Firefly Reviews

Have you hired a car from Firefly recently? Why not submit a review of your experiences to help others?
Firefly's Rating:
2.7/5 based on 68 reviews
5 stars
18
4 stars
9
3 stars
7
2 stars
9
1 star
25
Save money on your car hire! Get the best cover for your
Car Hire Excess Insurance
Easy to use website and very competitive.

City/airport: Dover

Steve's rating of their experience of Firefly: (5/5) on 9 June 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

They weren’t upfront with some of the things they required in order to hire the vehicle when I arrived and tried to use not having enough on your credit card to try and sell their own policy to reduce your excess in order so they could sell it and get their commission despite having my own policy where my excess was covered. When I returned the vehicle they tried to say I had damaged it despite it being declared as pre existing damage on the vehicle I can only assume in the hope I wouldn’t challenge it and could claim against me. When I challenged they asked for a copy of the pre existing damage form despite having kept a copy of it themselves again I can only assume in the hope that I would disposed of the form and wouldn’t be able to challenge it. They quickly let it go. I haven’t one positive thing to say about them and wouldn’t use them again.

City/airport: Toulouse

Will G's rating of their experience of Firefly: (1/5) on 4 June 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Booked through a third party (Easycarrentals) payed a £13 deposit to them.They said that 110 euros was owing for the rest of the rental on arrival at Alicante airport.When I arrived at the Firefly desk they said that 369 euro payment was required to pick up the car.Quoting service charges,upgrades ,extra insurance.After 25 mins haggling got it down to 269 euros.Avoid this Car hire rental company like the plague.

City/airport: Alicante

Reeny's rating of their experience of Firefly: (1/5) on 29 May 2019

Complete trash of a company. Don't go with this company dispite how cheap or that you know the company hertz. The whole experience was terrible. don't think for one minute your getting the car you picked when ordered Or a similar car... The cars all looked and seemed battered up and not maintained and wait till they brake down on you and get you to pay for the brake down insurance which they get you to try buy separately claiming its not included so knew something was up and if do braked down well good luck trying to call them if you do brake down. Soo moving on to the first car well that had engine problems starting on the second day of my holiday the engine light came on and pretty sure it was ready to shoot a piston out the engine. So managed to limp that back to the airport. Where they just game me another car basically the same but this one lasted 2days before developing a very bad clutch problem where it was pissing out clutch fluid and the pedal getting stuck down so this was great being stuck in traffic at the lights holding everyone up and having to get pushed off to the side. Long story short i bought more clutch fluid and limped it back to my apartment as was leaving the next day and then once arrived to drop off the car and telling them they didn't seem to care and no refund or compensation was given over this nightmare so i beg you to avoid them at all costs.

City/airport: Malaga

Awesome o joe's rating of their experience of Firefly: (1/5) on 28 May 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Ok

City/airport: Birmingham

Geo's rating of their experience of Firefly: (5/5) on 20 May 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Awful before I arrived; had an enquiry so called the number on their website to be told it was for the parent company Hertz and they couldn’t help! But the girl on the phone took initiative and called me back which I appreciated. The guy at the desk on arrival was really lovely and helpful. Car all fine.

City/airport: Bordeaux

Eam99's rating of their experience of Firefly: (3/5) on 12 May 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Lairs Thieves. They have charged me with additional costs without any reason Instead of 200 euro I have Paid 550 euro

City/airport: Barcelona

Szybiszj's rating of their experience of Firefly: (1/5) on 8 May 2019

The car was fine and I have no complaints on that. Upon returning the car I had it checked by a Firefly representative who confirmed orally that everything was ok and that the tank was full as agreed in the contract. Afterwards Firefly still charged me for not having filled up the tank. Unfortunately I did not keep the receipt for filling up the tank and cannot prove anything, but I am surprised to see that you cannot trust the words of Firefly's staff.

City/airport: Malaga airport

Freddy's rating of their experience of Firefly: (2/5) on 21 April 2019

Worst experience in my life. Car taking took more than hour, got nearly 400 euro extra charges for no reason, child seat we got was too small....anything positive?....nothing. After sales service after claims to refund just send formal answear that I have signed and sent scanned copy of contract. Be carefull! By the way- answear is give by Hertz, so seems like either it is firefly or Hertz, just avoid it.

