Firefly Reviews

Have you hired a car from Firefly recently? Why not submit a review of your experiences to help others?
Firefly's Rating:
2.7/5 based on 112 reviews
5 stars
19
4 stars
6
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 star
28
Save money on your car hire! Get the best cover for your
Car Hire Excess Insurance
Warning for CarJet and Firefly. They have put in systems to deceive the customer. I booked and paid in advance incl. CarJet extra insurance. When I picked up the car at Firefly they demanded 95 Euro for because I did not have a credit card, only a debit card. True, CarJet writes this in fine print, but most people do not see it. Probably CarJet and Firefly do this together and share the profits. I demanded the money back but did not get it, a week's car rental in smoke. I recommend AutoEurope or Rental Cars instead, none of which behave badly. Booked car today via Rental Cars / Hertz and last week with AutoEurope / Europcar, no problem just using debit cards.

City/airport: Montpellier airport

Östrahult's rating of their experience of Firefly: (1/5) on 18 January 2020

Everything seemed to be perfect apart from the wait, nothing was mentioned about insurance which was a surprise but they did say that if I did not return the car full of fuel then I would be charged €150 which they wrote under the charges and highlighted. On returning home I found they had charged me an additional €294. On querying this they said that I had signed the agreement to accept this charge and that everyone should read through the agreement thoroughly. I waited 1 3/4 hours in the queue to pick up the car, can you imagine how long that would be if everyone read all the small print. I feel that it was very underhand to let me think I was signing to bring the car back full and not to mention any additional insurance.

City/airport: Alicante

Ella195's rating of their experience of Firefly: (1/5) on 30 December 2019

Con merchants! Add on insurance you do not need! You are then unable to contact them when you get home and they pocket the extra money they have charged you. DO NOT USE

City/airport: Mercia

Tracey's rating of their experience of Firefly: (1/5) on 26 November 2019

Booked fire fly and used Hertz. No problem with booking. Good car etc but had a £7 charge because brought car back 50 min before time. Trying to find out why. So beware

City/airport: Manchester

Kevin's rating of their experience of Firefly: (4/5) on 25 November 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Terrible bad. Disgusting bunch of robbing thieves who steal money from your credit card saying it’s a bond and then they keep it. They lie about damage and bringing the car back NOT FILLED UP. I filled the car up and gave them my receipt. Then they lie. I cannot contact them. They do not answer their phone or respond through online contact forms they ignore you spanish staff are rude and aggressive Dirty damaged cars

City/airport: Malaga

F1's rating of their experience of Firefly: (1/5) on 15 November 2019

Cheap criminals who gave me a broken vehicle then exchanged it for a smelly smokers car then stole £252 from my debit card. They never answer their customer service telephone. Todate I’ve called them 5/6/7/8 times daily and 72 times in total. Sending them 32 emails through their online Contact us Form. They’ve ignored everything HERTZ created this cheap thieving company. HERTZ should now take responsibility. Kathryn Marinello is the CEO she has receipt of my complaint THIS COMPANY SHOULD BE GIT RID OF. THEY ARE THIEVES

City/airport: Malaga

Elaine De Christie's rating of their experience of Firefly: (1/5) on 15 November 2019

Cheap, friendly, efficient, everything I needed

City/airport: Madrid

Mark's rating of their experience of Firefly: (4.5/5) on 11 November 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Tried to charge me extra at the airport after telling me the car I'd booked wasn't available, by the time they'd added the taxes and other extras when the car was returned the original price more than doubled, would never use again!

City/airport: Malaga

Mr Lee's rating of their experience of Firefly: (1/5) on 4 November 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Easy pick up in girona airport. Didnt try any hard sell for upgrades unlike American rental companies. Drop off easy but you just put the keys in a lock box so no one signs off your contract. I took a picture of the car in the drop off bay to prove it was there.

City/airport: Girona

Smarty's rating of their experience of Firefly: (4.5/5) on 1 November 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Ok, need to not rush through the paperwork for us oldies so that we can digest what’s being said !!!!!!!

City/airport: Alicante

Me's rating of their experience of Firefly: (4/5) on 27 October 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

long wait to collect car, tried to sell me extra damage excess policy which I didnt need because I already had cover,

City/airport: Malaga

jackdog's rating of their experience of Firefly: (2/5) on 26 October 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Girl who checked car out was excellent. Very helpful and chatty too. Very simple process compared to experiences with other hire car companies in other countries.

City/airport: Perth

FawsideMike's rating of their experience of Firefly: (4.5/5) on 26 October 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Easy as pie!

City/airport: Murcia intl

Roo's rating of their experience of Firefly: (5/5) on 25 October 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Very Friendly, great economical car with Sat Nav. Good value for money. A little difficult to find the returns area as it was separate from other rental returns, but they did give us directions. Highly Recommended

City/airport: Nice Airport

Phil's rating of their experience of Firefly: (5/5) on 18 October 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Very slow at pick up but everything else fine

City/airport: Montpelier

Betty's rating of their experience of Firefly: (3.5/5) on 17 October 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

On the 2nd of August £187.35 was taken out of my account by "TRANSPORT*CARHIRE" (CAR TRAWLER) when I made the booking (as expected), then on the 20th of August "FIREFLY CAR RENTAL" then took out £218.58. Car Trawler charged me for the car hire and then Firefly who supplied the car also charged me for the hire. A complete SCAM, steer clear of both these companies because they have no customer services either, to deal with the issue,

City/airport: Malaga

Nelly's rating of their experience of Firefly: (1/5) on 13 October 2019

Just love Firefly. With some companies they just don't give up on trying to sell their own expensive insurance. I was simply asked whether I had my own and when I said yes, that was that. Great car too - it had a bit of damage but I don't mind that. Will definitely use them again.

City/airport: Reus Barcelona

Car hire Reus's rating of their experience of Firefly: (5/5) on 9 October 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Great allround

City/airport: Belfast

Andy N's rating of their experience of Firefly: (5/5) on 8 October 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Terrible service, prices and dirty car.

City/airport: Rome Fuimincino

Ripped off's rating of their experience of Firefly: (1/5) on 1 October 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Long wait to pick the car up, helpful staff, no hard sell on the extras also hired a car seat which was ready waiting for us, overall apart from the long wait everything went well and I would use them again

City/airport: Murcia

TRS's rating of their experience of Firefly: (3.5/5) on 1 October 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

I always use firefly as they appear to be the most honest.

City/airport: Alicante

Dunc's rating of their experience of Firefly: (4.5/5) on 1 October 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Good up-front service, but care needed on return of vehicle, especially so out of hours when no one available to inspect the returned vehicle

City/airport: Girona airport

Happy Traveller's rating of their experience of Firefly: (3/5) on 29 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Cheap initial cost, over priced fuel on pick up, but main complaint is that it took almost 2 hours to collect the car. Not enough staff & too much time spent trying to sell insurance that wasn't wanted

City/airport: Murcia

Mad hamster's rating of their experience of Firefly: (3/5) on 29 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

After reading all the bad reviews. I was really scared hiring here. However it took less than 10 minutes to get the car, we got upgraded from a Corsa to a Seat Leon which was great. I didn’t like the amount they take for deposit, but I got this back within a couple of days. I was really nervous about the experience and didn’t need to be. It was a good experience.

City/airport: Alicante

Si's rating of their experience of Firefly: (5/5) on 25 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Very efficient

City/airport: Carcassonne

Steve's rating of their experience of Firefly: (4/5) on 22 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

If you have any comments or concerns about a review listed here please contact us for assistance.