Easirent Reviews

Have you hired a car from Easirent recently? Why not submit a review of your experiences to help others?
Easirent's Rating:
1.6/5 based on 52 reviews
5 stars
3
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
29
Save money on your car hire! Get the best cover for your
Car Hire Excess Insurance
Office relatively far from airport timewise. I booked our hire car online, whilst i was booking (from the Netherlands) a popup showed on the screen asking if i want to buy insurance a €7 per day to cover tires, glass, and the excess. This sounded great, after arriving at the desk however i was asked if i wanted to buy easirents insurance, the cheapest costing £111!!!!!!!!! I was told in an email from my insurance i bought online NOT to accept easirents insurance because i truly am covered by my internet recognised branded insurance company so i declined. The gentleman behind the desk then blocked €1,978 on my credit card as deposit for the rental car, thats pretty normal, usually not that much but ok its only for three days rental right?????? I refuelled the car and returned it in the same condition i found it at 05:30 on a Sunday morning, i followed the return instructions to the letter and caught my flight home. I have been checking my Visa credit card twice a day every day and to my dismay the huge deposit is still saying reserved!!!! I called the Edingburgh office and a man told me "sorry i can't help you, the money will be returned after 28 days, we can't legally keep it longer than 28 days"!!!! The fact he used the word "legally" is very telling.

City/airport: Edingburgh

Mark's rating of their experience of Easirent: (1/5) on 10 November 2019

EASIRENT and RENTALCARS.COM - TWO CROOKS TO BE AVOIDED AT ALL COST Booked a car rental online from Easirent Fort Lauderdale, Florida, through Rentalcars.com of the UK for one day, November 2-3, 2019, for a Nissan Altima or equivalent for CAN$49.55. Easirent advertises that they have a shuttle pick at Port Everglades cruise port for its clients. Rentalcars.com confirmed this when I called them by telephone. When I got to Port Everglades cruise port on November 2nd, after a short night's sleep on the cruise ship, I called Easirent for the shuttle ride, but was promptly informed that Easirent was not allowed to go to Port Everglades and I would have to find alternate transportation to their office to pick up the rental. Cost of taxi = US$20. At the time of booking, Easirent advertised its address as 321, Southwest 24th Street, Fort Lauderdale (FLL), USA - Florida, 33315. I asked the taxi driver to take us there, but he said they were at the Fort Lauderdale Airport and took us there instead. I did not argue thinking that the taxi driver knew better, and in any case, Easirent also supposedly had a shuttle pick up at Fort Lauderdale Airport. Easirent was NOT at the Fort Lauderdale airport, along with all the other car rental agencies, but their shuttle did arrive and eventually picked us up and took us to their office. At the rental counter I was informed that I would have to pay for insurance and I advised the agent that I had collision waver insurance, but the agent wanted me to pay for liability insurance, which I had never done before with any other rental company as this is typically carried by them. Additional cost for them padding their rental rate CAN$25.27. I was not issued any rental contract or provided any business card, merely asked to take a cell phone photo of the notepad on which the agent indicated all the damages on the vehicle that they ended up providing - a badly damaged Toyota minivan with a four banger engine and filth all over the inside. For that, we had to wait about half an hour while they washed the outside of the van! We then entered the address of our hotel in our portable GPS and drove to the hotel. It was then that I realized I needed to figure out how to return the van prior to our morning Fort Lauderdale-Toronto flight the following day. Putting the address into Google, it became apparent to us that the path to return the van was different from the path we vaguely remembered taking to get to the hotel! So we tried to call Easirent for directions to find them, but no one answered after numerous tries! I called Rentalcars.com and was able to reach them but they were of no help! So our plans to do some shopping and go to the beach in Fort Lauderdale were put on hold until we figured out this mess. We decided to drive to the address we had been given at the time of booking, which was an abandoned building! We drove to a gas station down the street and asked the attendant there if he knew the address for Easirent. Fortunately he did, and wrote that on a piece of paper as 3234, South East 6th Avenue, Fort Lauderdale. We entered that into our GPS and went to Easirent, several blocks away! Having wasted most of the day doing all this, I gave the agent there a piece of my mind. At least now we knew where to return the filthy van, but our day had been wasted - no shopping or beach for us - the reason we had stayed in Fort Lauderdale for a day after the cruise. Once home, I filed a complaint with Rentalcars.com asking for a full refund of the payment I had made to them as a small consolation for the extra costs and nightmare we had been put through. They refused. LESSON LEARNED - Unless you want to waste your time and money dealing with complete incompetents and crooks, avoid both Easirent and Rentalcars.com at all cost.