City/airport: Alicante

Tomas Jatuzys's rating of their experience of Firefly: (1/5) on 19 April 2019

They were helpful but tried to get me to purchase their cover. Not too happy with the policy cover from yourselves. Still, I would use them again as they do check the vehicle when you ask, before and after the rental.

City/airport: Alicante Airport

Jimbo's rating of their experience of Firefly: (4/5) on 18 March 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Firefly are con artists, they are utter scum, complete lowlifes. Their business processes have been designed with one aim - to con you out of as much money as possible! If you're reading this and have already booked with Firefly then your options are: Option 1 - If you are yet to pick up the car and you've only paid a few quid for the booking then walk away now and book with somebody else. Trust me you're better of losing a few quid that letting Firefly ruin your holiday! Option 2 - After waiting 2 hours to collect your car at the airport just accept that you're going to get shafted and let the extremely rude con-artist at the counter sell you their rip-off insurance. It'll be several times the price of the car-hire but once you've calmed down at least you can try and enjoy the rest of your holiday Option 3 – Buy 3rd party insurance. If you don't buy their extra insurance they're going to make up damages when you return the car. It’ll be extremely small marks on the underside of the car that you’ll need a microscope to see. When I collected my hire-car I took a video showing the mileage (so I could prove it was taken at the start of the rental) and thought I’d recorded every mark from every possible angle. They still got me! I returned the car when their office was closed (early flight). I heard nothing for 6 weeks (they wait this long in the hope you’ve thrown away any evidence). I then got an e-mail advising that there was £300 worth of damage. They’ll carefully send some of the documents in English and some in Spanish making it difficult for you to understand/dispute their made up claims. I’d captured some of the damage in the video I took but without jacking the car up there was no way I would have seen some of the little scuffs underneath that they say I caused (I didn’t). Fortunately, I had 3rd party insurance which covered the cost of the claim. So Firefly still succeeded in conning £300 quid out of me but fortunately my 3rd party insurer covered the cost of the claim.

City/airport: malaga

Conned_By_Firefly's rating of their experience of Firefly: (1/5) on 21 November 2018

Excellent service. picked car up with no hassle at all, when we dropped it off there was an agent waiting to check the car over, signed the paperwork, and one day later the hold on our credit card was lifted. would use again

City/airport: alicante

sticky's rating of their experience of Firefly: (5/5) on 18 September 2018

Absolutely awful service. Never seen worse attitude in my life. Information, when booking the car was misleading. When booking the car, I was advised that there will be no extra charge, since additional cover was taken, but in the office they charged my credit card £900 deposit!! Staff so rude and mean!!! When I asked to explain why I should get additional cover, since I have one already, the response was that they don't know and that the cover is not theirs (how do I suppose to know that???). The assistant only suggested that there must be a reason, why the cover from other insurer is so cheap. At the car park, when we came to pick up the car, despite the fact that we came to pick it up an hour later than agreed in the contract, we were told that the car is not ready. The lady at the desk was so rude, she did not even apologise (she made an impression, that it's us, who owe them something and its actually our fault, that the car is late). Never seen worse attitude in my life! After additional 40 mins of waiting time, when we tried to complain, the assistant threatened us that if we are not happy, she will tear our contract and we can go to other providers!!! Furthermore, she just pretended that she does not speak English and ignored my husband (her English with me was absolutely fine). The car arrived 40 mins later, all scratched. Again, my husband made a remark, that not all faults are indicated on the contract. We got the response, that it marks the whole part of the vehicle. (Make sure you check it properly before renting the car). On returning the car, we were 10 mins late (because there are no clear indications where to return the car). The other assistant almost made a fuss that we are 10 mins late. When we said that we waited for the car for 1.5 hours, he relaxed a bit. I checked my credit card, apparently I was charged additional £42.18 for don't know what (despite the fact all was fine on returning the car)? Emailed the provider, waiting for the response. I would never ever recommend this car provider to anyone. Never came across worse service. And I thought, people renting the cars and dealing with customer service, need to have at least some sort of manners

City/airport: barcelona

vavavu's rating of their experience of Firefly: (1/5) on 13 September 2018

In the small print it appears the rental was full to empty. I would never usually rent this way and it was not clear. Firefly charged me a service charge of €40 at the start of the rental for undertaking the refill at the end. Rip off

City/airport: Alicante

Sneaky unfair charges's rating of their experience of Firefly: (1/5) on 6 September 2018

£300 charge. Can't get a response to find out what it is for. Sent numerous emails over a 2 week period. Not sure what to do next. Stay clear.

