Goldcar Reviews

Have you hired a car from Goldcar recently? Why not submit a review of your experiences to help others?
Goldcar's Rating:
1.9/5 based on 484 reviews
5 stars
15
4 stars
14
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 star
88
Save money on your car hire! Get the best cover for your
Car Hire Excess Insurance
I book my car through online paid everything including insurance,upon collecting the at goldcar,the guy told me i need to get the full insurance for the amount of €120 because of all the things might happen with the..tried to scare me..its my first time in the place so i dont know and i end up paying the 120 just for the insurance..is even expensive than the rent..I will not definitely suggest this company to other because they will rip you off.. my review is 0

City/airport: Fuerteventura

Cris's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (1/5) on 31 December 2019

Not even worth a star. This is the most greediest gold star office that we had been. Avoid this office in Barcelona El Prat coz the staff will just force u to take their insurance even if u dont want to. My partner was to pick up our car here and it was book through interrent. The staff and him didn't understand each other. The opportunist staff took all the insurance she can get even if we are insured through the airline.

City/airport: Barcelona

Cale's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (1/5) on 30 December 2019

Everything was perfect

City/airport: Faro Airport

BR's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (5/5) on 26 December 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Bunch of sharks Avoid them ! Having read negative reviews before I was surprised as our 3 previous hire’s at Faro airport this year had all gone ok, I always take my own photos of the outside of the car before leaving the depot and at the end as a record, however on October when we returned the car the drop of clerk said everything was fine, but did not sign the contract & simply said we would get e mail confirmation. As we checked in 10 min later I saw an e mail from gold saying they were charging 150 Euro for exceptional cleaning as there was a small amount of sand of the rear seat ! We had not used the rear of the car other than to put some beach towels in. I returned to the depot and saw our car about the go to the cleaning area, I took the opportunity to clean the sand off the rear seat and took a picture so show it was clean & that their claim for addition cleaning was unwarranted. I went to the office and the duty manager Isabel who is a nasty piece of work was there, she was clearly disappointed that I have caught them out trying to fleece me ! she said she would reduce the charge to just 50 euro , I pointed out that there was no sand so no need for any extra cleaning ! and asked for their customer service e mail, she refused to budge and threated to call the police saying she would ensure that we missed out flight as a result! I took photos to support my case and we left returned to the UK to fight them via my credit card company . I looked online & saw that despite being owned by Europcar they are NOT part European Car Rental Conciliation Service even though Europcar are, draw your own conclusions…. The good news is my credit card co who be joint liability for any dispute under Under Section 75 of the Consumer Credit Act accepted my evidence and arranged a full refund, Thanks Nationwide So Don’t booked with Goldcar or Interrent or Europcar unless you want to be fleeced ! Do use a broker like rentalcar.com, atlascar or Costco car hire if you’re a member, and take out your own excess insurance with firm like reducemyexcess.co.uk ahead of your tip to avoid high charged at the rental desk !

City/airport: faro airport

avoid this bunch of sharks's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (1/5) on 18 December 2019

Whilst the car was extremely reasonably priced they do try the hard sell at collection recommending their excess insurance even though I already had this, they insisted on me paying over €1000 euros deposit returnable after the hire. However banks charge for you to pay this in euros then when returned they charge for conversion back to £ GBP. Absolutely ridiculous when you already hold insurance to cover damage & excess cover. Also I hired full to full but though the gauge shows full there can be a huge difference in the real content of the tank and the gauge reading, another possible rip off.

City/airport: Murcia

SteveO's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (3/5) on 15 December 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

STAY AWAY FROM "GOLDSCAM" !! I booked a car in Madrid for what I thought was a good deal. I was a bit reluctant about using Goldcar because the terrible reviews I have seen on the internet but I thought it coudl be different for me if I played it carefully. 1. Collection day. We got a very old car full or scratches. My worry was that they could use any of them to charge me for it. I took endless pictures and spoke to the guy to confirm all of them were in the report. Goldcar took GBP 1410.44 as 'deposit'. 2. Retun day. I got confirmation the car was fine so not surprises with any claims later on. I returned full so no issue. I asked for a receipt BUT they said they will send it by email... TRICK!, they claimed the email address was incorrect (false as I asked the desk to enter it and I even wrote it down for them). Needless to say I never got any email with the receipt from GOLDSCAM! 3. Deposit return. A few days later they returned GBP 1292.2. I called them endlessly and sent emails to no avail. Issue: the take the deposit using a ccy rate and return it using another one. I ended up losing GBP 118.2. Goldcar claimed they returned the deposit but because the exhorbitant exchange rate they use the customer doesn't recover it in full while Goldcar makes a profit with the exchange rate. One more thing. I bet GOLDSCAM is charging multiple customers for the damages on the car (mine was full of them) without never fixing them. How can they charge for a damage but they don't fix them?. Certainly ILLEGAL!. Moral of the story: the saving you may think you will make is not worthy compare to the headaches ahead. AVOID!

