Centauro Reviews

Have you hired a car from Centauro recently? Why not submit a review of your experiences to help others?
Centauro's Rating:
3.3/5 based on 54 reviews
5 stars
22
4 stars
12
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
16
Save money on your car hire! Get the best cover for your
Car Hire Excess Insurance
Good to deal with, easy paperwork, quick turnaround.

City/airport: Alicante

AJAY's rating of their experience of Centauro: (4.5/5) on 5 March 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

I booked a car with full for full and when I went to collect it, it was 80% ( that what they said). I told them I want it full for full and they said we can give you a full tank or a partially filled one as it is what it says in the contract. So, read carefully. It is the first time it happens to me!. Then, when I brought it back and they charged me for the scratch ( That I didn't notice when I took the car) they didn't refund me the fuel but took more money ( to make the 200 euros) for a scratch under the bumper, which was there when I picked the car. If it was me, i would have repaired it for 15 euros. But that how they make money: stealing from innocent naive people.

City/airport: alicante

sabrina's rating of their experience of Centauro: (1/5) on 11 February 2019

I booked a car with full for full and… I booked a car with full for full and when I went to collect it, it was 80% ( that what they said). I told them I want it full for full and they said we can give you a full tank or a partially filled one as it is what it says in the contract. So, read carefully. It is the first time it happens to me!. Then, when I brought it back and they charged me for the scratch ( That I didn't notice when I took the car) they didn't refund me the fuel but took more money ( to make the 200 euros) for a scratch under the bumper, which was there when I picked the car. If it was me, i would have repaired it for 15 euros. But that how they make money: stealing from innocent naive people.

City/airport: alicante

sabrina's rating of their experience of Centauro: (1/5) on 11 February 2019

Mentirosos, y mismo que yo hablo español, logran con mentiras que cojas du seguro, pero diciendo que ellos te devolverán el dinero es solo es para estar seguro due hay dinero, en lugar de decirte , no si no tienes tu carta visa no se te puede dar y yo escojo , si lo pago o no, de verdaderos ladrones

City/airport: Malaga

Gogo's rating of their experience of Centauro: (1/5) on 6 January 2019

Rented Car with Centauro in Milano - Malpensa Where do i start? We took centauro because they claimed they were at or very close to the airport. We had to wait 45 minutes on a shuttlebus and no one wanted to give any information when we called and asked centauro support. When the shuttlebus finally arived it didnt have baby seats so we had to go with our baby in the lap (not ok), but we thought the rental was close to the Airport but he went on the freeway and went on for about 15 minutes. Finally at the rental we had paid for a new WV Polo or similar but instead we got a smashed Fiat 500. Everything was supposed to have been paid but because we only have debit card not credit card they said they had to charge another 250 Euro (not reserved but paid, we did not get this back). A couple of weeks later when im home again i see another -50 euro on my bank account named centauro and apperently they charged 50 euro for some administration fee, so now i have had to disable the card and order a new one because i dont want them to charge more things. Never Centauro again.

City/airport: Malpensa

Morgan's rating of their experience of Centauro: (1/5) on 16 December 2018

used many times. always hassle free. pick up is relatively fast, drop off and their inspection very fast ( while you wait).. any problems with vehicle sorted speedily( rear screen wiper faulty once). small scratches accepted as part of life for a hire car.

