Avis Reviews

Have you hired a car from Avis recently? Why not submit a review of your experiences to help others?
Avis's Rating:
3.9/5 based on 235 reviews
5 stars
43
4 stars
23
3 stars
9
2 stars
1
1 star
8
Save money on your car hire! Get the best cover for your
Car Hire Excess Insurance
As a Preferred customer, very good service with nearly new car. All previous minor damage carefully recorded.

City/airport: Malaga

Richard A's rating of their experience of Avis: (4.5/5) on 3 November 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Smooth and easy, like the car.

City/airport: Stevenage

DJJ's rating of their experience of Avis: (5/5) on 31 October 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Very expensive to extend the booking

City/airport: Florence

James_H's rating of their experience of Avis: (2.5/5) on 27 October 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Efficient service and a very good price. We hired when AVIS had an offer and paid one third of the cost if hired in resort

City/airport: Elounda Crete

Pambee's rating of their experience of Avis: (5/5) on 23 October 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Excellent, really quick and efficient.

City/airport: Malaga Airport

Martin's rating of their experience of Avis: (4.5/5) on 21 October 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

First car allocated, was highlighted that it had no damage - passenger side panel was dented in and all paint scratched off. Allocated another car, with no damage and we had to point out all the damage to the car, including dents, scratched paintwork and a busted indicator - this was all noted on our contract & we took the car as seemingly they had no others!? On return they wanted to keep the contract with all the hand written notes recorded on it, they tried to take this from me twice & I insisted on keeping it to ensure we received no charge - we also took pictures of the car before we left the car hire garage & again on return - we also were charged a fuel surcharge of 29 euros, this is basically a charge for them putting petrol in the car which we got with a full tank, but had to return it full, had we not taken this option, we would have been charged 77 euros for a full tank of petrol & you return it empty, but we only used a half tank! Never used Avis before and will never use them again!

City/airport: Lanzarote

Lanza 2019's rating of their experience of Avis: (1/5) on 20 October 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Overall very pleased with hire. The multimedia satnav, radio, etc did not work but we managed quite easily without it. However when returning an engineer seemed to suggest the problem was already known which at the very least we should have been advised about in advance. As I said not a big deal but I will be contacting Avis for a response. Undermines complete confidence in the company.

City/airport: Belfast

JEM's rating of their experience of Avis: (3.5/5) on 20 October 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Efficient, friendly staff. The car was fine and exceeded my expectation of specification. No problems with selling anything I didn't ask for and okay with me arranging my own excess cover. Return procedure was quick and friendly - no problems raised.

City/airport: Málaga

Max's rating of their experience of Avis: (4.5/5) on 18 October 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Excellent service

City/airport: Lanzarote

Good experience's rating of their experience of Avis: (5/5) on 13 October 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

It is very hard to work out if you need any of the extras you are encouraged to buy when you pick up the car. Why are you not sold everything you need when you book it.

City/airport: Catania Sicily

Rodleyhome's rating of their experience of Avis: (4/5) on 11 October 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Car very clean ,staff polite and helpful.

City/airport: St Heliers

Freddie's rating of their experience of Avis: (5/5) on 8 October 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Not to be trusted. Misleading about refilling price. Grossly overcharged me for fuel

City/airport: Milan

Hardhamer's rating of their experience of Avis: (1/5) on 7 October 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

The staff were unhelpful and deliberately miss leading. I feel abused and cheated. We had planned to higher a number of cars as we are now at a time in our lives we can enjoy travel and so we signed to be a preferred customer. We didn't get any benefits and the staff charged €49 for 1/4 tank I that morning I filled 3/4 for same price. They promised it would be high Street price. I was stupid to trust them and feel robbed

City/airport: Malan malpensa

P du saint's rating of their experience of Avis: (1/5) on 5 October 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Have used Avis a few times and have found staff to be efficient and friendly each time

City/airport: Bergerac

Francie's rating of their experience of Avis: (5/5) on 4 October 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Overcharged me for a windscreen repair and then spent months trying to get it refunded.

City/airport: Hobart

Rosco's rating of their experience of Avis: (1.5/5) on 27 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

The hand over and drop off were well run. I had to check up on a couple of details on the paperwork that were not quite accurate but the car itself was excellent, clean and in good condition.

City/airport: Pula Airport

NJG's rating of their experience of Avis: (4/5) on 26 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Service pretty much exactly as expected.

City/airport: Olbia

Dave19's rating of their experience of Avis: (4/5) on 22 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

We always hire from Avis. As preferred members, we get lots of benefits and have never had a problem when returning the cars in any country.

City/airport: Preveza

RS's rating of their experience of Avis: (4.5/5) on 18 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Good price & didn't take as long as normal to get the paperwork sorted. Car was fine.

City/airport: Bilbao

jps's rating of their experience of Avis: (4/5) on 18 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Kept Waiting 3 hours for car.

City/airport: Sicily

DM's rating of their experience of Avis: (1/5) on 17 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Nice car, reasonable price. Service was good. Had to wait before seeing somebody but handing over the car was very rapid after that. Returning the car very efficiently dealt with.

City/airport: Marseille Saint-Charles railway station

cmm's rating of their experience of Avis: (3.5/5) on 16 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

In my experience Avis were very good, no wait at pick up or drop off, very clean car in good condition. My only reservation was it wasn’t made clear to me prior to collection an excess reserve (€1200) would be taken off my credit card at the car pick up....could cause embarrassment to some, and some difficulty if said card was to be used as holiday spending money.

City/airport: Dubrovnik

Jayo's rating of their experience of Avis: (4.5/5) on 15 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Good car rental company with friendly and efficient staff.

City/airport: Alicante airport

Dave's rating of their experience of Avis: (4/5) on 15 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Very good, most helpful

City/airport: Pathos

Hunter's rating of their experience of Avis: (5/5) on 2 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Vehicle was claimed to be new but had multiple damage and had over 50,000 km on the clock

City/airport: Barcelona

Weedo's rating of their experience of Avis: (3/5) on 2 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

If you have any comments or concerns about a review listed here please contact us for assistance.