Easirent Reviews

Have you hired a car from Easirent recently? Why not submit a review of your experiences to help others?
Easirent's Rating:
1.8/5 based on 65 reviews
5 stars
6
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
34
Save money on your car hire! Get the best cover for your
Car Hire Excess Insurance
Be extremely vigilant when dealing with Sunny Cars as you may end up with Easirent who will scam you. They tell customers that their card does not cover the excess amount so that they then HAVE TO pay extortionate additional insurance cover charges! OTHERWISE THEY WILL NOT ALLOW YOU TO HIRE THE CAR!! When I queried the non-return of my ‘deposit’ (as I was led to believe!) by Easirent with Sunny Cars they told me that I had ‘opted’ to take out unnecessary additional ‘full’ insurance cover when I could have been refunded by them for any amounts deducted by Easirent from my deposit in the event of any damage having been caused! Nothing 'optional' about any of what occurred however when I tried to procure the vehicle!!! None of this excess/additional insurance cover was explained by the Easirent representative with any degree of clarity at the time of collection. I was told that my credit card 'did not work' and that I would thus have to pay an additional 'deposit' of £126 in order to PROCURE the vehicle. The 'credit card' in question is a corporate American Express so to claim it would not work for the excess amount of £1,500 is ludicrous. Given that this occurred late at night in the middle of an industrial estate and that my young daughter was present I agreed to the ‘deposit’ charge in order to procure the vehicle and get my family out of there. Had I thought for one moment however that this enormous sum in excess of €150 (and termed 'deposit') would not be refunded upon return of the vehicle in pristine condition I would never have gone ahead with the hire. I have hired many many cars over the years and have NEVER had an issue such as this. The car rental price including insurance has always been just that...the car rental cost including insurance!!! To think it normal to pay an additional insurance cover charge of €151.97 on a car hire of €62 quite frankly beggars belief! This entire experience has been below board and shady but I see from other conned customers that this is par for the course for this company. I only wish I had read those reviews prior to dealing with this shady operation and known that I would end up paying minimum 4 times the amount I assumed!! Why is it that no other car hire company I have ever dealt with has insisted upon payment of insurance cover 3 times the cost of hiring the car in the first place?! THIS IS A SCAM!

City/airport: London

Coco's rating of their experience of Easirent: (1/5) on 27 February 2020

Absolutely horrendous. We've rented with easirent before and had no issue, but never through Luton. We booked a cat b car and were given an a, with only 4 seats instead of 5. The man who gave us the car pointed out a few small surface scratches and insisted he didn't need to write then down as they could not have a nail put in them. Upon our return they claimed one of these very same scratches was deep and we would be charged £195 for it. The manager was ignorant, rude and would not accept anything we said, he refused to discuss this with me as the car was in my partner's name, he laughed at me when I stated I would make a complaint to head office. Absolutely atrocious, never again!

City/airport: Luton

Mimi's rating of their experience of Easirent: (1/5) on 25 February 2020

Price was very competitive, which was great. However, they said the Reduce My Excess policy was not "worth the paper it was written on as it wouldn't pay out". They then tried to sell me daily insurance at £18 per day, fuel full to empty at £8 per day, and have held a charge of £1600 against my credit card. So not sure I will be using again.

City/airport: Belfast International

Fergus's rating of their experience of Easirent: (3.5/5) on 3 February 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

This is a SCAM not a car hire company. Dirty, shoddy premises, body guard. Money taken. No car. I implore anyone to avoid. I cannot believe they are able to ‘trade’.

