Thrifty Reviews

Have you hired a car from Thrifty recently? Why not submit a review of your experiences to help others?
Thrifty's Rating:
3.4/5 based on 76 reviews
5 stars
14
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
9
Save money on your car hire! Get the best cover for your
Car Hire Excess Insurance
Lovely car and lively people at airport

City/airport: Kerry

Lola's rating of their experience of Thrifty: (5/5) on 24 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

This was a good hire and would book with them again. The only drawback was the charge they tried to impose was of driving into another country, which we were not informed of. Staying within 4kms of the Austrian border it was almost impossible that at times we went briefly over the border.

City/airport: Munich

Sir Savealot's rating of their experience of Thrifty: (3.5/5) on 13 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Great deposit price, good customer service. Thanks

City/airport: Toronto

TJ's rating of their experience of Thrifty: (4/5) on 12 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Brilliant

City/airport: Biarritz

Bridie's rating of their experience of Thrifty: (5/5) on 11 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Hertz/Thrifty were fine, all went well

City/airport: Hamburg

Colin's rating of their experience of Thrifty: (5/5) on 2 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Very slow service at airport for collection, one desk on the Hertz desk out of the 5. Took 1.5 hours to get served! Car was ok except they had not checked the tyres and all 4 were half flat! Inside of car not especially clean but otherwise in good nick.

City/airport: Malaga

TJ's rating of their experience of Thrifty: (1/5) on 1 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Excellent service as is usual. Quick and friendly staff. No problems.

City/airport: Aberdeen

Loui422's rating of their experience of Thrifty: (5/5) on 30 August 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Good, efficient service. Helpful staff. Clean car. reasonable price. No problems.

City/airport: Manchester

Grimbold's rating of their experience of Thrifty: (4.5/5) on 27 August 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

No hard sell on extra insurance at desk, seemed a good inclusive deal I had via Expedia with no excess.

City/airport: Albuquerque

JET's rating of their experience of Thrifty: (5/5) on 11 August 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Excellent

City/airport: Knock

RL's rating of their experience of Thrifty: (4.5/5) on 4 August 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Ok tried to get us to take out extra insurance, said the one we had with you wasn't enough

City/airport: Venice

PIA's rating of their experience of Thrifty: (3.5/5) on 4 August 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Good car & easy pick up from airport

City/airport: Mahon

Traveller's rating of their experience of Thrifty: (3.5/5) on 29 July 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Great prices and decent service

City/airport: Leicester

Bish's rating of their experience of Thrifty: (5/5) on 29 July 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

The car hire company was ok. We had to wheel our luggage accross the carpark at the airport to reach the office. The first car they gave us had a huge dent in the passenger side wing (we felt this was an odd thing for them to offer us), we refused this car and asked for another, which they gave us. The car was good and nippy (it’s best to have a smaller car in some parts of Ireland as the roads can be narrow in many places). A shuttle bus was available to take us to the terminal once we dropped off the car. A good experience overall.

City/airport: Shannon

Gaelforce's rating of their experience of Thrifty: (4/5) on 15 July 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Thrifty claimed that we had scuffed the underside of the bumper of the car i.e. under the car. The scuffs were not visible unless you got down on the ground and looked underneath the front bumper, which, regrettably, we did not do on pick up as I am confident they pull this on everyone. We did however, on pick-up, point out a big scratch on the side of the car (which they had told us was completely undamaged) which they said was just wear and tear. They charged us £60 for the "bumper damage" despite us thoroughly disputing the charge - they just stole it from our deposit and said it didn't matter as we had insurance to cover it so we shouldn't be bothered. Completely outrageous attitude. This was our first and definitely last time using Thrifty.

City/airport: Edinburgh Airport

Suzy's rating of their experience of Thrifty: (1/5) on 11 July 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

The wait to collect the car was excessive as there was insufficient staff at the desk. The car was okay and the service on return was fine.

City/airport: Dublin

Eric's rating of their experience of Thrifty: (2.5/5) on 29 June 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Apart from 20 min wait to collect car straight forward

City/airport: carcassone

vive le Brexit's rating of their experience of Thrifty: (4/5) on 23 June 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Thrifty is the worst rental company I have ever used. Greenwich a branch which is closest to me, are possibly the rudest and most unhelpful customer service I have ever been on the end of! After making a complaint to the head office I was give a messily £12! Name and shame is the only way to show this company up for what it is. Complaint was dealt with by Misbah Abid Customer Service Supervisor Thrifty Car and Van Rental Stay away at all costs and go for one of the more well known rental companies!

City/airport: Greenwich

Adam's rating of their experience of Thrifty: (1/5) on 18 June 2019

Desk in the airport was quick and efficient. Collected car from parking, which is a reasonable distance away, but there didn’t really seem to be any staff at the collection point to check the car over with. Fortunately the car was brand new, so there was no existing damage. Return procedure was quick and easy.

City/airport: Mahon

Andy's rating of their experience of Thrifty: (4/5) on 16 June 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Online pricing policy unfair...good customer service at airport to resolve issue.

City/airport: Bilbao

Granty's rating of their experience of Thrifty: (3/5) on 13 June 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

The car was a lot smaller than I wanted.

City/airport: Beziers

Bobby's rating of their experience of Thrifty: (1.5/5) on 8 June 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Staff member at reception was cheerful and helpful. Vehicle was just the job and had no problems. Counter staff on return to Darlington branch where just as cheerful. Will use again and I have no problem recommending to others.

City/airport: Aberdeen

Loui422's rating of their experience of Thrifty: (5/5) on 6 June 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Great service- friendly, helpful and competent

City/airport: Preveza

Me's rating of their experience of Thrifty: (5/5) on 4 June 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Found very professional and courteous only gripe would be the very high pending deposit they put on your credit card but other than that very happy the car and the service

City/airport: Dublin airport

Mickey doodle's rating of their experience of Thrifty: (5/5) on 29 May 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

New minibus , brilliant service

City/airport: YORK. U.K.

KENT's rating of their experience of Thrifty: (5/5) on 15 May 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

If you have any comments or concerns about a review listed here please contact us for assistance.