Firefly Reviews

Have you hired a car from Firefly recently? Why not submit a review of your experiences to help others?
Firefly's Rating:
2.9/5 based on 104 reviews
5 stars
20
4 stars
5
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
22
Save money on your car hire! Get the best cover for your
Car Hire Excess Insurance
Cheap, friendly, efficient, everything I needed

City/airport: Madrid

Mark's rating of their experience of Firefly: (4.5/5) on 11 November 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Tried to charge me extra at the airport after telling me the car I'd booked wasn't available, by the time they'd added the taxes and other extras when the car was returned the original price more than doubled, would never use again!

City/airport: Malaga

Mr Lee's rating of their experience of Firefly: (1/5) on 4 November 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Easy pick up in girona airport. Didnt try any hard sell for upgrades unlike American rental companies. Drop off easy but you just put the keys in a lock box so no one signs off your contract. I took a picture of the car in the drop off bay to prove it was there.

City/airport: Girona

Smarty's rating of their experience of Firefly: (4.5/5) on 1 November 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Ok, need to not rush through the paperwork for us oldies so that we can digest what’s being said !!!!!!!

City/airport: Alicante

Me's rating of their experience of Firefly: (4/5) on 27 October 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

long wait to collect car, tried to sell me extra damage excess policy which I didnt need because I already had cover,

City/airport: Malaga

jackdog's rating of their experience of Firefly: (2/5) on 26 October 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Girl who checked car out was excellent. Very helpful and chatty too. Very simple process compared to experiences with other hire car companies in other countries.

City/airport: Perth

FawsideMike's rating of their experience of Firefly: (4.5/5) on 26 October 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Easy as pie!

City/airport: Murcia intl

Roo's rating of their experience of Firefly: (5/5) on 25 October 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Very Friendly, great economical car with Sat Nav. Good value for money. A little difficult to find the returns area as it was separate from other rental returns, but they did give us directions. Highly Recommended

City/airport: Nice Airport

Phil's rating of their experience of Firefly: (5/5) on 18 October 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Very slow at pick up but everything else fine

City/airport: Montpelier

Betty's rating of their experience of Firefly: (3.5/5) on 17 October 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

On the 2nd of August £187.35 was taken out of my account by "TRANSPORT*CARHIRE" (CAR TRAWLER) when I made the booking (as expected), then on the 20th of August "FIREFLY CAR RENTAL" then took out £218.58. Car Trawler charged me for the car hire and then Firefly who supplied the car also charged me for the hire. A complete SCAM, steer clear of both these companies because they have no customer services either, to deal with the issue,

City/airport: Malaga

Nelly's rating of their experience of Firefly: (1/5) on 13 October 2019

Just love Firefly. With some companies they just don't give up on trying to sell their own expensive insurance. I was simply asked whether I had my own and when I said yes, that was that. Great car too - it had a bit of damage but I don't mind that. Will definitely use them again.

City/airport: Reus Barcelona

Car hire Reus's rating of their experience of Firefly: (5/5) on 9 October 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Great allround

City/airport: Belfast

Andy N's rating of their experience of Firefly: (5/5) on 8 October 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Terrible service, prices and dirty car.

City/airport: Rome Fuimincino

Ripped off's rating of their experience of Firefly: (1/5) on 1 October 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Long wait to pick the car up, helpful staff, no hard sell on the extras also hired a car seat which was ready waiting for us, overall apart from the long wait everything went well and I would use them again

City/airport: Murcia

TRS's rating of their experience of Firefly: (3.5/5) on 1 October 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

I always use firefly as they appear to be the most honest.

City/airport: Alicante

Dunc's rating of their experience of Firefly: (4.5/5) on 1 October 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Good up-front service, but care needed on return of vehicle, especially so out of hours when no one available to inspect the returned vehicle

City/airport: Girona airport

Happy Traveller's rating of their experience of Firefly: (3/5) on 29 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Cheap initial cost, over priced fuel on pick up, but main complaint is that it took almost 2 hours to collect the car. Not enough staff & too much time spent trying to sell insurance that wasn't wanted

City/airport: Murcia

Mad hamster's rating of their experience of Firefly: (3/5) on 29 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

After reading all the bad reviews. I was really scared hiring here. However it took less than 10 minutes to get the car, we got upgraded from a Corsa to a Seat Leon which was great. I didn’t like the amount they take for deposit, but I got this back within a couple of days. I was really nervous about the experience and didn’t need to be. It was a good experience.

City/airport: Alicante

Si's rating of their experience of Firefly: (5/5) on 25 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Very efficient

City/airport: Carcassonne

Steve's rating of their experience of Firefly: (4/5) on 22 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Quick and easy transaction Good price.

City/airport: Slough

Jbey's rating of their experience of Firefly: (5/5) on 18 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Perfect company to use.

City/airport: Alicante

Poppsie's rating of their experience of Firefly: (5/5) on 16 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Very poor customer service, lots of extra charges when you arrive and damaged vehicles which they expect you to scour in the dark underground car park. I saw lots of others at the desk charged for damage they contested. My advice is to avoid this company

City/airport: Málaga

Sam's rating of their experience of Firefly: (1/5) on 15 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Cheap and no hassle

City/airport: Alicante

Stevie's rating of their experience of Firefly: (5/5) on 11 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Ok experience, good price. Car was a bit of a heap with dents all over and an electric window not working. Nervous that it would break down during the holiday!

City/airport: Treviso

FM's rating of their experience of Firefly: (3/5) on 5 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

unduly charged 3 insurance policies. horrible customer service

City/airport: Malaga

Mik's rating of their experience of Firefly: (1/5) on 21 August 2019

If you have any comments or concerns about a review listed here please contact us for assistance.