City/airport: lanzarote

allanH's rating of their experience of Centauro: (5/5) on 15 October 2018

Still waiting on a reply, I shall not just go away, I will not be treated like this. Sent from my iPad On 11 Sep 2018, at 21:04, David Newman wrote: Sent from my iPad Hi, I wish to draw your attention to my experience with Centauro rent a car who I booked through yourselves, last year my car hire was great I couldn't recommend Centauro enough, but this year was completely different . It started with the min bus lady driver who drove very erratic, speeding and using a hand held mobile phone while driving. On arrival to the Centauro office we were kept waiting 40 minutes before being dealt with, staff where just chatting casually with each other. Every thing was fine till it came to the hard sell for excess insurance, I repeatedly told him I have annual cover but he just said but they won't pay out but we will, we are not new to car hire around the world and know what is right, by now I was getting very annoyed as we needed to pick the keys up from someone for our Villa. I then asked does someone come out and check the vehicle over with us and he said no you do that and if there is any damage come back in and show me. When we went outside it was now dark so my wife used the torch on her phone why I videoed and took photos of the damage on the vehicle, when going back in to the office the man who had dealt with me was busy with other customers , so I went to the gentleman who did not have customers with him and tried to tell him of the damage to the car that I found , but he just ignored me , I then told him that he was rude and he told me to go to one of the other members of staff, I asked his name and he ignored me again so I repeated my self and he said Nelson so I told him that I was going to report him, I then went to the man who originally dealt with me who was serving someone else but I had little time left so pushed my way forward, he then marked of all the damage on the form and then put his initial next to it. On leaving I took a photo of the large Centauro sign on the wall behind the counter and went straight to the car where my wife was waiting, on getting in the car and getting use to the instruments Nelson , another lady and the mini bus driver stood in front of the car, when my wife put her window down and asked is there a problem the lady mini bus driver said they were going to contact the police because I had taken a photo all three then went back in the office and we continued very late to collect our key for the villa. I found this customer service to be very poor and on my return to the uk I shall depending on my response to this email be putting it on social media. Please find photos of main damage on picking up car and the photo of the sign and the three members of staff who stood in front of the car. Regards David Newman. Still waiting on a reply, I shall not just go away, I will not be treated like this. Sent from my iPad On 11 Sep 2018, at 21:04, David Newman wrote: Sent from my iPad Hi, I wish to draw your attention to my experience with Centauro rent a car who I booked through yourselves, last year my car hire was great I couldn't recommend Centauro enough, but this year was completely different . It started with the min bus lady driver who drove very erratic, speeding and using a hand held mobile phone while driving. On arrival to the Centauro office we were kept waiting 40 minutes before being dealt with, staff where just chatting casually with each other. Every thing was fine till it came to the hard sell for excess insurance, I repeatedly told him I have annual cover but he just said but they won't pay out but we will, we are not new to car hire around the world and know what is right, by now I was getting very annoyed as we needed to pick the keys up from someone for our Villa. I then asked does someone come out and check the vehicle over with us and he said no you do that and if there is any damage come back in and show me. When we went outside it was now dark so my wife used the torch on her phone why I videoed and took photos of the damage on the vehicle, when going back in to the office the man who had dealt with me was busy with other customers , so I went to the gentleman who did not have customers with him and tried to tell him of the damage to the car that I found , but he just ignored me , I then told him that he was rude and he told me to go to one of the other members of staff, I asked his name and he ignored me again so I repeated my self and he said Nelson so I told him that I was going to report him, I then went to the man who originally dealt with me who was serving someone else but I had little time left so pushed my way forward, he then marked of all the damage on the form and then put his initial next to it. On leaving I took a photo of the large Centauro sign on the wall behind the counter and went straight to the car where my wife was waiting, on getting in the car and getting use to the instruments Nelson , another lady and the mini bus driver stood in front of the car, when my wife put her window down and asked is there a problem the lady mini bus driver said they were going to contact the police because I had taken a photo all three then went back in the office and we continued very late to collect our key for the villa. I found this customer service to be very poor and on my return to the uk I shall depending on my response to this email be putting it on social media. Please find photos of main damage on picking up car and the photo of the sign and the three members of staff who stood in front of the car. Regards David Newman. Telling me my car excess that I purchased would not pay out and that I needed to take out there's , I also had to find all the damage on the car myself and wait again in the queue to get it signed off else I could have been hit with a bill for damage that they were already aware of.

