Hertz Reviews

Have you hired a car from Hertz recently? Why not submit a review of your experiences to help others?
Hertz's Rating:
3.8/5 based on 196 reviews
5 stars
43
4 stars
20
3 stars
7
2 stars
2
1 star
11
Save money on your car hire! Get the best cover for your
Car Hire Excess Insurance
excellent service as always! only use Hertz, free to cross border to Eire

City/airport: Belfast International

Johnny's rating of their experience of Hertz: (5/5) on 12 November 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

I had paid for a compact SUV but received a Peugeot 308,possibly the worst car I have ever driven. It wasn't fully fueled up.

City/airport: Truro

Raoul Duke's rating of their experience of Hertz: (2.5/5) on 11 November 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Fast efficient and professional

City/airport: Warrington

Leo's rating of their experience of Hertz: (4.5/5) on 6 November 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Quick and easy walked in signed and drove away no dramas

City/airport: Shannon

Paddymcac's rating of their experience of Hertz: (5/5) on 5 November 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Good customer service, friendly staff, efficient collection and drop off of vehicle.

City/airport: Belfast

Busybee's rating of their experience of Hertz: (4.5/5) on 25 October 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Returned car and we're told we would have to pay for carpet to be cleaned as there was a coffee stain in front passenger footwell. Nobody had had any coffee during the trip! Unfortunately, we didn't notice it so didn't take any pictures. Always take pictures of any damage or they will try to charge you for damage you didn't cause! It's a big con and they shouldn't be allowed to get away with it. Be warned, don't use Hertz!!

City/airport: Truro

Dilan's rating of their experience of Hertz: (1/5) on 20 October 2019

Firstly due to the weather conditions our flight landed at bologne instead of bergamo where we were supposed to collect our car hire from Hertz for 5pm. I contacted Hertz as I became concerned and wanted to communicate with them so a solution could be provided. I was advised by the UK Hertz customer service to visit the branch in bologne airport, explain my situation and I was assured that they would provide me with a rental. However I got to the branch and they told me I would have to pay 70 euros extra because I would be returning the vehicle to bergamo which was my initial booking because of our flights departing from bergamo airport. The lady at the desk said if I were to go to bergamo vis the coach which was provided for our flight issue, then our reservation would still be available at bergamo. And so I did this thinking it is better to do this than pay an extra 70 euros for no reason. Although I wouldve paid it if she didnt say the vehicle would still be available. Anyway a 2 and a half hour coach trip to bergamo from bologne followed, I called the bergamo office over 7 times to triple check that I would not have an issue after speaking to the uk and bologne office. After over an hour of calling I reach bergamo office by phone, I explained the situation and they assured me that they would resolve the issue for me. However when I reached bergamo airport, I was told by the hertz rep called valentina that the reservation had gone and that I must pay 160 euro extra for a new car. She told me that I didnt contact them otherwise they wouldve sorted something out. I was outraged. Especially as it was now 10.00pm and we had travelled for 12 hours from the UK and I called every office of hertz that was relevant to ensure that this did not happen! The rep was so rude and instead of trying to provide some customer service she was very unprofessional and told me to move aside so she could serve other customers. She refused to help and said it was not her issue. I had never felt so embarrassed and frustrated in my life. If I had known from the beginning then I wouldve avoided Hertz. Even their customer service complaints team failed to respond to my email after they advised me to email them my issue

City/airport: Bergamo airport

M.H's rating of their experience of Hertz: (1/5) on 19 October 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Please note at this time we are awaiting confirmation that the car has been returned in the same condition as when hired. Up to this junction the service and dealings have been excellent. The car was clean. The present damage indicated shown to us and photographs emailed to confirm the actual points highlighted. The car ran well and we were dealt with fairly and respectfully through the whole procedure to the end of our current period of usage. I fully expect our confirmation of correctness receipt to arrive by email this day. I would use this company again.

