better competitors are double the price. No amount of money is worth ruining your holiday as soon as you arrive at the airport.

City/airport: Palma airport

Tony's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (1/5) on 20 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Horrible. Awful customer service. Extremely disappointing. Will never use this company again.

City/airport: Palma airport

Tony's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (1/5) on 20 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

If could give no stars I absolutely would. Under no circumstance would I recommend this service. They are an absolute scam with terrible customer service. We paid €41 for our car online and upon collecting it we’re forced to pay a further €99, either that or have €1200 blocked on our credit card for one month. Ofcourse we questioned this and our customer service advisor, Josep, was unhelpful and suddenly forgot how to speak English when we wanted more information. It’s an absolute joke and there are many other companies more deserving of our money- other customers at the rental desk had the same experience and tried to contact their online booking agent but with no luck. On top of that our rental car dashboard is lighting up like a Christmas tree.

City/airport: Pisa Airport

Tasha's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (1/5) on 20 September 2019

They use scare tactics to get you to buy extra cover of excess payment that you will have to pay if you have a accident and dont get a police report but they tell you its impossible to get a police report.

City/airport: Antalya

Scare tactics's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (1/5) on 20 September 2019

SON UNOS ESTAFADORES!!! ME DIERON UN AUTO CON ABOLLONES Y LUEGO ME LOS COBRARON A MI. LES MANDE FOTOS QUE SAQUE ANTES DE USAR EL AUTO, MOSTRANDO EL ESTADO DEL MISMO QUE ERA DEPLORABLE!!! LUEGO ME COBRARON UN TANQUE DE NAFTA 114 EUROS Y EL TANQUE LLENO CUESTA 60 EUROS. NO ALQUILEN EN GOLDCAR!! VAN A SER ESTAFADOS!! ESTUVE 2 HORAS ESPERANDO PARA QUE ME DIERAN EL AUTO. EL PERSONAL ES INEFICIENTE Y TIENEN 2 PERSONAS EN EL MOSTRADOR. VERGONZOSO!!

City/airport: malaga

YANINA's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (1/5) on 20 September 2019

No problem pick up from outside airport and a few minutes to office, short delay with paperwork but they had to deal with several people at the same time. Returned at agreed time and dropped off at airport promptly would yous again.

City/airport: Chania6

Musky's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (4/5) on 19 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

What ever you do don’t use this company I was completely ripped off. At the counter they use a rushing technique especially to stop you looking through the documents. They gave me an internet device and told me it was free I said I didn’t want it and he told me I had to take it. If I didn’t use it it didn’t matter. They took 60 euros out of my deposit for it. I complained but got nowhere except to say they are trying to improve there service but no money back. The guy was obviously on commission and ripped us off in the process. I’m taking my complaint to the police

City/airport: Malaga airport

Mark's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (1/5) on 17 September 2019

Good & Efficient

City/airport: faro Airport

Mike's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (4/5) on 15 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

This is the worst car rental company ever. the only thing they are trying to do is to sell you an expensive insurance. Here is my full story: After you get to the car rental office in the airport they try to convince you to take an extra full excess insurance for the vehicle. The rental cost me around 60 euro BUT the full excess insurance cost around 250 euro. The representative tries ( rather say: push) to convince you to buy the full insurance, they tell you that even a minor scratch on the car might cost you more then the insurance , they tell you that people in Italy park very tight to each other, and they told me that if you'll get stack you'll have to pay 200 euro + 2 euro for each kilometer distance from Rome to your location. I refused to buy the insurance, I ended up using a credit card with wrong pin number for three times. then the representative told me that the car rental is bonded \ attached to a certain credit card, which sounds very weird in general, as an alternative I suggested to use a difference credit card but the representative refused. The rental company told me that I have two options, either cancel the rental deal (which really upset me because I was already in my destination country), or the rental company will use my card manually (using the numbers on top of the credit card for the rental) BUT BECAUSE THEY DON'T TRUST MY CREDIT, THIS TIME I MUST BUY THE FULL INSURANCE (250 euros). I refused to buy the insurance and lost the rental cost. Then I made another reservation from the website but this time on the name of my wife, this time the company refuse to let me drive the car because the contract has been over my wife's name. I asked to become a second driver, but this time the rental company would let me become a second driver ONLY IF I'D BUY THE FULL INSURANCE (which really upset me because there is no dependent between the two). THIS COMPANY IS A SCAM. THE ONLY THING THEY TRY TO DO IS TO SELL YOU AN EXPENSIVE INSURANCE. PLEASE STAY AWAY!!!! SHAHAR FROM ISRAEL

City/airport: De vinchi

Shahar's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (1/5) on 14 September 2019

A dreadful experience after such a good flight, we had to cue for over an hour to collect and after patiently waiting for said hour to then be verbally bullied because we didn’t want to take out excess insurance due to purchasing it back in the uk for a quarter of the price!! Needless to say the cheap price is not worth the hassle, please take my advice and hire through one of the major brands it will save your sanity!

