Centauro Reviews

Have you hired a car from Centauro recently? Why not submit a review of your experiences to help others?
Centauro's Rating:
1.0/5 based on 128 reviews
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
6
Save money on your car hire! Get the best cover for your
Car Hire Excess Insurance
They ripped me off for a very small damage to the paint of a wheel. Costing me 300 euro. Luckily I had the Autoeurope excesss insurance. They repaid me the damage.

City/airport:

Herman's rating of their experience of Centauro: (1/5) on 17 November 2020

I made the mistake of clicking through the booking offered by Ryanair which ended up being with Centauro from Faro Airport. Of course I should have known better.... EUR 650 charge for "damage". which was evidently there when the car was collected. It was to the lower trim panel under the passenger side door. I had not spotted it when we collected the car (AT 11pm) but it had previously been GLUED back on. Obviously this is just a scam to catch the unwary. I had third party insurance but it is disgraceful behaviour by Centauro. For anyone else the car was a lovely looking Alfa Romeo Guilietta in Grey reg. 68-XE-13. Needless to say I'd avoid them like the proverbial plague, but anyone reading their reviews probably knows that already.

City/airport:

RSE2020's rating of their experience of Centauro: (1/5) on 11 November 2020

I’m still waiting for refund me, more than 1month, Definitely bad service!

City/airport:

Andre M's rating of their experience of Centauro: (1/5) on 13 September 2020

Thieves ... I delivered the car with more fuel than when I took it (it wasn't full when I picked it up...), and they didn't refund me despite the fact that the amount was very low (10 euros) after a rent of 700 euros + ... ridiculous

City/airport:

Daniele's rating of their experience of Centauro: (1/5) on 30 August 2020

Only use these if all others cannot supply or if you want to pay for their full insurance package. As they will charge you for some damage and they know exactly where to look straight away. We took photos of slight damage to one of the wheels, scratches to a door and wing. They would not accept that the damage was already there, eventually cost us 300€. You have been warned

City/airport:

San juan's rating of their experience of Centauro: (1/5) on 9 July 2020

The lady on the desk tried to scar monger me in to paying £168 for a weeks insurance. She actually made me feel really nervous about driving the car. I declined and told her I am a good driver and won't plan on having a crash. Her reply was to tell me that other drivers in Spain are terrible drivers and that I would get charged even if they crash into me. The car itself was full of dents scratches which I took a video off. The tyres where also extremely questionable all in all a bad experience

City/airport:

JG's rating of their experience of Centauro: (1/5) on 16 March 2020

We have rented via Centauro in previous years, both in Spain and Italy, but only during warmer periods. In the past, it worked without much notice. This time we rented a car via KLM / CarTrawler and Centauro well in advance of week 7 when we were celebrating sports holidays in Italy. The car would be picked up outside Malpensa. We were going to drive up to the Alps in the Aosta Valley. I clarified in the order that we should have winter tires, both for safety and not to be fined due to Italy laws. Once in place in Malpensa we did not get the car we had booked. We got another worse version, and in order to get an equivalent car we had to spend an additional 50-60 EUR to get to a similar level. Already there the problems began. There were no winter tires on the car or cars, and our needs were completely ignored. Centauro claimed that snow chains would suffice, and that is what they can offer. There was nothing nice about the front desk. We had no choice but to take the car we were given, and well up in the Alps we had planned to travel between 2 different locations. But because of the summer tires we could not drive. To be able to keep up with our friends, I tried to put on the snow chains. But those of the wrong size so they were completely useless. Centauro did put me and my family at great risk by offering substandard equipment. When I got into trouble, and tested the snow chains, I called Centauro. They could not help me and directed me to go to the nearest town to buy my own chains that fit, of which they would replace me later in the front desk. We had already lost preacious time because the car was inoperable and now I would spend more time looking for places to buy snow chains. It ended well, we came back to Milan in one piece, but in connection with our problems Centauro did not take responsibility, nor has they answered my case, on the complaint I made through their website after I came home. No one seems to care, despite the situation we had to endure. Neither did CarTrawler take responsibility for referring all contact to Centauro. I cannot recommend Centauro, and I will probably never rent from them again.

City/airport:

Nordic Skiier's rating of their experience of Centauro: (1/5) on 3 March 2020

Booked with Expedia...”all inclusive price” But Centauro pulled the old 300€ extra for full collision damage waiver. It was late, we were tired, but Never again.... rubbish Fiat Punto 1.2 motor which cannot cope with the steep hills in Madeira... totally inappropriate vehicle. Shame on you Centauro, but it won’t happen again. The established hire car operators are cheaper/better. Caveat emptor

City/airport:

Dissatisfied's rating of their experience of Centauro: (1/5) on 9 February 2020

Friendly, helpful, no pressure service. Although the hire car was supplied with overdue inspection and service.

City/airport:

TonyTee's rating of their experience of Centauro: (4/5) on 25 January 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Always great prices and most cars are in good condition.

