Avis Reviews

Have you hired a car from Avis recently? Why not submit a review of your experiences to help others?
Avis's Rating:
4.0/5 based on 219 reviews
5 stars
39
4 stars
22
3 stars
8
2 stars
1
1 star
5
Save money on your car hire! Get the best cover for your
Car Hire Excess Insurance
Service pretty much exactly as expected.

City/airport: Olbia

Dave19's rating of their experience of Avis: (4/5) on 22 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

We always hire from Avis. As preferred members, we get lots of benefits and have never had a problem when returning the cars in any country.

City/airport: Preveza

RS's rating of their experience of Avis: (4.5/5) on 18 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Good price & didn't take as long as normal to get the paperwork sorted. Car was fine.

City/airport: Bilbao

jps's rating of their experience of Avis: (4/5) on 18 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Kept Waiting 3 hours for car.

City/airport: Sicily

DM's rating of their experience of Avis: (1/5) on 17 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Nice car, reasonable price. Service was good. Had to wait before seeing somebody but handing over the car was very rapid after that. Returning the car very efficiently dealt with.

City/airport: Marseille Saint-Charles railway station

cmm's rating of their experience of Avis: (3.5/5) on 16 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

In my experience Avis were very good, no wait at pick up or drop off, very clean car in good condition. My only reservation was it wasn’t made clear to me prior to collection an excess reserve (€1200) would be taken off my credit card at the car pick up....could cause embarrassment to some, and some difficulty if said card was to be used as holiday spending money.

City/airport: Dubrovnik

Jayo's rating of their experience of Avis: (4.5/5) on 15 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Good car rental company with friendly and efficient staff.

City/airport: Alicante airport

Dave's rating of their experience of Avis: (4/5) on 15 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Very good, most helpful

City/airport: Pathos

Hunter's rating of their experience of Avis: (5/5) on 2 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Vehicle was claimed to be new but had multiple damage and had over 50,000 km on the clock

City/airport: Barcelona

Weedo's rating of their experience of Avis: (3/5) on 2 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

No hassles. and as Preferred Customer, good upgrades

City/airport: Gibraltar

RelaxedCarHirer's rating of their experience of Avis: (5/5) on 1 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

It was all very easy, but probably mainly because it was Orkney!

City/airport: Kirkwall

VMD's rating of their experience of Avis: (3.5/5) on 30 August 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Easy enough pickup. Got a free upgrade as no cars in our booked grade. Tried to sell us excess protection and also fuel . Car was checked thoroughly and existing damage noted. All in all not too bad for pick up. Drop off was nightmare. Had to find parking space , not easy ! Then take picture of dashboard and left keys, parking ticket and bay no with Avis man and that was it. Not heard anything since so all good.

City/airport: Madrid

Mike P's rating of their experience of Avis: (3.5/5) on 28 August 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Waiting 1hr45minutes in a queue at the airport meant it took nearly as much time to collect my pre-booked car as it did to fly from London to Barcelona. When I did pick up the car, it was covered in dents and scrapes that were not highlighted on the documentation, but the staff at the collection point were not interested and I was told to take pictures. Sure enough, on returning the vehicle the same staff tried to claim that I was responsible and an argument ensued. Oh, and the BMW 3 series I was expecting ended up being a small Mercedes. Going to Barcelona? Do not use Avis.

City/airport: Barcelona

Stu's rating of their experience of Avis: (1/5) on 28 August 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

All fine except that the car was more damaged on collection than the sheet showed and had very high mileage - 38k on the clock. It was fine and worked perfectly and there were no more glitches. The service where they refilled the tank with just what you used seemed a good deal but I have yet to get the bill.

City/airport: Bologna

Jenni's rating of their experience of Avis: (3/5) on 27 August 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

I’ve used Avis before (in the States) and the service was superb. However, at Glasgow airport, the two men handing out the keys were - quite frankly- moronic. Didn’t explain any of the controls and when I set off, there was something g wrong; the car got to 16mph and struggled to get above it. I went back and explained, saying that it felt as if cruise control had accidentally got set at 16. Instead of checking that and showing me how to switch the control on/off, The guy got in the car and drove round the car park and concluded that ‘I think the problem is that your turbo hasn’t warmed up’! Anyway, I drove off and managed to find cruise control and switched it off. Really frustrating. Service on my return was superb and the booking process as a preferred customer was also great. So I’d give them another go, on the basis that two individual morons in one big company is probably rare.

City/airport: Glasgow

Carole's rating of their experience of Avis: (3.5/5) on 25 August 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Great... even helped me with my lost passport!

City/airport: Nice Airport

Fiona's rating of their experience of Avis: (5/5) on 22 August 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

To set the scene, arrived late evening at AVIS office that is shared with many other companies. Two customers in front of me, one complaining he had been charged by AVIS for access insurance when he already had his own and had turned theirs down. The other had already refused one car due to too much damage and was adding to the damage list of the second car. I was offered three cars from a group lower than the one I booked, but no explanation why. Eventually got the key, but checking the damage list there was far more scratches than recorded. Went back to the office to ask the staff member to record the additional damage and whilst in the office someone drove into the hire car. Although, you could say this is not AVIS fault, the staff member then seemed to lose it, ordering me to give them the key with my luggage still in the boot and then demanding I park the car. It certainly was not my fault. Sometime later I left with another car, but apprehensive all week that I had to drop the car off and go through an ordeal with another member of staff. Thankfully drop-off went smoothly without further incident.

City/airport: Florence

Italia Travels's rating of their experience of Avis: (1/5) on 22 August 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Company was quick at getting us the car and didn’t try and ‘up sell’ us anything.

City/airport: Montpellier

Gayle's rating of their experience of Avis: (4/5) on 21 August 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Avis are okay. Nothing special, but got the car at a competitive price.

City/airport: Avignon

Occasional User's rating of their experience of Avis: (3/5) on 20 August 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

They have good cars and a fast check out process. Their prices are quite transparent so I don’t feel like there are hidden extras.

City/airport: Faro Airport

Mrs Walker's rating of their experience of Avis: (4/5) on 12 August 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Good car and rate. Queue to collect car too long.

City/airport: Marseille

H53's rating of their experience of Avis: (3/5) on 12 August 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Very quick, efficient, helpful. Would use again.

City/airport: Knock

Covkid's rating of their experience of Avis: (4.5/5) on 11 August 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Everything seemed to go well. No problems collecting or dropping off the car.

City/airport: Toulouse

Spacecadet78's rating of their experience of Avis: (3.5/5) on 8 August 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Excellent cars and fast service

City/airport: Bordeaux

Dave1's rating of their experience of Avis: (5/5) on 6 August 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Fast and straightforward

City/airport: Bologna

Jess's rating of their experience of Avis: (4/5) on 4 August 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

If you have any comments or concerns about a review listed here please contact us for assistance.