Centauro Reviews

Have you hired a car from Centauro recently? Why not submit a review of your experiences to help others?
Centauro's Rating:
3.2/5 based on 70 reviews
5 stars
28
4 stars
14
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
24
Save money on your car hire! Get the best cover for your
Car Hire Excess Insurance
Friendly efficient service with no hard up-sell of insurance

City/airport: Murcia

Rob's rating of their experience of Centauro: (5/5) on 13 June 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

I hired a car from these jokers in Faro in May. I paid up front for zero excess and full to full. When i went over the car with the rep, he pointed out that the tank was virtually empty and to bring it back roughly the same. On our return, I left the tank 3/8 full and because it was early and very busy with returns, I asked the agent to mark on my agreement that the tank was returned with more in it that I picked up. I then found out they had charged me for a full tank of fuel and a service charge as well, after much correspondence they are still refusing to refund me. Rent at your peril !!! I have contacted BVRLA for assistance. I have worked in car rental for many years and I thought this practice had stopped years ago. I may not get my money back, but I plead with you as a customer not to rent from these people to ensure that they don't receive your business. Tantamount to theft. Amateurs and rogues.

City/airport: Faro Airport

Colly's rating of their experience of Centauro: (1/5) on 11 June 2019

Absolutely awful. Would not recommend at all. Queued for over 2 hours to collect the car and, on return, charged me for 3/4 tank of fuel when they gave me the car only 1/4 full. Very low prices but they defo rip you off in others ways. Dont use

City/airport: Barcelona

hannaW's rating of their experience of Centauro: (1/5) on 5 June 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

What a refreshing change this was! Everything went like clockwork, there was no pressure to pay for extra insurance (and no scare tactics employed). We were given a nice car, received friendly and efficient service and enjoyed their excellent shuttle from, and back, to the airport.

City/airport: Palma

Jem's rating of their experience of Centauro: (5/5) on 3 June 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Excellent service from start to finish - pickup at airport by minibus was on time and efficient. Honest support during car hire and return. Decent car. Good price. Great staff.

City/airport: Madeira

Stevie D's rating of their experience of Centauro: (5/5) on 3 June 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

In most respects this is much like any other company operating in a crowded and competive market; they have a good range of cars which they rent out at competitive prices. What makes them standout is two things; firstly when I was at the desk I was not give the standard hard sell about taking out overpriced excess insurance. When I explained I already had it he just nodded and moved on. the whole process of getting the car was clear and genuinely seemed about selling extras that I might actaully need. The most impressive part was that on the booking contract is a circle 4.6cm in diameter. It was explained that any scratches, chips, or dents that will fit in the circle will not count as damange. Only one other company I have rented before have had such a clear and simple policy. I did find a couple of scratches that were not reported on the form after I had collected the car but when I returned the car I showed the rep the photos I had taken before collection and he immediately accepted them. All in all a very stress free hire. I will be using the company again.

City/airport: Porto

CamdenGuy's rating of their experience of Centauro: (4.5/5) on 2 June 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

They were efficient

City/airport: Ibiza

Annie's rating of their experience of Centauro: (4/5) on 2 June 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

I used CENTAURO car hire from Alicante Airport earlier this month and unfortunately I fell for their PARCEL SHELF scam, which seems to be employed by several car hire companies at Alicante airport. This is how it works. When we arrived we went to check in desk for CENTAURO which is just outside the exit doors (inside the airport). We were given a location for the vehicle. We only had hand luggage so placed this on the rear seat. We then inspected the outside of the car for damage and none being found we happily drive to our apartment in Altea. It was only when we reached the outskirts of Altea and went to the supermarket to get groceries did we realise there was no parcel shelf. Altea is around 50 mins from Alicante Airport. So we assumed (as others have) that the parcel shelf had been removed by CENTAURO due to the small size of the boot. However we did not like the inconvenience of not being able to use the boot to hide belongings. When we returned the car, the first thing the check in guy said was “where is the parcel shelf” as though he was looking for it as his first task. We calmly said it was not there when we hired the car, thinking that it had not been returned when the car was cleaned. He promptly said he would need to file a report and would report to his management. He then pointed to a clause in the contract which says (in small italic print) please check the parcel shelf. The upshot of this was a €200 unauthorised charge against my credit card the same day. No emails. No explanation. I have since contacted CENTAURO and been told the car when it returned was ‘damaged’ as it had s parcel shelf missing! So if I was CENTAURO wouldn’t you ask yourself. 1. Why would a person travelling from Singapore for 4 days in Spain steal a PARCEL SHELF? 2. What are the chances that next time I return to Spain and if I ever hired a car from CENTAURO I would be able to get the same make and model and be able to boast of having 2 x parcel shelves? 3. And lastly why does anybody have use of a second hand parcel shelf? If all this sounds ridiculous it is because it is! The fact the money was withdrawn from my account the same day I returned the car makes the situation more suspicious.

