Firefly Reviews

Have you hired a car from Firefly recently? Why not submit a review of your experiences to help others?
Firefly's Rating:
2.4/5 based on 77 reviews
5 stars
10
4 stars
1
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
18
Save money on your car hire! Get the best cover for your
Car Hire Excess Insurance
I cannot fault them. The service was quick, and the staff were very friendly. I had pre-purchased an excess policy so didn't need their extra insurance and they did not hassle or try to sell me any extra insurance. They pointed out the excess I would need to pay and they advised me to check over the vehicle carefully and to let them know if there were any additional marks (they had already pointed out some scratches and marked them on the hire form). I found a small scratch and they didn't hesitate to add it to my hire form. They didn't check the car with me when I returned the keys, so I took photos just in case. I didn't need to - I've been home 3 weeks now and have received a final invoice with no extra charges. I've read other people's dissatisfaction but based on my experience I wouldn't hesitate to use Firefly again.

City/airport: Reus Airport

Sally's rating of their experience of Firefly: (5/5) on 16 August 2019

Straightforward service and a great car.

City/airport: Alicante

Mama Susie's rating of their experience of Firefly: (5/5) on 13 August 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Excellent service when collecting and returning the car. The person who served me was very friendly and polite, knowledgeable and helped me understand the best use of the petrol rule.

City/airport: Carcassonne

Bec's rating of their experience of Firefly: (5/5) on 11 August 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

The Firefly rental ‘hut’ employee was rude and aggressive. Totally shocking behaviour that prompted the French man behind my family to apologise on behalf of all other French people for this individual’s behaviour. My 7 year old was in tears, my 3 year old was confused. Utterly unacceptable treatment. Lots of negative reviews about Firefly online. We were allocated Firefly through Holiday Autos so maybe avoid them too.

City/airport: Bordeaux

DO NOT USE FIREFLY's rating of their experience of Firefly: (1/5) on 9 August 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Excellent service from friendly and professional staff. The car was in immaculate condition , the pre and post hire inspections were thorough and straightforward and everything was emailed to me immediately

City/airport: Downtown Preston

Harassed granny's rating of their experience of Firefly: (5/5) on 18 July 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Rubbish. Understaffed so had to wait an hour, and while I was supposed to get a Fiesta I actually got a really underpowered Opel which was covered in dents and scratches. Their solution? Take photos and show us on your return. Not reassuring.

City/airport: Marseilles

Captain Pugwash's rating of their experience of Firefly: (1/5) on 8 July 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

We were informed upon pick up that the car we had booked was not available however they would give us and upgrade for free. We asked and re-asked and each time the rep at the desk confirmed that yes it's on the house free of charge. Lo and behold they slap us with an upgrade charge a week after we're back from our holiday. Slapped us also with extra insurance we didn't need and had already purchased via rentalcars.com. it's been a month since we've been back and they sent us the rental agreement which we signed however this time showing the charges which I know for sure weren't there when we signed. So unless you're willing to give your money away just stay away from this company or at least be aware of what they make you sign

City/airport: Malaga

Daniela Pellegrini's rating of their experience of Firefly: (1/5) on 3 July 2019

Very slow service, all they were interested in was selling add ons which you just don't need

City/airport: Murcia International

Golfer Dave's rating of their experience of Firefly: (2.5/5) on 22 June 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Upon return of the car, the female assistant found a scratch on the bumper about 5 millimeters long. She scratched her finger nail around it in the hope of finding a bigger scratch, she blew on it, cleaned it with a rag - it was utterly ridiculous. She measured it and conceded that it was only a few millimeters (how she found it in the first place is beyond me). I said she was desperate to find something & she started raising her voice to me. I took a photo of the scratch and is half the length of my finger nail. It was a good rental, but BEWARE they will try and get you on the smallest of smallest things upon return. My guess is they are on commission to find fault with returned vehicles

City/airport: malaga

lu's rating of their experience of Firefly: (2.5/5) on 18 June 2019

Easy to use website and very competitive.

City/airport: Dover

Steve's rating of their experience of Firefly: (5/5) on 9 June 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

They weren’t upfront with some of the things they required in order to hire the vehicle when I arrived and tried to use not having enough on your credit card to try and sell their own policy to reduce your excess in order so they could sell it and get their commission despite having my own policy where my excess was covered. When I returned the vehicle they tried to say I had damaged it despite it being declared as pre existing damage on the vehicle I can only assume in the hope I wouldn’t challenge it and could claim against me. When I challenged they asked for a copy of the pre existing damage form despite having kept a copy of it themselves again I can only assume in the hope that I would disposed of the form and wouldn’t be able to challenge it. They quickly let it go. I haven’t one positive thing to say about them and wouldn’t use them again.