City/airport: Bristol

Melanie's rating of their experience of Easirent: (1/5) on 30 January 2020

AVOID AT ALL COSTS! Hugely stressful experience. Staff are rude, accusatory and their aim seems to be out to gouge as much money out of customers as possible. On top of that I was given a van with a potentially dangerous hydraulic fault, and then charged £1,325 due to Easirent's unqualified misdiagnosis of the problem! Picked up a van from the Kings cross branch for a 24hr rental. The first, and last time I will ever use Easirent. On collection the van was dirty, and had some liquid spilled all over the dashboard. Easirent staff checked the vehicle and marked all the current damage. The fuel level was also checked and a rough indication of the level was marked on basic diagram on the check out documentation. I used the van for approximately 8hrs, in which time I covered 20 miles of driving. I dropped the van back, and left keys with the out of hours staff. At this time the van was working perfectly, as demonstrated by it's tracking logs and cctv in at the drop off location. 24hrs after I dropped the van off I got a call from Easirent Kings cross to say that the reverse gear in the van was "broken" and that I was liable. I was then promptly charged £1325 on my credit card. All gears in the van were working perfectly when I dropped the van off, so I was obviously very surprised to hear this. The next day I took a day off work to travel back to the Kings cross Easirent office. Despite being in office hours, the office was completely deserted and nobody answered the door. When I went to check the van at the drop off location up the road I was met by an Easirent staff member who was initially extremely aggressive and accused me of deliberately parking the van in a specific parking location so as to cover up the damage to the reverse gear (utterly untrue). I was later given a receipt for the 'damage' to the van, which simply stated "burnt clutch". When I asked how they had diagnosed damage to the reverse gear, and then a burnt clutch, the Easirent staff simply stated that they "weren't mechanics" and had simply guessed. Later the issue was proven by Renault mechanics to be a clutch / brake hydraulic leak. This was due to a manufacturing fault on the van, and was covered under warranty. The fault was in no way caused by me, but was a service issue on the van. It took almost a month after the final Renault diagnosis of the van fault for me to finally get my money back from Easirent! During this time I was incurring credit card interest charges etc. To add insult to injury I was also charged £26 for apparently dropping the van back with less fuel than when I picked it up. This is despite me having photos of the fuel level when I picked the van up and when I dropped it off clearly showing the fuel level was identical. The Easirent staff just kept referring to their rudimentary pencil markings on the pick-up and drop-off paperwork to try and justify why they had charged me £26 for fuel that didn't exist. The fact is that these pencil marking have no scales or relation to the van's fuel gauge itself. They are simply an indication of the Easirent staff members interpretation of the van's fuel level. So they used ambiguity and misdirection as a way to attempt to justify gouging some more money out of me. In the end I got my £1325 back, but am still out of pocket for the £26 "fuel fee", train fares to travel to the Easirent office to discuss the accusations they were making against me, and the interest on £1,325 that they charged to my credit card. I also had to take almost two days off work to discuss these issues with Easirent, my lawyer and my credit card company. I wouldn't have had to do this if Easirent were able to communicate properly, as on the phone they just kept repeating the same comment over and over....."you are liable for the damage, you are liable for the damage". Easirent were incredibly quick to pass all blame onto their customer, and charge me the maximum amount possible. In their own admission they were unqualified to diagnose a fault with the van, but went ahead and did it anyway. They were rude and aggressive at times, and their communication of the issue was appalling. The van was also dirty and uncleaned when I collected it. The fact that Easirent rented me a potentially dangerous van is another matter completely!

City/airport: London

Declan's rating of their experience of Easirent: (1/5) on 23 January 2020

Awful, awful, awful!!! Car pickup location is in Crawley! You need to take a local bus (not a special car rental company bus) to get to a car rental office. Bus service frequency is 45 minutes! Our car was dreadful with numerous dents. You need to count them all in peach darkness of the night. I don't want to tell the whole story as it would take a long time, simply avoid them! No money can compensate for the awful 'service' they pretend to provide.

City/airport: Gatwick

Vadim's rating of their experience of Easirent: (1/5) on 21 January 2020

AVOID - DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY! The worst car hire company I have ever had to deal with! They appear cheap but make up the difference by either upselling you further insurance when you pick up the car (which they do in a very pushy manner), and if you don't take out the additional insurance, by charging you for damage to the car, even if you did not do it. Another way they try and scam money out of you is to sell you the full tank at a 'discounted' rate. The rate they quote is much less than the rate that you can buy fuel in a local station, however, they charge for many more litres than the tank can actually hold, so avoid this also. I picked up a vehicle from their Dublin office at 5pm at which point it was dark outside. When I collected the car the agent told me that there was no record of any damage on the car and it was my responsibility to tell him what damage was on the car so that it could be marked up on the record sheet. This was almost impossible to do as the car was black and I had to inspect it outside in the dark with no additional lighting. Even in these conditions I could see that the car was heavily damaged pretty much all over and the record sheet was covered in damage locations by the time I had finished looking at the car. The agent agreed with all the damage indicated, even though a few moments before he said there was no record of any damage on the car! As soon as it was daylight (9am the next morning) I took pictures of the car to have a clear record of the damage. When I returned the car the agent (female with blond hair - the rudest and most unprofessional agent I have ever had to deal with) looked at the marked up sheet and then went to inspect the car on her own. She then came back to tell me that there was a dent in the only location that had no marked damage on the sheet. I looked back through the photos that I had taken the next morning in daylight and yes there was a dent visible in those photos, but this was not considered suitable evidence for easirent and they charged me for damage to the car and an extortionate admin fee on top. So I would just AVOID, AVOID, AVOID.

