Hertz Reviews

Have you hired a car from Hertz recently? Why not submit a review of your experiences to help others?
Hertz's Rating:
3.8/5 based on 119 reviews
5 stars
47
4 stars
44
3 stars
13
2 stars
2
1 star
13
Save money on your car hire! Get the best cover for your
Car Hire Excess Insurance
Zero stars . Dodgy unprofessional company. I used them at Belfast International Airport for a holiday from 20.8.18 to 24.8.18. I returned the car in perfect condition with the fuel tank filled up. The Hertz man inspected the car in front of me and said it was all perfect. I asked him for paperwork to reflect his comment but he declined to do so, and said "all sorted mate" and walked off, ignoring my asking for paperwork. I immediately thought this was dodgy as they have to give you some written proof that the returned car has been inspected and no problems found, if you ask for this. I thought Hertz would now likely try to rip me off and ,as expected from a poor and unprofessional company like them, they did so I was charged £72 from my credit card. Hertz never contacted me to tell me of this charge or what it was for. The charge is definitely an illegal one as the car was as I got it . The man who took the car from me was clearly a dodgy scumbag and looking to make some money for himself. I assume he gets commission for charging extra as he was very keen (in fact he was adamant) not to give me a receipt to acknowledge the car was returned as received. I will be suing the company and will get my money back and any legal costs too. I will never use them again. I advise no one to use this company. But if you do, insist on a receipt stating the car was in satisfactory condition on return. If they refuse, make a video (eg on your phone) of the man refusing. Also, as soon as you give your credit card details over at the start, phone your credit card company and cancel the card. That way there is no longer any way they can take money off you, if your card is cancelled. Richard Oliphant

City/airport: Belfast International Airport

Richard's rating of their experience of Hertz: (1/5) on 3 September 2018

The pick up & drop off very easy and straightforward. All cars are almost brand new and kept clean. The deposit returning is quick in comparison to other places.

City/airport: Riga Airport

hopeldn's rating of their experience of Hertz: (4/5) on 25 August 2018

Perhaps a little more expensive than most but no queues and friendly service.

City/airport: Palma

Mark R's rating of their experience of Hertz: (5/5) on 22 June 2018

I hired the car for my daughter to drive with me as an additional driver (my wife and I had arrived earlier and had a transfer to the villa). The flight was delayed and unfortunately her credit card was temporarily disabled at the connecting airport. She tried to use her debit card, they wouldn’t accept it. My son was with them so asked Hertz to change the named driver and would put my daughter as an additional driver. They stated that, because the flight arrived late and it was booked through Rentalcars, they couldn’t do it. The result was a further car hire was required costing an additional £450! This ruined the start of the holiday, I or my daughter can’t afford to waste that amount of money. Very disappointing.

City/airport: Bari airport

Charlie's rating of their experience of Hertz: (1/5) on 20 June 2018

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Excellent service without any of the usual over selling. Brand new car. No problems. Will use again.

City/airport: toulouse

Charlie's rating of their experience of Hertz: (4.5/5) on 12 June 2018

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Not very good

City/airport: Edinburgh

mrspale's rating of their experience of Hertz: (1/5) on 9 June 2018

Overall not great. I booked full to full fuel but the car was not full and they refused to go and fill it up so I had to accept trying to bring it back part full. I requested a joint walk around before leaving the airport which they refused. Office was only open when flights arrived so I had to leave the car and post the keys back. 1.5 hours after I left the car I got a call saying there was a scratch on the wheel. I hadn't left so I went to inspect it and it was tiny. I think they were being extremely picky and it would definitely fall into the "don't mention" for most other hire car companies I have used. This should be considered wear and tear (if even it happened during my hire). They also looked to charge another family I was with for borrowing a childs booster seat when no mention of cost was said at the start. The price they wanted could have bought 2 seats at a supermarket. I think these guys are just looking to grab some extra from unsuspecting client. Poor service.

