Europcar Reviews

Have you hired a car from Europcar recently? Why not submit a review of your experiences to help others?
Europcar's Rating:
3.4/5 based on 332 reviews
5 stars
58
4 stars
45
3 stars
13
2 stars
5
1 star
34
Save money on your car hire! Get the best cover for your
Car Hire Excess Insurance
I have used Europcar several times in the past and have always been very happy with them. At Bergerac airport, however, there appear to be no staff other than those in the office - you have to wonder round the car park looking for the car and when you return it, there isn’t anyone to do the immediate checks. Nearly a week after returning the car, I still haven’t had confirmation that my deposit has been cancelled.

City/airport: Bergerac

Kate B's rating of their experience of Europcar: (4/5) on 25 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

I always have found the cars in good condition and pick up and drop off arrangements efficient. I picked up the car in Inverness where there is a small service desk that can have a long queue . A new queuing ticket system had been installed that allocated a place in the queue. This allowed me to freely move around at the terminal until it was my turn. It was a much more relaxing exprience.

City/airport: inverness

Philip MK's rating of their experience of Europcar: (4/5) on 24 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Ok but would be nice if they checked the vehicles in properly without customer requesting it

City/airport: Tredegar

Tony's rating of their experience of Europcar: (1.5/5) on 24 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Had a flat tire. Europcar offered to tow the car away but nothing else. Not the most helpful response on holiday...

City/airport: Toulouse

Kendo's rating of their experience of Europcar: (2/5) on 20 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Received an upgrade for free after trying to get me to buy into it.....still I had friendly service, car was good enough for the purpose, no hassles at all.

City/airport: Viseu

AGN's rating of their experience of Europcar: (4/5) on 20 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Ordered a 5-door automatic for a week. Got one that was smaller than the indicative model but had a free SatNav (not a problem as it was just for me). The SatNav wasn't as clever as Google Maps at finding places though. Am signed up with Eurostar and bought my rental direct so priority pick up was very quick. Wasn't hassled over excess insurance. No issues with the car or with return.

City/airport: Nice Cote D'Azur

Marge's rating of their experience of Europcar: (4/5) on 19 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

inefficient service, long queues, robotic staff with impenetrable accents. bedlam also when returning the car - plethora of adjacent turnings by the office led us astray.

City/airport: catania

jim's rating of their experience of Europcar: (1/5) on 19 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Supplied a decent car as arranged

City/airport: Exeter

Vince's rating of their experience of Europcar: (3.5/5) on 16 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Decent car. Good price.

City/airport: Bergerac

Gooch's rating of their experience of Europcar: (3.5/5) on 15 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Collection and drop off was seamless. Car was clean, fairly new and had Sat Nav, which I hadn’t asked for in my grade of vehicle.

City/airport: Nice airport

Rossco's rating of their experience of Europcar: (4/5) on 11 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Good clean car and easy collection

City/airport: Mahon minorjca

David's rating of their experience of Europcar: (4/5) on 10 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Booking through Europcar direct is Brilliant, but the Keddy Europcar service is sneaky , has hidden T & C's e.g. high deposit and ltd mileage not very ethical.

City/airport: Leicester

Hassan's rating of their experience of Europcar: (3.5/5) on 9 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Despite refusing the usual hard sell of extras on pick up, 5 days after returning home I had a bill for €95 for a Toll pass and enhanced recovery. Both of which I refused but had still be added to my contract. Eurocar car customer services would simply not accept that their employees were clearly carrying out malpractice and totally ignored my account of the situation. My advice is to simply avoid at all costs.

City/airport: Lisbon

Grapesy's rating of their experience of Europcar: (1/5) on 9 September 2019

Excellent people, excellent service. Not impressed with the actual; car I was given (122k on the clock!)

City/airport: Larnaca

Mr Ashbo's rating of their experience of Europcar: (4.5/5) on 8 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

First class

City/airport: Cork Airport

DD's rating of their experience of Europcar: (5/5) on 7 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Quick efficient service collecting and returning the car

City/airport: Geneva

CCM's rating of their experience of Europcar: (3.5/5) on 4 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

When I arrived at the desk a guy was very fast and pulled up my details very quick. Then he said if I did not take the complete car coverage and collision damage waiver insurance (cost extra €400) I could not take the car on the road. I told him I had Reduce My Access policy. He said it was no good and asked to see it. I said unfortunately I did not have it on me. He said it would not matter, but unless I paid the extra I could not have the car !! I said I will have to pay it as I need to move about. Next question, will you be going to Northern Ireland ? I said possibly. He said that will be another €30 for taking the car over the border. But the up side, as you have paid all this money I will give you an upgrade !! I then went to the car in the Carpark and it was clean in very good order. The guys here were very friendly and helpful and could not do enough for me. When I returned the car to the kiosk in the Carpark I met some different guys who were extremely helpful and friendly. It was such a shame the first guy ripped me off. What a way to start your visit home by paying €430.00 more than you expected. I go home on a regular bases but will never use Europcar again and would suggest everyone checks their insurance before booking.

City/airport: Dublin

Bad practice's rating of their experience of Europcar: (1/5) on 3 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Quick process, friendly staff.

City/airport: Inverness

Simon's rating of their experience of Europcar: (4/5) on 2 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Quite efficient collection and return. Not too fussy regarding minor scratches. Cars reasonably valeted although lacked wiper fluid.

City/airport: Montpellier

Cornel's rating of their experience of Europcar: (4/5) on 2 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Ok

City/airport: Valencia

Garthy's rating of their experience of Europcar: (4/5) on 2 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

The car was a 2017 Ford Focus and was just perfect. I picked the car up from Larnaca Airport and was given a comprehensive handover. All this at 22.00 hrs. I was very surprised and pleased. It's got to be said that using Reduce my Excess gave me peace of mind even though I did not need to use it. Very reasonable price compared to what the hire company wanted for a similar cover.

City/airport: Larnaca

Gearboxkev's rating of their experience of Europcar: (5/5) on 1 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Good service, flexible drop off points

City/airport: Nantes

Mark's rating of their experience of Europcar: (4/5) on 30 August 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Excellent service could not be faulted. Returning car was easy and hassle free.

City/airport: Gatwick

Micky's rating of their experience of Europcar: (5/5) on 27 August 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

The car was is a very bad state and we wasted almost one hour inspecting the car / recording dents, body paint scratches, poke on windscreen, dirty seats. The car interior and inside windscreen was not clean. On top of it all, the fuel tank was not full and we were initially expected to return it full.

City/airport: Mulhouse

Ben's rating of their experience of Europcar: (2.5/5) on 27 August 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Excellent, efficient service, modern cars.

City/airport: Bari airport

Geordie Graeme's rating of their experience of Europcar: (4/5) on 26 August 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

If you have any comments or concerns about a review listed here please contact us for assistance.