Delpaso Reviews

Have you hired a car from Delpaso recently? Why not submit a review of your experiences to help others?
Delpaso's Rating:
1.8/5 based on 11 reviews
5 stars
2
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
8
Save money on your car hire! Get the best cover for your
Car Hire Excess Insurance
DO NOT USE. Terrible. Long wait & very unpleasant staff & they force you in to buying their rip off insurance & fuel as they alternative is being stuck without a car. Spread the word about avoiding them: no-one should have to be treated like we & everyone in the (very long & angry queue) were.

City/airport: Malaga

Julia's rating of their experience of Delpaso: (1/5) on 24 October 2018

Not worth 1 star. Booked this company through Expedia with insurance on the vehicle. When arrived at the pick-up (which was 30 minutes away from the airport) they wouldn't let me take the car without purchasing additional insurance from them. Their response: "Maybe you can call your insurance you already purchased and cancel that". Worst service I have received in my life.

City/airport: Malaga

Julio's rating of their experience of Delpaso: (1/5) on 18 August 2018

Very helpful

City/airport: Malaga

Simon's rating of their experience of Delpaso: (5/5) on 8 April 2018

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE READ THIS PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE READ THIS. Don’t ruin your holiday before it starts. I honestly think that if Hell has a car hire company in it then it would be Delpaso. Even queuing up I was getting worried. Listening to the conversations. One family in one corner arguing with them about money taken from their account and others, one after the other, being forced into paying for the extra insurance of 185 euros. Staff were saying that any mark or scratch of any kind would be chargeable. Signs overhead saying it would cost 600 euros for a replacement window screen and other signs saying it takes half an hour to return a car so they can examine it. When we finally got to the desk, by now very worried, we told a scary woman we didn’t want their insurance. Her response was to say that my husbands card was not working (even though we successfully used it immediately before and after arriving there) and she wouldn’t take my card (even though the card number etc was the same). She refused to give her name just told us to go away and no we couldn’t have our money back and if we had a problem with that to contact DoyouSpain our broker. So we had no car, we lost 110 euros and there were queues of people everywhere. What a horrible start to a holiday. Nasty, nasty people.

City/airport: Malaga

DELPASO, NASTY, NASTY, NASTY's rating of their experience of Delpaso: (1/5) on 3 April 2018

Once the hire company realised I already had excess insurance the agent’s tone changed completely and they proceeded to demand a further €1200 deposit on my credit card. On returning the vehicle they tried to charge me for every single knock and scratch on it and only when I produced photographic evidence that the damage was on the vehicle when I picked it up did they back down and refund my deposit. It was clear from the start that they wanted to sell me their insurance policy which, for 3 days hire, was more than the annual policy with Insure My Excess. Delpaso gave poor service, and I would not hire from them again in the future.

City/airport: Malaga

Simon's rating of their experience of Delpaso: (1/5) on 1 April 2018

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Them and us attitude with onus on proof of damage on hirer. Clear implication that extortionate charges would apply as listed in a leaflet unless hire company excess insurance taken. Intimidatory.

City/airport: Malaga

Delboy's rating of their experience of Delpaso: (1/5) on 12 February 2018

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

GANGSTERS....On collection of an Opel Corsa with over 60,000km on the clock. I was handed a rental agreement which did not out line any damage to the vehicle and advised by the assistant to record video or photos of any found. There was no requirement for me to point this out to him prior to leaving. The vehicle was in a clean condition and had some minor dents and scratches around the complete vehicle as would be expected of this type of car. I took pictures of the most severe looking damage which was not at all that bad and because it was covered in numerous scratches around the entire car I then produced a short video. My wife who was also present walked around the vehicle and saw scratches and dents. During the weeks rental I was not involved in any accident and did not observe any further dents or scratches caused to the bodywork. On return the vehicle was inspected by a female assistant who informed me that there was further damage caused to the vehicle on both near and offsides. She pointed out to me a dent on the front offside. This was the most serious dent on the vehicle and I had taken a photo of it prior to leaving and she RELUCTANTLY agreed that it was old damage. She was unable to produce any documentation showing what damage was detailed prior to my rental. She then pointed out a scratch (minimal) at the rear right door. I took a photo of this said damage. As there had been numerous scratches I did not have a photo and the video was unable to fully see this because of the sun glare. I informed her that the scratch which in my opinion could be t-cut out was already on the vehicle on collection as also agreed by my wife. The assistant who refused to give me her name only stated that her manager was Alex and did not know his surname. She produced a typed written statement outlining the damage and asked me to sign. As I believed this to be an admission of liability I declined. I was informed that the sum of e300 would be taken from my credit card and that this should be regarded as a smaller sum than required as they stated the damage covered at least two panels and should have been considerably more! Taking into account the amount of other scratches on the vehicle it is very unlikely that they would be making any repairs. I have rented numerous vehicles throughout England and Spain over the years and have never experienced such a blatant attempt to procure money falsely. As I had an annual excess policy I had not taken out there insurance at over e125. The cost of the rental via enjoy car hire on line was e33.61. Another male assistant whom I initially dealt with on collection stated “What do you expect for 34 euro?”. I am of the belief that this WHOLE CHARADE was because I had not taken out their insurance. Following making written complaints and threatening them with the credit card disputes team they reimbursed the e300.......NEVER AGAIN.

City/airport: malaga

Gangsters...never again's rating of their experience of Delpaso: (1/5) on 22 July 2017

If you do not take out the full insurance with Delpaso it is your responsibility to take as many photos of the car as possible before taking it away from the site. If you miss the slightest scratch they will charge you €363 per scratch. If you are picking the car up at night it is very difficult to see every single mark on the car...but on return if you don't have a photo taken on pick up of a scratch they find, they will charge you! I took 25 photos. They found two scratches I did not have photos for. I was charged. I have used them before and paid the full insurance and it was no problem. They do not check cars with full insurance when you take them back. Therefore the onus on anyone using reduce my excess is to do a thorough search of the car for the slightest scratch or damage before you leave delpaso premises. This can take over an hour. So my advice is...take the full insurance with delpaso or be prepared to waste over an hour taking photos of every bit of the car. I'm still waiting for reduce my excess to reply to my claim after 8 days. At the moment I don't know if they will refund my €363 so my verdict is don't use delpaso unless you take their full insurance as I can't comment on whether or not paying £40 to reduce my excess was worth it. I will either get a refund through reduce my excess or I am out of pocket by £400. It would have been easier, less hassle and stress to have just paid the £100 insurance with delpaso.

City/airport: Malaga

Karen B's rating of their experience of Delpaso: (1.5/5) on 23 June 2017

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Fleeced by Del Paso. They "found" two very minor blemishes on the office doors (so small I couldn't successfully photograph the "damage") and then charged me 750 Euros for the repairs!

City/airport: Malaga

Convert to Malagacarhire.com's rating of their experience of Delpaso: (1/5) on 23 June 2017

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Excellent product and service. Don't waste money purchasing overseas as it will cost you! A definite must and comes highly recommended!

City/airport: malaga

Sam O's rating of their experience of Delpaso: (5/5) on 23 June 2017

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

If you have any comments or concerns about a review listed here please contact us for assistance.