Dollar Reviews

Have you hired a car from Dollar recently? Why not submit a review of your experiences to help others?
Dollar's Rating:
3.6/5 based on 38 reviews
5 stars
18
4 stars
11
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
6
Save money on your car hire! Get the best cover for your
Car Hire Excess Insurance
Didn’t have the car I’d reserved and prepaid for (only had EV cars, needed petrol..) and charged me for an upgrade. Employees at rental desk totally uninterested and unhelpful - no explanation of controls, no tour of existing damage (I took lots of photos..), just basically “here are the keys - goodbye…”. Wouldn’t rent from them again - worth paying extra to rent from a bigger named company.

City/airport:

Trekker22's rating of their experience of Dollar: (1/5) on 14 April 2024

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

I hired what I thought was a Mazda 3 saloon style car. When I arrived at the garage to to collect my car, I was told I could pick any car in a particular row which should include various brands of cars all around the same size. However, when I walked to the row concerned, there was only one car there which was very small and rather shabby. I had no choice at all. It was a Chevy of some description and was the dullest car to drive. It was not very clean inside, it only had 2/3’s of a tank of fuel and the parcel shelf was broken. There were also a lot of chips and scratches already on the car. It looked as if it had had a hard life and was far from new. This was very different to my previous experience with Dollar wheee they used to offer a selection of cars and the cars that were available were really new. What a huge disappointment.

City/airport:

Gio's rating of their experience of Dollar: (1/5) on 1 April 2024

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

A busy desk at the airport but, newish car and perfect for the two of us

City/airport:

Daval's rating of their experience of Dollar: (5/5) on 16 November 2023

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Excellent all round service

City/airport:

Tony's rating of their experience of Dollar: (4/5) on 15 September 2023

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Good service with easy vehicle return. Only slight problem was the Dollar reception office at the airport was in the Hertz Office and not displayed on the front sign.

City/airport:

Sparky's rating of their experience of Dollar: (4.5/5) on 5 October 2022

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Had to wait about 2 hrs to collect a pre-booked car and got charged for Premium Roadside Service which we told the Dollar customer service agent several times we did not want.

City/airport:

roadtripper's rating of their experience of Dollar: (1.5/5) on 23 September 2022

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Long wait, 30 minutes to collect car

City/airport:

Bob's rating of their experience of Dollar: (3.5/5) on 9 September 2021

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

The lady who processed our car hire pick up was superb and very friendly

City/airport:

Susie36's rating of their experience of Dollar: (4.5/5) on 23 March 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

The car was in general good condition but some of the small issues ( chipped window screen and a broken fixing on the baggage cover ) were not mention on the condition report so you need to have a proper look before taking the car

City/airport:

Marik's rating of their experience of Dollar: (4/5) on 2 March 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Distinctly unfriendly reception on pick up and drop off, no proper checking procedure and the threat of spurious and unjustified 'damage' charges. Not recommended

City/airport:

Flossie's rating of their experience of Dollar: (1/5) on 2 January 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Had to wait 15 mins to be collected in a bus, apart from that it was great. Amazing price for the week. Efficient and friendly service.

City/airport: Gran canaria

Surferneil's rating of their experience of Dollar: (4.5/5) on 21 December 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Excellent service - easy pick up and return. Got a free upgrade. One of the better companies I have hired from

City/airport: Halifax

Born to Run's rating of their experience of Dollar: (4.5/5) on 14 November 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Good economy car. Pick up and drop off was fairly swift, but they did try massively to up sell when I picked up. Otherwise all good

City/airport: San Francisco

EB's rating of their experience of Dollar: (3.5/5) on 22 October 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Great

City/airport: Bergamo

Bob Sherunkle's rating of their experience of Dollar: (4.5/5) on 27 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Quick pick up and drop off at the airport, and good value for an airport rental.

City/airport: Vancouver

Ted's rating of their experience of Dollar: (4/5) on 21 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Very good price easy check in

City/airport: las palmas

voiso's rating of their experience of Dollar: (4.5/5) on 17 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Very good price easy check in

City/airport: las palmas

voiso's rating of their experience of Dollar: (4.5/5) on 17 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Very helpful and friendly, the company is situated away from the airport, but once we were picked up in a minibus it was plain sailing, we got a better car than expected, and agreed to drop it at the airport at the end of our stay, thus saving us valuable time. The whole process of collecting and return was extremely well managed.

City/airport: Mahon

TimD's rating of their experience of Dollar: (4.5/5) on 2 September 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

3 hour 45 min queue at Catania airport desk to collect pre booked and paid car with Dollar (Hertz/ Thrifty) !!! What a joke! And another 30 mins at the desk while the guy types what seems like an essay and says “I try to get you car” . What?! It’s pre booked already... obviously that means nothing here. Avoid at all cost unless you want to spend the first half a day of your holiday in Catania airport. No thanks . Never again.

City/airport: Catania

Nohertz's rating of their experience of Dollar: (1/5) on 27 August 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Poor.,Took 35 minutes to do the paperwork because their documentary stuff is more complex than any other company I have ever used. Need licence, DVLA printout, 2 sorts of address proof inc. statement of credit card (not asked for). told I shouldn't have printed the DVLA bit ...just given them the code.Told them that was not what the instruction said. Response was it was my fault. On collection several bits of damage missed. has d to insist on the condition report being changed.On return was asked to blind sign for the return. i asked that the car was ok ? Was told yes. 10 minutes later got a mail saying that i had signed for the 'damage' Went back to the booth and was told that was wrong and i had been refunded my deposit in full. had to insist that I got a signature that there was no damage.Rubbish all round.

City/airport: Glasgow

Nigel's rating of their experience of Dollar: (1/5) on 17 August 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

On arrival at Palma, none of the Jet2 reps knew where to find Dollar which had to be accessed via a shuttle bus on the level above arrivals. Not an issue with Dollar, but given the hire was booked through Jet2, it was frustrating that they had no local knowledge of where Dollar were based. Dollar themselves were great. Prompt service upon arrival at depot, clear instructions re excess and refuelling and depot just 2 mins from motorway. Hire was spotless and they were transparent about slight damage from previous hire. Would use them again.

City/airport: Palma

Marker70's rating of their experience of Dollar: (5/5) on 13 July 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Great using them in Spain, would not use them in the States though.

City/airport: A Coruna

Luftibob's rating of their experience of Dollar: (4/5) on 9 July 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

helpful staff,good car,no problems

City/airport: fuerteventura

marty's rating of their experience of Dollar: (5/5) on 14 May 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Excellent value, slick pick up and drop off.

City/airport: Orlando

GAC's rating of their experience of Dollar: (5/5) on 28 May 2018

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

A very fast and reliable service

City/airport: Amsterdam

Spider bat's rating of their experience of Dollar: (5/5) on 21 December 2017

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

If you have any comments or concerns about a review listed here please contact us for assistance.