Firefly Reviews

Have you hired a car from Firefly recently? Why not submit a review of your experiences to help others?
Firefly's Rating:
2.5/5 based on 85 reviews
5 stars
11
4 stars
2
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 star
21
Save money on your car hire! Get the best cover for your
Car Hire Excess Insurance
Very efficient

City/airport: Carcassonne

Steve's rating of their experience of Firefly: (4/5) on 22 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Quick and easy transaction Good price.

City/airport: Slough

Jbey's rating of their experience of Firefly: (5/5) on 18 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Perfect company to use.

City/airport: Alicante

Poppsie's rating of their experience of Firefly: (5/5) on 16 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Very poor customer service, lots of extra charges when you arrive and damaged vehicles which they expect you to scour in the dark underground car park. I saw lots of others at the desk charged for damage they contested. My advice is to avoid this company

City/airport: Málaga

Sam's rating of their experience of Firefly: (1/5) on 15 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Cheap and no hassle

City/airport: Alicante

Stevie's rating of their experience of Firefly: (5/5) on 11 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Ok experience, good price. Car was a bit of a heap with dents all over and an electric window not working. Nervous that it would break down during the holiday!

City/airport: Treviso

FM's rating of their experience of Firefly: (3/5) on 5 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

unduly charged 3 insurance policies. horrible customer service

City/airport: Malaga

Mik's rating of their experience of Firefly: (1/5) on 21 August 2019

I cannot fault them. The service was quick, and the staff were very friendly. I had pre-purchased an excess policy so didn't need their extra insurance and they did not hassle or try to sell me any extra insurance. They pointed out the excess I would need to pay and they advised me to check over the vehicle carefully and to let them know if there were any additional marks (they had already pointed out some scratches and marked them on the hire form). I found a small scratch and they didn't hesitate to add it to my hire form. They didn't check the car with me when I returned the keys, so I took photos just in case. I didn't need to - I've been home 3 weeks now and have received a final invoice with no extra charges. I've read other people's dissatisfaction but based on my experience I wouldn't hesitate to use Firefly again.

City/airport: Reus Airport

Sally's rating of their experience of Firefly: (5/5) on 16 August 2019

Straightforward service and a great car.

City/airport: Alicante

Mama Susie's rating of their experience of Firefly: (5/5) on 13 August 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Excellent service when collecting and returning the car. The person who served me was very friendly and polite, knowledgeable and helped me understand the best use of the petrol rule.

City/airport: Carcassonne

Bec's rating of their experience of Firefly: (5/5) on 11 August 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

The Firefly rental ‘hut’ employee was rude and aggressive. Totally shocking behaviour that prompted the French man behind my family to apologise on behalf of all other French people for this individual’s behaviour. My 7 year old was in tears, my 3 year old was confused. Utterly unacceptable treatment. Lots of negative reviews about Firefly online. We were allocated Firefly through Holiday Autos so maybe avoid them too.

City/airport: Bordeaux

DO NOT USE FIREFLY's rating of their experience of Firefly: (1/5) on 9 August 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Excellent service from friendly and professional staff. The car was in immaculate condition , the pre and post hire inspections were thorough and straightforward and everything was emailed to me immediately

City/airport: Downtown Preston

Harassed granny's rating of their experience of Firefly: (5/5) on 18 July 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Rubbish. Understaffed so had to wait an hour, and while I was supposed to get a Fiesta I actually got a really underpowered Opel which was covered in dents and scratches. Their solution? Take photos and show us on your return. Not reassuring.

City/airport: Marseilles

Captain Pugwash's rating of their experience of Firefly: (1/5) on 8 July 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

We were informed upon pick up that the car we had booked was not available however they would give us and upgrade for free. We asked and re-asked and each time the rep at the desk confirmed that yes it's on the house free of charge. Lo and behold they slap us with an upgrade charge a week after we're back from our holiday. Slapped us also with extra insurance we didn't need and had already purchased via rentalcars.com. it's been a month since we've been back and they sent us the rental agreement which we signed however this time showing the charges which I know for sure weren't there when we signed. So unless you're willing to give your money away just stay away from this company or at least be aware of what they make you sign

City/airport: Malaga

Daniela Pellegrini's rating of their experience of Firefly: (1/5) on 3 July 2019

Very slow service, all they were interested in was selling add ons which you just don't need

City/airport: Murcia International

Golfer Dave's rating of their experience of Firefly: (2.5/5) on 22 June 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Upon return of the car, the female assistant found a scratch on the bumper about 5 millimeters long. She scratched her finger nail around it in the hope of finding a bigger scratch, she blew on it, cleaned it with a rag - it was utterly ridiculous. She measured it and conceded that it was only a few millimeters (how she found it in the first place is beyond me). I said she was desperate to find something & she started raising her voice to me. I took a photo of the scratch and is half the length of my finger nail. It was a good rental, but BEWARE they will try and get you on the smallest of smallest things upon return. My guess is they are on commission to find fault with returned vehicles

City/airport: malaga

lu's rating of their experience of Firefly: (2.5/5) on 18 June 2019

Easy to use website and very competitive.

