Centauro Reviews

Have you hired a car from Centauro recently? Why not submit a review of your experiences to help others?
Centauro's Rating:
2.4/5 based on 88 reviews
5 stars
13
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
31
Save money on your car hire! Get the best cover for your
Car Hire Excess Insurance
Had to wait 30 minutes to see a representative, they tried to sell me their expensive insurance which i refused. Car was ok and handing back the car was much slicker than picking it up. Overall not too bad and the horror stories i had heard about did not materialise.

City/airport: Palma Mallorca

Doogal's rating of their experience of Centauro: (3.5/5) on 12 August 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Pick up and drop off were seamless, all staff v friendly and courteous, no pressure to buy their own excess cover. Car seat for my 2 year old was decent. Car was immaculate on pick up.

City/airport: Alicante

Dizz's rating of their experience of Centauro: (5/5) on 1 August 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

BEWARE!! The worst experience I ever had in any car Rental company I ever had! Office in nowhere, only one person in counter even there’s huge line of customers, not enough cars in the requested level and for the final- very bad treatment from the service guy in a professional level and human level!

City/airport: Barcelona

Arnon f's rating of their experience of Centauro: (1/5) on 27 July 2019

BEWARE!! The worst experience I ever had in any car Rental company I ever had! Office in nowhere, only one person in counter even there’s huge line of customers, not enough cars in the requested level and for the final- very bad treatment from the service guy in a professional level and human level!

City/airport: Barcelona

Arnon f's rating of their experience of Centauro: (1/5) on 27 July 2019

Not on airport, but very close. Service was very good … would be a 10 if the pick-up process hadn't been so slow.

City/airport: Palma Mallorca

Brian's rating of their experience of Centauro: (4/5) on 21 July 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

This company are awful, they in my case did not pay me back in full for the fuel, also took the deposit 1200 euros from my account, and did there best to try and keep it, only after threatening Centauro with legal action did they return the deposit. They try and sell you very expensive Excess Insurance. This company cannot be trusted

City/airport: Alicante

Bo's rating of their experience of Centauro: (1/5) on 19 July 2019

Very happy with the car itself and the service return unfortunately on collection the wait time was OVER 4 HOURS which is completely unacceptable. We started waiting at 9:25pm and collected the car at 1:35am - the staff apologised in a matter of fact way stating that the delay was due to there being a "new system installed 3 days ago". It is for this reason we will not be using Centauro in future visits, which is a shame, as we've just taken up a holiday home for us and our family and would be renting cars on a regular basis - but now it will not be with Centauro.

City/airport: Alicante

Brian's rating of their experience of Centauro: (1/5) on 19 July 2019

pros - very cheap (£90 for 2 weeks hire in july) , new car had only done 3000 kms, reasonable efficient hand back, paid back fuel deposit in 2 days - cons - difficult to find rep inside airport as no sign, then have to trail to car park 4 to wait for shuttle bus, bus holds about 7 people but dozens waiting for pick up so pretty shambolic, another very long queue when you arrive at depot to actually complete paperwork ( we rented 2 cars and picked up on consecutive days and queue was about 2 hours both days so obviously a pretty normal occurrence!!) - once we actually got to the front of queue rep was reasonably efficient and no hard sell - i was very glad i had sent my wife and family on ahead by private transfer as the kids would have been unbearable with all the pissing around!! overall, despite nice car and very good price i dont think the endless wait in a hot car park and very hot rental office was worth the saving so would probably pay more and go elsewhere next time

City/airport: faro airport

highet's rating of their experience of Centauro: (1.5/5) on 18 July 2019

Nightmare! 1.5 hrs wait, car not in bay I was told it would be - spent 30 mins searching with key fob. Rude staff who made veiled threats if I didn't take their insurance. Never again!

City/airport: alicante

mplooney's rating of their experience of Centauro: (1/5) on 18 July 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

They play with fuel! BE CAREFUL On the pickup day on the document was chowing 70% of fuel, but on the car was 45%, I did ask to review and change. The guy said that was everything ok. On the delivery day, a problem happened with fuel deposit that supposes to be refunded to my account and we went back to the office. The guy said that everything was fine and my ALL money was delivered to my account. BUT NOT I sent an email to report the issue. And M.E. from the Centauros office replied: "Please note the amount charged for fuel was successfully refunded to your card when the car was returned, we have attached the receipt of the transaction." This receipt was from the pickup day! And they are not replying emails anymore about my issue. I believe that they do this very often as aN extra! BE CAREFUL

City/airport: Mallorca

Henry's rating of their experience of Centauro: (1/5) on 17 July 2019

Adequate. Vehicle new and clean

City/airport: Alicante

JamesBoyd's rating of their experience of Centauro: (2.5/5) on 9 July 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

They definitely try every scam going to make you part with more money. My experience was the fuel scam they do.Absolute shocking behaviour from centauro customer services. Please be aware that you check your fuel corresponds with amount they quote on the paper work as I paid full/full. When I left airport I noticed the fuel was only on 60%, checked paperwork and that said 85% fuel this is a way they try to scam money out of you, no help on the phone, no help via email and via Facebook they deleted my comments. What they do and say are completely wrong as if I would have returned car with 60% fuel they would have charged me a refuelling fee plus a fee to make up the 60% to 85%. Also on returning the car I've never had a check over like it before it took 10-15mins as though they were looking for something, they managed to find a tiny 2 Inch mark on the inside of the roof bars and said they would have to log it and it would come off my excess (credit card) i licked my finger rubbed the roof bar gently and it was gone as it was just a bit of dirt. Never again will use these again. Scam

City/airport: Alicante

Chayoliver's rating of their experience of Centauro: (1/5) on 3 July 2019

Great car but 90 minute wait to collect it.