City/airport: Faro Portugal

Angry's rating of their experience of Centauro: (1/5) on 15 September 2018

A faultless experience, no high pressure insurance sales at check in just the facts & made fully aware of the excess. Return of vehicle again faultless & very quick, with email confirmation of fuel refund received while still at office.Beyond expectations & just about to book for October. Muchas gracias Centauro

City/airport: Malaga

Joe's rating of their experience of Centauro: (5/5) on 28 August 2018

We arrived Sunday 5 August 2018, took the mini bus to the Centuro area, and it was absolute chaos. 100s of people, luggage and only two staff. Our ticket was 130 and they were on 87.... after 30 minutes they got to ticket 89! We had to just walk away and return to the airport to get a taxi as with two small kids we couldn't wait 4+ hours in a tiny room with 100s of other poor people stuck there. People were getting angry and their was no help from staff so we left without a hire car. Whole thing was a complete shambles I would avoid at all costs!! Centuro did refund the money for our hire as we booked direct. Would never use again.

City/airport: Palma

Family hire's rating of their experience of Centauro: (1/5) on 20 August 2018

I hired the car. It was meant to be full to full. They blocked 51Euros on my card to cover the full tank as well as the excess. I queried this as I have never been charged for petrol when I first take the car. They told me that it’s OK because the money would be returned to me once I brought the car with the full tank. I did this. The tank was absolutely full. The guy who inspected it told me to get into the mini bus to the airport & that the money would be in my account within a few days. It turned out that my Barclaycard had £47.91 outstanding! They charged me for the petrol even though I brought the car with a full tank! This is stealing! I am very angry. I have tried to ring them & is impossible to get hold of anyone. Email doesn’t work either. Will never use them again. Having said that, the company is easy to find from the airport. But had to wait nearly an hour to get the car.

City/airport: Lisbon

Gita's rating of their experience of Centauro: (1/5) on 19 August 2018

SCAM. Deposit is miles from airport, they have hidden costs, don't check the car properly when they rent it out so whatever they find when you give it back will be put on you, assistance is non existent, and if you don't have euros you will get screwed with your card deposit as you will get more than 10% less money back. NOT RECOMMENDED. PS The 5 star reviews are surely fake

City/airport: bergamo orio al serio

Davide's rating of their experience of Centauro: (1/5) on 2 August 2018

Terrible all round. Baffled by the (probably) fake 5* reviews. It’s NOT “at Faro Airport” - I booked a “desk in airport” specification. It’s 5 miles away on an industrial estate with a massively stressful bus journey. On the return it took 40 mins from dropping the car off to getting to the airport. Huge stress. Then the queue on arrival: was 2 hours outside in the blazing sun - horrendous. Then the pressure sales tactics - £200 for extra insurance with threats of £1400 excess and that amount blocked on my card. Extra cost of breakdown recovery - they said it could cost £500. Luckily we didn’t break down. £18 for “toll activation” - rip off. The tank was “80% full, so return 80% full”. What?! I booked full-to-full. How am I supposed to know what 80% full is - so of course I just filled it 100% to avoid problems. Extra cost. Car had lots of minor scratches and dings. More stress wondering if I’d get charged the £1400 already blocked on my card. Just AVOID.

City/airport: Faro airport

John's rating of their experience of Centauro: (1/5) on 18 July 2018

Rip-off of 500 euro for a scratch which was practicly invisible. You can see it only from a very specific angle, from 30cm and with direct sunlight. Very bad surprise when returning the car. We did not notice it during the whole 7 days we used it...

City/airport: Mallorca

Pablo's rating of their experience of Centauro: (1/5) on 27 June 2018

Very professional and efficient all staff polite

City/airport: Alicante

Papa pete's rating of their experience of Centauro: (5/5) on 28 May 2018

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

never answer to 24 hour road assistance

City/airport: Spain

sam's rating of their experience of Centauro: (1/5) on 22 May 2018

A little slow at the pick up desk but otherwise no problem with collection of drop off. Will use again

City/airport: Alicante

Big Biff's rating of their experience of Centauro: (4/5) on 15 May 2018

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Excellent service, great price and no pressure to take unnecessary insurance.

