Easirent Reviews

Have you hired a car from Easirent recently? Why not submit a review of your experiences to help others?
Easirent's Rating:
1.8/5 based on 47 reviews
5 stars
3
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
25
Save money on your car hire! Get the best cover for your
Car Hire Excess Insurance
The reminder documents sent before I arrived didn’t have a list of all the things I needed. So I brought a whole swathe of docs only to find out I needed more. The guy who received us when we went to collect the car was unpleasant and snappy. He asked us to point out scratches etc and then had a go when we did saying he wasn’t going to “fleece” us so we didn’t need to point out everything. We went for the option to pay for the fuel in the car to reduce the charge to my card. The price was much higher than what we paid to fill it up. The car was slow (foot on the floor in second to get up a hill) and the sun visor fell off. All in all - not impressed!

City/airport: London

MF's rating of their experience of Easirent: (1/5) on 17 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Typical budget car rental company. Good price. Don’t bother with the shuttle bus though - it’s about a 20min walk from terminal 2 to the car rental place, bus turns up once an hour, if you’re lucky enough to be able to get on it.

City/airport: Dublin

LM's rating of their experience of Easirent: (2.5/5) on 10 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Very shady office and practises avoid at all cost use a reputable firm it will be much cheaper in the finish

City/airport: Gatwick

The brit's rating of their experience of Easirent: (1/5) on 9 September 2019

I've used ReduceMyExcess.co.uk for a couple of years and is a great service so you don't have to take out additional insurance with the hire car company. I only had to make one claim on the policy, due to a small hole in one of the tyres. The process was quick and easy and I received the payment in 14 days, as quoted. Fantastic, helpful and trustworthy service. It is frustrating that there is now no longer a contact phone number to phone and speak to someone in person. I submitted an online enquiry, but did not get a reply. So although the FAQ section is helpful, I would have liked to have spoken to someone on a phone about my particular query. Clearly the online phone does not work! The reason I am cancelling is because (to my understanding) ReduceMyExcess.co.uk does not provide full CDW or SLI Cover. Although, most UK Car Hire Companies should provide this cover without question. The company I use does not. I have therefore turned to another provider, that does provide it - at a lot higher annual rate. It would be really useful for ReduceMyExcess.co.uk provided an additional cost/cover for full CDW and SLI cover. Then I would return to them straight away. Hopefully, they will do this and I can come back.

City/airport: Edinburgh

Jim's rating of their experience of Easirent: (3.5/5) on 5 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

I wish I had read Easirent's reviews prior to my very cheap car hire booking, lesson learned. Apart from the portable building office and building site car park, off site from the airport, my booking had to be cancelled through no fault of my own (essentially the staff weren't using the card machine properly and they couldn't process the pre-authorisation). I was told repetedly that it was "my problem". I declined to pay an additional 200 odd to reduce the excess (and complete the booking) as this was 7 times more expensive than the car hire cost. They will not refund 20 odd, it's peanuts I know but it's the principle. They will not listen, they will not see any other side but their own, however incorrect they are. They told me I had insufficient funds, which was incorrect and they told me I had exceeded my credit limit, which was also incorrect. I was able to hire a car from a more professional company the same day using the same credit card, but Easirent still maintains the card issue was "my problem". I am still waiting for my partial refund 7 weeks later and am still disputing not getting a full refund. Book a hire car with Easirent if: - you would like terrible customer service; - you want to feel like you're going to get mugged at their "depot"; - you don't mind being told repetedly "it's your problem" when you know it's their error; - you don't mind having your booking cancelled because they can't process a pre-authorisation; and - ...just don't waste your time and energy on these unsophisticated scammers.

City/airport: Cork Airport

Unhappy customer's rating of their experience of Easirent: (1/5) on 20 August 2019

Waited at pick up point 1 hour 45 not good enough, car was not cleaned, excuse we are very busy I will not use them again.

