Centauro Reviews

Have you hired a car from Centauro recently? Why not submit a review of your experiences to help others?
Centauro's Rating:
2.4/5 based on 100 reviews
5 stars
16
4 stars
8
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
37
Save money on your car hire! Get the best cover for your
Car Hire Excess Insurance
Zero rating for Centauro car hire. Avoid at all costs! Flight to Porto delayed to next day due to a technical problem with the aircraft. Centauri cancelled my car hire booking and counted it as a no show as the plane arrived more than 12 hours late. This was despite several efforts to contact them by phone and also via an agency. When I finally got through to Centauro's customer service team, they did not help and actually hung up on my call! I travel a lot with work and have never received such an appalling level of customer service from any other hire car company.

City/airport: Porto

Martin's rating of their experience of Centauro: (1/5) on 21 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Very good

City/airport: Alicante

Taylor's rating of their experience of Centauro: (4/5) on 15 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Purchased car hire and deposit insurance for 4 days. Centauro took my credit card and tried to charge 80 euros even though it was all pre-paid. Got incredibly defensive when I questioned what the charge was for and aggressively tried to sell their own insurance even though I informed them I already had insurance (much cheaper, £12 compared to their 50 euros). Tried to scare me into buying their insurance by saying the AXA cover I had would not pay out WHEN they charged me. Refused, paid the £1,000 deposit and took the car. Returned it 4 days later and was charged 60 euros for the smallest scuff on a hub cap. Argued, but they just printed an invoice and illegally transferred my signature from the pickup documentation to the invoice stating I agreed to pay 60 euros. Luckily I got them to print the invoice for me as they never emailed it. Thankfully AXA paid out for the charge. Tip - check hub caps thoroughly, get AXA cover and ensure you get an invoice when they charge you.

City/airport: Alicante

Matt's rating of their experience of Centauro: (1/5) on 15 September 2019

Excellent price, clean car, courteous staff, no pressure to pay for extras. Have used Centauro a number of times. My first choice.

City/airport: Palma, Majorca

Jsc2012's rating of their experience of Centauro: (5/5) on 14 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Centauro were very efficient with an excellent choice of cars for rent. Their staff were very friendly and willing and able to help with all eventualities. I would highly recommend them.

City/airport: Milan

DC's rating of their experience of Centauro: (5/5) on 9 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Everything went okay on collection. I dropped the car off as the offices were closed in the early morning. On my return to the UK I notice that they not only did not refund my deposit but had taken an extra £24.95 off my Debit card to compensate for a missing rear windscreen wiper. Not sure how I could have lost it? I have emailed them for the refund but they have not replied. I intend to take it further as they have abused my Debit card.

City/airport: Alicante

Domino King's rating of their experience of Centauro: (3/5) on 6 September 2019

well,the €25 were a surprise to us 2 days later after we returned the car. The tank was almost full,only €5 was missing and we gladly agreed to pay them from our fuel deposit. So today we checked if the €45 were returned to our account as expected. Guess what?! only €20 were returned. They charged us €25 for refueling the car! Petrol Station practically across the street from their office. At the phone the staff was rude and unprofessional. Very disapointed. Will never book with them again.

City/airport: thessaloniki macedonia airport

marinaki763's rating of their experience of Centauro: (1/5) on 2 September 2019

Excellent service

City/airport: Alicante-Elche

Tarquinn's rating of their experience of Centauro: (4.5/5) on 31 August 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

After a two hour wait to get our hire car we then experienced a 1 hour wait to return it. This company is thoroughly understaffed. The staff they have seemed very careless to the customers needs and lunch/ smoking breaks seem the most important part of their working day!! Highly recommend using a different company.

