Europcar Reviews

Have you hired a car from Europcar recently? Why not submit a review of your experiences to help others?
Europcar's Rating:
3.6/5 based on 230 reviews
5 stars
102
4 stars
67
3 stars
14
2 stars
6
1 star
41
Save money on your car hire! Get the best cover for your
Car Hire Excess Insurance
Fine although don’t be tricked into phoning them as it’s a premium rate number.

City/airport: Kingston upon Thames

Robbie's rating of their experience of Europcar: (5/5) on 13 June 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Very good quick pick up and return.

City/airport: Tarragon

Bean's rating of their experience of Europcar: (5/5) on 12 June 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Found the whole car hire experience so difficult, that I would probably not go on a holiday that needed a hire car. The child seats didnt attach to the car and had to be tied on by hand as a botch up. The map that was provided didnt include the airport, so ended up lost in Preveza for half an hour. The hand brake was weird. It did not seem to hold the car at all on the hills. At one stage we were stuck for 2-3 minutes with cars hooting behind trying not to slip back down the hill. No doubt if we had read the instructions, it would have told us about 'auto-hold', but the instruction book was in Greek. It took us a while to locate the controls (again no instructions given at the airport). The diesel tank on one of the cars was partially full with instructions to fill it to exactly the same level on return (how do you do that?). there were no spaces at the airport parking to return the car, so had to move bollards to do that. I hate hiring cars and will try to avoid doing so ever again.

City/airport: Preveza

Tourist1's rating of their experience of Europcar: (1/5) on 10 June 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

I've often hired from them and always found them easy and pleasant to deal with, and no nasty surprises.

City/airport: Exeter City

Clare's rating of their experience of Europcar: (5/5) on 9 June 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Car ready on time but it was an automatic which I hadn’t ordered. No-one offered to show me the controls or round the car. There was damage on the wheel arch that wasn’t recorded so I had to go back to the office to tell them. Expensive to add extra driver or cover excess (which I didn’t need)

City/airport: Limoges

Rachel's rating of their experience of Europcar: (3.5/5) on 9 June 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Slightly slow pick-up, but no slower than other car hire companies, and efficient drop-off.

City/airport: Nice Cote d'Azur

Pierrot's rating of their experience of Europcar: (4/5) on 6 June 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

We were given the choice of an upgrade to Peugeot 3008 for an €5 extra per day which we gladly accepted and enjoyed our holiday driving around Ireland in a bigger car.

City/airport: Kerry

Car driver's rating of their experience of Europcar: (4.5/5) on 5 June 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

The staff were very helpful and got the car that was comfortable with

City/airport: Oxford

Nod's rating of their experience of Europcar: (3.5/5) on 30 May 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

We returned the car to Munich Airport and ste staff there is not reliable and trustworhty. The guy who checked our car asked us to take our bags quickly. We took our bags from trunk and he quickly closed all doors and sat inside to check the interior. he came out and said NOTHING about the bag we had left on the first seat. we left and in 5 minutes noticed that one bag was missing. I remembered taht i put it on the first seat in order not to put in of the dirty floor while offloading rest of the bags. We went back to the car return and asked about the bag - they said they did not know anything about the bag. that it was not in the car. The staff there is probably not working for Europcar with permanent contracts, but i guess in case company is not choosing right and honest people, they as responsible for these incidents. I turned to Europcar Munich Airport and they even did not answer my complaint. I will definately avoid this company in future and suggest the others to be very careful with them.

City/airport: Munich Airport

kylli's rating of their experience of Europcar: (1/5) on 26 May 2019

Simple and quick pickup and return.

City/airport: Brussels south.

Leachy's rating of their experience of Europcar: (5/5) on 26 May 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Chest and head injury from no airbag or seatbelt working in hire car @Europcar. No accessible replacement car offered. Left to pay for two days car hire with no car. very poor health and safety and customer service @Europcar

City/airport: Edinburgh

Unhappy Customer's rating of their experience of Europcar: (1/5) on 25 May 2019

Good clean cars. Returning always a problem getting inspection. Claim damage on one occasion but appealed. OK. Charged insurance when not wanted. Awaiting result. Not much delay at reception.