City/airport: Dublin airport

Guv 501's rating of their experience of Easirent: (1/5) on 12 August 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

I'm having trouble finding words to describe these cowboys. We booked a car from them through holidaycars.com(another cowboy company) about 3 weeks before our trip. Because the deposit was in the extortionate amount of over £1800 and needed to be paid via a credit card, i decided to put it in my partner's name about a week before the trip. Got an email back saying they won't be able to change the name, no explanation given. We arrived at easihire's depot in birmingham on the day we needed the car where the guy at the reception was not helpful at all and he didn't seemed to bothered either. We tried to pay the deposit with my partner's card, we were both present. Easirent wouldn't accept it because my name was not on the card. So what difference does it make who pays the deposit as long as its paid and the person paying it is present? We were given the option to pay an extra £180, which was more than the price of the car rental or lose the money. We decided not to pay them an extra penny and raise a dispute through the bank as we though we've been scammed. Nowhere on the booking does it say you have to show 2 forms of proof of address, luckily all our bills come via email so we were able to produce them but if you dont have that, you're screwed, you will have no choice but to lose the money or pay them extra as cancellation refunds are not issued unless you cancel before 48 hrs of your car collection. When we read their bad reviews we were worried we might fall for their scam but the low price determined us to take the chance. Little did we know how sorry we were going to be for choosing these con artists. Stay away from easirent and holidaycars.com. the price you see online is not what you will be paying, read all their reviews.

City/airport: Birmingham International

CybeRocK's rating of their experience of Easirent: (1/5) on 2 August 2019

The company were awful. The car was cheap to rent but sales were really pushy and made me feel so uncomfortable I decided to leave without taking the car. I would not recommend this company

City/airport: Belfast

Gemma's rating of their experience of Easirent: (1/5) on 2 August 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Utterly awful. No bus for collection for 1 hour. Then 1 1/2 hours waiting for car. Then on return nearly missed flight and had to walk to terminal because the bus that was supposed to come every half hour had not appeared for over an hour. Do not use, do not let anyone use this company

City/airport: Dublin

Pmf3002's rating of their experience of Easirent: (1/5) on 29 July 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

DO NOT USE - DANGEROUS AND UNSAFE. We booked online through the easirent website, paid the "super relax" insurance meaning we didn't need to pay a deposit and didn't require a credit card. We arrived at the airport and waited 40 minutes for the shuttle bus to arrive. When it finally arrived it took us to a hotel and then back to the airport before finally arriving at the depot. it would be quicker to walk. we then were told we had to pay another 80 euros for "more" insurance. Apparently the wheels aren't insured under the super relax cover. After 1 hour of driving the car we got an error on the dashboard saying we had a problem with a tyre. I checked the pressure at a f garage and one tyre was very low. filled it and drove another 30 minutes before the warning came on again. I checked the pressure again and it was low. this was when I noticed a hole in the tire that had been filled with some sealant. Not a problem, I can change it with the spare in the boot, no spare in the boot just an empty "tyre sealant bottle". it was Sunday afternoon and no garages were open. I called the easirent breakdown number to be told that I should take the car to the garage and they will reimburse me if I take a receipt. I explained it is Sunday and nowhere is open. she didn't care and said I will have to do it tomorrow. we are 2 hours away from our hotel, clearly not safe to drive and not a good first impression of Ireland. luckily the nice lady at the Texaco garage called a mechanic for use and after 1 hour he arrived. we had to follow him back to his work but he fixed it (better impression of Ireland, thank you Paul). He wrote on our receipt that the tyre was unsafe and the car should NOT have been given to us and also pointed out that all 4 tyres were almost illegal. They over charge and give you cars that could be extremely dangerous. PLEASE AVOID. we still have 3 more days left and only god knows if the car will make it without breaking again. can't wait to see what they say about this and also what they try and charge us for some fictitional damage we have caused. I have made an official complaint and surprise surprise we have had no response for over 1 week. I will be taking this further and leaving a review on every website possible. Your cars are dangerous and could have caused a serious accident. Waiting almost 14.days for a refund on the tyre we has to replace. Absolute cowboys

