Thrifty Reviews

Have you hired a car from Thrifty recently? Why not submit a review of your experiences to help others?
Thrifty's Rating:
3.5/5 based on 90 reviews
5 stars
20
4 stars
11
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
10
Save money on your car hire! Get the best cover for your
Car Hire Excess Insurance
Beware hidden charges. I told them I had insurance for my excess but they charged for it anyway. They then said it was the deposit when I signed the papers. Hence I ended up paying twice! Beware!!!

City/airport: Chambery

Will's rating of their experience of Thrifty: (1/5) on 19 January 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Everything went great , no problems really nice to deal with, great selection of cars at very competitive prices. Had to return the car after 1 day instead of 4 due to family illness and they refunded me for the days I didn’t use the car without me even asking. Great people to dal with in Inverness

City/airport: Inverness

Alangas's rating of their experience of Thrifty: (5/5) on 8 January 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Very efficient and pleasant to deal with

City/airport: Innsbruck

Henry P's rating of their experience of Thrifty: (5/5) on 2 January 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

They were very helpful and were able to meet my needs. Staff are really friendly and I will do business with them soon

City/airport: leicester

Thelma's rating of their experience of Thrifty: (5/5) on 1 January 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

It's just a lesser hertz. A bit cheaper. With limited mileage (but was enough for me). All in all, good.

City/airport: Eindhoven

Alex's rating of their experience of Thrifty: (3.5/5) on 2 December 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Great. Easy to deal with and no hassle when we said we had annual travel insurance. Car was clean and no issues.

City/airport: Queenstown

AndyC's rating of their experience of Thrifty: (5/5) on 25 November 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Felt the person at the hire car company really only wanted to sell me extra insurance and kept telling me I wasn’t covered for XYZ, which I knew I was

City/airport: Los Angeles

L from Brighton's rating of their experience of Thrifty: (3.5/5) on 14 November 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Booked and paid for a small manual hatchback. Received a large automatic sedan. According to the guy at Thrifty, all of their cars are automatic. They put a 350JOD deposit on my credit card, which was refunded when I returned the car. The car was a bit rough and ready with lots of paint scuffs and a front bumper that wasn't properly clipped on on one side following a previous renter's prang. Nevertheless, the staff were friendly and honest and I would recommend them.

City/airport: Aqaba

James's rating of their experience of Thrifty: (4/5) on 7 November 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Efficient service, no waiting at desk. Car ready and waiting.

City/airport: Bergerac

JB's rating of their experience of Thrifty: (5/5) on 21 October 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

No issues with my rental. Car model slightly older than other more expensive companies but the car was fine

City/airport: Toronto

Jjlee's rating of their experience of Thrifty: (4.5/5) on 20 October 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Fast friendly efficient and English spoken

City/airport: Paphos

Mojo's rating of their experience of Thrifty: (5/5) on 19 October 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

I was advised no imperfections in car. I found several and had them logged. Stupidly, I didn’t check the wheels. They are trying now to claim €165 for a superficial scratch on passenger alloy wheel. Avoid as clearly don’t have a problem ripping people off!!

City/airport: Dublin

Lizzy's rating of their experience of Thrifty: (1/5) on 29 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Unhelpful, surly and unprofessional.

City/airport: Palma Mallorca

Mr Squirrel's rating of their experience of Thrifty: (1/5) on 27 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

No problems experienced. Good new car.

City/airport: Alicante

Mac's rating of their experience of Thrifty: (3/5) on 25 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Lovely car and lively people at airport

City/airport: Kerry

Lola's rating of their experience of Thrifty: (5/5) on 24 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

This was a good hire and would book with them again. The only drawback was the charge they tried to impose was of driving into another country, which we were not informed of. Staying within 4kms of the Austrian border it was almost impossible that at times we went briefly over the border.

City/airport: Munich

Sir Savealot's rating of their experience of Thrifty: (3.5/5) on 13 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Great deposit price, good customer service. Thanks

City/airport: Toronto

TJ's rating of their experience of Thrifty: (4/5) on 12 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Brilliant

City/airport: Biarritz

Bridie's rating of their experience of Thrifty: (5/5) on 11 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Hertz/Thrifty were fine, all went well

City/airport: Hamburg

Colin's rating of their experience of Thrifty: (5/5) on 2 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Very slow service at airport for collection, one desk on the Hertz desk out of the 5. Took 1.5 hours to get served! Car was ok except they had not checked the tyres and all 4 were half flat! Inside of car not especially clean but otherwise in good nick.

City/airport: Malaga

TJ's rating of their experience of Thrifty: (1/5) on 1 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Excellent service as is usual. Quick and friendly staff. No problems.

City/airport: Aberdeen

Loui422's rating of their experience of Thrifty: (5/5) on 30 August 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Good, efficient service. Helpful staff. Clean car. reasonable price. No problems.

City/airport: Manchester

Grimbold's rating of their experience of Thrifty: (4.5/5) on 27 August 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

No hard sell on extra insurance at desk, seemed a good inclusive deal I had via Expedia with no excess.

City/airport: Albuquerque

JET's rating of their experience of Thrifty: (5/5) on 11 August 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Excellent

City/airport: Knock

RL's rating of their experience of Thrifty: (4.5/5) on 4 August 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Ok tried to get us to take out extra insurance, said the one we had with you wasn't enough

City/airport: Venice

PIA's rating of their experience of Thrifty: (3.5/5) on 4 August 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

If you have any comments or concerns about a review listed here please contact us for assistance.