Delpaso Reviews

Have you hired a car from Delpaso recently? Why not submit a review of your experiences to help others?
Delpaso's Rating:
3.1/5 based on 31 reviews
5 stars
11
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
9
Save money on your car hire! Get the best cover for your
Car Hire Excess Insurance
Pulled the 'your credit card does not show your full christian name, initials only- so no good' trick to avoid renting me the car after I declined their costly insurance (for which the same card was acceptable). AVOID!

City/airport: malaga

MME's rating of their experience of Delpaso: (1/5) on 29 March 2020

Thanks once again for another first-class car hire last week. Usual quick pick-up at airport and office and very quickly on our way. Always buy the "full pack insurance" so you're covered for absolutely everything. Many thanks to Aby at Delpaso for her usual help and correspondence. Much appreciated. See you again on March 29th Andrew Whitehead

City/airport: Malaga Airport

Andrew Whitehead's rating of their experience of Delpaso: (5/5) on 5 March 2020

Absolute crooks.. YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED..... Unless you fall for their full insurance... You will get shafted !!

City/airport: Malaga

Me's rating of their experience of Delpaso: (1/5) on 19 February 2020

Staff at both pick up and drop off were the most friendly and helpful I've ever encountered. Unfortunately I don't remember individual names but the woman at pick up quickly showed me to my car, looked over everything with me to make sure I was okay with it, and was very pleasant to deal with.

City/airport: Malaga

Peter Evans's rating of their experience of Delpaso: (5/5) on 19 February 2020

Good service. Staffs were very friendly. I have gone for full protection and road side assistance as peace of mind was very important for me. Car was in good condition and never had an issue. Pickup and drop off processes were smooth and fast.

City/airport: Malaga

Erik's rating of their experience of Delpaso: (5/5) on 4 November 2019

If I could give a minus 10 I would. Absolutely deplorable company. We booked a car as we have done previous times. we arrived late due to late flight, however they were issued with flight details when we booked, also we had to wait over 30 mins for the Delpaso bus to collect us . Every thing seemed fine when we got to the desk and all paperwork was given to the agent. He seemed happy, then he started to try to sell us their insurance which we did not want , but he kept pestering us . Eventually when realising we were not going to take the insurance he then said we could not have a car because we were late and also our credit card (which they had taken numerous times before with no problems) was unacceptable as it had only the initials and not full name as per booking. Basically they left us up S##t Street without a paddle very late at night with a disabled child. Dropped us back at the airport to try to find another car. I can only say they is a reason why they are so cheap so if you book with them be prepared to be shafted at one time or another

City/airport: Malaga

Tex's rating of their experience of Delpaso: (1/5) on 9 October 2019

Excellent service. I have rent a new volkswagen golf for less than 5€/day

City/airport: Malaga

John455's rating of their experience of Delpaso: (5/5) on 1 October 2019

Good experience. We hired a Fiat Tipo, Car was new and with low miles.

City/airport: Malaga

Anthony66's rating of their experience of Delpaso: (4.5/5) on 1 October 2019

Good experience. All without problems. We will back.

City/airport: Malaga AGP

Alain's rating of their experience of Delpaso: (4.5/5) on 26 September 2019

Fantastic car hire place, we have used them a couple of times now and always quick and efficient!! Always best to pay the extra insurance so you can drive stress free. Ignore the bad reviews about extra payment, these are only due to them thinking the can hire a car for 20€ a week which is not possible anywhere else in europe!! Will be using them again in January when we are next over there.

City/airport: Malaga airport

Amylou's rating of their experience of Delpaso: (4.5/5) on 25 September 2019

Good company, with good prices.

City/airport: Malaga

David_56's rating of their experience of Delpaso: (5/5) on 25 September 2019

Great value for money. 100% recommendable

City/airport: Malaga

george22surrey's rating of their experience of Delpaso: (5/5) on 23 September 2019

Shocking company

City/airport: Malaga

MDent's rating of their experience of Delpaso: (1/5) on 12 September 2019

My husband and I have used Delpaso Car Hire for years now and been very happy with the service received. We have only had one problem with a car and it was exchanged the same day . The staff are very friendly and helpful and the shuttle bus to and from the airport is every few minutes We hire a car every 4-6 weeks and look forward to our next visit in 2 weeks A. Bentley

City/airport: Malaga

Tondi's rating of their experience of Delpaso: (4.5/5) on 25 August 2019

Operating very sharp and unethical practice. On 6/6/2019 I paid online for full insurance through Discover Car Hire and received a voucher for my car hire. Upon arrival at Del Paso Car Hire in Malaga I was told that the voucher (which I'd paid for) was not evidence of having purchased full coverage! I spent some time querying this with the desk operator but he insisted that the voucher was not valid and that I must pay €162 to drive the vehicle fully covered. He said the voucher was just commission. I later contacted Discover Car Hire by phone who confirmed that the voucher was valid and that I should not have been charged more than the outstanding balance (€50) as stated on the paperwork. The voucher provided by Discover Car Hire clearly states that it is supplied by Del Paso Car Hire. Over the following days there were a number of email exchanges between myself and Del Paso Car Hire during which I tried to resolve the issue but at every attempt they refused to acknowledge my voucher. I am now pursuing my claim through Section 75 of the Consumer Credit Act as I paid by Credit Card and this is clearly misrepresentation. This is appalling service from Del Paso Car Hire - especially as I had my two children with me - had I not have had my credit card with me they would've left us stranded at the airport.