City/airport: dublin

avoid's rating of their experience of Easirent: (1/5) on 29 July 2019

Good value, quick service, good location, pleasant staff

City/airport: London Heathrow

PeteW's rating of their experience of Easirent: (5/5) on 25 July 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Dont be robbed! Pay a bit more and go to a reliable company. Easirent is the worst possible business out there and should be shut down. I tried my luck once too many and never again! Their pick up locations all around london airports are extremely inconvenient. They give cheap rates but then force you into high cost insurnace from them or threaten you with £2000 deposits on your credit card. The car you book is not available and they cheat you into different ones seeing you vulnerable after long travels and knowing you're in the middle of nowhere at their location. Discourteous staff with no regard for regular customers. Promise their shuttle will be on time and made me miss my flight on 2 of 3 occasions I rented with them. A huge disappointment. The company should be shut down

City/airport: Gatwick

Morfi's rating of their experience of Easirent: (1/5) on 13 July 2019

CarJet.com and Easirent.com WARNING !! SCAMMERS !! Never Again !! . I rented a car from CarJet.com ( paid for it in full +insurance ) for collection on 29/06/2019 from Birmingham Airport at 12.30 . The flight was delayed by 3.5 hrs from Dublin and therefore I was unable to get to Birmingham on time. I rang Easirent.com when I arrived at Birmingham ( as instructed ) and it took them 50 mins to arrive and was then asked to go to their depot to collect the car. I ( and my family ) proceeded to collect the car from Easirent.com Birmingham and I was told by Easirent.com representative , `` You are over 2 hours late and the car has been given to another customer`` I asked , ``was this stipulation on the Terms & Conditions``, and got no reply!. I requested another car therefore and I was told, `` The money you paid for the Car Hire is non refundable as you are over 2 hours late collecting it , so therefore you can book another car but you must PAY for it AGAIN `` , which I refused! I rang Head Office of CarJet.com and was told the same. `` Sorry but should you want another car you must PAY for it AGAIN `` I had 4 family members with me and all the luggage and had no alternative but to get a taxi from Easirent Depot to my hotel . I have checked the Booking with CarJet and can not see any reference to being late collecting the car. Do Not Hire From This Company !!! SCAMMERS !!!

City/airport: Birmingham

Dec's rating of their experience of Easirent: (1/5) on 6 July 2019

CarJet.com and Easirent.com WARNING !! Never Again !! WARNING !! are part of the same company I rented a car from CarJet.com for collection on 29/06/2019 from Birmingham Airport at 12.30 . My flight Number was EI 3264 The flight was delayed by 3.5 hrs from Dublin and therefore I was unable to get to Birmingham on time. I rang Easirent.com when I arrived at Birmingham ( as instructed ) and it took them 50 mins to arrive and was then asked to go to their depot to collect the car. I ( and my family ) proceeded to collect the car from Easirent.com Birmingham and I was told by Easirent.com representative , `` You are over 2 hours late and the car has been given to another customer`` I asked , ``was this stipulation on the Terms & Conditions``, and got no reply!. I requested another car therefore and I was told, `` The money you paid for the Car Hire is non refundable as you are over 2 hours late collecting it , so therefore you can book another car but you must pay for it again `` , which I refused! I rang Head Office of CarJet.com and was told the same. `` Sorry but should you want another car you must pay for it again`` I had 4 family members with me and all the luggage and had no alternative but to get a taxi from Easirent Depot to my hotel . I have checked the Booking with CarJet and can not see any reference to being late collecting the car. Declan Doherty Do Not Hire From This Company !!!

City/airport: Birmingham

Declan's rating of their experience of Easirent: (1/5) on 5 July 2019

ok, cheap

City/airport: Birmingham

Frank Zappa's rating of their experience of Easirent: (2.5/5) on 19 June 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Easirent rely on criminal activity to make a profit Do not use!

City/airport: Belfast international airport

Jezza's rating of their experience of Easirent: (1/5) on 17 June 2019

The car windscreen washer jets did not work at all. Suspension was creeking. Automatic gear box when I asked for manual. Air conditioning was poor and not effective. Battery kept going flat after short drives and when I phoned about it they kept telling me to drive long distance to charge the battery up and that it is my fault because I have maybe left the lights or radio on. It just needed a new battery but they wouldn't help me when it finally went flat and the car wouldn't start. They told me to flag a taxi driver down and borrow a jump start.