City/airport: Fort Lauderdale

FrankL's rating of their experience of Easirent: (1/5) on 7 November 2019

Don't touch this company. Disgraceful practises. I needed to hire a car for a visit to Dublin between Sunday 20 October and Wednesday 23rd October 2019. I was attracted to Easirent by their reasonable prices: they had two offers, one that appeared to cover all damages. However, when I arrived with my family at their offices near Dublin Airport I was told that unless I paid for extra cover I would be liable for any damages that may occur. I did think about taking a chance but the representative outlined the amount I would be expected to pay for just a minor problem. Reluctantly, I paid £142 on top of the hire price £48 (for 3 day hire) but with the assurance I would not be charged for any damage should I be unlucky and be involved in an accident. I was also unhappy that the VW Passet that I had booked was not available nor an equivalent car. Again I reluctantly accepted a 7-seater. When checking the car the young lady who had taken my booking emphasised how as the car was almost brand new there were unlike to be any damage on the car. When I returned the car on Wednesday the same young lady came out to check the car. With amazing speed and a lack of subtlety she immediately noted scruff marks on the mirror on the passenger door. I remonstrated as I knew I was not responsible for these marks. The car had been parked in a spaces private car park and we had only driven the car once on a medium journey outside Dublin. She reassured me that as I had paid the extra insurance I would not be charged for any damage. All she required was my signature on an internal form. Once I signed she added casually that I would be charged 70 euros for ‘admin charges’. When I asked for an explanation she said the ‘new damage’ would have to be put on the system and this would cost 70 euros. I replied that I was being charge for ‘damage’ that I was not responsible for. Her reply was to wave the form I had just signed. My querying of being charged 70 euros for damages were met with her replying ad nauseam that I was not being charged for damage but for administrative charges. From reading other customers’ experience of Easirent Car Hire I realise that I am not the first to be the victim of this outrageous scam. I have sent an email asking for my 70 euros back. They have not yet sent a receipt for this ‘admin charge’.

City/airport: Dublin

Kev's rating of their experience of Easirent: (1/5) on 5 November 2019

Very easy and quick to sort out. Staff were polite and car was ready to drive away, great value for money.

City/airport: Crawley

Bert's rating of their experience of Easirent: (4.5/5) on 13 October 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

£30 cancellation fees. aftee makeing a booking an hour before.

City/airport: aliver

Mo Alhabahbeh's rating of their experience of Easirent: (1/5) on 12 October 2019

The reminder documents sent before I arrived didn’t have a list of all the things I needed. So I brought a whole swathe of docs only to find out I needed more. The guy who received us when we went to collect the car was unpleasant and snappy. He asked us to point out scratches etc and then had a go when we did saying he wasn’t going to “fleece” us so we didn’t need to point out everything. We went for the option to pay for the fuel in the car to reduce the charge to my card. The price was much higher than what we paid to fill it up. The car was slow (foot on the floor in second to get up a hill) and the sun visor fell off. All in all - not impressed!

City/airport: London

MF's rating of their experience of Easirent: (1/5) on 17 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Typical budget car rental company. Good price. Don’t bother with the shuttle bus though - it’s about a 20min walk from terminal 2 to the car rental place, bus turns up once an hour, if you’re lucky enough to be able to get on it.