City/airport: Dover

Steve's rating of their experience of Firefly: (5/5) on 9 June 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

They weren’t upfront with some of the things they required in order to hire the vehicle when I arrived and tried to use not having enough on your credit card to try and sell their own policy to reduce your excess in order so they could sell it and get their commission despite having my own policy where my excess was covered. When I returned the vehicle they tried to say I had damaged it despite it being declared as pre existing damage on the vehicle I can only assume in the hope I wouldn’t challenge it and could claim against me. When I challenged they asked for a copy of the pre existing damage form despite having kept a copy of it themselves again I can only assume in the hope that I would disposed of the form and wouldn’t be able to challenge it. They quickly let it go. I haven’t one positive thing to say about them and wouldn’t use them again.

City/airport: Toulouse

Will G's rating of their experience of Firefly: (1/5) on 4 June 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Booked through a third party (Easycarrentals) payed a £13 deposit to them.They said that 110 euros was owing for the rest of the rental on arrival at Alicante airport.When I arrived at the Firefly desk they said that 369 euro payment was required to pick up the car.Quoting service charges,upgrades ,extra insurance.After 25 mins haggling got it down to 269 euros.Avoid this Car hire rental company like the plague.

City/airport: Alicante

Reeny's rating of their experience of Firefly: (1/5) on 29 May 2019

Complete trash of a company. Don't go with this company dispite how cheap or that you know the company hertz. The whole experience was terrible. don't think for one minute your getting the car you picked when ordered Or a similar car... The cars all looked and seemed battered up and not maintained and wait till they brake down on you and get you to pay for the brake down insurance which they get you to try buy separately claiming its not included so knew something was up and if do braked down well good luck trying to call them if you do brake down. Soo moving on to the first car well that had engine problems starting on the second day of my holiday the engine light came on and pretty sure it was ready to shoot a piston out the engine. So managed to limp that back to the airport. Where they just game me another car basically the same but this one lasted 2days before developing a very bad clutch problem where it was pissing out clutch fluid and the pedal getting stuck down so this was great being stuck in traffic at the lights holding everyone up and having to get pushed off to the side. Long story short i bought more clutch fluid and limped it back to my apartment as was leaving the next day and then once arrived to drop off the car and telling them they didn't seem to care and no refund or compensation was given over this nightmare so i beg you to avoid them at all costs.

City/airport: Malaga

Awesome o joe's rating of their experience of Firefly: (1/5) on 28 May 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Ok

City/airport: Birmingham

Geo's rating of their experience of Firefly: (5/5) on 20 May 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Awful before I arrived; had an enquiry so called the number on their website to be told it was for the parent company Hertz and they couldn’t help! But the girl on the phone took initiative and called me back which I appreciated. The guy at the desk on arrival was really lovely and helpful. Car all fine.

City/airport: Bordeaux

Eam99's rating of their experience of Firefly: (3/5) on 12 May 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Lairs Thieves. They have charged me with additional costs without any reason Instead of 200 euro I have Paid 550 euro

City/airport: Barcelona

Szybiszj's rating of their experience of Firefly: (1/5) on 8 May 2019

The car was fine and I have no complaints on that. Upon returning the car I had it checked by a Firefly representative who confirmed orally that everything was ok and that the tank was full as agreed in the contract. Afterwards Firefly still charged me for not having filled up the tank. Unfortunately I did not keep the receipt for filling up the tank and cannot prove anything, but I am surprised to see that you cannot trust the words of Firefly's staff.

City/airport: Malaga airport

Freddy's rating of their experience of Firefly: (2/5) on 21 April 2019

Worst experience in my life. Car taking took more than hour, got nearly 400 euro extra charges for no reason, child seat we got was too small....anything positive?....nothing. After sales service after claims to refund just send formal answear that I have signed and sent scanned copy of contract. Be carefull! By the way- answear is give by Hertz, so seems like either it is firefly or Hertz, just avoid it.

City/airport: Alicante

Tomas Jatuzys's rating of their experience of Firefly: (1/5) on 19 April 2019

If you have any comments or concerns about a review listed here please contact us for assistance.