Dollar Reviews

Have you hired a car from Dollar recently? Why not submit a review of your experiences to help others?
Dollar's Rating:
3.8/5 based on 31 reviews
5 stars
9
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
3
Save money on your car hire! Get the best cover for your
Car Hire Excess Insurance
The lady who processed our car hire pick up was superb and very friendly

City/airport: Grenoble

Susie36's rating of their experience of Dollar: (4.5/5) on 23 March 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

The car was in general good condition but some of the small issues ( chipped window screen and a broken fixing on the baggage cover ) were not mention on the condition report so you need to have a proper look before taking the car

City/airport: lisbon

Marik's rating of their experience of Dollar: (4/5) on 2 March 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Distinctly unfriendly reception on pick up and drop off, no proper checking procedure and the threat of spurious and unjustified 'damage' charges. Not recommended

City/airport: Portsmouth

Flossie's rating of their experience of Dollar: (1/5) on 2 January 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Had to wait 15 mins to be collected in a bus, apart from that it was great. Amazing price for the week. Efficient and friendly service.

City/airport: Gran canaria

Surferneil's rating of their experience of Dollar: (4.5/5) on 21 December 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Excellent service - easy pick up and return. Got a free upgrade. One of the better companies I have hired from

City/airport: Halifax

Born to Run's rating of their experience of Dollar: (4.5/5) on 14 November 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Good economy car. Pick up and drop off was fairly swift, but they did try massively to up sell when I picked up. Otherwise all good

City/airport: San Francisco

EB's rating of their experience of Dollar: (3.5/5) on 22 October 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Great

City/airport: Bergamo

Bob Sherunkle's rating of their experience of Dollar: (4.5/5) on 27 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Quick pick up and drop off at the airport, and good value for an airport rental.

City/airport: Vancouver

Ted's rating of their experience of Dollar: (4/5) on 21 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Very good price easy check in

City/airport: las palmas

voiso's rating of their experience of Dollar: (4.5/5) on 17 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Very good price easy check in

City/airport: las palmas

voiso's rating of their experience of Dollar: (4.5/5) on 17 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Very helpful and friendly, the company is situated away from the airport, but once we were picked up in a minibus it was plain sailing, we got a better car than expected, and agreed to drop it at the airport at the end of our stay, thus saving us valuable time. The whole process of collecting and return was extremely well managed.

City/airport: Mahon

TimD's rating of their experience of Dollar: (4.5/5) on 2 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

3 hour 45 min queue at Catania airport desk to collect pre booked and paid car with Dollar (Hertz/ Thrifty) !!! What a joke! And another 30 mins at the desk while the guy types what seems like an essay and says “I try to get you car” . What?! It’s pre booked already... obviously that means nothing here. Avoid at all cost unless you want to spend the first half a day of your holiday in Catania airport. No thanks . Never again.

City/airport: Catania

Nohertz's rating of their experience of Dollar: (1/5) on 27 August 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Poor.,Took 35 minutes to do the paperwork because their documentary stuff is more complex than any other company I have ever used. Need licence, DVLA printout, 2 sorts of address proof inc. statement of credit card (not asked for). told I shouldn't have printed the DVLA bit ...just given them the code.Told them that was not what the instruction said. Response was it was my fault. On collection several bits of damage missed. has d to insist on the condition report being changed.On return was asked to blind sign for the return. i asked that the car was ok ? Was told yes. 10 minutes later got a mail saying that i had signed for the 'damage' Went back to the booth and was told that was wrong and i had been refunded my deposit in full. had to insist that I got a signature that there was no damage.Rubbish all round.

City/airport: Glasgow

Nigel's rating of their experience of Dollar: (1/5) on 17 August 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

On arrival at Palma, none of the Jet2 reps knew where to find Dollar which had to be accessed via a shuttle bus on the level above arrivals. Not an issue with Dollar, but given the hire was booked through Jet2, it was frustrating that they had no local knowledge of where Dollar were based. Dollar themselves were great. Prompt service upon arrival at depot, clear instructions re excess and refuelling and depot just 2 mins from motorway. Hire was spotless and they were transparent about slight damage from previous hire. Would use them again.

City/airport: Palma

Marker70's rating of their experience of Dollar: (5/5) on 13 July 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Great using them in Spain, would not use them in the States though.

City/airport: A Coruna

Luftibob's rating of their experience of Dollar: (4/5) on 9 July 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

helpful staff,good car,no problems

City/airport: fuerteventura

marty's rating of their experience of Dollar: (5/5) on 14 May 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Excellent value, slick pick up and drop off.

City/airport: Orlando

GAC's rating of their experience of Dollar: (5/5) on 28 May 2018

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

A very fast and reliable service

City/airport: Amsterdam

Spider bat's rating of their experience of Dollar: (5/5) on 21 December 2017

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Dollar car hire don’t offer the option of fuel they just tell you to bring it back empty and then charge you top dollar for a tank of fuel almost double than if you filled it yourself, no one checked the car with me for any damage prior to driving away. They say a medium car for 4 passengers & 4 suitcases, not a chance.

City/airport: Orlando

Sooty's rating of their experience of Dollar: (2.5/5) on 8 November 2017

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Fast friendly service, best rental experience so far!!

City/airport: Palma

JONTR's rating of their experience of Dollar: (4.5/5) on 29 October 2017

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

1st class customer service. Dollar are cheaper than the "big boys" but much more professional than the lower price bracket companies I've used in the past.

City/airport: Palma

Steve's rating of their experience of Dollar: (4.5/5) on 7 October 2017

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Easy pick up and drop off with no hassles.

City/airport: Las Vegas

Lioneagle's rating of their experience of Dollar: (3.5/5) on 28 September 2017

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Very easy, no problems, trust worthy.

City/airport: Almeria

D_Steveo's rating of their experience of Dollar: (5/5) on 21 September 2017

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Great, quick service.

City/airport: Las Vegas

Aaron's rating of their experience of Dollar: (5/5) on 4 September 2017

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Hassle free pick up. Great car and equally hassle free drop off.

City/airport: Gatwick

amb1989's rating of their experience of Dollar: (4/5) on 28 August 2017

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

If you have any comments or concerns about a review listed here please contact us for assistance.