City/airport: Burgas

Garej's rating of their experience of Easirent: (2/5) on 2 June 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

hidden charges Non- transparency in documentation You will get the same car that you booked

City/airport: Manchester

Kris's rating of their experience of Easirent: (1/5) on 29 May 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Vehicle damage scam. Charged for a dent I couldn’t even see, which the attendant went straight to as soon as I handed the car back. Also tried to keep my fuel deposit as I didn’t keep the receipt for filling up, even though the car was full. Avoid at all costs

City/airport: Southampton

Sim's rating of their experience of Easirent: (1/5) on 28 May 2019

Brilliant service

City/airport: Newcastle

Kev's rating of their experience of Easirent: (5/5) on 24 May 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Not an honest company, avoid. staff are pleasant, but the policies are shocking and you will be left paying considerably more than you expect. Summary: Between inaccurate information, unfair fuel policies, hidden charges, and a ludicrous drop-off charges I STRONGLY advise that nobody use this car hire company. Location: They claim to be in Glasgow's Central Station, but are a 25 minute walk from the station. I don't mind a walk, but this might come as an unexpected surprise and I certainly wouldn't classify it as a station rental company. Fuel Policy: You have to either take their over-priced tank of fuel, or buy fuel from the local garage AND PROVE IT with a receipt. I have rented cars all over the world and have never come across this kind of insane requirement. Surely fuel is fuel regardless of where it is bought? I was given a nonsense reason of "it might not be full if you fill it far away" which is fine, but I was also told that they'd not accept it if I "topped off" at the local garage and would require receipts from all garages. This is completely bananas, and made me suspicious of the whole thing, but I proceeded with the hire anyway. Pick up: I was given a car, and told it was "immaculate, not a scratch" but sure enough, when I did my walk around (whilst being hurried by the staff member) I found at least 5 obvious scratches.They clearly wanted me to not inspect properly, or hoped I'd not notice. Drop-off: Upon drop off I was told that one of the aforementioned scratches had happened during my rental. Despite having highlighted it, the first staff member hadn't noted it down and told me "not to worry about that one". The scratch is barely visible, thinner than a human hair, but still they managed to file it under a charge category which saw me paying £260. It's a case of my word against theirs, but this was a serious case of going by the book, even when it was clearly unfair. The worst bit is, they won't bother repairing it at all - they never do!

City/airport: Glasgow

Pablo's rating of their experience of Easirent: (1/5) on 21 May 2019

Hired car online paid with debit card went to pick up car told I need a credit card which I did not have could not use my wife's told I needed to pay £200 insurance on top of the £110 I had already paid out ended up with no car and £110 light contacted my broker Easy car waist of time keep away from both

