Goldcar Reviews

Have you hired a car from Goldcar recently? Why not submit a review of your experiences to help others?
Goldcar's Rating:
1.7/5 based on 505 reviews
5 stars
28
4 stars
20
3 stars
9
2 stars
7
1 star
218
Save money on your car hire! Get the best cover for your
Car Hire Excess Insurance
Its not hard to find negative views of this company. I'm sure some hires go without a problem, but beware, they really will try and rip you off. Check your invoice carefully before you hire and before you pay on the credit card. I refused insurance after a fight, actually, with their sales patter, they slipped it very easily under the radar. I was told I had to pay a fuel deposit and car deposit. I didn't check my invoice until later and there were charges on there not even mentioned to me, let alone explained. Also they have taken charges from my credit card that don't correspond to the invoice. And no explanation given to me. Watch a useful video on you tube explaining how they operate.

City/airport: Malaga

Sharpy's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (1/5) on 2 March 2020

We recently hired a Goldcar picking it up at Valencia Airport. The man in the office could not have done better, I have hired four Goldcars now without problems. I must say that it is better to book directly with Goldcar not a third party booking it for you. I was very pleased when returning the car, again, the same man from whom I collected the car could not have done better.

City/airport: Valencia

Bryn's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (5/5) on 28 February 2020

Warning!!! Do not rent a car from Goldcar it is complete cheating! 6 Feb to 13 Feb, I have rent a car together with my 4 years old son for a holiday. Car picked from Gran Carina Airport and driven to the hotel which was 16km away from the airport. Since we had a lot of activities at the holiday center, therefore we did not use the car at all, the car has been parking at the holiday center until 13 Feb. we drive back to the airport. just before delivering the car, I filled out the gasoline, it was only 6 Euro. since the tank is completely full. Just before I delivery the car, I took a few pictures of the car, only for our holiday memory. When we delivery the car, a guy from Goldcar, he checked everything, outside, inside, moto, everything is perfect, the car was completely clean as well since we did not use more than 1 hour all in all. He said everything is okay, my full amount of deposit will be returned automatically. 2 hours later, after we checked in at airport, and passed the security everything, I got an email that, there is car damage, and they just deducted 200 Euro from my credit card! This is completely cheating! They also send a few pictures, shows the front damage, but compared to the pictures that I took before I hand in the car, there is NOTHING at all. I have been writing to their customer server, calling them, but until today NO ANY feedback at all. This is a desperate customer, in the end, have to write in social media, warring others do not get cheated.

City/airport: Gran Carina

Dong's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (1/5) on 27 February 2020

Beware of hidden charges. Thoroughly read before signing. Use another rental car Company.

City/airport: Arrecife. Lanzarote

Bert's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (1/5) on 25 February 2020

Even with prepaid car insurance still got stung for almost double the daily hire rate. Rip off. Booked through Easyjet's Cartrawler

City/airport: Fuerteventura

Jay's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (1/5) on 25 February 2020

Beware of this companies fuel policy if they do not offer full to full. I hired a car (Panda)for 2 weeks thinking it was a good deal, but over £20 was added to the cost at the airport because ? ALSO I was advised to leave it for them to fill. I was charged nearly £30 for 2thirds of a tank. Hired this through JetCar as their cheapest on airport car hire. Turned out more expensive than most. Advise to only use companies that offer full to full and make sure it is full on return.

City/airport: Faro Airport

Muggins's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (1/5) on 22 February 2020

Okay but do try pushing extra insurance

City/airport: Faro Portugal

Chippey's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (4/5) on 21 February 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

I have been a loyal Goldcar Valencia customer for 4 years. On average I rent a car from them 3 times a year. Great cars, great price. I am also a member of the loyalty club. This time I needed a car for 31 days. That wasn’t possible. I had to make two bookings. One of 28 days and one of 3 days. I assumed that Goldcar Valencia would combine that at the counter but to my surprise, they said that was impossible. I had to return the car after 28. Stand in line again at the counter and sign a new contract. I really tried everything but it really Wasn’t possible in any other way. For us this would mean that We would have to drive 200 km to exchange the car and extend the contract. Worthless service, no customer friendliness and flexibility. Only "sorry, sorry, sorry but these are the rules". And really stupid: "next time you should mail or call our office in Valencia and not book through the website ...." ??? I don't think there will be a "next time".