City/airport: Palma

Matthew B's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (1/5) on 14 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Robbing B**tards They asked for a fully refundable deposit upon picking up the car but actually, they are selling you additional insurance and charging you for things that are not discussed. This refundable deposit is then never given back. I would recommend if you have suffered the same experience contacting your bank and charging back the transactions. The management at Goldcar should be ashamed if this is the financial model that they operate under. I would also expect that their staff are incentivised to sell these additional services. But that the individual branches are not doing enough to monitor staff to ensure that they are not misselling to their customers. "Misselling is the deliberate, reckless, or negligent sale of products or services in circumstances where the contract is either misrepresented, or the product or service is unsuitable for the customer's needs." Just be upfront about your costs. By the looks of the reviews as a whole, the company name is now almost beyond repair. They simply don't care about offering you a decent service - book elsewhere! CHARGEBACK these additional transactions and Goldcar will go out of buisness!

City/airport: malaga

Rob carter's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (1/5) on 13 September 2019

Overall excellent service. Pickup easy and quick.Drop of was first class & efficient. The only comment is that we collected the car late at night and asked to check the sheet against previous scratches ect. Even with a torch I found this fairly impossible

City/airport: Farooverall

Rick's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (4.5/5) on 12 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Piece of s**t. Worst car rental service worldwide! Rented a car by prior reservation in Antalya from 07/02/19 to 07/15/19. Payment was made online. On arrival at the airport I ran into rudeness of service personnel. A GoldCar employee flatly refused to provide a reserved and paid car, because he cannot accept my debit card, although the reservation clearly states that a debit and credit card is also suitable to reserve the amount for fuel and damage. For 20 minutes, the employee continued to blackmail and extort additional money for car rental, for all our instructions that the reservation indicates that a debit and credit card is also suitable, the employee said that you can cancel the order and go to hell. Why on earth should I cancel the order with penalties if GoldKar cannot give out the paid rent through my fault? Why should I pay for the irresponsible and boorish work of employees? According to observation, the following customers of the company also had this situation, which was in line for us. So this is the standard scheme for deceiving company customers. I will never again be a client of this terrifying company, I wish them to go bankrupt as soon as possible. Under no circumstances should you reserve or rent a car with this company!

City/airport: Antalya

Mikhail's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (1/5) on 11 September 2019

Sales staff are very rude and use high pressure sales tactics to sell you excess insurance. I paid £30 for my annual policy, they tried to sell me theirs for £350. It’s a really hard sell. Customers were walking away, arguments everywhere. Awful experience.

City/airport: Majorca

Michael's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (1/5) on 10 September 2019

I cannot explain how terrible the service was that I just received at Palma airport! I took out a separate insurance, took my credit card and driving licence and I was ready for the €1400 deposit. To begin the lady didn’t even greet me, she didn’t say a word just took my documents from my hand, walked away from the desk spoke to colleagues, answered the phone, it was like I was dirt on her shoe. She then said that she was taking €2800 and this wouldn’t be refunded I would have to get the money from the insurance people - even if the car was not damaged!!!! She said that I wouldn’t have any roadside assist and in her words “so this insurance company can come from England to help you!” I pulled my card out from the machine and asked her to confirm what she said again being recorded as I said she is giving inaccurate information, she then said she’s not giving me the car. I asked to speak to a Manager she said he would come in a minute but he never did, and then she told the other staff not to talk to me. I didn’t raise my voice, speak rudely or anything to justify this! The behaviour of the staff was disgusting, so many people were having the same issue, being bullied into their insurance!

City/airport: Palma

Tinkxabell's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (1/5) on 10 September 2019

Terrible service. Complete lack of transparency with policies and pick up times. We had to wait hours for the transfer. Later we got charged admin fees that were never openly discussed. We found the staff rude and obnoxious, and the experience was overall 1 out of 10. Even though you pay less, avoid using this company at all costs. Nothing but stress, lack of clarity, lack of response and lack of customer care on all fronts!!

City/airport: LONDON

Reiss's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (1/5) on 10 September 2019

There is a hidden fee they charge when you are at the office, just before collecting the car. It's called operational and logistic cost and it is about 30€. They only tell you about the fee at the counter, when it's too late for you to hire a car with a different company.

City/airport: Alicante

Clir's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (1/5) on 9 September 2019

A little slow on collection but thoroughly explained everything to me and on return were quick to check the vehicle and get me on my way

City/airport: Faro airport

Bud's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (4/5) on 9 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

No issues

City/airport: Murcia international

D55's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (4/5) on 8 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

If you have any comments or concerns about a review listed here please contact us for assistance.