City/airport: Dublin

Rooney's rating of their experience of Easirent: (1/5) on 19 January 2020

Easirent were exactly what I wanted very pleasant staff from start to finish the car I received was better than I expected I would definately hire from them again

City/airport: Glasgow

Linda's rating of their experience of Easirent: (5/5) on 21 December 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Avoid at all costs. Scammers. Gave my booked vehicle to someone else and then offered me another at £230 extra. I cancelled but no refund cos I cancelled not them. ROBBERY.

City/airport: Leeds bradford airport

Michael 25's rating of their experience of Easirent: (1/5) on 21 December 2019

Absolute rubbish on all matters. Will never use again.

City/airport: Luton

Gadget99's rating of their experience of Easirent: (1/5) on 15 December 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Car rental experience was good the only negative was the wait at the airport for the shuttle to pick-up the car. Next time I would take a taxi.

City/airport: Edinburgh

Flying Scot's rating of their experience of Easirent: (4/5) on 9 December 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

The second time I’ve rented a car from Easirent Liverpool airport, friendly, polite, professional, staff. There are some reviews about other branches that are far from good but I would recommend Liverpool branch to anyone, great prices, great staff, quick check in and out.

City/airport: Liverpool

Ejen's rating of their experience of Easirent: (5/5) on 4 December 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

4 miles from the airport. Good service, price and car.

City/airport: Stansted

Mal-Irish's rating of their experience of Easirent: (5/5) on 2 December 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Office relatively far from airport timewise. I booked our hire car online, whilst i was booking (from the Netherlands) a popup showed on the screen asking if i want to buy insurance a €7 per day to cover tires, glass, and the excess. This sounded great, after arriving at the desk however i was asked if i wanted to buy easirents insurance, the cheapest costing £111!!!!!!!!! I was told in an email from my insurance i bought online NOT to accept easirents insurance because i truly am covered by my internet recognised branded insurance company so i declined. The gentleman behind the desk then blocked €1,978 on my credit card as deposit for the rental car, thats pretty normal, usually not that much but ok its only for three days rental right?????? I refuelled the car and returned it in the same condition i found it at 05:30 on a Sunday morning, i followed the return instructions to the letter and caught my flight home. I have been checking my Visa credit card twice a day every day and to my dismay the huge deposit is still saying reserved!!!! I called the Edingburgh office and a man told me "sorry i can't help you, the money will be returned after 28 days, we can't legally keep it longer than 28 days"!!!! The fact he used the word "legally" is very telling.

City/airport: Edingburgh

Mark's rating of their experience of Easirent: (1/5) on 10 November 2019

EASIRENT and RENTALCARS.COM - TWO CROOKS TO BE AVOIDED AT ALL COST Booked a car rental online from Easirent Fort Lauderdale, Florida, through Rentalcars.com of the UK for one day, November 2-3, 2019, for a Nissan Altima or equivalent for CAN$49.55. Easirent advertises that they have a shuttle pick at Port Everglades cruise port for its clients. Rentalcars.com confirmed this when I called them by telephone. When I got to Port Everglades cruise port on November 2nd, after a short night's sleep on the cruise ship, I called Easirent for the shuttle ride, but was promptly informed that Easirent was not allowed to go to Port Everglades and I would have to find alternate transportation to their office to pick up the rental. Cost of taxi = US$20. At the time of booking, Easirent advertised its address as 321, Southwest 24th Street, Fort Lauderdale (FLL), USA - Florida, 33315. I asked the taxi driver to take us there, but he said they were at the Fort Lauderdale Airport and took us there instead. I did not argue thinking that the taxi driver knew better, and in any case, Easirent also supposedly had a shuttle pick up at Fort Lauderdale Airport. Easirent was NOT at the Fort Lauderdale airport, along with all the other car rental agencies, but their shuttle did arrive and eventually picked us up and took us to their office. At the rental counter I was informed that I would have to pay for insurance and I advised the agent that I had collision waver insurance, but the agent wanted me to pay for liability insurance, which I had never done before with any other rental company as this is typically carried by them. Additional cost for them padding their rental rate CAN$25.27. I was not issued any rental contract or provided any business card, merely asked to take a cell phone photo of the notepad on which the agent indicated all the damages on the vehicle that they ended up providing - a badly damaged Toyota minivan with a four banger engine and filth all over the inside. For that, we had to wait about half an hour while they washed the outside of the van! We then entered the address of our hotel in our portable GPS and drove to the hotel. It was then that I realized I needed to figure out how to return the van prior to our morning Fort Lauderdale-Toronto flight the following day. Putting the address into Google, it became apparent to us that the path to return the van was different from the path we vaguely remembered taking to get to the hotel! So we tried to call Easirent for directions to find them, but no one answered after numerous tries! I called Rentalcars.com and was able to reach them but they were of no help! So our plans to do some shopping and go to the beach in Fort Lauderdale were put on hold until we figured out this mess. We decided to drive to the address we had been given at the time of booking, which was an abandoned building! We drove to a gas station down the street and asked the attendant there if he knew the address for Easirent. Fortunately he did, and wrote that on a piece of paper as 3234, South East 6th Avenue, Fort Lauderdale. We entered that into our GPS and went to Easirent, several blocks away! Having wasted most of the day doing all this, I gave the agent there a piece of my mind. At least now we knew where to return the filthy van, but our day had been wasted - no shopping or beach for us - the reason we had stayed in Fort Lauderdale for a day after the cruise. Once home, I filed a complaint with Rentalcars.com asking for a full refund of the payment I had made to them as a small consolation for the extra costs and nightmare we had been put through. They refused. LESSON LEARNED - Unless you want to waste your time and money dealing with complete incompetents and crooks, avoid both Easirent and Rentalcars.com at all cost.