City/airport: Toulouse

Will G's rating of their experience of Firefly: (1/5) on 4 June 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Booked through a third party (Easycarrentals) payed a £13 deposit to them.They said that 110 euros was owing for the rest of the rental on arrival at Alicante airport.When I arrived at the Firefly desk they said that 369 euro payment was required to pick up the car.Quoting service charges,upgrades ,extra insurance.After 25 mins haggling got it down to 269 euros.Avoid this Car hire rental company like the plague.

City/airport: Alicante

Reeny's rating of their experience of Firefly: (1/5) on 29 May 2019

Complete trash of a company. Don't go with this company dispite how cheap or that you know the company hertz. The whole experience was terrible. don't think for one minute your getting the car you picked when ordered Or a similar car... The cars all looked and seemed battered up and not maintained and wait till they brake down on you and get you to pay for the brake down insurance which they get you to try buy separately claiming its not included so knew something was up and if do braked down well good luck trying to call them if you do brake down. Soo moving on to the first car well that had engine problems starting on the second day of my holiday the engine light came on and pretty sure it was ready to shoot a piston out the engine. So managed to limp that back to the airport. Where they just game me another car basically the same but this one lasted 2days before developing a very bad clutch problem where it was pissing out clutch fluid and the pedal getting stuck down so this was great being stuck in traffic at the lights holding everyone up and having to get pushed off to the side. Long story short i bought more clutch fluid and limped it back to my apartment as was leaving the next day and then once arrived to drop off the car and telling them they didn't seem to care and no refund or compensation was given over this nightmare so i beg you to avoid them at all costs.

City/airport: Malaga

Awesome o joe's rating of their experience of Firefly: (1/5) on 28 May 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Ok

City/airport: Birmingham

Geo's rating of their experience of Firefly: (5/5) on 20 May 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Awful before I arrived; had an enquiry so called the number on their website to be told it was for the parent company Hertz and they couldn’t help! But the girl on the phone took initiative and called me back which I appreciated. The guy at the desk on arrival was really lovely and helpful. Car all fine.

City/airport: Bordeaux

Eam99's rating of their experience of Firefly: (3/5) on 12 May 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Lairs Thieves. They have charged me with additional costs without any reason Instead of 200 euro I have Paid 550 euro

City/airport: Barcelona

Szybiszj's rating of their experience of Firefly: (1/5) on 8 May 2019

The car was fine and I have no complaints on that. Upon returning the car I had it checked by a Firefly representative who confirmed orally that everything was ok and that the tank was full as agreed in the contract. Afterwards Firefly still charged me for not having filled up the tank. Unfortunately I did not keep the receipt for filling up the tank and cannot prove anything, but I am surprised to see that you cannot trust the words of Firefly's staff.

City/airport: Malaga airport

Freddy's rating of their experience of Firefly: (2/5) on 21 April 2019

Worst experience in my life. Car taking took more than hour, got nearly 400 euro extra charges for no reason, child seat we got was too small....anything positive?....nothing. After sales service after claims to refund just send formal answear that I have signed and sent scanned copy of contract. Be carefull! By the way- answear is give by Hertz, so seems like either it is firefly or Hertz, just avoid it.

City/airport: Alicante

Tomas Jatuzys's rating of their experience of Firefly: (1/5) on 19 April 2019

They were helpful but tried to get me to purchase their cover. Not too happy with the policy cover from yourselves. Still, I would use them again as they do check the vehicle when you ask, before and after the rental.

City/airport: Alicante Airport

Jimbo's rating of their experience of Firefly: (4/5) on 18 March 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Firefly are con artists, they are utter scum, complete lowlifes. Their business processes have been designed with one aim - to con you out of as much money as possible! If you're reading this and have already booked with Firefly then your options are: Option 1 - If you are yet to pick up the car and you've only paid a few quid for the booking then walk away now and book with somebody else. Trust me you're better of losing a few quid that letting Firefly ruin your holiday! Option 2 - After waiting 2 hours to collect your car at the airport just accept that you're going to get shafted and let the extremely rude con-artist at the counter sell you their rip-off insurance. It'll be several times the price of the car-hire but once you've calmed down at least you can try and enjoy the rest of your holiday Option 3 – Buy 3rd party insurance. If you don't buy their extra insurance they're going to make up damages when you return the car. It’ll be extremely small marks on the underside of the car that you’ll need a microscope to see. When I collected my hire-car I took a video showing the mileage (so I could prove it was taken at the start of the rental) and thought I’d recorded every mark from every possible angle. They still got me! I returned the car when their office was closed (early flight). I heard nothing for 6 weeks (they wait this long in the hope you’ve thrown away any evidence). I then got an e-mail advising that there was £300 worth of damage. They’ll carefully send some of the documents in English and some in Spanish making it difficult for you to understand/dispute their made up claims. I’d captured some of the damage in the video I took but without jacking the car up there was no way I would have seen some of the little scuffs underneath that they say I caused (I didn’t). Fortunately, I had 3rd party insurance which covered the cost of the claim. So Firefly still succeeded in conning £300 quid out of me but fortunately my 3rd party insurer covered the cost of the claim.

