Avis Reviews

Have you hired a car from Avis recently? Why not submit a review of your experiences to help others?
Avis's Rating:
4.0/5 based on 257 reviews
5 stars
53
4 stars
28
3 stars
10
2 stars
1
1 star
8
Save money on your car hire! Get the best cover for your
Car Hire Excess Insurance
Excellent. Avis preferred is their free loyalty club and the paperwork was all done before I reached the counter. They told me that I should just go straight to the car desk in the carpark in future as you do not need to speak to them in the terminal. Brand new car, 1 class upgrade and no silly niggles on inspection. I did not buy the full package insurance as I had it separate but they did not pressure me at all. Will use them again. Few £ more but no hassle whatsoever.

City/airport: alicante

Business traveller's rating of their experience of Avis: (5/5) on 2 March 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Good

City/airport: Hailsham

D_Steveo's rating of their experience of Avis: (5/5) on 1 March 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Reasonably efficient at airport collection, but would have been delay if I’d waited for hand back checks so I took photos to prove no damage. They didn’t seem busy so bit odd. Car was ok but oldish with 29k kilometres and seemed a bit rough mechanically, but was fine just sounded rough. For £70 via BA good value deal.

City/airport: Madrid

Oldpastonian's rating of their experience of Avis: (4/5) on 26 February 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Confusing when checking in, as they don't make it clear if you are a registered user of the app, you can simply walk down to the car pick up point, rather than waiting 30 mins in a queue at the airport desk. Notwithstanding this, everything else was pretty as much as it should be.

City/airport: Barcelona

Scooterboy's rating of their experience of Avis: (4/5) on 23 February 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Great efficient service. Car was good for the price. Would use again.

City/airport: Madeira

The Silver Fox's rating of their experience of Avis: (4.5/5) on 23 February 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Amazing service and cover. Incredibly helpful and responsive on email. Great value for money!

City/airport: London

Vane's rating of their experience of Avis: (5/5) on 22 February 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Well organised at airport. Dealt with efficiently at the desk. Car reasonable quality, had to advise them of other scratches on car.( Always take pictures). Some difficulty on return as had to change airport due to Ryanair. Could not get through to help desk. Had to pay extra £100 .

City/airport: Marco Polo Venice

Ali's rating of their experience of Avis: (3/5) on 21 February 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Not the cheapest, but if you book through British airways you get free additional driver so works out cheaper

City/airport: Bournemouth

Carhiretoomanytines's rating of their experience of Avis: (3.5/5) on 17 February 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Helpful and efficient

City/airport: Easy Midlands

Melanie's rating of their experience of Avis: (4/5) on 4 February 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Good

City/airport: Bristol

Kevbhoney's rating of their experience of Avis: (5/5) on 18 January 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Perfect

City/airport: Penrith

Robbie's rating of their experience of Avis: (4.5/5) on 18 January 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Very efficient

City/airport: Edinburgh

Jon D's rating of their experience of Avis: (5/5) on 15 January 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

A good car with full winter equipment (chains and snow tyres). Helpful staff and efficient return

City/airport: Geneva

Christhedentist's rating of their experience of Avis: (4.5/5) on 23 December 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Everything went smoothly so far Car had lots of scratches at pickup that we identified and agreed by Avis rep Drop off at Cape Town easy and Avis said all OK with car

City/airport: Port Elizabeth

Bumbles25's rating of their experience of Avis: (4/5) on 18 December 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

The car we booked was not available and they tried to charge us extra for an upgrade which is supposed to be offered free in this case. The reviews I have since read about this particular branch have been very bad. We made sure the car was spotless on return and took plenty of photographs of the interior and exterior. I would not recommend them because the man was very argumentative when we picked up the car, we refused the sporty car he tried to give us. Not the service you would expect from Avis.

City/airport: Inverness

Madmolly's rating of their experience of Avis: (1/5) on 17 December 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Very speedy service. Pleasant staff at Car Hire Desk. Car in good condition. No issues

City/airport: Glasgow

JudyH's rating of their experience of Avis: (5/5) on 15 December 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Easy process to obtain car. Very relaxed and stress free process from start to end. Car exactly as described. I was happy with the hire and would definitely use again.

City/airport: Jersey

Loseapoint's rating of their experience of Avis: (4.5/5) on 14 December 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

All good. Quick check in/out plus free transfer to airport arranged. Very happy

City/airport: Keflavík

Shuckers's rating of their experience of Avis: (4/5) on 13 December 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Excellent

City/airport: Belfast International

John's rating of their experience of Avis: (5/5) on 10 December 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Car was hired through British Airways as a fly drive package and this part of it I don't recommend. Too opaque and now think it would have been cheaper going direct. The car hire itself was hassle free with no nasty surprises. Only problem was that one additional driver was supposed to be free as part of the deal. BA did not put this prominently on the documentation and the guy at the depot insisted on charging. On return, emails to customer support in Portugal were totally ignored. However I uncovered the invoice from the Portugal web site which gave a UK phone number. My call was answered quickly by a friendly lady and the matter resolved in a few minutes. A refund materialised a couple of days later. On balance it was a good experience and I would recommend Avis/Budget as an option.

City/airport: Lisbon

taperack's rating of their experience of Avis: (4/5) on 4 December 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Excellent service as always

City/airport: AGP Malaga

Welshtiger's rating of their experience of Avis: (4.5/5) on 2 December 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Quick and efficient both at collection and drop off. Help on return with bags and walk to airport.

City/airport: Caps Town

Bob's rating of their experience of Avis: (5/5) on 23 November 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

As a Preferred customer, very good service with nearly new car. All previous minor damage carefully recorded.

City/airport: Malaga

Richard A's rating of their experience of Avis: (4.5/5) on 3 November 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Smooth and easy, like the car.

City/airport: Stevenage

DJJ's rating of their experience of Avis: (5/5) on 31 October 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Very expensive to extend the booking

City/airport: Florence

James_H's rating of their experience of Avis: (2.5/5) on 27 October 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

If you have any comments or concerns about a review listed here please contact us for assistance.