Thrifty Reviews

Have you hired a car from Thrifty recently? Why not submit a review of your experiences to help others?
Thrifty's Rating:
3.8/5 based on 46 reviews
5 stars
22
4 stars
13
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
5
Save money on your car hire! Get the best cover for your
Car Hire Excess Insurance
The online Thrifty price quoted was not respected at the desk when arriving in Dublin. CDW and Theft insurance were added which more than doubled the rental cost. Our past experience was that these are included in the basic hire charge.

City/airport: Dublin

Disappointed's rating of their experience of Thrifty: (1/5) on 21 July 2018

I have used enterprise in the past, do not be fooled by the American customer service nonsense. Thrifty was head and shoulders above on that score. I was looked after by one person, he was an extremely professional, personable, affable chap who did the job with no hassle. Thrifty were also half the price of the so called big rental firms, I will use them again.

City/airport: Swansea

Deano's rating of their experience of Thrifty: (5/5) on 7 June 2018

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Very poor service. The airport desk was confused about our booking and we were sent to the Thrifty depot. The officer at the depot was very pleasant, but when asked to change our booking to an automatic from a manual, said he could provide us with a car but did not explain the huge difference in cost ie nearly 150% more. The car we got was terrible as it’s tyres were illegal and it also made a weird noise. We were in a rush so could not stop to complain, but when we complained on our return, the person checking the return showed a complete lack of concern. We note that Thrifty at Shannon has the worst reputation of the companies at the airport. We have resolved never to use them again.

City/airport: Shannon

Lblax's rating of their experience of Thrifty: (1/5) on 8 May 2018

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Not impressed. Had to wait over an hour at the pick up desk to be seen, even though it was prebooked. Not even an apology when my number was eventually called

City/airport: Milan bergamo

Bella's rating of their experience of Thrifty: (2/5) on 10 April 2018

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Great price, friendly service, very easy - all good

City/airport: cork airport

ktkanne's rating of their experience of Thrifty: (5/5) on 22 March 2018

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Great price, easy to use service, I would highly recommend this service.

City/airport: Dublin

Kev's rating of their experience of Thrifty: (5/5) on 17 February 2018

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Good & quick service, but had to pay extra for breakdown cover as France (final destination) was not included , ok no Switzerland!

City/airport: Geneva

Vik's rating of their experience of Thrifty: (3.5/5) on 15 February 2018

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Although the van ordered was not available, the replacement was very good. Also, although "the System" would not allow us to book online, the phone was answered quickly (unlike Europcar, for example), and the staff were very helpful. At the depot, everything was very efficient, with experienced staff. Recommended.

City/airport: Exeter

JC's rating of their experience of Thrifty: (3.5/5) on 1 February 2018

Friendly, efficient, helpful service and a good value car hire.

City/airport: Funchal, Madeira

Rich's rating of their experience of Thrifty: (4.5/5) on 13 January 2018

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Very helpful and caring

City/airport: Doncaster

kate's rating of their experience of Thrifty: (5/5) on 10 December 2017

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Didn't have to make a claim, but they were very easy to deal with and quick to respond to questions while out of the country. Would use them again

City/airport: Perth

Erin's rating of their experience of Thrifty: (4.5/5) on 4 December 2017

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Was told the car hire was fully inclusive of excess insurance only to go and pick it up and told they couldn't offer the excess insurance because I was under 25. Found this at short notice and made me feel much more comfortable during the hire.

City/airport: Sheffield

Minnie's rating of their experience of Thrifty: (3.5/5) on 12 November 2017

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

I arrived around 10:30am on a Sunday. There was only one person ahead of me in the queue. The pickup process was straightforward and I got to check the existing scratches on the car before proceeding. They were going to charge me EUR 160 to reduce my excess, but using this website I got the same cover for around GBP 17.

City/airport: Madrid

Stratabow5000's rating of their experience of Thrifty: (4/5) on 30 October 2017

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Simple and effective

City/airport: Shannon

Lindsay's rating of their experience of Thrifty: (4.5/5) on 10 October 2017

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

First class service from 'Reduce my Excess': prompt, hassle free reimbursement for the outlay we incurred following minor damage to the car. Would recommend them without hesitation as we would take out excess insurance with them again when we need it.

City/airport: Montpelier

DT Man's rating of their experience of Thrifty: (3/5) on 29 September 2017

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

car was as expected agent was knowledgeable and spoke good English

City/airport: nice airport

SilverJohn's rating of their experience of Thrifty: (5/5) on 26 September 2017

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Reduce my excess were excellent value for money and the process of securing it was really easy.

City/airport: La Rochelle

Nic's rating of their experience of Thrifty: (5/5) on 24 September 2017

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Great location outside terminal 3. Fast service & helpful staff.

City/airport: Toronto

Charlie's rating of their experience of Thrifty: (4/5) on 2 September 2017

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Paid 20 dollars to skip cue , cue was 90 mins long also we waited for a ford SUV escape for over a hour however had to take Nissan as were to,d no more Ford to day

City/airport: Los Angeles

Malla's rating of their experience of Thrifty: (4/5) on 1 September 2017

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Excellent shuttle bus system to and from the hire car depot. Very speedy. Concern engine light came on during our trip and had to phone to check all ok. Said was due a service. Return of vehicle very easy and no extra or hidden charges. We booked this car hire through Rental Cars and would use both again.

City/airport: Los Angeles

KP's rating of their experience of Thrifty: (4/5) on 30 August 2017

Does not present true cost of the car hire on the website, so you are forced to pay more on arrival. Does not explain terms and conditions properly to customer.

City/airport: Seville

sasa's rating of their experience of Thrifty: (1/5) on 30 August 2017

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Great company with good value prices would recommend to everyone

City/airport: Gloucester

Shan08's rating of their experience of Thrifty: (5/5) on 28 August 2017

Excellent service, prompt pick up and delivery x

City/airport: Larnaca

Janeyc12's rating of their experience of Thrifty: (5/5) on 25 August 2017

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Great price. Poor service. Booked a small manual car. Was 'upgraded' to a very large automatic car. They try and push excess insurance on you and it seems their main goal is to milk customers by selling extras and overcharging for damages (I had no damages but I believe this is how they work.)

City/airport: Glasgow

Rob's rating of their experience of Thrifty: (2/5) on 21 August 2017

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

We had no accidents so not much to say. Buying the insurance was straightforward. Thrifty were good too.

City/airport: Albufeira

Portugal2017's rating of their experience of Thrifty: (5/5) on 20 August 2017

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

If you have any comments or concerns about a review listed here please contact us for assistance.