City/airport: Fort Lauderdale

FrankL's rating of their experience of Easirent: (1/5) on 7 November 2019

Don't touch this company. Disgraceful practises. I needed to hire a car for a visit to Dublin between Sunday 20 October and Wednesday 23rd October 2019. I was attracted to Easirent by their reasonable prices: they had two offers, one that appeared to cover all damages. However, when I arrived with my family at their offices near Dublin Airport I was told that unless I paid for extra cover I would be liable for any damages that may occur. I did think about taking a chance but the representative outlined the amount I would be expected to pay for just a minor problem. Reluctantly, I paid £142 on top of the hire price £48 (for 3 day hire) but with the assurance I would not be charged for any damage should I be unlucky and be involved in an accident. I was also unhappy that the VW Passet that I had booked was not available nor an equivalent car. Again I reluctantly accepted a 7-seater. When checking the car the young lady who had taken my booking emphasised how as the car was almost brand new there were unlike to be any damage on the car. When I returned the car on Wednesday the same young lady came out to check the car. With amazing speed and a lack of subtlety she immediately noted scruff marks on the mirror on the passenger door. I remonstrated as I knew I was not responsible for these marks. The car had been parked in a spaces private car park and we had only driven the car once on a medium journey outside Dublin. She reassured me that as I had paid the extra insurance I would not be charged for any damage. All she required was my signature on an internal form. Once I signed she added casually that I would be charged 70 euros for ‘admin charges’. When I asked for an explanation she said the ‘new damage’ would have to be put on the system and this would cost 70 euros. I replied that I was being charge for ‘damage’ that I was not responsible for. Her reply was to wave the form I had just signed. My querying of being charged 70 euros for damages were met with her replying ad nauseam that I was not being charged for damage but for administrative charges. From reading other customers’ experience of Easirent Car Hire I realise that I am not the first to be the victim of this outrageous scam. I have sent an email asking for my 70 euros back. They have not yet sent a receipt for this ‘admin charge’.

City/airport: Dublin

Kev's rating of their experience of Easirent: (1/5) on 5 November 2019

Very easy and quick to sort out. Staff were polite and car was ready to drive away, great value for money.

City/airport: Crawley

Bert's rating of their experience of Easirent: (4.5/5) on 13 October 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

£30 cancellation fees. aftee makeing a booking an hour before.

City/airport: aliver

Mo Alhabahbeh's rating of their experience of Easirent: (1/5) on 12 October 2019

The reminder documents sent before I arrived didn’t have a list of all the things I needed. So I brought a whole swathe of docs only to find out I needed more. The guy who received us when we went to collect the car was unpleasant and snappy. He asked us to point out scratches etc and then had a go when we did saying he wasn’t going to “fleece” us so we didn’t need to point out everything. We went for the option to pay for the fuel in the car to reduce the charge to my card. The price was much higher than what we paid to fill it up. The car was slow (foot on the floor in second to get up a hill) and the sun visor fell off. All in all - not impressed!

City/airport: London

MF's rating of their experience of Easirent: (1/5) on 17 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Typical budget car rental company. Good price. Don’t bother with the shuttle bus though - it’s about a 20min walk from terminal 2 to the car rental place, bus turns up once an hour, if you’re lucky enough to be able to get on it.