City/airport: Barcelona

Annoyed traveller's rating of their experience of Centauro: (1/5) on 31 August 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

The car hire company did not have the class of vehicle which I had hired but offered an upgrade, which was generally OK. The car hire was meant to be from a full fuel tank to full on return. However, the company had not filled the vehicle. They indicated that the vehicle was 35% full, with no explanation as to how this figure was arrived at. I was subsequently subjected to a fuel charge that was returnable if I returned the car at 35% full. This appears to me to be an arbitrary charge and the basis of this should have been fully explained. In addition, I had booked “full to full” as this ensures that I would only pay for the fuel I had used. I have no guarantee that this was the case. On taking the car out there was a list of 6 or 7 previous points of damage. This was originally incorrect and required revision. This included requesting the company to record damage which had not been recorded and removing damage which had been recorded but did not exist. On returning the car I was informed that I would have to pay for damage to the driver’s door, which constituted a very minor fold in the bodywork. It was contentious as to whether this actually constituted “damage” and I had not caused this. It was only when I was able to provide photographic evidence that this “damage” exited when I had taken the car out that the member of staff agreed that I should not be charged. On receiving the email documentation after the hire had been completed, I note that whilst my documentation on taking the car out listed 7 items of damage, the paperwork returned to me on completion of the hire only noted 4 items of damage and that these items did not include the “damage” to the driver’s door which the staff member had attempted to charge me for. The staff were generally very pleasant, the car was perfectly acceptable and other than the fact that I may have been overcharged for fuel that I had not used due to the car not being full at the start of the hire, this would have been quite a good experience. However, there is clearly misreporting of damage to the vehicle on the part of the hire company here and I was left with the definite impression that there may well have been a deliberate attempt to overcharge me here for something which was not my responsibility.

City/airport: Funchal - Madeira

John W's rating of their experience of Centauro: (1/5) on 26 August 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Thieves! They refused to accept a debit card for holding the 1200EUR excess as I didn't have a credit card, and then forced me to buy their local 'Smart Cover' at 264EUR to bring the excess down to zero, despite having insurance exactly for this purpose separately. They refused to give me the car unless I paid it or offered to take me back to the airport. Interestingly, my brother also had this problem but they WOULD accept a debit card in his case so inconsistent policy to scam people to buy their very expensive insurance - total scumbag thieves

City/airport: Valencia airport

Tommo's rating of their experience of Centauro: (1/5) on 25 August 2019

I hired a car from Centauro in pisa in may. Staff were friendly and process was very quick, no complaints there. On returning from holiday my credit card was hit for 3 consecutive months for nearly £50 each time by Centauro taking administration fees. They don’t notify you of this and are nightmare to get in touch with.

City/airport: Pisa airport

Garry's rating of their experience of Centauro: (1/5) on 23 August 2019

Had to wait 30 minutes to see a representative, they tried to sell me their expensive insurance which i refused. Car was ok and handing back the car was much slicker than picking it up. Overall not too bad and the horror stories i had heard about did not materialise.

City/airport: Palma Mallorca

Doogal's rating of their experience of Centauro: (3.5/5) on 12 August 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Pick up and drop off were seamless, all staff v friendly and courteous, no pressure to buy their own excess cover. Car seat for my 2 year old was decent. Car was immaculate on pick up.

City/airport: Alicante

Dizz's rating of their experience of Centauro: (5/5) on 1 August 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

BEWARE!! The worst experience I ever had in any car Rental company I ever had! Office in nowhere, only one person in counter even there’s huge line of customers, not enough cars in the requested level and for the final- very bad treatment from the service guy in a professional level and human level!

City/airport: Barcelona

Arnon f's rating of their experience of Centauro: (1/5) on 27 July 2019

BEWARE!! The worst experience I ever had in any car Rental company I ever had! Office in nowhere, only one person in counter even there’s huge line of customers, not enough cars in the requested level and for the final- very bad treatment from the service guy in a professional level and human level!

City/airport: Barcelona

Arnon f's rating of their experience of Centauro: (1/5) on 27 July 2019

Not on airport, but very close. Service was very good … would be a 10 if the pick-up process hadn't been so slow.

