Avis Reviews

Have you hired a car from Avis recently? Why not submit a review of your experiences to help others?
Avis's Rating:
4.1/5 based on 173 reviews
5 stars
93
4 stars
56
3 stars
12
2 stars
2
1 star
10
Save money on your car hire! Get the best cover for your
Car Hire Excess Insurance
Excellent

City/airport: Spain

Alicante's rating of their experience of Avis: (5/5) on 13 June 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Very slow check in, systems not responsive. Car ok and return was a breeze

City/airport: Bari Palese airpot

Go's rating of their experience of Avis: (4/5) on 11 June 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Speedy, efficient, good customer service. Extremely nice new Kia Ceed. Recommended.

City/airport: Faro Airport

Drizzlecake's rating of their experience of Avis: (5/5) on 9 June 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

As with our earlier bookings, Avis staff are helpful and friendly, cars in very good clean condition, never any problems or quibbles.

City/airport: Nimes

Tony's rating of their experience of Avis: (4.5/5) on 9 June 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Easy online booking. Friendly and efficient staff. Arrived and left in hire car in two minutes. Perfect.

City/airport: Stockton

First time Avis's rating of their experience of Avis: (5/5) on 4 June 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Excellent service. No problems.

City/airport: Birmingham

Taylor's rating of their experience of Avis: (5/5) on 28 May 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Very helpful & professional staff..

City/airport: Liverpool

Steve W's rating of their experience of Avis: (5/5) on 25 May 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Excellent service no pressure about buying extras

City/airport: Palms majorca

Gus's rating of their experience of Avis: (4.5/5) on 23 May 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Didnt have to queue up at the airport desk, went straight to the garage and the car was waiting. Very quick, but no option to change the car though!!

City/airport: Orlando Airport

M4ever's rating of their experience of Avis: (4/5) on 21 May 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Super car, good service. Slight attempt to upsell on collection, but nothing too aggressive.

City/airport: Geneva

fatfrench's rating of their experience of Avis: (4/5) on 20 May 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

No complaints - quick to pick up and even faster drop off

City/airport: San Francisco

Amanda's rating of their experience of Avis: (5/5) on 3 May 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

All good except car had a very funny smell in like a mixture of perfume and cigarette smoke. They also charged us for petrol upon returning without checking whether the tank was full or not, which it was because we filled the tank before returning. So we had to contact them and get that sorted.

City/airport: Lancaster

Charlie's rating of their experience of Avis: (3/5) on 30 April 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Total chaos when collecting the car - took nearly 2 hours! Was further delayed while 'debating' cracked windscreen that Avis claimed they did not know anything about. Car was booked through Trailfinders but managed to save over £300 with my Reduce my Excess policy. Car was ok, did not let us down which I guess is all you you should expect. No problems on return and no unexpected charges on CC when we got home. A small tip - always return the car full (their petrol charges are eye watering) and keep your petrol receipt. Avis had me a few months ago claiming I had not filled up the vehicle. This happened when I used a key drop so now I always insist on an inspection and a receipt. If no one is around I go into the airport and drag someone from the desk.

City/airport: Greymouth

JohnH's rating of their experience of Avis: (4/5) on 29 April 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Fine , long winded but efficient.

City/airport: Skavsta, Stockholm

Lomma's rating of their experience of Avis: (4/5) on 23 April 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Peace of mind all the cover you need prompt response.

City/airport: Agadir

Mo's rating of their experience of Avis: (4.5/5) on 15 April 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Lovely car. Efficient, friendly service. Reasonable cost, what's not to like?

City/airport: Funchal

suzyQ's rating of their experience of Avis: (5/5) on 14 March 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

All went smoothly but no-one about to explain controls so never figured out how to use satnav. Vehicle return process could have been better.

City/airport: Geneva

G-Man's rating of their experience of Avis: (4/5) on 13 August 2018

Much better prices than renting at an Airport

City/airport: Port Jervis

Bugsie's rating of their experience of Avis: (4/5) on 24 June 2018

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

I was persuaded to have a larger car than I had booked at a cost about euro 5 per day , The car was a bit too large for comfortable driving on narrow roads, I accept this was my mistake. every thing else went smoothly, quick check out and return

City/airport: corfu

cp's rating of their experience of Avis: (4.5/5) on 23 June 2018

Good price, joined the priority customer thing, got a free upgrade to SUV. Rep suggested toll upgrade when I told him where I was going, really good advice, worth taking, about £14 I went through several. Also took the refill option which was expensive at £70 but knew I was going to refill before returning. In the end £20 above the £70 odd for 8 days bargain. A few marks on the car rear bumper on pickup but took a picture and it was booked back in in 2 mins with no damage. Relief tho to have the reduce my excess insurance as Avis waiver would have been much more.

City/airport: Faro airport

Chinmusic1981's rating of their experience of Avis: (4.5/5) on 18 June 2018

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

We prebooked a car with AVIS through British Airways. We have never used AVIS before as they have never represented best value for money, but with the BA connection and their reputation we decided to go with them on this occasion. We had a 'Reduce my Excess' policy, which we explained to the Avis agent on arrival. The agent seems to be in a great hurry and whisked us through the Terms and conditions before calculating that we needed to pay what we thought, based on recent experience with Budget and other rental firms, was a security deposit that would be returned when we returned the car undamaged. After returning the car (undamaged and with a full tank) Avis signed us off and we returned home expecting the 'deposit' to be refunded by Bank transfer (as had happened with other firms. However, this did not happen and we looked though the Rental agreement in more detail, only to find that the Agent had run through the document in the English translation, but I had signed it under the French wording, where the Insured excess section had not be deleted, so that the we realised that what we had thought was a deposit, was actually an additional non-returnable payment for the Excess insurance etc. We have raised this issue with AVIS but have had no reply in two weeks - whether it was accidental for intended, we have been 'missold' the additional costs and we will never use AVIS again.

City/airport: Nice Airport

Bert's rating of their experience of Avis: (1/5) on 14 June 2018

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Very helpful and friendly, unexpected upgrade, brought to and collected from hotel at no extra cost

City/airport: Jersey

nald's rating of their experience of Avis: (5/5) on 11 June 2018

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Very good

City/airport: Las Palmas

Dusty's rating of their experience of Avis: (4/5) on 3 June 2018

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

First rate, no fuss and particularly, no bother. A new car was provided and a free upgrade. All positive.

City/airport: Faro airport

traveller21's rating of their experience of Avis: (5/5) on 30 May 2018

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Great efficient, friendly service. No issues at all. Lovely car. A bit pricier than others, but you get what you pay for!

City/airport: Alicante

StuAtch's rating of their experience of Avis: (5/5) on 28 May 2018

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

If you have any comments or concerns about a review listed here please contact us for assistance.