City/airport: Alicante Airport

Paffy's rating of their experience of Centauro: (1/5) on 1 June 2019

Smooth pick up and drop off. Brand new car of which I was the 2nd driver. Noticed a couple of scratches which I pointed out. Couldn't fault the company and 2nd time using them.

City/airport: Alicante

Belfcraig's rating of their experience of Centauro: (5/5) on 26 May 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

We got a virtually new car, in beautiful condition, which was ready and waiting for us to drive away. The pick up process was simple and efficient.

City/airport: Porto

G&A's rating of their experience of Centauro: (5/5) on 28 April 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

CONtauro said my Satander credit card would not register on there machine, so I had to use another card, funny they refunded the original card straight away( 1st Problem).Some credit card companys fight them for the money thats why they try to block them! (2nd Problem) Beware!! They gave me the spare key & not the flip original key. The car had 7 listed damage area's not including the lock , this is designed to distract you from putting the key in the door because you are too busy trying to check the faults. I collected the car from Alicante ground floor car park , which is very dark at 11.30 pm. Nearly impossible to check with nobody in there office. When I returned the car 8 days later the only thing the agent checked apart from fuel was the door and promptly said the lock was broke, I refuse to believe this is not a new problem and is the result of a different barrel fitted in the door from a previous problem. Hence no original flip key The agent just walk off saying he is chargeing me €253 for the lock. I am going to contest the claim and I have informed my EWC insurance company, They said Alicante is a big Problem! Car hire companies are not regulated. Look on the internet about key scam in Alicante. This can not continue, I am covered but alot of EWC policys do not cover locks thats what they reky on!

City/airport: Alicante

DGB's rating of their experience of Centauro: (1/5) on 25 April 2019

CONtauro said my Satander credit card would not register on there machine, so I had to use another card, funny they refunded the original card straight away( 1st Problem).Some credit card companys fight them for the money thats why they try to block them! (2nd Problem) Beware!! They gave me the spare key & not the flip original key. The car had 7 listed damage area's not including the lock , this is designed to distract you from putting the key in the door because you are too busy trying to check the faults. I collected the car from Alicante ground floor car park , which is very dark at 11.30 pm. Nearly impossible to check with nobody in there office. When I returned the car 8 days later the only thing the agent checked apart from fuel was the door and promptly said the lock was broke, I refuse to believe this is not a new problem and is the result of a different barrel fitted in the door from a previous problem. Hence no original flip key The agent just walk off saying he is chargeing me €253 for the lock. I am going to contest the claim and I have informed my EWC insurance company, They said Alicante is a big Problem! Car hire companies are not regulated. Look on the internet about key scam in Alicante. This can not continue, I am covered but alot of EWC policys do not cover locks thats what they reky on!

City/airport: Alicante

DGB's rating of their experience of Centauro: (1/5) on 25 April 2019

Was given a car with around a dozen scrapes.Missed one and got a 300 euro charge on return for damage I did not cause. Read other reviews on the web; I am not alone. AVOID !

City/airport: Malaga

Frequent flyer's rating of their experience of Centauro: (1/5) on 25 April 2019

Very poor company, after 2 weeks of our holiday in Ibiza they chargme 40 euros again with no explanation and no reason . Monkey business...

City/airport: Ibiza

Ramas's rating of their experience of Centauro: (1/5) on 21 April 2019

On the whole pretty good. You must check your car all over for any problems. We had an issue when on return they checked right underneath the car and changed for damage. We believe the damage was there when we collected the car as we hadn’t knowingly caused it. The underneath is not somewhere we had checked up until that point

City/airport: Murcia

Trev 57's rating of their experience of Centauro: (4/5) on 5 April 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

I booked a car for 1 day for 37 euros using EconomyBooking site, and when I arrived to the company they also tried to charge me 170 euros for returning the car in a different place. That value was never shown to me, and other companies like Avis charge 9 euros for the same. Super abusive and super bad experience. No Centauro neither EconomyBooking gave my money back. Avoid both companies.