City/airport: Malaga

Bob's rating of their experience of Firefly: (1/5) on 1 September 2018

Firefly is a total rip-off. I booked their car online and also a full insurance. At the airport a quit unfriendly employee told me the insurance was invalid and that I could buy a real isurance with Firefly for 164€ extra. I refused because I allready paid for a full insurance online. 'Totally unvalid', the guy shouted at me. 'You will be charged 1000€ for every scratch that is bigger than 1 cm!'. I didn't get their insurance, why would I as I allready paid one. When I brought the car back a (just as unfriendly) employee found a scratch ùnder the side door mirror. I asked her what that scratch would cost. 55€, she said. I didn't complain, agreed, but found later on my invoice that they charged the 55€ twice! Firefly is no car rental company, it's a insurance scam, they rip off people massivly. While I was waiting at their desk, twoo other people had exactly the same problems with them. And they were yelled at by the employees. Firefly are gangsters, it's that simple. Don't book them!

City/airport: Malaga

Antonio Banderash's rating of their experience of Firefly: (1/5) on 12 August 2018

We had a very bad experience in Malaga. They just added top dollar insurance without discussion. When I queried the amount (twice and in both English and Spanish) they told me it was a returnable deposit. Repeatedly said that the amount would be returned to me if I returned the car intact and with a fill tank. It wasn't, of course. I should just have walked away, but I was tired and keen to get the holiday started. This is how they get away with it of course. The formal complaints process was useless. We will go back to using the very reliable local firms we have used before

City/airport: Malaga

Neveragain's rating of their experience of Firefly: (1/5) on 4 August 2018

Made us sign an agreement which was different to what we agreed with the car rental site we booked it through. Told us it was optional to use their fueling services, very rude when we said we had ordered a full to full and made out we were stupid for not understanding. Use bullying tactics.

City/airport: Marseille

Mrsbertucci's rating of their experience of Firefly: (1.5/5) on 21 June 2018

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Excellent, really helpful, able collect and drop off with no problems.

City/airport: Belfast

Sedge's rating of their experience of Firefly: (5/5) on 14 June 2018

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Incorrect pick up instructions. Rude staff. Car was very old with lots of damage, not recorded on form.

City/airport: Alghero

Mrg123's rating of their experience of Firefly: (1/5) on 11 June 2018

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Flight delayed by 3 hours with flight number supplied to Firefly in advance. Upon arrival at the hire desk I was told that the car I had prepaid 70 euros for wasn't available and that I would have to be upgraded....at my cost !!! Given it was 11.45pm and they were shortly closing and that I had 2 young children with me, I felt I had little option given my accommodation was 160 km away. The additional cost for 7 days was 85 euros !! I had also booked a diesel car but they claimed they didn't have any and so gave me an unleaded car much larger than my original option. First time I have used Firefly and won't be using them again.

City/airport: Valencia

Daz2310's rating of their experience of Firefly: (1/5) on 6 June 2018

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Not at all helpful on collection

City/airport: Belfast

Gordon's rating of their experience of Firefly: (1/5) on 22 May 2018

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

1.Model of car perfectly acceptable (considering the usual couple of small scratches already on it). 2. They refused point blank to accept any cover whatsoever from "Reduced Excess", would not even look at the paperwork. 3. Initial signposting directing to Firefly Return office inside the airport carpark was missing which led to a few additional circuits, delaying our eventual handover. 4. Reception handover was prickly and distinctly unhelpful, Return was equally cold

City/airport: Malaga

Prince's rating of their experience of Firefly: (3/5) on 21 May 2018

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

I was given a dirty car that had been in a serious accident, I asked for an alternative, there was no option. Beware returning the car, a week after I arrived home I was charge for additional days, there is no way of getting the money back. A terrible experience and now I look online I see I am not the first to have had a similar experience, this is a Hertz company so I would avoid Hertz. I hire cars most weeks when I travel and this is my worst experience. They are cheap but not worth the saving.

City/airport: Pisa Airport

mark-reverb's rating of their experience of Firefly: (1/5) on 17 May 2018

quick and easy pick up and return

City/airport: malaga

phil's rating of their experience of Firefly: (4.5/5) on 12 April 2018

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

If you have any comments or concerns about a review listed here please contact us for assistance.