Avis Reviews

Have you hired a car from Avis recently? Why not submit a review of your experiences to help others?
Avis's Rating:
4.2/5 based on 202 reviews
5 stars
38
4 stars
20
3 stars
8
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Save money on your car hire! Get the best cover for your
Car Hire Excess Insurance
Company was quick at getting us the car and didn’t try and ‘up sell’ us anything.

City/airport: Montpellier

Gayle's rating of their experience of Avis: (4/5) on 21 August 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Avis are okay. Nothing special, but got the car at a competitive price.

City/airport: Avignon

Occasional User's rating of their experience of Avis: (3/5) on 20 August 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

They have good cars and a fast check out process. Their prices are quite transparent so I don’t feel like there are hidden extras.

City/airport: Faro Airport

Mrs Walker's rating of their experience of Avis: (4/5) on 12 August 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Good car and rate. Queue to collect car too long.

City/airport: Marseille

H53's rating of their experience of Avis: (3/5) on 12 August 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Very quick, efficient, helpful. Would use again.

City/airport: Knock

Covkid's rating of their experience of Avis: (4.5/5) on 11 August 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Everything seemed to go well. No problems collecting or dropping off the car.

City/airport: Toulouse

Spacecadet78's rating of their experience of Avis: (3.5/5) on 8 August 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Excellent cars and fast service

City/airport: Bordeaux

Dave1's rating of their experience of Avis: (5/5) on 6 August 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Fast and straightforward

City/airport: Bologna

Jess's rating of their experience of Avis: (4/5) on 4 August 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Fine

City/airport: St Helier

stephanandcharis's rating of their experience of Avis: (5/5) on 2 August 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Lowest price & got an upgrade.

City/airport: Nantes

carefreeblue's rating of their experience of Avis: (4.5/5) on 1 August 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Pretty good. They didn't try very hard to get me to buy CDW insurance and accepted that I had my own cover -- no hard sell. The car was clean and almost brand new. The only oddity was that they swore blind it would be cheaper for me to let them refuel the car rather than top it up myself before return, which certainly was not the case (having seen the bill now!). I knew it really, but was pushed for time and thought I'd try it. Other than that, no hidden extras. Return was quick and very near the terminal, and everyone spoke good English.

City/airport: Verona

Ben Qwerty's rating of their experience of Avis: (4.5/5) on 30 July 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Excellent. Fixed a nail in a tyre quickly. Car in good condition.

City/airport: Paphos

Tony's rating of their experience of Avis: (4.5/5) on 25 July 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

I was unable to pick up the car hired in the UK through Holiday Extras as I was given the wrong pick up info. By the time we were picked up and taken by shuttle bus to the Interrent GC supplier we were told the car was no longer available. After hours of tel calls at great expense and being transferred between Rentalcars.com and Hol Extras eventually a v helpful person in the latter arranged an alternative car through AVIS. However, I had to pay 350 euros myself having been told it was an alternative to the £94 arrangement I had paid in the UK. I have yet to have this money returned to me. Also the emergency contact numbers didn’t work. The whole experience has been very unsatisfactory and all stems from being given the wrong pick up info. The latter has been acknowledged and also affected another person not part of my party. I will be making a formal complaint. Any assistance would be v welcome David Pugh

City/airport: Venice

David's rating of their experience of Avis: (2.5/5) on 16 July 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Great, it all went very smoothly

City/airport: Bastia

Netters's rating of their experience of Avis: (4/5) on 16 July 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Great reliable, a bit expensive but worth it

City/airport: Turin

Jeffington's rating of their experience of Avis: (5/5) on 15 July 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Quick and efficient. Good quality car but a bit expensive.

City/airport: Jasper

Neil's rating of their experience of Avis: (4/5) on 12 July 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Very easy pickup and return, no issues with damages or odd charges. very good company

City/airport: Copenhagen

GB's rating of their experience of Avis: (4.5/5) on 11 July 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Staff most helpful

City/airport: Dover

Mariner's rating of their experience of Avis: (5/5) on 10 July 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Very smooth and very quick. Both collection and drop off.

City/airport: Lansvetter

Fox's rating of their experience of Avis: (4.5/5) on 9 July 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Bit slow in collecting the car but apart from that car was very good. Very very quick return with zero hassle. Worth going for the well known company

City/airport: Faro airport

Jim's rating of their experience of Avis: (4.5/5) on 8 July 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Very efficient, straightforward, courteous

City/airport: Preveza airport

Noseman's rating of their experience of Avis: (5/5) on 7 July 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Long queues, not enough staff. Agreement said no damage on car but there was dent and large scratch to the rear.

City/airport: Salzburg Airport

Beamsey66's rating of their experience of Avis: (2.5/5) on 5 July 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Long wait to collect car despite pre-booking, but good service and not too much pressure to add usual extra insurance cover when we showed our certificate. All previous bumps and scratches clearly described on the paperwork but we took photos as well but in brilliant sunshine on a black car these didn’t show anything! Great service on return, very nice staff.

City/airport: Venice

Mapman's rating of their experience of Avis: (4.5/5) on 30 June 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Not good. I do not believe it was the car hire company but the service was not at all good. The operatives took 2 hours to queue up and obtain the keys with two children after a 2 hour flight wasn’t ideal. The service was appalling. Not impressed.

City/airport: Bologna

Nick's rating of their experience of Avis: (2.5/5) on 28 June 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

The first vehicle was damaged and not properly checked. The help desk advised us to go to the local depot at 14.00 we arrived to be advised that there was no vehicle available. We drove the hour back to Charlotte to pick up a replacement car, this car was only half full. We wasted a day of our holiday running around after the hire company. They tried to charge us for the fuel and also refused to compensate us, despite it being all their mistake

City/airport: Charlotte

Wangle's rating of their experience of Avis: (1/5) on 27 June 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

If you have any comments or concerns about a review listed here please contact us for assistance.