City/airport: Dublin

LM's rating of their experience of Easirent: (2.5/5) on 10 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Very shady office and practises avoid at all cost use a reputable firm it will be much cheaper in the finish

City/airport: Gatwick

The brit's rating of their experience of Easirent: (1/5) on 9 September 2019

I've used ReduceMyExcess.co.uk for a couple of years and is a great service so you don't have to take out additional insurance with the hire car company. I only had to make one claim on the policy, due to a small hole in one of the tyres. The process was quick and easy and I received the payment in 14 days, as quoted. Fantastic, helpful and trustworthy service. It is frustrating that there is now no longer a contact phone number to phone and speak to someone in person. I submitted an online enquiry, but did not get a reply. So although the FAQ section is helpful, I would have liked to have spoken to someone on a phone about my particular query. Clearly the online phone does not work! The reason I am cancelling is because (to my understanding) ReduceMyExcess.co.uk does not provide full CDW or SLI Cover. Although, most UK Car Hire Companies should provide this cover without question. The company I use does not. I have therefore turned to another provider, that does provide it - at a lot higher annual rate. It would be really useful for ReduceMyExcess.co.uk provided an additional cost/cover for full CDW and SLI cover. Then I would return to them straight away. Hopefully, they will do this and I can come back.

City/airport: Edinburgh

Jim's rating of their experience of Easirent: (3.5/5) on 5 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

I wish I had read Easirent's reviews prior to my very cheap car hire booking, lesson learned. Apart from the portable building office and building site car park, off site from the airport, my booking had to be cancelled through no fault of my own (essentially the staff weren't using the card machine properly and they couldn't process the pre-authorisation). I was told repetedly that it was "my problem". I declined to pay an additional 200 odd to reduce the excess (and complete the booking) as this was 7 times more expensive than the car hire cost. They will not refund 20 odd, it's peanuts I know but it's the principle. They will not listen, they will not see any other side but their own, however incorrect they are. They told me I had insufficient funds, which was incorrect and they told me I had exceeded my credit limit, which was also incorrect. I was able to hire a car from a more professional company the same day using the same credit card, but Easirent still maintains the card issue was "my problem". I am still waiting for my partial refund 7 weeks later and am still disputing not getting a full refund. Book a hire car with Easirent if: - you would like terrible customer service; - you want to feel like you're going to get mugged at their "depot"; - you don't mind being told repetedly "it's your problem" when you know it's their error; - you don't mind having your booking cancelled because they can't process a pre-authorisation; and - ...just don't waste your time and energy on these unsophisticated scammers.

City/airport: Cork Airport

Unhappy customer's rating of their experience of Easirent: (1/5) on 20 August 2019

Waited at pick up point 1 hour 45 not good enough, car was not cleaned, excuse we are very busy I will not use them again.

City/airport: Dublin airport

Guv 501's rating of their experience of Easirent: (1/5) on 12 August 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

I'm having trouble finding words to describe these cowboys. We booked a car from them through holidaycars.com(another cowboy company) about 3 weeks before our trip. Because the deposit was in the extortionate amount of over £1800 and needed to be paid via a credit card, i decided to put it in my partner's name about a week before the trip. Got an email back saying they won't be able to change the name, no explanation given. We arrived at easihire's depot in birmingham on the day we needed the car where the guy at the reception was not helpful at all and he didn't seemed to bothered either. We tried to pay the deposit with my partner's card, we were both present. Easirent wouldn't accept it because my name was not on the card. So what difference does it make who pays the deposit as long as its paid and the person paying it is present? We were given the option to pay an extra £180, which was more than the price of the car rental or lose the money. We decided not to pay them an extra penny and raise a dispute through the bank as we though we've been scammed. Nowhere on the booking does it say you have to show 2 forms of proof of address, luckily all our bills come via email so we were able to produce them but if you dont have that, you're screwed, you will have no choice but to lose the money or pay them extra as cancellation refunds are not issued unless you cancel before 48 hrs of your car collection. When we read their bad reviews we were worried we might fall for their scam but the low price determined us to take the chance. Little did we know how sorry we were going to be for choosing these con artists. Stay away from easirent and holidaycars.com. the price you see online is not what you will be paying, read all their reviews.

