Hertz Reviews

Have you hired a car from Hertz recently? Why not submit a review of your experiences to help others?
Hertz's Rating:
3.8/5 based on 138 reviews
5 stars
58
4 stars
47
3 stars
14
2 stars
2
1 star
17
Save money on your car hire! Get the best cover for your
Car Hire Excess Insurance
Very competitive price for a very nice car. It was one of the best cars I’ve ever hired in Greece. Easy pick up and drop off process in the centre of Zakynthos town.

City/airport: Zakynthos

Fads54's rating of their experience of Hertz: (4.5/5) on 11 June 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Quick and easy. However a charge or £35 to get my car because of flight delays. This was out of my control and therefore unfair.

City/airport: Bristol

Emsie's rating of their experience of Hertz: (3/5) on 9 June 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Great friendly service. Simple, great car

City/airport: Toulouse

Paddy's rating of their experience of Hertz: (5/5) on 9 June 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Hired from Ikos Resorts via hertz. Picked up at hotel. Part of hotel group mini experience. So far excellent service from both Ikos and hertz.

City/airport: Hotel

Honest john's rating of their experience of Hertz: (4.5/5) on 7 June 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

We hired a car for a French holiday, but our plans changed so we cancelled it well within time. Ive been chasing them to return our £300 with little success, today they have added another £512. If you want to be ripped off use Hertz

City/airport: France

DaveinHants's rating of their experience of Hertz: (1/5) on 5 June 2019

Best service we have ever had. No hassle, no waiting and a free upgrade.

City/airport: Verona

Bobkat's rating of their experience of Hertz: (5/5) on 31 May 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Good service

City/airport: Edinburgh

Den's rating of their experience of Hertz: (4/5) on 29 May 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Overall a good friendly service at a reasonable price with good vehicles.

City/airport: Truro

Martini Family's rating of their experience of Hertz: (4.5/5) on 28 May 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Excellent service as always,bargain price and painless collection and return at Cork Airport

City/airport: Cork Airport Ireland

Jimbro's rating of their experience of Hertz: (5/5) on 21 May 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Honest and quick

City/airport: Paletmo

Shim's rating of their experience of Hertz: (5/5) on 17 May 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Fast and efficient. Malaga airport could do with better signage from the arrivals hall to the different car hire firms though.

City/airport: Malaga

Sjelee's rating of their experience of Hertz: (5/5) on 15 May 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Great service and lovely big car

City/airport: Alicante

Sandra's rating of their experience of Hertz: (4/5) on 14 May 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Friendly staff and a quick and pain free service. Car just a few minutes walk from the terminal. Would use again at this airport.

City/airport: Newcastle

Nell's rating of their experience of Hertz: (4.5/5) on 29 April 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

I was given a hire car by Hertz on 6th March who were totally unprofessional and very disjointed. The hire car was supposed to be delivered when they collected my car but they forgot to send one. I had to wait for four hours as they had to send it from Marylebone. The drivers arrived and just handed the keys over as they were in a rush to leave. I asked to check the tank and also the car. Noticed scratches on the wheelarch and the rims and they said these had been recorded and not to worry. I took pictures of the car myself. a few days later Hertz send the agreement form with the pictures of the car with any damage they had recorded. I responded to them and said that there were additional scratches - they did not have the courtesy to respond to my letter or phone call. When it came to returning the car, I received a text telling me that I would not be insured to use the car any longer. This was extremely stressful as I had to organise to collect my car from the workshop that had already closed on a Friday. I rang Hertz on Saturday morning and a young man names Josh was quite sympathetic when i told him that I received a note and would need the car for a couple of days more as I only work from home mid week. He called his counterparts who refused and advised that they would only cover the car until the end of Saturday. I WOULD HAVE TO TAKE THE CAR TO THE GARAGE and collect my own car as I would not be insured after Saturday, I would have to leave the hire car at the workshop - hence I would not have a car to take my elderly mother out etc. So I rushed and drove to Wandsworth and got there 10 mins before they closed. The person in the garage was not bothered about checking the return car and charged me the excess for my car. I drove off and left the hire car at D & B Autos in Wandsworth. The next day, every efficient Hertz called to arrange to collect the car. I had to inform them that they were the ones who told me to drop the car at the workshop. they could not remember which workshop and asked for the phone number. Useless is not the word I would use?? I would never use them again. I have written to the Hertz people and the Director of Customer Services and surprise, I have not had a response.

