Dickmanns Reviews

Have you hired a car from Dickmanns recently? Why not submit a review of your experiences to help others?
Dickmanns's Rating:
1.9/5 based on 9 reviews
5 stars
2
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
6
Save money on your car hire! Get the best cover for your
Car Hire Excess Insurance
If you pick up or drop off out of hrs you are charged 40 euro which is fair enough however you have to take their insurance. They have no reason to why you have to take their 170 pounds insurance just because you drop off at 5.30am and not 7am...... dont bother using!!!! Look at the 1 general 1 out of 5 for yourself. Would you stay at a hotel with 1 out of 5? No so dont use these They now state they charge this as it is dark and can not check the car. Even in a flood lit car park? With their paddle light? And is it not dark in the winter before mid night or after 7am? Total con!!!

City/airport: Alicante

Nicola's rating of their experience of Dickmanns: (1/5) on 30 August 2018

This company get a lot of bad reviews but we have used them many times and never had any issues. They will charge excess for fuel etc but no more than others.

City/airport: Alicante

Mick's rating of their experience of Dickmanns: (4.5/5) on 17 February 2018

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Dickmann's is great in terms of airport pick up and speed of getting the car. They have also never tried to over charge or charge my card later in the several years we have used them. The deposit when you have your own insurance is getting bigger and bigger though - 950 euros and they have started to take over a month to return it. Which is a shame but I have had to hassle for a refund the last two times we've used them so wouldn't recommend in future.

City/airport: Alicante

Andy S's rating of their experience of Dickmanns: (2.5/5) on 9 August 2017

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Always a very good price and quick with paperwork. However on our last trip they were slow to return our deposit.

City/airport: Murcia

RON's rating of their experience of Dickmanns: (4.5/5) on 20 July 2017

We had to queue for 1hr 15 mins to collect our car as there was only one person behind the desk notwithstanding they knew that three flights from Bristol, Gatwick and Southend were arriving very close together. We endured the normal high pressure car excess insurance sales pitch (just what I needed after queuing in the hot sun) even after telling them I had my own policy and was told you have choice between paying 1,048.00 euros which would be debited (not blocked) on my credit card if I didn't buy their insurance and would take between 24-28 days to refund when the car is returned undamaged or 200ish Euros if I bought their insurance. I was then asked what would I prefer to pay. This was an unfair comparison as the costs for Dickmans additional insurance was never going to be refundable. I chose to pay 1,048.00 euros which also included 98 euros for petrol and was debited in ONE transaction. After returning the vehicle undamaged, my fuel deposit was returned but I had to chase for my damage deposit (950 euros) which to be fair to Dickmans, was returned after I contacted them via their website contact form. Why couldn't they have just returned the whole amount due in ONE transaction as they had debited in the first place. The car although new, had not been valeted properly and the screen wash ran out after very little use.......what else don't Dickmans check inbetween car hires....oil? tyre pressures?

City/airport: Murcia

EspaniaCarDriver's rating of their experience of Dickmanns: (1/5) on 11 July 2017

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

They were crooks! Despite this not being conveyed in the terms and conditions when booking the car they actually debited £950 from our credit card then despite there being no issues with the car upon return did not refund it. Couldn't get them to answer the phones and rarely responded to emails. They agreed that the money should would be refunded but didn't! In the end we had to claim the money back through our credit card company months later. Will NEVER use again !!

City/airport: Murcia

Sarah's rating of their experience of Dickmanns: (1/5) on 23 June 2017

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

have hired from Dickmans three times now, but on the last occasion the intermediary who sold the car hire to uson their behalf went out of business after the hire period. Dickmans charged my card for what they claim they were not paid by their agent 5 months after I had returned the car (charging my card just before Christmas, when I would be least likely to notice).

City/airport: Alicante

RolandR's rating of their experience of Dickmanns: (1/5) on 23 June 2017

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

car broked down

City/airport: Lagos

Gareth's rating of their experience of Dickmanns: (1/5) on 21 June 2017

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

If you have any comments or concerns about a review listed here please contact us for assistance.