City/airport: Dublin

LM's rating of their experience of Easirent: (2.5/5) on 10 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Very shady office and practises avoid at all cost use a reputable firm it will be much cheaper in the finish

City/airport: Gatwick

The brit's rating of their experience of Easirent: (1/5) on 9 September 2019

I've used ReduceMyExcess.co.uk for a couple of years and is a great service so you don't have to take out additional insurance with the hire car company. I only had to make one claim on the policy, due to a small hole in one of the tyres. The process was quick and easy and I received the payment in 14 days, as quoted. Fantastic, helpful and trustworthy service. It is frustrating that there is now no longer a contact phone number to phone and speak to someone in person. I submitted an online enquiry, but did not get a reply. So although the FAQ section is helpful, I would have liked to have spoken to someone on a phone about my particular query. Clearly the online phone does not work! The reason I am cancelling is because (to my understanding) ReduceMyExcess.co.uk does not provide full CDW or SLI Cover. Although, most UK Car Hire Companies should provide this cover without question. The company I use does not. I have therefore turned to another provider, that does provide it - at a lot higher annual rate. It would be really useful for ReduceMyExcess.co.uk provided an additional cost/cover for full CDW and SLI cover. Then I would return to them straight away. Hopefully, they will do this and I can come back.

City/airport: Edinburgh

Jim's rating of their experience of Easirent: (3.5/5) on 5 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

I wish I had read Easirent's reviews prior to my very cheap car hire booking, lesson learned. Apart from the portable building office and building site car park, off site from the airport, my booking had to be cancelled through no fault of my own (essentially the staff weren't using the card machine properly and they couldn't process the pre-authorisation). I was told repetedly that it was "my problem". I declined to pay an additional 200 odd to reduce the excess (and complete the booking) as this was 7 times more expensive than the car hire cost. They will not refund 20 odd, it's peanuts I know but it's the principle. They will not listen, they will not see any other side but their own, however incorrect they are. They told me I had insufficient funds, which was incorrect and they told me I had exceeded my credit limit, which was also incorrect. I was able to hire a car from a more professional company the same day using the same credit card, but Easirent still maintains the card issue was "my problem". I am still waiting for my partial refund 7 weeks later and am still disputing not getting a full refund. Book a hire car with Easirent if: - you would like terrible customer service; - you want to feel like you're going to get mugged at their "depot"; - you don't mind being told repetedly "it's your problem" when you know it's their error; - you don't mind having your booking cancelled because they can't process a pre-authorisation; and - ...just don't waste your time and energy on these unsophisticated scammers.

City/airport: Cork Airport

Unhappy customer's rating of their experience of Easirent: (1/5) on 20 August 2019

Waited at pick up point 1 hour 45 not good enough, car was not cleaned, excuse we are very busy I will not use them again.

City/airport: Dublin airport

Guv 501's rating of their experience of Easirent: (1/5) on 12 August 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

I'm having trouble finding words to describe these cowboys. We booked a car from them through holidaycars.com(another cowboy company) about 3 weeks before our trip. Because the deposit was in the extortionate amount of over £1800 and needed to be paid via a credit card, i decided to put it in my partner's name about a week before the trip. Got an email back saying they won't be able to change the name, no explanation given. We arrived at easihire's depot in birmingham on the day we needed the car where the guy at the reception was not helpful at all and he didn't seemed to bothered either. We tried to pay the deposit with my partner's card, we were both present. Easirent wouldn't accept it because my name was not on the card. So what difference does it make who pays the deposit as long as its paid and the person paying it is present? We were given the option to pay an extra £180, which was more than the price of the car rental or lose the money. We decided not to pay them an extra penny and raise a dispute through the bank as we though we've been scammed. Nowhere on the booking does it say you have to show 2 forms of proof of address, luckily all our bills come via email so we were able to produce them but if you dont have that, you're screwed, you will have no choice but to lose the money or pay them extra as cancellation refunds are not issued unless you cancel before 48 hrs of your car collection. When we read their bad reviews we were worried we might fall for their scam but the low price determined us to take the chance. Little did we know how sorry we were going to be for choosing these con artists. Stay away from easirent and holidaycars.com. the price you see online is not what you will be paying, read all their reviews.

City/airport: Birmingham International

CybeRocK's rating of their experience of Easirent: (1/5) on 2 August 2019

If you have any comments or concerns about a review listed here please contact us for assistance.