City/airport: car in for service

Jules's rating of their experience of Hertz: (1/5) on 8 April 2019

Fantastic

City/airport: Belfast

Bob M's rating of their experience of Hertz: (5/5) on 23 March 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Good no problems

City/airport: Dublin airport

Jane's rating of their experience of Hertz: (4/5) on 22 March 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

We arrived at the desk very helpful member of staff you are shown on a ipad damage then you give your email they then send to you good if you have a iPhone you check car over any problem get back to them before you drive away great service would recormend to friends and family

City/airport: Belfast international

Laurence J's rating of their experience of Hertz: (5/5) on 18 March 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Avoid hertz they are scammers who take money out of your bank Look on trust pilot this company cannot be trusted

City/airport: London

Madrista's rating of their experience of Hertz: (1/5) on 30 January 2019

Zero stars . Dodgy unprofessional company. I used them at Belfast International Airport for a holiday from 20.8.18 to 24.8.18. I returned the car in perfect condition with the fuel tank filled up. The Hertz man inspected the car in front of me and said it was all perfect. I asked him for paperwork to reflect his comment but he declined to do so, and said "all sorted mate" and walked off, ignoring my asking for paperwork. I immediately thought this was dodgy as they have to give you some written proof that the returned car has been inspected and no problems found, if you ask for this. I thought Hertz would now likely try to rip me off and ,as expected from a poor and unprofessional company like them, they did so I was charged £72 from my credit card. Hertz never contacted me to tell me of this charge or what it was for. The charge is definitely an illegal one as the car was as I got it . The man who took the car from me was clearly a dodgy scumbag and looking to make some money for himself. I assume he gets commission for charging extra as he was very keen (in fact he was adamant) not to give me a receipt to acknowledge the car was returned as received. I will be suing the company and will get my money back and any legal costs too. I will never use them again. I advise no one to use this company. But if you do, insist on a receipt stating the car was in satisfactory condition on return. If they refuse, make a video (eg on your phone) of the man refusing. Also, as soon as you give your credit card details over at the start, phone your credit card company and cancel the card. That way there is no longer any way they can take money off you, if your card is cancelled. Richard Oliphant

City/airport: Belfast International Airport

Richard's rating of their experience of Hertz: (1/5) on 3 September 2018

The pick up & drop off very easy and straightforward. All cars are almost brand new and kept clean. The deposit returning is quick in comparison to other places.

City/airport: Riga Airport

hopeldn's rating of their experience of Hertz: (4/5) on 25 August 2018

Perhaps a little more expensive than most but no queues and friendly service.

City/airport: Palma

Mark R's rating of their experience of Hertz: (5/5) on 22 June 2018

I hired the car for my daughter to drive with me as an additional driver (my wife and I had arrived earlier and had a transfer to the villa). The flight was delayed and unfortunately her credit card was temporarily disabled at the connecting airport. She tried to use her debit card, they wouldn’t accept it. My son was with them so asked Hertz to change the named driver and would put my daughter as an additional driver. They stated that, because the flight arrived late and it was booked through Rentalcars, they couldn’t do it. The result was a further car hire was required costing an additional £450! This ruined the start of the holiday, I or my daughter can’t afford to waste that amount of money. Very disappointing.

City/airport: Bari airport

Charlie's rating of their experience of Hertz: (1/5) on 20 June 2018

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Excellent service without any of the usual over selling. Brand new car. No problems. Will use again.

City/airport: toulouse

Charlie's rating of their experience of Hertz: (4.5/5) on 12 June 2018

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Not very good

City/airport: Edinburgh

mrspale's rating of their experience of Hertz: (1/5) on 9 June 2018

Overall not great. I booked full to full fuel but the car was not full and they refused to go and fill it up so I had to accept trying to bring it back part full. I requested a joint walk around before leaving the airport which they refused. Office was only open when flights arrived so I had to leave the car and post the keys back. 1.5 hours after I left the car I got a call saying there was a scratch on the wheel. I hadn't left so I went to inspect it and it was tiny. I think they were being extremely picky and it would definitely fall into the "don't mention" for most other hire car companies I have used. This should be considered wear and tear (if even it happened during my hire). They also looked to charge another family I was with for borrowing a childs booster seat when no mention of cost was said at the start. The price they wanted could have bought 2 seats at a supermarket. I think these guys are just looking to grab some extra from unsuspecting client. Poor service.

City/airport: limoges

Pickey provider's rating of their experience of Hertz: (1/5) on 4 June 2018

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

If you have any comments or concerns about a review listed here please contact us for assistance.