City/airport: Valencia

Sebastian's rating of their experience of Centauro: (1/5) on 28 March 2019

Good to deal with, easy paperwork, quick turnaround.

City/airport: Alicante

AJAY's rating of their experience of Centauro: (4.5/5) on 5 March 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

I booked a car with full for full and when I went to collect it, it was 80% ( that what they said). I told them I want it full for full and they said we can give you a full tank or a partially filled one as it is what it says in the contract. So, read carefully. It is the first time it happens to me!. Then, when I brought it back and they charged me for the scratch ( That I didn't notice when I took the car) they didn't refund me the fuel but took more money ( to make the 200 euros) for a scratch under the bumper, which was there when I picked the car. If it was me, i would have repaired it for 15 euros. But that how they make money: stealing from innocent naive people.

City/airport: alicante

sabrina's rating of their experience of Centauro: (1/5) on 11 February 2019

I booked a car with full for full and… I booked a car with full for full and when I went to collect it, it was 80% ( that what they said). I told them I want it full for full and they said we can give you a full tank or a partially filled one as it is what it says in the contract. So, read carefully. It is the first time it happens to me!. Then, when I brought it back and they charged me for the scratch ( That I didn't notice when I took the car) they didn't refund me the fuel but took more money ( to make the 200 euros) for a scratch under the bumper, which was there when I picked the car. If it was me, i would have repaired it for 15 euros. But that how they make money: stealing from innocent naive people.

City/airport: alicante

sabrina's rating of their experience of Centauro: (1/5) on 11 February 2019

Mentirosos, y mismo que yo hablo español, logran con mentiras que cojas du seguro, pero diciendo que ellos te devolverán el dinero es solo es para estar seguro due hay dinero, en lugar de decirte , no si no tienes tu carta visa no se te puede dar y yo escojo , si lo pago o no, de verdaderos ladrones

City/airport: Malaga

Gogo's rating of their experience of Centauro: (1/5) on 7 January 2019

Rented Car with Centauro in Milano - Malpensa Where do i start? We took centauro because they claimed they were at or very close to the airport. We had to wait 45 minutes on a shuttlebus and no one wanted to give any information when we called and asked centauro support. When the shuttlebus finally arived it didnt have baby seats so we had to go with our baby in the lap (not ok), but we thought the rental was close to the Airport but he went on the freeway and went on for about 15 minutes. Finally at the rental we had paid for a new WV Polo or similar but instead we got a smashed Fiat 500. Everything was supposed to have been paid but because we only have debit card not credit card they said they had to charge another 250 Euro (not reserved but paid, we did not get this back). A couple of weeks later when im home again i see another -50 euro on my bank account named centauro and apperently they charged 50 euro for some administration fee, so now i have had to disable the card and order a new one because i dont want them to charge more things. Never Centauro again.

City/airport: Malpensa

Morgan's rating of their experience of Centauro: (1/5) on 16 December 2018

used many times. always hassle free. pick up is relatively fast, drop off and their inspection very fast ( while you wait).. any problems with vehicle sorted speedily( rear screen wiper faulty once). small scratches accepted as part of life for a hire car.