City/airport:

Mogo's rating of their experience of Centauro: (5/5) on 19 January 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

DO NOT USE AT ALICANTE AIRPORT!!!! There is something serioulsy wrong here. I have been using Centauro for 15 years with no problem but when I landed on 12/12/2019 the girl on the desk was pushing to take their insurance but as I use car hires 5 or 6 times I buy an annual policy so had no need. On returning the car the Centauro operative spent 15 minutes with a torch inspecting the car. Finally he said there were scratches on the bonnet it took me and my wife to take a photo zoom in and see several hairline scratches all smaller than the size gauge on the contract. The operative closed the contract without my signature. I was then charged €250 for minor damage. I am a gold club member but would never use again. I have photos to prove thee damage. DO NOT USE

City/airport: Alicante

Ste b's rating of their experience of Centauro: (1/5) on 17 December 2019

Dodge, dodge people and Really poor service Really poor service Don't go for this guys You'll be ruined on just one holidays  Dodge Dodge Dodge Dodge Dodge

City/airport: Funchal

NelioF's rating of their experience of Centauro: (1/5) on 12 December 2019

Car exactly what we requested and in excellent condition. Efficient pick up and drop off.

City/airport: Alicante

Alison's rating of their experience of Centauro: (3.5/5) on 21 November 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Excellent service, great selection of cars and good price

City/airport: Murcia

Palomares P's rating of their experience of Centauro: (5/5) on 18 November 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

We have used Centauro several times, have found them to be excellent for the price, have never had a problem with them. Only slight negative is that there is sometimes quite a way to collect the cat.

City/airport: malaga

Dotc's rating of their experience of Centauro: (5/5) on 11 November 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

They stayed open after the plane was delayed. So grateful for that. Was upgraded to fiat 500 lovely car..Comfortable and relaxed week travelling around North Italy.

City/airport: Bergamo

Easy rider's rating of their experience of Centauro: (4/5) on 27 October 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Tried to get us to take extra insurance etc when we already had.on return of the car again said there were scratches which we were liable for. No water in the windshield wash... This firm are bullies and I would nevery use them again. . We did argue our case and no money was taKen from our account. Please unless you want hassle do not use Centauro in Olbia.

City/airport: Olbia

Momo's rating of their experience of Centauro: (1/5) on 23 October 2019

Excellent experience all round. Good price, friendly staff at the airport, good location close to the terminal. Pick-up and return processes very efficient and quick with no hassle about buying extras/insurance (have my own excess insurance) and instant return of deposits. The car provided was current model with 11k on the clock.

City/airport: Catania

Bobla's rating of their experience of Centauro: (5/5) on 15 October 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Excellent service

City/airport: Faro airport

Thomas's rating of their experience of Centauro: (5/5) on 14 October 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Instructions said that I’d be met at arrivals and taken to shuttle bus. There was no one there. I called the number provided, no answer. Eventually after asking around a non-Centauro employee showed me where the shuttle buses went from. I waited almost 2 hours for the shuttle. I kept asking the staff who worked for different companies or perhaps an overarching organization. They said the bus was coming and just to wait. Perhaps around 30 other buses arrived while I was waiting. When the driver did arrive he was apologetic and said there had been a problem with the bus. I could've got a taxi at any point which would've been a better solution. The car hire process was OK, had to pay a fee 14 euros for a thing that enabled you to go on the motorway. Agent over emphasized that without waiver excess cover you pay for EVERYTHING! What about excess? Scaremongering. Was worried about finding scratches on the car which they would stitch me up for. he said to check very carefully. Car USB connection didn't work with the stereo. Simple and successful process at the drop off

City/airport: Faro airport

RobG's rating of their experience of Centauro: (2.5/5) on 13 October 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Not a good start as there was no signs directing us to the pick up point for the shuttle bus. Eventually arrived at the office which was some way from the airport with restricted access due to road works. The car we were given was not what had been expected being smaller and unable to fit our luggage, this despite the expected model being clearly available on site. You pay for fuel up front and return at the same level for a refund. The only problem being that we were told the car was 75% full but was actually more like 60% so watch out for this trick. Drop off went smoothly and all excess and fuel monies were credited back.

City/airport: Pisa airport

Joey's rating of their experience of Centauro: (2/5) on 10 October 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Spent 15 minutes trying to find the rep in arrivals hall. He was sat behind all the other reps on his phone with his sign flat on his knee. Waited 30 minutes for shuttle bus. At the depot there were 2 receptionists and only 4 waiting but had to wait 90 minutes for attention, told they only had a smaller car than ordered by when filming damage to the car the receptionist went beserk and said he was calling the police. Dealt with the other receptionist who said to ignore the first and finally got a car albeit the smaller one.

City/airport: Faro airport

ATM's rating of their experience of Centauro: (1/5) on 9 October 2019

Never had a problem with Centauro, cars always nearly new, great service at Alicante and Murcia airport, no issues when taking car back either, they don't scrutinise the car on return, will always be my first choice if as cheap as another supplier I use (Use approx. 7 times a year) just check the car for mark/damages not on the sheet before driving off and advice them and they will reprint a new sheet out with new damages on.

City/airport: alicante and Murcia

subby's rating of their experience of Centauro: (5/5) on 7 October 2019

Have used them for many year generally with no problem, deposits and fuel payments returned quickly. Had one problem where they tried to charge me for broken glass in the wing mirror, manage to prove to them that this was broken on collection. Price they were trying to charge was extortionate.

City/airport: Alicante

Bill's rating of their experience of Centauro: (3/5) on 2 October 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

On dropping the car back the guy from centuro tried charging us for a chip out from underneath the front bumper. Then argued with us that we should have taken more photos of the car. They did something similar to the couple dropping their car off at the same time as us. Beware!

City/airport: Cagliari

Mark's rating of their experience of Centauro: (1.5/5) on 25 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

If you have any comments or concerns about a review listed here please contact us for assistance.