City/airport: malaga

Conned_By_Firefly's rating of their experience of Firefly: (1/5) on 21 November 2018

Excellent service. picked car up with no hassle at all, when we dropped it off there was an agent waiting to check the car over, signed the paperwork, and one day later the hold on our credit card was lifted. would use again

City/airport: alicante

sticky's rating of their experience of Firefly: (5/5) on 18 September 2018

Absolutely awful service. Never seen worse attitude in my life. Information, when booking the car was misleading. When booking the car, I was advised that there will be no extra charge, since additional cover was taken, but in the office they charged my credit card £900 deposit!! Staff so rude and mean!!! When I asked to explain why I should get additional cover, since I have one already, the response was that they don't know and that the cover is not theirs (how do I suppose to know that???). The assistant only suggested that there must be a reason, why the cover from other insurer is so cheap. At the car park, when we came to pick up the car, despite the fact that we came to pick it up an hour later than agreed in the contract, we were told that the car is not ready. The lady at the desk was so rude, she did not even apologise (she made an impression, that it's us, who owe them something and its actually our fault, that the car is late). Never seen worse attitude in my life! After additional 40 mins of waiting time, when we tried to complain, the assistant threatened us that if we are not happy, she will tear our contract and we can go to other providers!!! Furthermore, she just pretended that she does not speak English and ignored my husband (her English with me was absolutely fine). The car arrived 40 mins later, all scratched. Again, my husband made a remark, that not all faults are indicated on the contract. We got the response, that it marks the whole part of the vehicle. (Make sure you check it properly before renting the car). On returning the car, we were 10 mins late (because there are no clear indications where to return the car). The other assistant almost made a fuss that we are 10 mins late. When we said that we waited for the car for 1.5 hours, he relaxed a bit. I checked my credit card, apparently I was charged additional £42.18 for don't know what (despite the fact all was fine on returning the car)? Emailed the provider, waiting for the response. I would never ever recommend this car provider to anyone. Never came across worse service. And I thought, people renting the cars and dealing with customer service, need to have at least some sort of manners

City/airport: barcelona

vavavu's rating of their experience of Firefly: (1/5) on 13 September 2018

In the small print it appears the rental was full to empty. I would never usually rent this way and it was not clear. Firefly charged me a service charge of €40 at the start of the rental for undertaking the refill at the end. Rip off

City/airport: Alicante

Sneaky unfair charges's rating of their experience of Firefly: (1/5) on 6 September 2018

£300 charge. Can't get a response to find out what it is for. Sent numerous emails over a 2 week period. Not sure what to do next. Stay clear.

City/airport: Malaga

Bob's rating of their experience of Firefly: (1/5) on 1 September 2018

Firefly is a total rip-off. I booked their car online and also a full insurance. At the airport a quit unfriendly employee told me the insurance was invalid and that I could buy a real isurance with Firefly for 164€ extra. I refused because I allready paid for a full insurance online. 'Totally unvalid', the guy shouted at me. 'You will be charged 1000€ for every scratch that is bigger than 1 cm!'. I didn't get their insurance, why would I as I allready paid one. When I brought the car back a (just as unfriendly) employee found a scratch ùnder the side door mirror. I asked her what that scratch would cost. 55€, she said. I didn't complain, agreed, but found later on my invoice that they charged the 55€ twice! Firefly is no car rental company, it's a insurance scam, they rip off people massivly. While I was waiting at their desk, twoo other people had exactly the same problems with them. And they were yelled at by the employees. Firefly are gangsters, it's that simple. Don't book them!

City/airport: Malaga

Antonio Banderash's rating of their experience of Firefly: (1/5) on 12 August 2018

If you have any comments or concerns about a review listed here please contact us for assistance.