City/airport: Palma

FloridaPhil's rating of their experience of Centauro: (2.5/5) on 2 July 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Car was great, price was good, queue to get it was horrendous .. over and hour in the queue. Brushed off the big excess sell and all went well until we brought it back. Got stung for the petrol, just slightly off full and I thing they stung us for about 25 Euros for a gnats of fuel.

City/airport: alicante

Kevinski's rating of their experience of Centauro: (3.5/5) on 30 June 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Good Cars and prices but this year, the Check in process was very slow and Car Return and transport to Terminal was absolutely chaotic. I would rent from them again because the cars are much newer and cleaner tham e.g. Goldcar whose cars are grotty!

City/airport: Palma

Wheel_nut's rating of their experience of Centauro: (4/5) on 30 June 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Excellent in every aspect

City/airport: Sevilla

joddy's rating of their experience of Centauro: (5/5) on 30 June 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Lest year my wife and I hired a car with no problems. What a difference a year make. We did exactly the same this year and we were held to ransom. Even thought we have the correct paperwork and insurance. We were forced to pay again. This was outrageous but what can we do. The ultimatum was pay up or you walk.

City/airport: Parma

Ripped off!'s rating of their experience of Centauro: (1/5) on 27 June 2019

We rented their car for our 2 weeks holidays, we returned the car to be told we had to pay 100 euros because the right hub cup was lightly scratched!!!!! Never again, terrible customer service, two of their workers kept on talking in Greek and one of them was laughing. Horrible experience

City/airport: Thessaloniki

Lolo's rating of their experience of Centauro: (1/5) on 22 June 2019

Friendly efficient service with no hard up-sell of insurance

City/airport: Murcia

Rob's rating of their experience of Centauro: (5/5) on 13 June 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

I hired a car from these jokers in Faro in May. I paid up front for zero excess and full to full. When i went over the car with the rep, he pointed out that the tank was virtually empty and to bring it back roughly the same. On our return, I left the tank 3/8 full and because it was early and very busy with returns, I asked the agent to mark on my agreement that the tank was returned with more in it that I picked up. I then found out they had charged me for a full tank of fuel and a service charge as well, after much correspondence they are still refusing to refund me. Rent at your peril !!! I have contacted BVRLA for assistance. I have worked in car rental for many years and I thought this practice had stopped years ago. I may not get my money back, but I plead with you as a customer not to rent from these people to ensure that they don't receive your business. Tantamount to theft. Amateurs and rogues.

City/airport: Faro Airport

Colly's rating of their experience of Centauro: (1/5) on 11 June 2019

Absolutely awful. Would not recommend at all. Queued for over 2 hours to collect the car and, on return, charged me for 3/4 tank of fuel when they gave me the car only 1/4 full. Very low prices but they defo rip you off in others ways. Dont use

City/airport: Barcelona

hannaW's rating of their experience of Centauro: (1/5) on 5 June 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

What a refreshing change this was! Everything went like clockwork, there was no pressure to pay for extra insurance (and no scare tactics employed). We were given a nice car, received friendly and efficient service and enjoyed their excellent shuttle from, and back, to the airport.

City/airport: Palma

Jem's rating of their experience of Centauro: (5/5) on 3 June 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Excellent service from start to finish - pickup at airport by minibus was on time and efficient. Honest support during car hire and return. Decent car. Good price. Great staff.

City/airport: Madeira

Stevie D's rating of their experience of Centauro: (5/5) on 3 June 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

In most respects this is much like any other company operating in a crowded and competive market; they have a good range of cars which they rent out at competitive prices. What makes them standout is two things; firstly when I was at the desk I was not give the standard hard sell about taking out overpriced excess insurance. When I explained I already had it he just nodded and moved on. the whole process of getting the car was clear and genuinely seemed about selling extras that I might actaully need. The most impressive part was that on the booking contract is a circle 4.6cm in diameter. It was explained that any scratches, chips, or dents that will fit in the circle will not count as damange. Only one other company I have rented before have had such a clear and simple policy. I did find a couple of scratches that were not reported on the form after I had collected the car but when I returned the car I showed the rep the photos I had taken before collection and he immediately accepted them. All in all a very stress free hire. I will be using the company again.

City/airport: Porto

CamdenGuy's rating of their experience of Centauro: (4.5/5) on 2 June 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

They were efficient

City/airport: Ibiza

Annie's rating of their experience of Centauro: (4/5) on 2 June 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

If you have any comments or concerns about a review listed here please contact us for assistance.