City/airport: limoges

Pickey provider's rating of their experience of Hertz: (1/5) on 4 June 2018

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

It met with our requirements, quite cheap and was upgraded too. Only drawback was that we were told a full tank of gas was cheaper to buy from Hertz than a gas station, although this wasn't the case.

City/airport: Beverly Hills

Dixie's rating of their experience of Hertz: (4/5) on 29 May 2018

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Extremely efficient service, especially when dropping the car off, and speedy processing of paperwork

City/airport: Cork Airport

Jelow23's rating of their experience of Hertz: (5/5) on 29 April 2018

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

No issues at all. Excellent car, excellent service and excellent price would use again and recommend.

City/airport: Carcassonne

Richard's rating of their experience of Hertz: (5/5) on 14 April 2018

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Rip off

City/airport: Belfast international

Cedric's rating of their experience of Hertz: (1/5) on 20 March 2018

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

This company were very good at booking and Jeremy very helpful unfortunately my trip was cancelled due to weather conditions. Contacted Jeremy and a refund was issued immediately. If I need the service again I would.

City/airport: Jersey

Jane's rating of their experience of Hertz: (3.5/5) on 14 March 2018

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Super Cheap,Very easy to make use of,and overall very satisfactory

City/airport: Geroge

Marius Enslin's rating of their experience of Hertz: (5/5) on 13 March 2018

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Although a big name, found these to be cheapest after discount. Good choice of cars, easy booking process, lovely, friendly staff. Lucky also to have free upgrade on arrival. Couldn't fault them

City/airport: Basingstoke

Stattio's rating of their experience of Hertz: (4.5/5) on 26 February 2018

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Nice new car delivered. They charge the same price as the garage for petrol - really easy

City/airport: Cape Town

Mikethemaher's rating of their experience of Hertz: (4.5/5) on 23 February 2018

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

40 minutes queue at airport to collect car. One person only on desk. Lovely friendly lady but frustrating to wait when we had pre-booked. Great upgrade surprise but no instructions on how basic controls of car worked. ie. push button to start, flick switch handbrake.

City/airport: Newquay

Girlsontour's rating of their experience of Hertz: (1/5) on 19 February 2018

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

The initial hire was very good, the person behind the desk was very friendly and down to earth, showed me where the car was, I was given a free upgrade to a great car so I was happy. Down side - When I returned the car, everything was fine, then I find on my bill I have been charged for some random things, it took a while to get the money returned to me. If you are going to charge me for any damage then please ring me, don't just charge me and then realise "whoops we have made a mistake" we will give you your money back but it will take a good few months!

City/airport: Gatwick

karenusher's rating of their experience of Hertz: (4/5) on 4 February 2018

excellent

City/airport: dublin

ROXY74's rating of their experience of Hertz: (3/5) on 19 January 2018

Great service, good vehicle, a smile & speedy availability.

City/airport: Nurnberg

TimJ's rating of their experience of Hertz: (5/5) on 15 January 2018

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Very efficient,friendly service with no problems.

City/airport: Jersey

Stokey Boy's rating of their experience of Hertz: (4/5) on 8 January 2018

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

helpful staff and really good clean car

City/airport: manchester

gogo's rating of their experience of Hertz: (5/5) on 30 December 2017

Excellent service, easy collection and deposit.

City/airport: London

Miz's rating of their experience of Hertz: (4.5/5) on 30 December 2017

found the car easy in the airport carpark, clean, easy to drive and fantastic communication with staff.

City/airport: Rhodes International

becmichelle's rating of their experience of Hertz: (4/5) on 29 December 2017

everything was fine

City/airport: malaga

liosach's rating of their experience of Hertz: (3.5/5) on 28 December 2017

No attempt to sell extras. Easy pick up and drop off

City/airport: Boston

Sam's rating of their experience of Hertz: (4/5) on 21 November 2017

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

If you have any comments or concerns about a review listed here please contact us for assistance.