Avis Reviews

Have you hired a car from Avis recently? Why not submit a review of your experiences to help others?
Avis's Rating:
4.0/5 based on 157 reviews
5 stars
83
4 stars
51
3 stars
11
2 stars
2
1 star
10
Save money on your car hire! Get the best cover for your
Car Hire Excess Insurance
All went smoothly but no-one about to explain controls so never figured out how to use satnav. Vehicle return process could have been better.

City/airport: Geneva

G-Man's rating of their experience of Avis: (4/5) on 13 August 2018

Much better prices than renting at an Airport

City/airport: Port Jervis

Bugsie's rating of their experience of Avis: (4/5) on 24 June 2018

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

I was persuaded to have a larger car than I had booked at a cost about euro 5 per day , The car was a bit too large for comfortable driving on narrow roads, I accept this was my mistake. every thing else went smoothly, quick check out and return

City/airport: corfu

cp's rating of their experience of Avis: (4.5/5) on 23 June 2018

Good price, joined the priority customer thing, got a free upgrade to SUV. Rep suggested toll upgrade when I told him where I was going, really good advice, worth taking, about £14 I went through several. Also took the refill option which was expensive at £70 but knew I was going to refill before returning. In the end £20 above the £70 odd for 8 days bargain. A few marks on the car rear bumper on pickup but took a picture and it was booked back in in 2 mins with no damage. Relief tho to have the reduce my excess insurance as Avis waiver would have been much more.

City/airport: Faro airport

Chinmusic1981's rating of their experience of Avis: (4.5/5) on 18 June 2018

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

We prebooked a car with AVIS through British Airways. We have never used AVIS before as they have never represented best value for money, but with the BA connection and their reputation we decided to go with them on this occasion. We had a 'Reduce my Excess' policy, which we explained to the Avis agent on arrival. The agent seems to be in a great hurry and whisked us through the Terms and conditions before calculating that we needed to pay what we thought, based on recent experience with Budget and other rental firms, was a security deposit that would be returned when we returned the car undamaged. After returning the car (undamaged and with a full tank) Avis signed us off and we returned home expecting the 'deposit' to be refunded by Bank transfer (as had happened with other firms. However, this did not happen and we looked though the Rental agreement in more detail, only to find that the Agent had run through the document in the English translation, but I had signed it under the French wording, where the Insured excess section had not be deleted, so that the we realised that what we had thought was a deposit, was actually an additional non-returnable payment for the Excess insurance etc. We have raised this issue with AVIS but have had no reply in two weeks - whether it was accidental for intended, we have been 'missold' the additional costs and we will never use AVIS again.

City/airport: Nice Airport

Bert's rating of their experience of Avis: (1/5) on 14 June 2018

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Very helpful and friendly, unexpected upgrade, brought to and collected from hotel at no extra cost

City/airport: Jersey

nald's rating of their experience of Avis: (5/5) on 11 June 2018

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Very good

City/airport: Las Palmas

Dusty's rating of their experience of Avis: (4/5) on 3 June 2018

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

First rate, no fuss and particularly, no bother. A new car was provided and a free upgrade. All positive.

City/airport: Faro airport

traveller21's rating of their experience of Avis: (5/5) on 30 May 2018

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Great efficient, friendly service. No issues at all. Lovely car. A bit pricier than others, but you get what you pay for!

City/airport: Alicante

StuAtch's rating of their experience of Avis: (5/5) on 28 May 2018

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Waited an hour and a half to be served only 1 guy on budget next door had 5

City/airport: Orlandi

Ronald1966's rating of their experience of Avis: (1.5/5) on 26 May 2018

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Expected a ford focus, Got a citroen c3

City/airport: larnaca

Philb55's rating of their experience of Avis: (3.5/5) on 3 May 2018

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Customer Service Desk staff were friendly and helpful. Car was clean, very low mileage and in good working order.

City/airport: Heraklion

neecy's rating of their experience of Avis: (5/5) on 1 May 2018

No problems with car hire pick up or drop off; always useful to have excess cover, just in case. Well priced and good cover

City/airport: Faro airport

Garvey trippers's rating of their experience of Avis: (4/5) on 19 April 2018

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Efficient service on collection considering busy airport (use collect a ticket service to improve queuing).Tried to upsell and offer extra services but gave up easily. Excellent new vehicle. Efficient return service though it would be easy to claim damage later (still waiting to confirm that doesn't happen) - however Avis have good reputation so don't expect it. Not cheapest but good value.

City/airport: Malaga

Richard's rating of their experience of Avis: (4/5) on 17 April 2018

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Avis Preferred service; car was as described and waiting, so all good.

City/airport: Orlando

Kev's rating of their experience of Avis: (5/5) on 15 April 2018

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Good company - no negatives just fine. Company did exactly what it says on the label.

City/airport: Malaga

Fish's rating of their experience of Avis: (4.5/5) on 10 April 2018

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Great service from booking through to picking up and returning the car as a "preferred member"

City/airport: Porto

"G"'s rating of their experience of Avis: (5/5) on 4 April 2018

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Initially booked from Ismaning only to be told no vehicle available! go to the train station where one would be available, in an unclean state so good marks for recovering their error and bad marks for a dirty vehicle and surcharging us for returning the vehicle to the originally booked hire point and no allowance for extra time travelling from Ismaning to Munich train station to the actual hire point..

City/airport: munich

jayopt's rating of their experience of Avis: (2.5/5) on 1 April 2018

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Easy to sort, the car was okay . Had an issue where it wouldnt lock and when i rang they said there was nothing they could do except swap the car

City/airport: valletta

carbootman's rating of their experience of Avis: (4/5) on 26 March 2018

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

An easy pickup

City/airport: Capetown

John's rating of their experience of Avis: (4/5) on 19 March 2018

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

This was a one way hire, collection from the city office was easy with no heavy insurance sell. Car was in good condition and clean. Drop off at Brisbane airport was also easy.

City/airport: Sydney

Tj's rating of their experience of Avis: (4/5) on 9 March 2018

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Ok nothing special. Windscreen was filthy inside. Not as good as previously. Avis has declined!!! Used to try harder!!

City/airport: Faro. Ponta delgada

Flossy's rating of their experience of Avis: (3/5) on 3 March 2018

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Short pickup queue and easy drop off. Car was very new and better than expected.

City/airport: Grenoble

InxsSaver's rating of their experience of Avis: (5/5) on 25 February 2018

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

No problems booking with reduce my excess. Never had to claim so unable to comment on the claim side of things. Good communication

City/airport: Birmingham

Steviep's rating of their experience of Avis: (3.5/5) on 9 February 2018

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Efficient and friendly- no problems!

City/airport: SAN Sebastián de la Gomera

Roly's rating of their experience of Avis: (5/5) on 14 January 2018

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

If you have any comments or concerns about a review listed here please contact us for assistance.