City/airport: Palma Mallorca

Brian's rating of their experience of Centauro: (4/5) on 21 July 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

This company are awful, they in my case did not pay me back in full for the fuel, also took the deposit 1200 euros from my account, and did there best to try and keep it, only after threatening Centauro with legal action did they return the deposit. They try and sell you very expensive Excess Insurance. This company cannot be trusted

City/airport: Alicante

Bo's rating of their experience of Centauro: (1/5) on 19 July 2019

Very happy with the car itself and the service return unfortunately on collection the wait time was OVER 4 HOURS which is completely unacceptable. We started waiting at 9:25pm and collected the car at 1:35am - the staff apologised in a matter of fact way stating that the delay was due to there being a "new system installed 3 days ago". It is for this reason we will not be using Centauro in future visits, which is a shame, as we've just taken up a holiday home for us and our family and would be renting cars on a regular basis - but now it will not be with Centauro.

City/airport: Alicante

Brian's rating of their experience of Centauro: (1/5) on 19 July 2019

pros - very cheap (£90 for 2 weeks hire in july) , new car had only done 3000 kms, reasonable efficient hand back, paid back fuel deposit in 2 days - cons - difficult to find rep inside airport as no sign, then have to trail to car park 4 to wait for shuttle bus, bus holds about 7 people but dozens waiting for pick up so pretty shambolic, another very long queue when you arrive at depot to actually complete paperwork ( we rented 2 cars and picked up on consecutive days and queue was about 2 hours both days so obviously a pretty normal occurrence!!) - once we actually got to the front of queue rep was reasonably efficient and no hard sell - i was very glad i had sent my wife and family on ahead by private transfer as the kids would have been unbearable with all the pissing around!! overall, despite nice car and very good price i dont think the endless wait in a hot car park and very hot rental office was worth the saving so would probably pay more and go elsewhere next time

City/airport: faro airport

highet's rating of their experience of Centauro: (1.5/5) on 18 July 2019

Nightmare! 1.5 hrs wait, car not in bay I was told it would be - spent 30 mins searching with key fob. Rude staff who made veiled threats if I didn't take their insurance. Never again!

City/airport: alicante

mplooney's rating of their experience of Centauro: (1/5) on 18 July 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

They play with fuel! BE CAREFUL On the pickup day on the document was chowing 70% of fuel, but on the car was 45%, I did ask to review and change. The guy said that was everything ok. On the delivery day, a problem happened with fuel deposit that supposes to be refunded to my account and we went back to the office. The guy said that everything was fine and my ALL money was delivered to my account. BUT NOT I sent an email to report the issue. And M.E. from the Centauros office replied: "Please note the amount charged for fuel was successfully refunded to your card when the car was returned, we have attached the receipt of the transaction." This receipt was from the pickup day! And they are not replying emails anymore about my issue. I believe that they do this very often as aN extra! BE CAREFUL

City/airport: Mallorca

Henry's rating of their experience of Centauro: (1/5) on 17 July 2019

Adequate. Vehicle new and clean

City/airport: Alicante

JamesBoyd's rating of their experience of Centauro: (2.5/5) on 9 July 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

They definitely try every scam going to make you part with more money. My experience was the fuel scam they do.Absolute shocking behaviour from centauro customer services. Please be aware that you check your fuel corresponds with amount they quote on the paper work as I paid full/full. When I left airport I noticed the fuel was only on 60%, checked paperwork and that said 85% fuel this is a way they try to scam money out of you, no help on the phone, no help via email and via Facebook they deleted my comments. What they do and say are completely wrong as if I would have returned car with 60% fuel they would have charged me a refuelling fee plus a fee to make up the 60% to 85%. Also on returning the car I've never had a check over like it before it took 10-15mins as though they were looking for something, they managed to find a tiny 2 Inch mark on the inside of the roof bars and said they would have to log it and it would come off my excess (credit card) i licked my finger rubbed the roof bar gently and it was gone as it was just a bit of dirt. Never again will use these again. Scam

City/airport: Alicante

Chayoliver's rating of their experience of Centauro: (1/5) on 3 July 2019

Great car but 90 minute wait to collect it.

City/airport: Palma

FloridaPhil's rating of their experience of Centauro: (2.5/5) on 2 July 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

If you have any comments or concerns about a review listed here please contact us for assistance.