Delpaso Reviews

Have you hired a car from Delpaso recently? Why not submit a review of your experiences to help others?
Delpaso's Rating:
1.7/5 based on 17 reviews
5 stars
2
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
10
Save money on your car hire! Get the best cover for your
Car Hire Excess Insurance
Operating very sharp and unethical practice. On 6/6/2019 I paid online for full insurance through Discover Car Hire and received a voucher for my car hire. Upon arrival at Del Paso Car Hire in Malaga I was told that the voucher (which I'd paid for) was not evidence of having purchased full coverage! I spent some time querying this with the desk operator but he insisted that the voucher was not valid and that I must pay €162 to drive the vehicle fully covered. He said the voucher was just commission. I later contacted Discover Car Hire by phone who confirmed that the voucher was valid and that I should not have been charged more than the outstanding balance (€50) as stated on the paperwork. The voucher provided by Discover Car Hire clearly states that it is supplied by Del Paso Car Hire. Over the following days there were a number of email exchanges between myself and Del Paso Car Hire during which I tried to resolve the issue but at every attempt they refused to acknowledge my voucher. I am now pursuing my claim through Section 75 of the Consumer Credit Act as I paid by Credit Card and this is clearly misrepresentation. This is appalling service from Del Paso Car Hire - especially as I had my two children with me - had I not have had my credit card with me they would've left us stranded at the airport.

City/airport: Malaga

Bear77's rating of their experience of Delpaso: (1/5) on 8 August 2019

No problems it cost 57pence for a week yes 57pence we couldn’t believe it

City/airport: Malaga

Mopar's rating of their experience of Delpaso: (5/5) on 6 July 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Total scammers avoid at all cost, I would pay a bit extra next time to go with a better more reputable company!! Check other reviews their ‘business’ plan is to totally rip you off when you arrive to collect your card! AVOIDDD Once you arrive to collect your pre-booked car take pictures of every part of the car as they will try and charge you if you don’t have a picture even if the damage was there when up picked the car up. They even check the date and time of when the picture was taken and if it is after 1 hour of collection they won’t accept it! Once you receive your documents shown the condition of the car will show no marks or dents however there will be many issues and they will tell you it’s fine just take pictures. This calm approach is NOT the same when you return the car. They try and force you to pay their insurance €160 even though I had taken this out with an independent broker. They will say it’s €300 for a broken window, €400 for a scratch etc to make your scared! If you don’t take it they will then take a large deposit of €1300 with a further €150 for a ‘Fuel deposit’. The woman at the desk then told me I wouldn’t get this back even though it was a deposit all because I didn’t take their own inflated insurance full. There is a petrol station right next to the hire company to fill the tank up. I even gave the car a wash for €2 to save them moaning about this. At the end it’s not worth the stress for going with the cheaper option! It’s the cheapest price for this reason as they will try and con you once you arrive with many tactics - 0 STARS

City/airport: Malaga

Jerry's rating of their experience of Delpaso: (1/5) on 12 May 2019

First they came up with their policy of returning the car as empty as possible, so they can charge you a full tank at absurd prices (50 liter tank * diesel €1,24 --> charged € 84) and a 40 euro (!) "fuel admin fee". Then they tried to sell me their insurance. If I didn't take it, I had to take it into account to return the car an hour earlier, because "it had to be thoroughly inspected". They also tried to rent me a Seat full of damage, but luckily I dicovered the heavy damage to the underbody of the vehicle in time. Nobody attended our pick up but if you fail to photograph any of the damage before you leave their parking, you're f...ed.