City/airport: Birmingham International

CybeRocK's rating of their experience of Easirent: (1/5) on 2 August 2019

The company were awful. The car was cheap to rent but sales were really pushy and made me feel so uncomfortable I decided to leave without taking the car. I would not recommend this company

City/airport: Belfast

Gemma's rating of their experience of Easirent: (1/5) on 2 August 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Utterly awful. No bus for collection for 1 hour. Then 1 1/2 hours waiting for car. Then on return nearly missed flight and had to walk to terminal because the bus that was supposed to come every half hour had not appeared for over an hour. Do not use, do not let anyone use this company

City/airport: Dublin

Pmf3002's rating of their experience of Easirent: (1/5) on 29 July 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

DO NOT USE - DANGEROUS AND UNSAFE. We booked online through the easirent website, paid the "super relax" insurance meaning we didn't need to pay a deposit and didn't require a credit card. We arrived at the airport and waited 40 minutes for the shuttle bus to arrive. When it finally arrived it took us to a hotel and then back to the airport before finally arriving at the depot. it would be quicker to walk. we then were told we had to pay another 80 euros for "more" insurance. Apparently the wheels aren't insured under the super relax cover. After 1 hour of driving the car we got an error on the dashboard saying we had a problem with a tyre. I checked the pressure at a f garage and one tyre was very low. filled it and drove another 30 minutes before the warning came on again. I checked the pressure again and it was low. this was when I noticed a hole in the tire that had been filled with some sealant. Not a problem, I can change it with the spare in the boot, no spare in the boot just an empty "tyre sealant bottle". it was Sunday afternoon and no garages were open. I called the easirent breakdown number to be told that I should take the car to the garage and they will reimburse me if I take a receipt. I explained it is Sunday and nowhere is open. she didn't care and said I will have to do it tomorrow. we are 2 hours away from our hotel, clearly not safe to drive and not a good first impression of Ireland. luckily the nice lady at the Texaco garage called a mechanic for use and after 1 hour he arrived. we had to follow him back to his work but he fixed it (better impression of Ireland, thank you Paul). He wrote on our receipt that the tyre was unsafe and the car should NOT have been given to us and also pointed out that all 4 tyres were almost illegal. They over charge and give you cars that could be extremely dangerous. PLEASE AVOID. we still have 3 more days left and only god knows if the car will make it without breaking again. can't wait to see what they say about this and also what they try and charge us for some fictitional damage we have caused. I have made an official complaint and surprise surprise we have had no response for over 1 week. I will be taking this further and leaving a review on every website possible. Your cars are dangerous and could have caused a serious accident. Waiting almost 14.days for a refund on the tyre we has to replace. Absolute cowboys

City/airport: dublin

avoid's rating of their experience of Easirent: (1/5) on 29 July 2019

Good value, quick service, good location, pleasant staff

City/airport: London Heathrow

PeteW's rating of their experience of Easirent: (5/5) on 25 July 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Dont be robbed! Pay a bit more and go to a reliable company. Easirent is the worst possible business out there and should be shut down. I tried my luck once too many and never again! Their pick up locations all around london airports are extremely inconvenient. They give cheap rates but then force you into high cost insurnace from them or threaten you with £2000 deposits on your credit card. The car you book is not available and they cheat you into different ones seeing you vulnerable after long travels and knowing you're in the middle of nowhere at their location. Discourteous staff with no regard for regular customers. Promise their shuttle will be on time and made me miss my flight on 2 of 3 occasions I rented with them. A huge disappointment. The company should be shut down