City/airport: Murcia

Robgov's rating of their experience of Centauro: (5/5) on 24 April 2018

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

No problems during the rental.

City/airport: Alicante

ScottChar's rating of their experience of Centauro: (4/5) on 20 April 2018

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

First to begin with this rental company is not in the airport. You need to land, then wait for a bus to get to the rental company in Lisbon. The staff at the counter are very rude and just sit there doing other things even when customers are just waiting. Secondly, you might have booked through a 3rd party company, but they really dont care. They have hidden fees such as the Verde ticket tool which is 1.80 euros per day. Then they have the petrol deposit fees, insurance which is not a small amount by any means. Always check the wing mirrors as they are all scratched, but when you return it, its amazing given in good condition apparently. So always take photos before driving away with it. The cars aren't in bad condition but i didn't even get the small vehicle i wanted, ended up with a fiat 500L which is practically a 4x4. If you have the bad fortune of having to call in and add a driver or change anything, believe me they are rude and you end up having even more fees that were not discussed. I came back to have my deposit held for almost a month! When you return the car they say 5-7 days, but i ended up having to call them, email them, and my third party with proof of my contract before they released it. Even then it was shorted money as the 'exchange rate' was lower, however when i checked it was normal! Finally my third party did help me with compensation but never ever again will i use or recommend this service to anyone! Avoid avoid avoid.

City/airport: Lisbon

Nev Anil's rating of their experience of Centauro: (1/5) on 13 March 2018

Petrol on pick up only three quarters full went to desk and advised them, they said the gauge was probably not working properly but not to worry, on returning car with full petrol gauge read full!! Staff not nice didn't like being told they had ripped me off with the fuel even though had photos to prove it. wouldn't release car unless i took out their insurance or paid a ridiculous deposit amount on a mini of 2000 euros!!! very dubious staff and company wouldn't use again.

City/airport: ALICANTE AIRPORT

JD's rating of their experience of Centauro: (1/5) on 11 February 2018

Very good car rental company. They picked us up from the airport in a minibus to an off site facility 5 minutes away. Quickly sorted the car out for us and we were on our way.

City/airport: Murcia

ggogoi's rating of their experience of Centauro: (5/5) on 9 January 2018

Did the job

City/airport: Paris

Cardibreza's rating of their experience of Centauro: (2/5) on 29 December 2017

Price was good. The guy at the meeting point at the airport seemed to be a student that wished he was somewhere else - he gave us poor directions to the shuttle bus rather than escort us [like it says in their email]. Pople had been waiting quite a time but not long after we arrived the bus turned up, Paperwork experience was fairly standard with a warning about the costs of accidents etc clearly aimed at buying their rather costly extra insurance but no hard sell. Checking the car for every tiny mark was an eye opener. Their staff hurried you around the car drawing attention to even the tiniest mark. Car was good. Return was much more relaxed. Checked there was the same quantity of petrol, had a quick look for new marks and put our bags on the waiting bus. Petrol 'deposit' was returned swiftly and I had an exchange of emails with their customer services as a result of a mistake I had made and found them to be very helpful and understanding. 4* rather than 5* because of the pretty useless guy at the airport on our arrival.

City/airport: Faro airport

localshop's rating of their experience of Centauro: (5/5) on 26 October 2017

Good value, but beware, you drop off away from the airport and can wait quite a while for a transfer

City/airport: Lisbon

Robs's rating of their experience of Centauro: (4/5) on 25 October 2017

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Good value car hire however excessive pressure to buy their insurance. Reduce My Excess so much better value and straightforward in online process

City/airport: Alicante

HappyAl's rating of their experience of Centauro: (4.5/5) on 19 October 2017

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

If you have any comments or concerns about a review listed here please contact us for assistance.