City/airport: Malaga

G de Vader's rating of their experience of Delpaso: (1/5) on 3 May 2019

I can't believe these people are allowed to operate such a scam. Reading through the reviews, I realise it is a well planned act they pull on anyone who doesn't buy Delpaso's own extortionally high priced additional insurance. I arrived with the insurance provided through my hire process ( Ryanair email). Wouldn't take a debit card so decided to use my wife's credit card ( we've been married 21 years). They refused saying it had to be in the driver's name. Asked to change the driver name to myself, offering to pay for admin fees if needed. They didn't want to know. I kept my calm, up to a certain extent, but told them I was being robbed for a technicality. I was then told that the car was not going to be hired to me and that the shuttle would take us back to the airport. No refunds obviously... I didn't want this to happen of course, so had to grovel my way back into their good books, which annoyed me the most, in order not to lose the car and probably a whole day of our mini holiday... Ended up paying the extra 160 pounds for their own insurance. When we got the car, it had a large scratch on the side. I ran back into the office and told them. I was told that they knew and not to worry... I took a dated photo luckily. When we arrived at our friends', we were told countless stories of rip offs by a handful of Spanish companies. I then had a quick read of Delpaso reviews and couldn't believe that a hustle on such a large scale could be legal... Needless to say it slightly tainted my holiday. I now knew that returning the car would be another challenge and wasn't looking forward to it. We decided to get to Delpaso's really early ( meaning we lost quite a few hours of a very precious few days off) in order to return the car. They tried every trick to make us pay for the scratch that was there upon pick up. Luckily I had taken a picture! The plan was obviously to relieve us of the 300 euros deposit. I can see how people would give up easily in order not to miss their flight but having anticipated this, it wasn't our case. Total scammers. I will be doing my homework before hiring now but it shouldn't be that way. The company was linked to a ryanair email. That same ryanair email made us pay for extra insurance, giving the impression it was by the same company... But then coming from Ryanair, I'm only half surprised. I hope one day Delpaso gets taken to court by someone with a bit of time and money or by some type of class action so they can be shown up for what they are...

City/airport: malaga

phil's rating of their experience of Delpaso: (1/5) on 14 April 2019

Determined to find small mark and charge for it.... Cheap rental turned out expensive, fortunately I was able to claim on excess insurance.

City/airport: Malaga

Stevie D's rating of their experience of Delpaso: (1/5) on 13 April 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

DO NOT USE. Terrible. Long wait & very unpleasant staff & they force you in to buying their rip off insurance & fuel as they alternative is being stuck without a car. Spread the word about avoiding them: no-one should have to be treated like we & everyone in the (very long & angry queue) were.

City/airport: Malaga

Julia's rating of their experience of Delpaso: (1/5) on 24 October 2018

Not worth 1 star. Booked this company through Expedia with insurance on the vehicle. When arrived at the pick-up (which was 30 minutes away from the airport) they wouldn't let me take the car without purchasing additional insurance from them. Their response: "Maybe you can call your insurance you already purchased and cancel that". Worst service I have received in my life.

City/airport: Malaga

Julio's rating of their experience of Delpaso: (1/5) on 18 August 2018

Very helpful

City/airport: Malaga

Simon's rating of their experience of Delpaso: (5/5) on 8 April 2018

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE READ THIS PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE READ THIS. Don’t ruin your holiday before it starts. I honestly think that if Hell has a car hire company in it then it would be Delpaso. Even queuing up I was getting worried. Listening to the conversations. One family in one corner arguing with them about money taken from their account and others, one after the other, being forced into paying for the extra insurance of 185 euros. Staff were saying that any mark or scratch of any kind would be chargeable. Signs overhead saying it would cost 600 euros for a replacement window screen and other signs saying it takes half an hour to return a car so they can examine it. When we finally got to the desk, by now very worried, we told a scary woman we didn’t want their insurance. Her response was to say that my husbands card was not working (even though we successfully used it immediately before and after arriving there) and she wouldn’t take my card (even though the card number etc was the same). She refused to give her name just told us to go away and no we couldn’t have our money back and if we had a problem with that to contact DoyouSpain our broker. So we had no car, we lost 110 euros and there were queues of people everywhere. What a horrible start to a holiday. Nasty, nasty people.

City/airport: Malaga

DELPASO, NASTY, NASTY, NASTY's rating of their experience of Delpaso: (1/5) on 3 April 2018

Once the hire company realised I already had excess insurance the agent’s tone changed completely and they proceeded to demand a further €1200 deposit on my credit card. On returning the vehicle they tried to charge me for every single knock and scratch on it and only when I produced photographic evidence that the damage was on the vehicle when I picked it up did they back down and refund my deposit. It was clear from the start that they wanted to sell me their insurance policy which, for 3 days hire, was more than the annual policy with Insure My Excess. Delpaso gave poor service, and I would not hire from them again in the future.

City/airport: Malaga

Simon's rating of their experience of Delpaso: (1/5) on 1 April 2018

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Them and us attitude with onus on proof of damage on hirer. Clear implication that extortionate charges would apply as listed in a leaflet unless hire company excess insurance taken. Intimidatory.