City/airport: Gatwick

Morfi's rating of their experience of Easirent: (1/5) on 13 July 2019

CarJet.com and Easirent.com WARNING !! SCAMMERS !! Never Again !! . I rented a car from CarJet.com ( paid for it in full +insurance ) for collection on 29/06/2019 from Birmingham Airport at 12.30 . The flight was delayed by 3.5 hrs from Dublin and therefore I was unable to get to Birmingham on time. I rang Easirent.com when I arrived at Birmingham ( as instructed ) and it took them 50 mins to arrive and was then asked to go to their depot to collect the car. I ( and my family ) proceeded to collect the car from Easirent.com Birmingham and I was told by Easirent.com representative , `` You are over 2 hours late and the car has been given to another customer`` I asked , ``was this stipulation on the Terms & Conditions``, and got no reply!. I requested another car therefore and I was told, `` The money you paid for the Car Hire is non refundable as you are over 2 hours late collecting it , so therefore you can book another car but you must PAY for it AGAIN `` , which I refused! I rang Head Office of CarJet.com and was told the same. `` Sorry but should you want another car you must PAY for it AGAIN `` I had 4 family members with me and all the luggage and had no alternative but to get a taxi from Easirent Depot to my hotel . I have checked the Booking with CarJet and can not see any reference to being late collecting the car. Do Not Hire From This Company !!! SCAMMERS !!!

City/airport: Birmingham

Dec's rating of their experience of Easirent: (1/5) on 6 July 2019

CarJet.com and Easirent.com WARNING !! Never Again !! WARNING !! are part of the same company I rented a car from CarJet.com for collection on 29/06/2019 from Birmingham Airport at 12.30 . My flight Number was EI 3264 The flight was delayed by 3.5 hrs from Dublin and therefore I was unable to get to Birmingham on time. I rang Easirent.com when I arrived at Birmingham ( as instructed ) and it took them 50 mins to arrive and was then asked to go to their depot to collect the car. I ( and my family ) proceeded to collect the car from Easirent.com Birmingham and I was told by Easirent.com representative , `` You are over 2 hours late and the car has been given to another customer`` I asked , ``was this stipulation on the Terms & Conditions``, and got no reply!. I requested another car therefore and I was told, `` The money you paid for the Car Hire is non refundable as you are over 2 hours late collecting it , so therefore you can book another car but you must pay for it again `` , which I refused! I rang Head Office of CarJet.com and was told the same. `` Sorry but should you want another car you must pay for it again`` I had 4 family members with me and all the luggage and had no alternative but to get a taxi from Easirent Depot to my hotel . I have checked the Booking with CarJet and can not see any reference to being late collecting the car. Declan Doherty Do Not Hire From This Company !!!

City/airport: Birmingham

Declan's rating of their experience of Easirent: (1/5) on 5 July 2019

ok, cheap

City/airport: Birmingham

Frank Zappa's rating of their experience of Easirent: (2.5/5) on 19 June 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Easirent rely on criminal activity to make a profit Do not use!

City/airport: Belfast international airport

Jezza's rating of their experience of Easirent: (1/5) on 17 June 2019

The car windscreen washer jets did not work at all. Suspension was creeking. Automatic gear box when I asked for manual. Air conditioning was poor and not effective. Battery kept going flat after short drives and when I phoned about it they kept telling me to drive long distance to charge the battery up and that it is my fault because I have maybe left the lights or radio on. It just needed a new battery but they wouldn't help me when it finally went flat and the car wouldn't start. They told me to flag a taxi driver down and borrow a jump start.

City/airport: Burgas

Garej's rating of their experience of Easirent: (2/5) on 2 June 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

hidden charges Non- transparency in documentation You will get the same car that you booked

City/airport: Manchester

Kris's rating of their experience of Easirent: (1/5) on 29 May 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Vehicle damage scam. Charged for a dent I couldn’t even see, which the attendant went straight to as soon as I handed the car back. Also tried to keep my fuel deposit as I didn’t keep the receipt for filling up, even though the car was full. Avoid at all costs

City/airport: Southampton

Sim's rating of their experience of Easirent: (1/5) on 28 May 2019

Brilliant service

City/airport: Newcastle

Kev's rating of their experience of Easirent: (5/5) on 24 May 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

If you have any comments or concerns about a review listed here please contact us for assistance.