Hertz Reviews

Have you hired a car from Hertz recently? Why not submit a review of your experiences to help others?
Hertz's Rating:
4.0/5 based on 214 reviews
5 stars
53
4 stars
23
3 stars
8
2 stars
2
1 star
9
Save money on your car hire! Get the best cover for your
Car Hire Excess Insurance
Goid

City/airport: Toulouse

The Navigator's rating of their experience of Hertz: (4.5/5) on 2 March 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Good branch...straightforward experience they didn’t try any nonsense I’ve experienced in the past with other companies or other Hertz branches.

City/airport: Johannesburg

Lordo137's rating of their experience of Hertz: (5/5) on 25 February 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Car hired on the spot. No problems and staff very helpful. When returning the car, the office was shut and I could not find anywhere to post the key. The box outside did not have an opening??? However, someone came along eventually and opened the door. He found my paperwork and said they would be adding the extra top up insurance, but I had made it clear I had taken out this extra insurance in the UK. He just said 'oh ok'. Other than that all was fine.

City/airport: Bergerac

Nessie's rating of their experience of Hertz: (3.5/5) on 19 February 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Quick, smooth pick up - drop off

City/airport: Frankfurt Main

FDZsu's rating of their experience of Hertz: (5/5) on 3 February 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Good competetive price, good service on check in and check out. No hidden extras and only a little pressure to buy their insurance.

City/airport: Malaga

Soulboy's rating of their experience of Hertz: (4/5) on 30 January 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

I have used Hertz at Almeria at least four times a year for the past ten years or more. Apart from one occasion, involving a rude member of staff never seen before or since, I have always been completely satisfied. The staff are professional, the queues are short, the car is always at least what was promised (and usually better - an upgrade) and there is no 'hard sell' to spend more or book additional insurance, etc. On the one occasion there was a problem with the car - in a small village 50 miles from Almeria - a guy arrived in a truck within 30 minutes of my phone call and fixed it! The phone call was good - they quickly found an English speaker, even though I thought I can speak reasonable Spanish!). Prices are reasonable - they may not be the lowest, but just read the reviews of other companies that offer 'low' prices, like Goldcar to see what happens - don't be fooled by low 'headline pricing'.

City/airport: Almeria

Marcus's rating of their experience of Hertz: (5/5) on 30 January 2020

A very helpful receptionist who explained everything clearly. No hard sell for the 'extras'. Easy checking back in.

City/airport: Alicante

Sam's rating of their experience of Hertz: (5/5) on 22 January 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Very efficient and professional

City/airport: Leeds Bradford airport

Bluebell's rating of their experience of Hertz: (5/5) on 8 January 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Good value and customer service. Pickup and drop-off was easy and no hassle.

City/airport: Dublin

MarkB's rating of their experience of Hertz: (4/5) on 6 January 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Standard hire company. Underpowered car but that is not unusual with car hire.

City/airport: Cape Town

Macca's rating of their experience of Hertz: (2.5/5) on 5 January 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Fine - so long as you have all your documents (driving licence and valid credit card in hirers name). We chose Hertz as they include cover to the the Republic of Ireland whereas Firefly (same company as Hertz but a bit cheaper) charge you £15 for crossing the border. Make sure that you take out separate excess cover to avoid being ripped off at the desk.

City/airport: Belfast international airport

Gunner's rating of their experience of Hertz: (4/5) on 3 January 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Great value, good service, no sneaky charges!

City/airport: Guildford

Spacecadet78's rating of their experience of Hertz: (5/5) on 30 December 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Nice and easy Fast and simple As we are disabled 10/10. Thanks.

City/airport: Bremen

Robert's rating of their experience of Hertz: (5/5) on 6 December 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Very easy to deal with, good car

City/airport: Tenerife South airport

Michael's rating of their experience of Hertz: (4.5/5) on 30 November 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Excellent. No problems at all.

City/airport: Catania

TI's rating of their experience of Hertz: (5/5) on 26 November 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Excellent

City/airport: Orlando

Rico's rating of their experience of Hertz: (5/5) on 19 November 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Quick pick up and no messing around with loads of paperwork

City/airport: Shannon

Paddymcc's rating of their experience of Hertz: (4.5/5) on 18 November 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Very bad company never book a car from them

City/airport: San Francisco

Asad's rating of their experience of Hertz: (1/5) on 16 November 2019

excellent service as always! only use Hertz, free to cross border to Eire

City/airport: Belfast International

Johnny's rating of their experience of Hertz: (5/5) on 12 November 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

I had paid for a compact SUV but received a Peugeot 308,possibly the worst car I have ever driven. It wasn't fully fueled up.

City/airport: Truro

Raoul Duke's rating of their experience of Hertz: (2.5/5) on 11 November 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Fast efficient and professional

City/airport: Warrington

Leo's rating of their experience of Hertz: (4.5/5) on 6 November 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Quick and easy walked in signed and drove away no dramas

City/airport: Shannon

Paddymcac's rating of their experience of Hertz: (5/5) on 5 November 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Good customer service, friendly staff, efficient collection and drop off of vehicle.

City/airport: Belfast

Busybee's rating of their experience of Hertz: (4.5/5) on 25 October 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Returned car and we're told we would have to pay for carpet to be cleaned as there was a coffee stain in front passenger footwell. Nobody had had any coffee during the trip! Unfortunately, we didn't notice it so didn't take any pictures. Always take pictures of any damage or they will try to charge you for damage you didn't cause! It's a big con and they shouldn't be allowed to get away with it. Be warned, don't use Hertz!!

City/airport: Truro

Dilan's rating of their experience of Hertz: (1/5) on 20 October 2019

Firstly due to the weather conditions our flight landed at bologne instead of bergamo where we were supposed to collect our car hire from Hertz for 5pm. I contacted Hertz as I became concerned and wanted to communicate with them so a solution could be provided. I was advised by the UK Hertz customer service to visit the branch in bologne airport, explain my situation and I was assured that they would provide me with a rental. However I got to the branch and they told me I would have to pay 70 euros extra because I would be returning the vehicle to bergamo which was my initial booking because of our flights departing from bergamo airport. The lady at the desk said if I were to go to bergamo vis the coach which was provided for our flight issue, then our reservation would still be available at bergamo. And so I did this thinking it is better to do this than pay an extra 70 euros for no reason. Although I wouldve paid it if she didnt say the vehicle would still be available. Anyway a 2 and a half hour coach trip to bergamo from bologne followed, I called the bergamo office over 7 times to triple check that I would not have an issue after speaking to the uk and bologne office. After over an hour of calling I reach bergamo office by phone, I explained the situation and they assured me that they would resolve the issue for me. However when I reached bergamo airport, I was told by the hertz rep called valentina that the reservation had gone and that I must pay 160 euro extra for a new car. She told me that I didnt contact them otherwise they wouldve sorted something out. I was outraged. Especially as it was now 10.00pm and we had travelled for 12 hours from the UK and I called every office of hertz that was relevant to ensure that this did not happen! The rep was so rude and instead of trying to provide some customer service she was very unprofessional and told me to move aside so she could serve other customers. She refused to help and said it was not her issue. I had never felt so embarrassed and frustrated in my life. If I had known from the beginning then I wouldve avoided Hertz. Even their customer service complaints team failed to respond to my email after they advised me to email them my issue

City/airport: Bergamo airport

M.H's rating of their experience of Hertz: (1/5) on 19 October 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

If you have any comments or concerns about a review listed here please contact us for assistance.