City/airport: Birmingham

Davio's rating of their experience of Easirent: (1/5) on 21 April 2019

After reading 1000s of unsatisfied customer reviews about easyrent car hire, I have decided to take on the same challenge to see if I can experience the thrill myself. And now, I can OFFICIALLY APPROVE that EASYRENT Car Hire is the WORST car hire experience one can have in EUROPE. I have booked a basic car for a day (to be precise, its only for about 6hours) to collect it as soon as I arrive at the airport @ about 10am. I have arrived at 10am and exited the airport at about 1015. Step (1) There are no easyrent car hire office at the airport location. so I had to call a number provided in the booking voucher. After choosing selection 2 I have been transferred to somebody and he said I have to wait at the airport for few more people to arrive and a shuttle bus will come and collect as a group and take to the easyrent office which is miles away from the airport step(2) After waiting for about 20 minutes I have received any response and called him back. He said the driver is busy helping other customers at the office and leave within 10 minutes. It was freezing cold and storm Gareth was in force.(Appropriate climate for a horror experience) step (3) On the third attempt the customer rep at the desk revealed the big secret the pick up point. He navigated me towards the bus stop and I managed to find it after crossing 4 Zebra crossings and turning right. step(4) No sign of driver or shuttle bus. After the forth call the driver arrived in a stinky 7 seater (Literally stinking like hell! 4D expereince!) and waited for another couple arriving in few minutes. step (5) The ride from hell. Obviously he is the only driver for pick ups and he have to do at least 40 pick ups a day according to him and he was driving very dangerously (what a thrill!) step (6) The middle of nowhere. You arrive at the easyrent office hidden away in an industrial park where one receptionist is explaining the "stories" to terrified customer. I can see the horrified face of the poor lady and the sales man trying to drink her blood. step (7) The waiting game. The salesman asked me to wait outside while he dealt with the lady. He gave me a form to keep me engaged while waiting (A brilliant alternative to a puzzle or crossword). step(8) give all you have to the salesman game. Basically you fill all your personal details including the 16 digit card number, expiry date, three digit from the back of the card and sign at the bottom agreeing that you now legally allow the salesman to take any money he wish from you account as he is renting a car to him for few hours. Remeber,these details are already given including your passport details, licence details, address etc at the time of booking and paid in full in advance . But Easyrent want to give us a special experience. Step (9) At about 1130, its my turn! I was ready to be killed. The sales person requested the form, passport, licence , proof of address, the print out of a carhire voucher and my credit card. He asked me to pay about £55 for the day for a full protection insurance or a £1500 deposit. I have offered the deposit as I already had a full protection insurance from carhireexcess.co.uk. step(10) No credit card No car scenario. Unfortunately I had no credit card in my name and I was happy to use my debit card to hold the deposit.(All other hire companies I have used in the past accepted it and I'm a regular hirer of europcar, hertz etc.) step(11) No credit card No Car. The salesman was not having anything but no credit card no car argument. step(12) The time killing game. it was about 12pm and time is running out. I need to return my car at about 4pm as my check in at the airport is at 5pm. I was thinking, its already 12 pm and I haven't got my car yet, I either have to pay the £55 for the insurance (even though I have full protection insurance), fill the paper work, inspect the car and have it for about 2 hours! or finish with the EASYRENT CAR HIRE EXPERIENCE then and there. I have decided to call it a day and forgot the time, money and energy I have wasted for the Easyrent car hire. Step(13) The waiting game part 2. The salesman started serving the other couple and they accepted every demand by the salesman as they wanted the car for 5 days. The sales man ask me to wait outside until he serve the other customers. step(14) The ride back to the airport from hell experience. Obviously the salesman was not happy that I haven't given him all my money and he was having his revenge by driving me back to airport by giving me a terryfying experience. I was literally holding on tight as he was driving very dangerously and I'm not exaggerating anything here. Step(15) The apology game. As soon as we arrived back in the airport at about 1250pm, he apologised to me and said" I'm sorry that I'm only a salesman. My hands are tied". "Experience it to Believe it"

City/airport: Belfast International Airport

Rip off Britan Fan's rating of their experience of Easirent: (1/5) on 14 March 2019

Never use Easirent at BELFAST INTERNATIONAL or any other outlet. They may be cheap but that is just a way of getting you through the door. Once there you are at the mercy of all manner of scams to get you to pay extras for fuel, insurance, fictitious damage, bogus admin fees etc etc. They will insist on ridiculous proof of address with utility bills etc as per the very small print and unlike all other car rental providers - as a way of extracting expensive excess insurance at £70.00 for two days? That's what they did to me.

City/airport: Belfast International

Franky's rating of their experience of Easirent: (1/5) on 28 January 2019

A really racist and discriminatory company. If really want to avoid a bad experience, avoid them. I have been living in Newcastle for the last 7 years, and never had an experience like this. The manager was extremely rude and abusive. I have provide them with every proof of address details they require but the more I did, the more they asked. Showed them bank statements and council tax bill, and the manager said to me how do I know these are not fabricated? , Showed the statements directly from my Mobile bank app, still. He wanted me to show my mortgage documents that I left at home. How on earth , I would get that. This is purely because of my race. Taking this further, in the meantime, if you a foreigner or something like that, this is the worse place you can go to, I had to stop myself not to punch the manager.

City/airport: Newcastle Airport

Staline Francisco's rating of their experience of Easirent: (1/5) on 5 January 2019

If you have any comments or concerns about a review listed here please contact us for assistance.