City/airport: Madrid

Jesus's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (1/5) on 12 December 2019

Prompt collection of car, polite staff on airport. Bit difficult to find drop off bays as on bottom floor! Unfortunately confirmation of our transaction came through in Chinese!

City/airport: Arrecife

LordAlf's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (4/5) on 8 December 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

We arrived at the correct time to collect our car, the large tattooed man behind the desk couldn't find our booking and tried to rent us a car for over 10 times the sum we had already paid one for. They were most unhelpful then we were then asked to leave. We had to get a taxi (over €100) after we reached our destination we were told they had found the car and if we didn't return they would "fine" us €50 for a no show. Very poor, leaving us without a vehicle due to their administrative error and no effort to put things right. We had to get another taxi to take us back to the airport at the end of our stay. MY ADVICE IS KEEP CLEAR OF GOLDCAR unless you want to risk being stranded at the airport.

City/airport: Murcia

Nicks's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (1/5) on 3 December 2019

When I was to return the car at Nice Airport, I had to leave the car in another garage at Nice Airport, because the entrance to the regular garage was blocked due to a police action (accident). Because of this, I was charged an extra 119 euros. Avoid this rogue company.

City/airport: Nice airport terminal 2

Bernie's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (1/5) on 2 December 2019

We rented car in Malta, via goldcar, for a week. Paid a fair amount for the car, then we were asked to leave a deposit of 200€. We only had cash with us, so we trustfully left it. The company worker sais we should email our bank account after we return the car and they would return deposit back. Its been 2 weeks now and I got 0 reply and 0 money back. If a GoldCar company worker sees this please email me at to sort this out!!

City/airport: Malta airport

PennyLane's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (1/5) on 25 November 2019

Very polite and helpful staff was asked about extra insurance but no hard sell car was clean and new no hassle on collection or drop off

City/airport: Toulouse

Justin's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (5/5) on 18 November 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

good except the excess is really expensive in the event of a claim

City/airport: tenerife

knighty's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (3/5) on 12 November 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Booked via youdospain then charged 240€ by goldcar. It was a total scam as we had already paid for insurance. Dreadful company and now ignores out emails. Still no refund!

City/airport: Malaga

Ripped off customer's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (1/5) on 9 November 2019

Terrible, avoid at all cost!

City/airport: Valencia

Cazzy17's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (1/5) on 5 November 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Refused to honour prepaid booking after declining overpriced upgrade or extra insurance

City/airport: barcelona el prat

stranded Barcelona airport's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (1/5) on 4 November 2019

This carhire company should not be trading they have failed to refund my excees and fuel money it is now a month since i returned the car ,i have emailed them but they will not answer my emails,i definately would never recommend this company Regards John Ramsay

City/airport: Barcelona

Jimbobarunio's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (1/5) on 1 November 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

This carhire company should not be trading they have failed to refund my excees and fuel money it is now a month since i returned the car ,i have emailed them but they will not answer my emails,i definately would never recommend this company Regards John Ramsay

City/airport: Barcelona

Jimbobarunio's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (1/5) on 1 November 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Through Rayanair we booked Goldcar and were told we would only pay another 1.50 euro at the desk. Instead Goldcar insisted on another 23 euro for aministation | so not best pleased.

City/airport: covera

lg's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (1/5) on 31 October 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

They conned us saying our car had a scratch on the roof . This was clearly a con and they charged us 350 euros . The car had 11 pieces of damage before we took it away from them . Car are in a bad condition and they are well worth avoiding . May seem cheap but they’ll get your money one way or another. Avoid at all costs . beware .

City/airport: Valencia

Mark's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (1/5) on 28 October 2019

They conned us saying our car had a scratch on the roof . This was clearly a con and they charged us 350 euros . The car had 11 pieces of damage before we took it away from them . Car are in a bad condition and they are well worth avoiding . May seem cheap but they’ll get your money one way or another. Avoid at all costs . beware .

City/airport: Valencia

Mark's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (1/5) on 28 October 2019

Good service. Car exactly as ordered, clean and tidy. Return easy and efficient. Good experience at good price.

City/airport: Edinburgh

JRN's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (4/5) on 28 October 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

You want cheap then go Goldcar. Check the car thoroughly, take photos, make sure everything works etc. 10 mins extra at pickup can save a lot of grief later

City/airport: Ibiza

Dadio's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (4/5) on 28 October 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Quick and easy pick up and drop off. Easy to find when returning car. No problems all good. Would use Goldcar again.

City/airport: Mahon

Rob's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (4.5/5) on 28 October 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Easy throughout, second time I used them in Sardinia, good rates, convenient location right at airport. Use Xcess cover to avoid their pricey upsell to a full, no excess insurance cover. Will definitely use them again.

City/airport: olbia

A from Devon's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (5/5) on 27 October 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

total scam to make you take out their insurance, including holding £1,000 deposit for over a month after returning the car if you don't.

City/airport: malaga

unhappy's rating of their experience of Goldcar: (1/5) on 27 October 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

If you have any comments or concerns about a review listed here please contact us for assistance.