City/airport: Valencia Airport

Peter's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (1/5) on 20 February 2020

Extremely bad service, total rip off!!!!! Told me they will take off 1100 Euros as a deposit from my credit card and refund it in 4 weeks if I dont take their coverage. Although I have liability plus comprehensive cover with my credit card. An elderly german couple were denied to rent a car if they dont take their coverage, although they payed up front with full comprehensive insurance through the internet. To top that off the guy at the counter was super rude. STAY AWAY FROM THIS COMPANY!!!

City/airport: Malaga

tw's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (1/5) on 20 February 2020

When we arrived to collect the car, we came under enormous pressure to take their insurance. The lady at the desk was very aggressive, rude and belligerent. We were threatened and she insinuated she would take €1400 if we did not take her insurance for €129. We explained we had excess insurance but she simply would not accept it. Don’t use Gold - they try to rip you off

City/airport: Barcelona

Marcus's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (1/5) on 17 February 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Hidden charges, and very bad service.

City/airport: Malaga

Nanz's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (1/5) on 8 February 2020

Had a couple with booking blocking card over charged and charged for insurance

City/airport: Barcelona

Mellec's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (4/5) on 6 February 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

I have used these a couple of times without too much of an issue but on this occasion they have charged me for existing damage to the vehicle - despite the damage being recorded on my check out contract, they are stating that I caused it. Avoid at all costs - it is impossible to make contact with them and get any clear answers.

City/airport: La Linea

rgeaster's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (1/5) on 6 February 2020

When we returned the car after a period of 2 week hire a representative was adamant that we were responsible for a 'scuff' on the rear wheel arch. This mark was clearly marked on the paperwork when we picked the car up, indicating the mark was already there. Two days after returning from Tenerife Goldcar have put £168 on my credit card!!!! I didn't even authorise the transaction!!!! We were warned about Goldcar however we decided to give them a chance. Never, ever again, BIG mistake! Absolutely scammers! AVOID, AVOID, AVOID!!!!!!!!

City/airport: Tenerife South

NEVER, EVER AGAIN...!!!'s rating of their experience of Goldcar: (1/5) on 28 January 2020

Not so good

City/airport: Alicante

Bulbul's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (1.5/5) on 27 January 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Bunch of crooks and so rude, impossible, nasty and waited two hours to get to the desk front. We were happy with the car but not the pushy nasty man in charge there, he only wanted to sell extra insurance which cost more than the car hire. He refused to accept our extra uk insurance we took out as extra cover, knowing what Italy is like for accidents and car claims, our contract stated we were fully insured when we booked the car, goldcar staff say different, mafioso for sure and never came across such a rude bunch. Same on returning car only this time I told the woman I was not waiting we had a flight to catch. Understaffed and no customer service training at all. Never again, huge deposit taken on our credit card and they dissputed my card stating it was not valid, but we paid on it!!! He actually said he could refuse to give us the car and we could walk!! I cannot tell you what I really think it would be too rude, I wanted to grab him and get his throat. Everything that is so wrong with companies in Italy ;and Ive had plenty of experience beleive me. Never again, Goldcar should be out of business, They would never survive with that attitude in the uk.

City/airport: Rome Ciampino

peeded off's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (1/5) on 18 January 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

I planned a trip for New Year 2020 in Italy (Sicily). I reserved a vehicule on the Goldcar website with my bank card in August. When I arrived in Parlermo, Goldcar did'nt let me get my vehicule because they refused my bank card (and cash also). They ask for a "credit card" and I had a "debit card". The website let me reserve the vehicule with my bank card (debit card) but the same card was then refused at the desk... I never experienced any issues before with this card in Avis or other rental companies who make pre-authorisation without any problem. Strange isn’t it ? Why does Goldcar let people make a reservation with a debit card knowing that they will not be able to get what they paid for when they arrive at the desk? It seems on the web that they are aware of the problem and make profit of this organised confusion. So I am very disappointed and never use Goldcar again.

City/airport: palermo

Nono75's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (1/5) on 14 January 2020

Terrible staff at ciampino, rude and nasty. Only interested in selling extra car insurance that we did not need. We had just bought insurance in uk as extra precaution. We waited two hours in a small que at the desk. The man was so rude and insulting, trying to make out our insurance was not valid, he took full deposit for the car, he then made out our credit card was not valid and that he would make us walk. Firstly he asked where we were going?? Why? I'll give you a better car he said!!! We just wanted what we had agreeded to. Their excess insurance was 109 euros, we refused to take it, that upset him! You have to check the car for scratches yourself, they do not help at all. Never again, bunch of crooks and I have seen many complaints 're the good car offices all over italy in google. Same experience taking the car back. I'm now phoning my credit card company to make sure they don't take that huge deposit. They should be shut down. Aggressive selling of their insurance but I did not see that with the Italian customers!!! Discrimination also against travellers from other countries. Cheap car hire but a bunch of crooks. Everything that is wrong with Italy and I know it well. Spooks your holiday

