Avis Reviews

Have you hired a car from Avis recently? Why not submit a review of your experiences to help others?
Avis's Rating:
4.0/5 based on 264 reviews
5 stars
56
4 stars
31
3 stars
10
2 stars
1
1 star
8
Save money on your car hire! Get the best cover for your
Car Hire Excess Insurance
Polite and professional

City/airport: Plymouth

chief57's rating of their experience of Avis: (4/5) on 16 May 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

All went reasonably smoothly. However, when I collected the car no-one from AVIS came out to it with me to check it over for damages before I left, which wasn't helpful. When I returned the car, there was no-one at the AVIS return point and I had to put the keys through the letterbox.

City/airport: Inverness

Tammy's rating of their experience of Avis: (4/5) on 21 March 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Have used reduce my access for a number of years now and it gives great piece of mind

City/airport: Olando

Jimbo's rating of their experience of Avis: (4.5/5) on 18 March 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

no problems apart from the normal haggle about the car provided being "or similar" to that offered. in the end we got the car suggested and everything was fine.

City/airport: aqaba

steve b's rating of their experience of Avis: (5/5) on 15 March 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

I had a very efficient, friendly and good service from the Avis agency

City/airport: Houston

Beth's rating of their experience of Avis: (5/5) on 12 March 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

No issues at all with Avis.

City/airport: Johannesburg

Marko's rating of their experience of Avis: (4/5) on 7 March 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Very good - always excellent when using Avis. I had to cancel my trip and Avis fully refunded my money under the circumstances.

City/airport: Milan Malpensa

Martin's rating of their experience of Avis: (5/5) on 6 March 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Excellent. Avis preferred is their free loyalty club and the paperwork was all done before I reached the counter. They told me that I should just go straight to the car desk in the carpark in future as you do not need to speak to them in the terminal. Brand new car, 1 class upgrade and no silly niggles on inspection. I did not buy the full package insurance as I had it separate but they did not pressure me at all. Will use them again. Few £ more but no hassle whatsoever.

City/airport: alicante

Business traveller's rating of their experience of Avis: (5/5) on 2 March 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Good

City/airport: Hailsham

D_Steveo's rating of their experience of Avis: (5/5) on 1 March 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Reasonably efficient at airport collection, but would have been delay if I’d waited for hand back checks so I took photos to prove no damage. They didn’t seem busy so bit odd. Car was ok but oldish with 29k kilometres and seemed a bit rough mechanically, but was fine just sounded rough. For £70 via BA good value deal.

City/airport: Madrid

Oldpastonian's rating of their experience of Avis: (4/5) on 26 February 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Confusing when checking in, as they don't make it clear if you are a registered user of the app, you can simply walk down to the car pick up point, rather than waiting 30 mins in a queue at the airport desk. Notwithstanding this, everything else was pretty as much as it should be.

City/airport: Barcelona

Scooterboy's rating of their experience of Avis: (4/5) on 23 February 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Great efficient service. Car was good for the price. Would use again.

City/airport: Madeira

The Silver Fox's rating of their experience of Avis: (4.5/5) on 23 February 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Amazing service and cover. Incredibly helpful and responsive on email. Great value for money!

City/airport: London

Vane's rating of their experience of Avis: (5/5) on 22 February 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Well organised at airport. Dealt with efficiently at the desk. Car reasonable quality, had to advise them of other scratches on car.( Always take pictures). Some difficulty on return as had to change airport due to Ryanair. Could not get through to help desk. Had to pay extra £100 .

City/airport: Marco Polo Venice

Ali's rating of their experience of Avis: (3/5) on 21 February 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Not the cheapest, but if you book through British airways you get free additional driver so works out cheaper

City/airport: Bournemouth

Carhiretoomanytines's rating of their experience of Avis: (3.5/5) on 17 February 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Helpful and efficient

City/airport: Easy Midlands

Melanie's rating of their experience of Avis: (4/5) on 4 February 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Good

City/airport: Bristol

Kevbhoney's rating of their experience of Avis: (5/5) on 18 January 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Perfect

City/airport: Penrith

Robbie's rating of their experience of Avis: (4.5/5) on 18 January 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Very efficient

City/airport: Edinburgh

Jon D's rating of their experience of Avis: (5/5) on 15 January 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

A good car with full winter equipment (chains and snow tyres). Helpful staff and efficient return

City/airport: Geneva

Christhedentist's rating of their experience of Avis: (4.5/5) on 23 December 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Everything went smoothly so far Car had lots of scratches at pickup that we identified and agreed by Avis rep Drop off at Cape Town easy and Avis said all OK with car

City/airport: Port Elizabeth

Bumbles25's rating of their experience of Avis: (4/5) on 18 December 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

The car we booked was not available and they tried to charge us extra for an upgrade which is supposed to be offered free in this case. The reviews I have since read about this particular branch have been very bad. We made sure the car was spotless on return and took plenty of photographs of the interior and exterior. I would not recommend them because the man was very argumentative when we picked up the car, we refused the sporty car he tried to give us. Not the service you would expect from Avis.

City/airport: Inverness

Madmolly's rating of their experience of Avis: (1/5) on 17 December 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Very speedy service. Pleasant staff at Car Hire Desk. Car in good condition. No issues

City/airport: Glasgow

JudyH's rating of their experience of Avis: (5/5) on 15 December 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Easy process to obtain car. Very relaxed and stress free process from start to end. Car exactly as described. I was happy with the hire and would definitely use again.

City/airport: Jersey

Loseapoint's rating of their experience of Avis: (4.5/5) on 14 December 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

All good. Quick check in/out plus free transfer to airport arranged. Very happy

City/airport: Keflavík

Shuckers's rating of their experience of Avis: (4/5) on 13 December 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

If you have any comments or concerns about a review listed here please contact us for assistance.