City/airport: lanzarote

allanH's rating of their experience of Centauro: (5/5) on 15 October 2018

Still waiting on a reply, I shall not just go away, I will not be treated like this. Sent from my iPad On 11 Sep 2018, at 21:04, David Newman wrote: Sent from my iPad Hi, I wish to draw your attention to my experience with Centauro rent a car who I booked through yourselves, last year my car hire was great I couldn't recommend Centauro enough, but this year was completely different . It started with the min bus lady driver who drove very erratic, speeding and using a hand held mobile phone while driving. On arrival to the Centauro office we were kept waiting 40 minutes before being dealt with, staff where just chatting casually with each other. Every thing was fine till it came to the hard sell for excess insurance, I repeatedly told him I have annual cover but he just said but they won't pay out but we will, we are not new to car hire around the world and know what is right, by now I was getting very annoyed as we needed to pick the keys up from someone for our Villa. I then asked does someone come out and check the vehicle over with us and he said no you do that and if there is any damage come back in and show me. When we went outside it was now dark so my wife used the torch on her phone why I videoed and took photos of the damage on the vehicle, when going back in to the office the man who had dealt with me was busy with other customers , so I went to the gentleman who did not have customers with him and tried to tell him of the damage to the car that I found , but he just ignored me , I then told him that he was rude and he told me to go to one of the other members of staff, I asked his name and he ignored me again so I repeated my self and he said Nelson so I told him that I was going to report him, I then went to the man who originally dealt with me who was serving someone else but I had little time left so pushed my way forward, he then marked of all the damage on the form and then put his initial next to it. On leaving I took a photo of the large Centauro sign on the wall behind the counter and went straight to the car where my wife was waiting, on getting in the car and getting use to the instruments Nelson , another lady and the mini bus driver stood in front of the car, when my wife put her window down and asked is there a problem the lady mini bus driver said they were going to contact the police because I had taken a photo all three then went back in the office and we continued very late to collect our key for the villa. I found this customer service to be very poor and on my return to the uk I shall depending on my response to this email be putting it on social media. Please find photos of main damage on picking up car and the photo of the sign and the three members of staff who stood in front of the car. Regards David Newman. Still waiting on a reply, I shall not just go away, I will not be treated like this. Sent from my iPad On 11 Sep 2018, at 21:04, David Newman wrote: Sent from my iPad Hi, I wish to draw your attention to my experience with Centauro rent a car who I booked through yourselves, last year my car hire was great I couldn't recommend Centauro enough, but this year was completely different . It started with the min bus lady driver who drove very erratic, speeding and using a hand held mobile phone while driving. On arrival to the Centauro office we were kept waiting 40 minutes before being dealt with, staff where just chatting casually with each other. Every thing was fine till it came to the hard sell for excess insurance, I repeatedly told him I have annual cover but he just said but they won't pay out but we will, we are not new to car hire around the world and know what is right, by now I was getting very annoyed as we needed to pick the keys up from someone for our Villa. I then asked does someone come out and check the vehicle over with us and he said no you do that and if there is any damage come back in and show me. When we went outside it was now dark so my wife used the torch on her phone why I videoed and took photos of the damage on the vehicle, when going back in to the office the man who had dealt with me was busy with other customers , so I went to the gentleman who did not have customers with him and tried to tell him of the damage to the car that I found , but he just ignored me , I then told him that he was rude and he told me to go to one of the other members of staff, I asked his name and he ignored me again so I repeated my self and he said Nelson so I told him that I was going to report him, I then went to the man who originally dealt with me who was serving someone else but I had little time left so pushed my way forward, he then marked of all the damage on the form and then put his initial next to it. On leaving I took a photo of the large Centauro sign on the wall behind the counter and went straight to the car where my wife was waiting, on getting in the car and getting use to the instruments Nelson , another lady and the mini bus driver stood in front of the car, when my wife put her window down and asked is there a problem the lady mini bus driver said they were going to contact the police because I had taken a photo all three then went back in the office and we continued very late to collect our key for the villa. I found this customer service to be very poor and on my return to the uk I shall depending on my response to this email be putting it on social media. Please find photos of main damage on picking up car and the photo of the sign and the three members of staff who stood in front of the car. Regards David Newman. Telling me my car excess that I purchased would not pay out and that I needed to take out there's , I also had to find all the damage on the car myself and wait again in the queue to get it signed off else I could have been hit with a bill for damage that they were already aware of.

City/airport: Faro Portugal

Angry's rating of their experience of Centauro: (1/5) on 15 September 2018

A faultless experience, no high pressure insurance sales at check in just the facts & made fully aware of the excess. Return of vehicle again faultless & very quick, with email confirmation of fuel refund received while still at office.Beyond expectations & just about to book for October. Muchas gracias Centauro

City/airport: Malaga

Joe's rating of their experience of Centauro: (5/5) on 28 August 2018

We arrived Sunday 5 August 2018, took the mini bus to the Centuro area, and it was absolute chaos. 100s of people, luggage and only two staff. Our ticket was 130 and they were on 87.... after 30 minutes they got to ticket 89! We had to just walk away and return to the airport to get a taxi as with two small kids we couldn't wait 4+ hours in a tiny room with 100s of other poor people stuck there. People were getting angry and their was no help from staff so we left without a hire car. Whole thing was a complete shambles I would avoid at all costs!! Centuro did refund the money for our hire as we booked direct. Would never use again.

City/airport: Palma

Family hire's rating of their experience of Centauro: (1/5) on 20 August 2018

If you have any comments or concerns about a review listed here please contact us for assistance.