City/airport: Almeria

Dusty's rating of their experience of Europcar: (4/5) on 25 May 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Very disappointed. Booked a particular sized car but got offered a car which is definitely smaller but apparently it's in the same group. So I asked is there any other cars but apparently there was only this car in that group. So I was obliged to pay extra and upgrade as I needed a bigger car. Just as I walked off with the keys the customer on the next counter got offered the car that I had booked, proved to me the person serving me was lying. I won't be hiring from them again!

City/airport: Luton airport

Tj's rating of their experience of Europcar: (1.5/5) on 21 May 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Good car, upgrade free.

City/airport: Skavsta Nykoping

Fin's rating of their experience of Europcar: (5/5) on 21 May 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

On collecting the car keys we were dealt with by Chris who clearly explained the collection procedure and was very welcoming. He wished us a enjoyable stay. He also explained and showed us the slight damage marked on the hire form and advised us to thoroughly check the car and if we found any further damage not marked on the form we were to bring it to the attention of the person who we took the form to. On checking the car, we notice a small scratch on the rear offside door. On reporting this scratch to the employee of Europcar, he stated that, it was not his concern and that we should take photographs which would suffice. We had already taken photographs but we again asked him to check and note the damage, as we were told to do. He still refused saying that if he noted the scratch we could then claim any future scratches were already present on receiving the car. We had to insist that he examine and note this scratch, which he very reluctantly agreed to do, although he did not note near or offside door. On our returning the car, this same individual gave it a very thorough examination which was what he should have done on collection. We then went to the hire desk and spoke to a lady who on hearing our story and our description of the un-cooperative employee, raised her eyes up to the heavens and said, I know who you mean, giving us the impression they have had similar complaints regarding this person. We would give Europcar another chance as everything apart from this ignorant, lazzy individual was excellent.

City/airport: Dublin

Noddycar's rating of their experience of Europcar: (3/5) on 19 May 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Very easy to rent, pick up and drop off. good customer service. They did try to up sell but weren’t pushy and accepted our ‘no thanks’ first time.

City/airport: Bristol

Lassfaefife's rating of their experience of Europcar: (4.5/5) on 15 May 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Awful customer service, untrustworthy staff and take unauthorised payments from the wrong card. Not a company to use for your car hire. Inverness Airport branch is a joke. Wait ages to be served and the guy then falsely claims you NEED their insurance. AVOID!

City/airport: Inverness

Rich's rating of their experience of Europcar: (1/5) on 13 May 2019

Very rude unhelpful staff, almost aggressive, threw paperwork back at me, insulting. I was calm polite but upset at this, he threatened to call security and have me thrown out. My wife heard everything, she was on the phone. Manager more supportive

City/airport: London Stansted Airport

Cy's rating of their experience of Europcar: (1/5) on 1 May 2019

Everything fine apart from dodgy petrol policy. Petrol charged on pick up unlikely to use amount charged 4 days in Channel Islands!!

City/airport: Jersey airport

Ferryman's rating of their experience of Europcar: (4/5) on 30 April 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Brilliant no fuss service from a very good company

City/airport: Palma de Mallorca

Ginger's rating of their experience of Europcar: (5/5) on 29 April 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Very efficient and friendly customer service. Easy to return car to Europcar dedicated car parking. The airport location surcharge was a bit high.

City/airport: Perth airport

Frenchie's rating of their experience of Europcar: (5/5) on 26 April 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Don't use this Rental car company. I've used all the big ones and some small ones and this one charges you an extra $40 if you have any tickets (parking or otherwise) as a non-negotiable administration fee. Even if you disagree with the ticket. Not only that, it took my almost a half hour to find their location because the office was no where near where the cars were.

City/airport: Edinburgh

FT's rating of their experience of Europcar: (1/5) on 26 April 2019

Definitely the best car hire experience I have had in the last four years. Efficient, easy, clear and transparent from start to finish. Just what you expect car hire to be (but rarely is).

City/airport: Barcelona el prat

Adamskic's rating of their experience of Europcar: (4.5/5) on 25 April 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Ok

City/airport: Alicante

Ken's rating of their experience of Europcar: (4/5) on 14 April 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Very good, efficient

City/airport: Venice

Minnie's rating of their experience of Europcar: (5/5) on 14 April 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

If you have any comments or concerns about a review listed here please contact us for assistance.