Europcar Reviews

Have you hired a car from Europcar recently? Why not submit a review of your experiences to help others?
Europcar's Rating:
3.7/5 based on 419 reviews
5 stars
97
4 stars
62
3 stars
17
2 stars
6
1 star
32
Save money on your car hire! Get the best cover for your
Car Hire Excess Insurance
20 years of renting vehicles and this was easily the worst. We rented a car that had an extremely minor rub mark to the bumper. When we returned the vehicle they said no worries and we went on our way. A few weeks later €650 was charged to our credit card. We filed a complaint and there was no reply as I provided pictures and quoted their policy that said minor run marks would be not charged. Now I have to go through my credit card company who are in the process of going after these scam artists.

City/airport: Venice

KFed's rating of their experience of Europcar: (1/5) on 29 April 2020

With one exception, a complicated third party claim, they always give good service and do not try to load charges for excess or minute marks like some other companies

City/airport: Gatwick

Andy's rating of their experience of Europcar: (4/5) on 27 March 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Brilliantly cheap and easy to acquire a cheaper way to insure a vehicle.

City/airport: Yeovil, Somerset

Robin in Twain's rating of their experience of Europcar: (5/5) on 22 March 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Excellent service

City/airport: Slough

Raz's rating of their experience of Europcar: (5/5) on 17 March 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Hired an estate car to be told a mokka was same category. Wanted to charge us more for an Alhambra. As we had a wheelchair this was not satisfactory. Turned out that depot was nearly all Mokkas. So beware if you are boooking an estate car

City/airport: Playa de palma

Costa's rating of their experience of Europcar: (3.5/5) on 15 March 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Car spotless and ran well

City/airport: Faro airport

Albufeira's rating of their experience of Europcar: (4.5/5) on 14 March 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Very good new car no waiting around even on returning

City/airport: Dublin Airport

Barney's rating of their experience of Europcar: (5/5) on 10 March 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

good all round service

City/airport: barcelona

Hadders's rating of their experience of Europcar: (5/5) on 9 March 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Rapacious

City/airport: Perpignan

MJ's rating of their experience of Europcar: (2/5) on 6 March 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

All the details were there when we arrived. Desk staff friendly and efficient. Car was very new and was an excellent drive (Skoda Octavia 4x4 Auto with snow tyres). Easy return system.

City/airport: Geneva

TW's rating of their experience of Europcar: (5/5) on 6 March 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Nice car, no queues, booked through easyJet

City/airport: Salzburg

DonG's rating of their experience of Europcar: (5/5) on 4 March 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

we love Europcar for car hire... always professional, quick... and more importantly NO additional or hidden costs... We would only ever book with them

City/airport: luton

hayley's rating of their experience of Europcar: (5/5) on 3 March 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

I recently hired a Europcar rental car at Gatwick Airport, the agent, Marie, advised that it was “mandatory” to obtain theft insurance or the car would not be released. This doubled the cost of the rental. I subsequently learned this was not the case - theft insurance is not "mandatory". I reached out to Europcar who agreed this was sharp business practice but stated since I rented the car they would continue to charge me. It appears their policy is to purposely mislead at the desk and claim there is no record. I have given Europcar the chance to comment on this review, and they had no comments.

City/airport: Gatwick

Canadian's rating of their experience of Europcar: (1/5) on 2 March 2020

Second time we have been to this one in Funchal. Quite relaxed & friendly staff. Took out the extra cover in case of any problems such as puncture, lost keys etc. Cover already provided only covered for car faults.

City/airport: Funchal, Madeira

JF's rating of their experience of Europcar: (4/5) on 1 March 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

I will never trust Europcar (Keddy) ever again In carcassonne airport in September 2019 this unscrupulous company (trading as Keddy) added glass and roadside assistance to my contract without asking if I wanted it or bringing it to my attention at all! I didn't notice it had been added, and signed because I placed false trust (more full me) in them. I had been waiting for the counter guy to offer me extra insurance, and was ready to refuse because I had bought in advance, excess, glass and roadside assistance cover from Ryanair in advance. In fact I remember thinking it was weird he hadn't tried to sell me extra insurance at the time! They waited until I had returned home from holiday before taking £87 from my credit card for insurance I had never requested or needed! When I complained to them about the misselling they initially ignored me, then fobbed me off by referring me to their terms and conditions. I took my case to the European Car Rental Conciliation Service (ECRCS) and Europcar actually claimed that I had been fully appraised of the insurance and had agreed to it. I found this assertion quite unbelievable. ECRCS could not find in my favour however because I had signed the contract and they could't rule on a dispute over a conversation that had happened between two parties at the counter. It goes without saying I would never ever recommend or use this company ever again. The only good thing to come out of this disgraceful affair is that Europcar were charged £50 for the investigation by ECRCS, which should have taken care of their commission earned from their unscrupulous behaviour.

City/airport: carcassonne airport

Jayjay's rating of their experience of Europcar: (1/5) on 29 February 2020

Very good, fast collect and return. Highly recommend

City/airport: Cork airport

Barlow28's rating of their experience of Europcar: (5/5) on 25 February 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Extra charge after a week long journet, very limited milage. The van and people at the local office were good, the website didn't work and the phone booking to an indeterminate call centre didn't make the booking correctly. Avoid.

City/airport: darlington

Moving house's rating of their experience of Europcar: (1/5) on 25 February 2020

Scammed by Europcar. Took out full insurance and dropped off the car with no damage whatsoever. 3 days after dropping car off they debited £330 from my credit card. When I rang to complain they said the charges were for ‘damage’, but they never said anything when they inspected the car and never bothered to contact me! Luckily I have got video of the car at collection and return and also recorded the guy telling me that everything was ok at return so will be going to court if they don’t return the money. Don’t use this company

City/airport: Paris airport

Rob's rating of their experience of Europcar: (1/5) on 17 February 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Very good

City/airport: Dublin

Michael's rating of their experience of Europcar: (5/5) on 17 February 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Shocking experience with all the very worst up-selling, deposit and insurance scams. Refuse to pay much more at the counter and they will refuse to let you have the car you booked. Then you will have to try your luck at the mercy of other carhire desks without notice. Never again, don't risk it.

City/airport: London Gatwick

HatefulScammers's rating of their experience of Europcar: (1/5) on 12 February 2020

Very good professional service!

City/airport: Lincoln

Scandidave's rating of their experience of Europcar: (5/5) on 11 February 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Excellent

City/airport: Barcelona T2

Biddy's rating of their experience of Europcar: (5/5) on 7 February 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Service was OK, car had a lot of previous damage which we made sure was signed off before we left.

City/airport: Barcelona

Teddie's rating of their experience of Europcar: (3/5) on 3 February 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Great pick up and clean car

City/airport: Genèva

Paul's rating of their experience of Europcar: (5/5) on 3 February 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Overall good, the car had some dents and scratches when I collected it ,but they did initially want to blame me for some minor scratches when I returned the vehicle. I persuaded them that these were not my doing and they accepted this in the end

City/airport: La Palma

astra's rating of their experience of Europcar: (4/5) on 26 January 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

If you have any comments or concerns about a review listed here please contact us for assistance.