City/airport: Malaga

Delboy's rating of their experience of Delpaso: (1/5) on 12 February 2018

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

GANGSTERS....On collection of an Opel Corsa with over 60,000km on the clock. I was handed a rental agreement which did not out line any damage to the vehicle and advised by the assistant to record video or photos of any found. There was no requirement for me to point this out to him prior to leaving. The vehicle was in a clean condition and had some minor dents and scratches around the complete vehicle as would be expected of this type of car. I took pictures of the most severe looking damage which was not at all that bad and because it was covered in numerous scratches around the entire car I then produced a short video. My wife who was also present walked around the vehicle and saw scratches and dents. During the weeks rental I was not involved in any accident and did not observe any further dents or scratches caused to the bodywork. On return the vehicle was inspected by a female assistant who informed me that there was further damage caused to the vehicle on both near and offsides. She pointed out to me a dent on the front offside. This was the most serious dent on the vehicle and I had taken a photo of it prior to leaving and she RELUCTANTLY agreed that it was old damage. She was unable to produce any documentation showing what damage was detailed prior to my rental. She then pointed out a scratch (minimal) at the rear right door. I took a photo of this said damage. As there had been numerous scratches I did not have a photo and the video was unable to fully see this because of the sun glare. I informed her that the scratch which in my opinion could be t-cut out was already on the vehicle on collection as also agreed by my wife. The assistant who refused to give me her name only stated that her manager was Alex and did not know his surname. She produced a typed written statement outlining the damage and asked me to sign. As I believed this to be an admission of liability I declined. I was informed that the sum of e300 would be taken from my credit card and that this should be regarded as a smaller sum than required as they stated the damage covered at least two panels and should have been considerably more! Taking into account the amount of other scratches on the vehicle it is very unlikely that they would be making any repairs. I have rented numerous vehicles throughout England and Spain over the years and have never experienced such a blatant attempt to procure money falsely. As I had an annual excess policy I had not taken out there insurance at over e125. The cost of the rental via enjoy car hire on line was e33.61. Another male assistant whom I initially dealt with on collection stated “What do you expect for 34 euro?”. I am of the belief that this WHOLE CHARADE was because I had not taken out their insurance. Following making written complaints and threatening them with the credit card disputes team they reimbursed the e300.......NEVER AGAIN.

City/airport: malaga

Gangsters...never again's rating of their experience of Delpaso: (1/5) on 22 July 2017

If you do not take out the full insurance with Delpaso it is your responsibility to take as many photos of the car as possible before taking it away from the site. If you miss the slightest scratch they will charge you €363 per scratch. If you are picking the car up at night it is very difficult to see every single mark on the car...but on return if you don't have a photo taken on pick up of a scratch they find, they will charge you! I took 25 photos. They found two scratches I did not have photos for. I was charged. I have used them before and paid the full insurance and it was no problem. They do not check cars with full insurance when you take them back. Therefore the onus on anyone using reduce my excess is to do a thorough search of the car for the slightest scratch or damage before you leave delpaso premises. This can take over an hour. So my advice is...take the full insurance with delpaso or be prepared to waste over an hour taking photos of every bit of the car. I'm still waiting for reduce my excess to reply to my claim after 8 days. At the moment I don't know if they will refund my €363 so my verdict is don't use delpaso unless you take their full insurance as I can't comment on whether or not paying £40 to reduce my excess was worth it. I will either get a refund through reduce my excess or I am out of pocket by £400. It would have been easier, less hassle and stress to have just paid the £100 insurance with delpaso.

City/airport: Malaga

Karen B's rating of their experience of Delpaso: (1.5/5) on 23 June 2017

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Fleeced by Del Paso. They "found" two very minor blemishes on the office doors (so small I couldn't successfully photograph the "damage") and then charged me 750 Euros for the repairs!

City/airport: Malaga

Convert to Malagacarhire.com's rating of their experience of Delpaso: (1/5) on 23 June 2017

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Excellent product and service. Don't waste money purchasing overseas as it will cost you! A definite must and comes highly recommended!

City/airport: malaga

Sam O's rating of their experience of Delpaso: (5/5) on 23 June 2017

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

If you have any comments or concerns about a review listed here please contact us for assistance.