Avis Reviews

Have you hired a car from Avis recently? Why not submit a review of your experiences to help others?
Avis's Rating:
4.0/5 based on 248 reviews
5 stars
49
4 stars
25
3 stars
9
2 stars
1
1 star
8
Save money on your car hire! Get the best cover for your
Car Hire Excess Insurance
Good

City/airport: Bristol

Kevbhoney's rating of their experience of Avis: (5/5) on 18 January 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Perfect

City/airport: Penrith

Robbie's rating of their experience of Avis: (4.5/5) on 18 January 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Very efficient

City/airport: Edinburgh

Jon D's rating of their experience of Avis: (5/5) on 15 January 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

A good car with full winter equipment (chains and snow tyres). Helpful staff and efficient return

City/airport: Geneva

Christhedentist's rating of their experience of Avis: (4.5/5) on 23 December 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Everything went smoothly so far Car had lots of scratches at pickup that we identified and agreed by Avis rep Drop off at Cape Town easy and Avis said all OK with car

City/airport: Port Elizabeth

Bumbles25's rating of their experience of Avis: (4/5) on 18 December 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

The car we booked was not available and they tried to charge us extra for an upgrade which is supposed to be offered free in this case. The reviews I have since read about this particular branch have been very bad. We made sure the car was spotless on return and took plenty of photographs of the interior and exterior. I would not recommend them because the man was very argumentative when we picked up the car, we refused the sporty car he tried to give us. Not the service you would expect from Avis.

City/airport: Inverness

Madmolly's rating of their experience of Avis: (1/5) on 17 December 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Very speedy service. Pleasant staff at Car Hire Desk. Car in good condition. No issues

City/airport: Glasgow

JudyH's rating of their experience of Avis: (5/5) on 15 December 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Easy process to obtain car. Very relaxed and stress free process from start to end. Car exactly as described. I was happy with the hire and would definitely use again.

City/airport: Jersey

Loseapoint's rating of their experience of Avis: (4.5/5) on 14 December 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

All good. Quick check in/out plus free transfer to airport arranged. Very happy

City/airport: Keflavík

Shuckers's rating of their experience of Avis: (4/5) on 13 December 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Excellent

City/airport: Belfast International

John's rating of their experience of Avis: (5/5) on 10 December 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Car was hired through British Airways as a fly drive package and this part of it I don't recommend. Too opaque and now think it would have been cheaper going direct. The car hire itself was hassle free with no nasty surprises. Only problem was that one additional driver was supposed to be free as part of the deal. BA did not put this prominently on the documentation and the guy at the depot insisted on charging. On return, emails to customer support in Portugal were totally ignored. However I uncovered the invoice from the Portugal web site which gave a UK phone number. My call was answered quickly by a friendly lady and the matter resolved in a few minutes. A refund materialised a couple of days later. On balance it was a good experience and I would recommend Avis/Budget as an option.

City/airport: Lisbon

taperack's rating of their experience of Avis: (4/5) on 4 December 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Excellent service as always

City/airport: AGP Malaga

Welshtiger's rating of their experience of Avis: (4.5/5) on 2 December 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Quick and efficient both at collection and drop off. Help on return with bags and walk to airport.

City/airport: Caps Town

Bob's rating of their experience of Avis: (5/5) on 23 November 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

As a Preferred customer, very good service with nearly new car. All previous minor damage carefully recorded.

City/airport: Malaga

Richard A's rating of their experience of Avis: (4.5/5) on 3 November 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Smooth and easy, like the car.

City/airport: Stevenage

DJJ's rating of their experience of Avis: (5/5) on 31 October 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Very expensive to extend the booking

City/airport: Florence

James_H's rating of their experience of Avis: (2.5/5) on 27 October 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Efficient service and a very good price. We hired when AVIS had an offer and paid one third of the cost if hired in resort

City/airport: Elounda Crete

Pambee's rating of their experience of Avis: (5/5) on 23 October 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Excellent, really quick and efficient.

City/airport: Malaga Airport

Martin's rating of their experience of Avis: (4.5/5) on 21 October 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

First car allocated, was highlighted that it had no damage - passenger side panel was dented in and all paint scratched off. Allocated another car, with no damage and we had to point out all the damage to the car, including dents, scratched paintwork and a busted indicator - this was all noted on our contract & we took the car as seemingly they had no others!? On return they wanted to keep the contract with all the hand written notes recorded on it, they tried to take this from me twice & I insisted on keeping it to ensure we received no charge - we also took pictures of the car before we left the car hire garage & again on return - we also were charged a fuel surcharge of 29 euros, this is basically a charge for them putting petrol in the car which we got with a full tank, but had to return it full, had we not taken this option, we would have been charged 77 euros for a full tank of petrol & you return it empty, but we only used a half tank! Never used Avis before and will never use them again!

City/airport: Lanzarote

Lanza 2019's rating of their experience of Avis: (1/5) on 20 October 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Overall very pleased with hire. The multimedia satnav, radio, etc did not work but we managed quite easily without it. However when returning an engineer seemed to suggest the problem was already known which at the very least we should have been advised about in advance. As I said not a big deal but I will be contacting Avis for a response. Undermines complete confidence in the company.

City/airport: Belfast

JEM's rating of their experience of Avis: (3.5/5) on 20 October 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Efficient, friendly staff. The car was fine and exceeded my expectation of specification. No problems with selling anything I didn't ask for and okay with me arranging my own excess cover. Return procedure was quick and friendly - no problems raised.

City/airport: Málaga

Max's rating of their experience of Avis: (4.5/5) on 18 October 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Excellent service

City/airport: Lanzarote

Good experience's rating of their experience of Avis: (5/5) on 13 October 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

It is very hard to work out if you need any of the extras you are encouraged to buy when you pick up the car. Why are you not sold everything you need when you book it.

City/airport: Catania Sicily

Rodleyhome's rating of their experience of Avis: (4/5) on 11 October 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Car very clean ,staff polite and helpful.

City/airport: St Heliers

Freddie's rating of their experience of Avis: (5/5) on 8 October 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Not to be trusted. Misleading about refilling price. Grossly overcharged me for fuel

City/airport: Milan

Hardhamer's rating of their experience of Avis: (1/5) on 7 October 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

If you have any comments or concerns about a review listed here please contact us for assistance.