City/airport: Beziers

Humps's rating of their experience of Hertz: (5/5) on 17 October 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Staff at both ends of my one way hire were very helpful, and the language barrier was no problem.

City/airport: Oita city

Mark from Caerphilly's rating of their experience of Hertz: (5/5) on 14 October 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Used them for 17 years, last two trips to Sweden - no one at the desk. Pickup took 30- 45 mins each time. They knew I had a booking. All other desks open.

City/airport: Skavsta

Fin's rating of their experience of Hertz: (2.5/5) on 8 October 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Efficient and friendly pickup process, car was ready and waiting for me.

City/airport: Basel

Greg's rating of their experience of Hertz: (4.5/5) on 3 October 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

I booked a car months in advance, they didn’t have the model I booked in stock and I had to take a downgrade with no compensation.

City/airport: Porto

Michael's rating of their experience of Hertz: (1.5/5) on 29 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

excellent prompt service with no pressure to take extras

City/airport: corfu

bobby's rating of their experience of Hertz: (4.5/5) on 26 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Clean car quick pickup and dropping very good

City/airport: Palma

PSE1969's rating of their experience of Hertz: (5/5) on 23 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Did persuade me to upgrade but didn’t pressure me to have their excess insurance. By using Autoeurope for my booking I secured a cheaper rate than the one I was initially offered

City/airport: Barcelona

Netlabman's rating of their experience of Hertz: (3/5) on 22 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Hertz staff were friendly and helpful. There was no queue and I was processed very quickly. On return, the staff in the return car park and the office were excellent.

City/airport: Seville

FatFrank's rating of their experience of Hertz: (5/5) on 20 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Friendly, helpful and professionaal staff, nice clean car, no complaints at all.

City/airport: Larnaca

First timer's rating of their experience of Hertz: (5/5) on 18 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Very easy to deal with. Great car fast admin. Just so easy!

City/airport: Jersey

Marlocker73's rating of their experience of Hertz: (5/5) on 15 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Being a Hertz gold card member has its advantages. Free additional driver is one. Hertz have some great offers on sometimes. The wait time to pick up at Calvi was however extreme. Over 2 hrs.

City/airport: Calvi

Mickey117's rating of their experience of Hertz: (4.5/5) on 15 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Service good. Car was as ordered.

City/airport: manchester

Chris's rating of their experience of Hertz: (4/5) on 14 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Nil

City/airport: Alicante

Cramped's rating of their experience of Hertz: (1/5) on 12 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Better car than I had booked. Helpful friendly staff. Returned car to a different airport & Hertz's charge for doing that was much lower than the other companies

City/airport: Santander Airport

NOG's rating of their experience of Hertz: (4.5/5) on 11 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Very efficeint and easy to deal with when picking the car up and the drop off no waiting would use again on my next Holliday

City/airport: Mahon

Mike C's rating of their experience of Hertz: (4.5/5) on 11 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

None as the car hire was cancelled due to holiday being cancelled

City/airport: Breve

Nigel's rating of their experience of Hertz: (2.5/5) on 7 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Had read bad reviews of the Hertz branch after booking, but actually it was OK. The first car they directed us to was extremely dirty inside and out, and had a lot of minor paintwork damage and a badly damaged rear bumper. It was also missing the luggage cover for the estate care boot. We asked them to change it and they did without any difficulty, and we ended up with a car from a higher price bracket at no extra cost (although this was not a particular advantage for us). We were a bit concerned that they did not want to check and sign for any damage not already on the sheet that they gave us, but just told us to photograph any damage on our phones. However, this did not turn out to be a problem. We returned the car to the Rekjavik Downtown branch and they did not raise any issues with the condition. Presumably the additional paint chips were too minor for them to worry about. The man from the Downtown branch gave us and our case a lift into town when we asked him about buses.

City/airport: Kevlavik

Jon's rating of their experience of Hertz: (3.5/5) on 5 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

If you have any comments or concerns about a review listed here please contact us for assistance.