Avis Reviews

Have you hired a car from Avis recently? Why not submit a review of your experiences to help others?
Avis's Rating:
4.0/5 based on 268 reviews
5 stars
47
4 stars
26
3 stars
9
2 stars
1
1 star
8
Save money on your car hire! Get the best cover for your
Car Hire Excess Insurance
Good, friendly service at pick-up and drop-off. Great car (Peugeot 2008) which completely dispelled my initial scepticism about its 3-cylinder engine. It was responsive, comfortable and very economical.

City/airport:

Braunston's rating of their experience of Avis: (5/5) on 24 October 2021

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Superb service from Avis Prestige. Fantastic car and all the paperwork was completed smoothly.

City/airport:

Colinf's rating of their experience of Avis: (5/5) on 24 October 2021

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Nice and simple economical and no hidden extras

City/airport:

Andyburger's rating of their experience of Avis: (4.5/5) on 21 October 2021

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Great car. Efficient service.

City/airport:

Sorley's rating of their experience of Avis: (5/5) on 31 July 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Polite and professional

City/airport:

chief57's rating of their experience of Avis: (4/5) on 16 May 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

All went reasonably smoothly. However, when I collected the car no-one from AVIS came out to it with me to check it over for damages before I left, which wasn't helpful. When I returned the car, there was no-one at the AVIS return point and I had to put the keys through the letterbox.

City/airport:

Tammy's rating of their experience of Avis: (4/5) on 21 March 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Have used reduce my access for a number of years now and it gives great piece of mind

City/airport:

Jimbo's rating of their experience of Avis: (4.5/5) on 18 March 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

no problems apart from the normal haggle about the car provided being "or similar" to that offered. in the end we got the car suggested and everything was fine.

City/airport:

steve b's rating of their experience of Avis: (5/5) on 15 March 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

I had a very efficient, friendly and good service from the Avis agency

City/airport:

Beth's rating of their experience of Avis: (5/5) on 12 March 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

No issues at all with Avis.

City/airport:

Marko's rating of their experience of Avis: (4/5) on 7 March 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Very good - always excellent when using Avis. I had to cancel my trip and Avis fully refunded my money under the circumstances.

City/airport:

Martin's rating of their experience of Avis: (5/5) on 6 March 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Excellent. Avis preferred is their free loyalty club and the paperwork was all done before I reached the counter. They told me that I should just go straight to the car desk in the carpark in future as you do not need to speak to them in the terminal. Brand new car, 1 class upgrade and no silly niggles on inspection. I did not buy the full package insurance as I had it separate but they did not pressure me at all. Will use them again. Few £ more but no hassle whatsoever.

City/airport:

Business traveller's rating of their experience of Avis: (5/5) on 2 March 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Good

City/airport:

D_Steveo's rating of their experience of Avis: (5/5) on 1 March 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Reasonably efficient at airport collection, but would have been delay if I’d waited for hand back checks so I took photos to prove no damage. They didn’t seem busy so bit odd. Car was ok but oldish with 29k kilometres and seemed a bit rough mechanically, but was fine just sounded rough. For £70 via BA good value deal.

City/airport:

Oldpastonian's rating of their experience of Avis: (4/5) on 26 February 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Confusing when checking in, as they don't make it clear if you are a registered user of the app, you can simply walk down to the car pick up point, rather than waiting 30 mins in a queue at the airport desk. Notwithstanding this, everything else was pretty as much as it should be.

City/airport:

Scooterboy's rating of their experience of Avis: (4/5) on 23 February 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Great efficient service. Car was good for the price. Would use again.

City/airport:

The Silver Fox's rating of their experience of Avis: (4.5/5) on 23 February 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Amazing service and cover. Incredibly helpful and responsive on email. Great value for money!

City/airport:

Vane's rating of their experience of Avis: (5/5) on 22 February 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Well organised at airport. Dealt with efficiently at the desk. Car reasonable quality, had to advise them of other scratches on car.( Always take pictures). Some difficulty on return as had to change airport due to Ryanair. Could not get through to help desk. Had to pay extra £100 .

City/airport:

Ali's rating of their experience of Avis: (3/5) on 21 February 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Not the cheapest, but if you book through British airways you get free additional driver so works out cheaper

City/airport:

Carhiretoomanytines's rating of their experience of Avis: (3.5/5) on 17 February 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Helpful and efficient

City/airport:

Melanie's rating of their experience of Avis: (4/5) on 4 February 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Good

City/airport:

Kevbhoney's rating of their experience of Avis: (5/5) on 18 January 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Perfect

City/airport:

Robbie's rating of their experience of Avis: (4.5/5) on 18 January 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Very efficient

City/airport:

Jon D's rating of their experience of Avis: (5/5) on 15 January 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

A good car with full winter equipment (chains and snow tyres). Helpful staff and efficient return

City/airport: Geneva

Christhedentist's rating of their experience of Avis: (4.5/5) on 23 December 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Everything went smoothly so far Car had lots of scratches at pickup that we identified and agreed by Avis rep Drop off at Cape Town easy and Avis said all OK with car

City/airport: Port Elizabeth

Bumbles25's rating of their experience of Avis: (4/5) on 18 December 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

If you have any comments or concerns about a review listed here please contact us for assistance.