City/airport: Champion rome

Only in italy!'s rating of their experience of Goldcar: (1/5) on 14 January 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Scammers. After sending emails for 4 months still no resolution or proper reaction. Forced me to take a completely new rental for 4 times the orignal price after a tyre failure. Their T&C's clearly mention that a replacement car should be made available at no cost. Due to late time and appointment I had no alternative, and the only reaction from Gold Car that came was that it must have been a language problem. Crooks, never hire from GoldCar.

City/airport: Edinburgh

Coen's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (1/5) on 9 January 2020

Worst rental car I have ever used. I would give 0 stars. We have open a claim since beginning of November and no solution was provided. Office in Tenerife South has very inefficient employees. Customer service at tel +34918341400 are very rude and unhelpful. Don't use Goldcar ever!!!

City/airport: Tenerife South

Corina's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (1/5) on 9 January 2020

I book my car through online paid everything including insurance,upon collecting the at goldcar,the guy told me i need to get the full insurance for the amount of €120 because of all the things might happen with the..tried to scare me..its my first time in the place so i dont know and i end up paying the 120 just for the insurance..is even expensive than the rent..I will not definitely suggest this company to other because they will rip you off.. my review is 0

City/airport: Fuerteventura

Cris's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (1/5) on 31 December 2019

Not even worth a star. This is the most greediest gold star office that we had been. Avoid this office in Barcelona El Prat coz the staff will just force u to take their insurance even if u dont want to. My partner was to pick up our car here and it was book through interrent. The staff and him didn't understand each other. The opportunist staff took all the insurance she can get even if we are insured through the airline.

City/airport: Barcelona

Cale's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (1/5) on 30 December 2019

Everything was perfect

City/airport: Faro Airport

BR's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (5/5) on 26 December 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Bunch of sharks Avoid them ! Having read negative reviews before I was surprised as our 3 previous hire’s at Faro airport this year had all gone ok, I always take my own photos of the outside of the car before leaving the depot and at the end as a record, however on October when we returned the car the drop of clerk said everything was fine, but did not sign the contract & simply said we would get e mail confirmation. As we checked in 10 min later I saw an e mail from gold saying they were charging 150 Euro for exceptional cleaning as there was a small amount of sand of the rear seat ! We had not used the rear of the car other than to put some beach towels in. I returned to the depot and saw our car about the go to the cleaning area, I took the opportunity to clean the sand off the rear seat and took a picture so show it was clean & that their claim for addition cleaning was unwarranted. I went to the office and the duty manager Isabel who is a nasty piece of work was there, she was clearly disappointed that I have caught them out trying to fleece me ! she said she would reduce the charge to just 50 euro , I pointed out that there was no sand so no need for any extra cleaning ! and asked for their customer service e mail, she refused to budge and threated to call the police saying she would ensure that we missed out flight as a result! I took photos to support my case and we left returned to the UK to fight them via my credit card company . I looked online & saw that despite being owned by Europcar they are NOT part European Car Rental Conciliation Service even though Europcar are, draw your own conclusions…. The good news is my credit card co who be joint liability for any dispute under Under Section 75 of the Consumer Credit Act accepted my evidence and arranged a full refund, Thanks Nationwide So Don’t booked with Goldcar or Interrent or Europcar unless you want to be fleeced ! Do use a broker like rentalcar.com, atlascar or Costco car hire if you’re a member, and take out your own excess insurance with firm like reducemyexcess.co.uk ahead of your tip to avoid high charged at the rental desk !

City/airport: faro airport

avoid this bunch of sharks's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (1/5) on 18 December 2019

Whilst the car was extremely reasonably priced they do try the hard sell at collection recommending their excess insurance even though I already had this, they insisted on me paying over €1000 euros deposit returnable after the hire. However banks charge for you to pay this in euros then when returned they charge for conversion back to £ GBP. Absolutely ridiculous when you already hold insurance to cover damage & excess cover. Also I hired full to full but though the gauge shows full there can be a huge difference in the real content of the tank and the gauge reading, another possible rip off.

City/airport: Murcia

SteveO's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (3/5) on 15 December 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

If you have any comments or concerns about a review listed here please contact us for assistance.