City/airport: Malaga

Bear77's rating of their experience of Delpaso: (1/5) on 8 August 2019

No problems it cost 57pence for a week yes 57pence we couldn’t believe it

City/airport: Malaga

Mopar's rating of their experience of Delpaso: (5/5) on 6 July 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Total scammers avoid at all cost, I would pay a bit extra next time to go with a better more reputable company!! Check other reviews their ‘business’ plan is to totally rip you off when you arrive to collect your card! AVOIDDD Once you arrive to collect your pre-booked car take pictures of every part of the car as they will try and charge you if you don’t have a picture even if the damage was there when up picked the car up. They even check the date and time of when the picture was taken and if it is after 1 hour of collection they won’t accept it! Once you receive your documents shown the condition of the car will show no marks or dents however there will be many issues and they will tell you it’s fine just take pictures. This calm approach is NOT the same when you return the car. They try and force you to pay their insurance €160 even though I had taken this out with an independent broker. They will say it’s €300 for a broken window, €400 for a scratch etc to make your scared! If you don’t take it they will then take a large deposit of €1300 with a further €150 for a ‘Fuel deposit’. The woman at the desk then told me I wouldn’t get this back even though it was a deposit all because I didn’t take their own inflated insurance full. There is a petrol station right next to the hire company to fill the tank up. I even gave the car a wash for €2 to save them moaning about this. At the end it’s not worth the stress for going with the cheaper option! It’s the cheapest price for this reason as they will try and con you once you arrive with many tactics - 0 STARS

City/airport: Malaga

Jerry's rating of their experience of Delpaso: (1/5) on 12 May 2019

First they came up with their policy of returning the car as empty as possible, so they can charge you a full tank at absurd prices (50 liter tank * diesel €1,24 --> charged € 84) and a 40 euro (!) "fuel admin fee". Then they tried to sell me their insurance. If I didn't take it, I had to take it into account to return the car an hour earlier, because "it had to be thoroughly inspected". They also tried to rent me a Seat full of damage, but luckily I dicovered the heavy damage to the underbody of the vehicle in time. Nobody attended our pick up but if you fail to photograph any of the damage before you leave their parking, you're f...ed.

City/airport: Malaga

G de Vader's rating of their experience of Delpaso: (1/5) on 3 May 2019

I can't believe these people are allowed to operate such a scam. Reading through the reviews, I realise it is a well planned act they pull on anyone who doesn't buy Delpaso's own extortionally high priced additional insurance. I arrived with the insurance provided through my hire process ( Ryanair email). Wouldn't take a debit card so decided to use my wife's credit card ( we've been married 21 years). They refused saying it had to be in the driver's name. Asked to change the driver name to myself, offering to pay for admin fees if needed. They didn't want to know. I kept my calm, up to a certain extent, but told them I was being robbed for a technicality. I was then told that the car was not going to be hired to me and that the shuttle would take us back to the airport. No refunds obviously... I didn't want this to happen of course, so had to grovel my way back into their good books, which annoyed me the most, in order not to lose the car and probably a whole day of our mini holiday... Ended up paying the extra 160 pounds for their own insurance. When we got the car, it had a large scratch on the side. I ran back into the office and told them. I was told that they knew and not to worry... I took a dated photo luckily. When we arrived at our friends', we were told countless stories of rip offs by a handful of Spanish companies. I then had a quick read of Delpaso reviews and couldn't believe that a hustle on such a large scale could be legal... Needless to say it slightly tainted my holiday. I now knew that returning the car would be another challenge and wasn't looking forward to it. We decided to get to Delpaso's really early ( meaning we lost quite a few hours of a very precious few days off) in order to return the car. They tried every trick to make us pay for the scratch that was there upon pick up. Luckily I had taken a picture! The plan was obviously to relieve us of the 300 euros deposit. I can see how people would give up easily in order not to miss their flight but having anticipated this, it wasn't our case. Total scammers. I will be doing my homework before hiring now but it shouldn't be that way. The company was linked to a ryanair email. That same ryanair email made us pay for extra insurance, giving the impression it was by the same company... But then coming from Ryanair, I'm only half surprised. I hope one day Delpaso gets taken to court by someone with a bit of time and money or by some type of class action so they can be shown up for what they are...

City/airport: malaga

phil's rating of their experience of Delpaso: (1/5) on 14 April 2019

Determined to find small mark and charge for it.... Cheap rental turned out expensive, fortunately I was able to claim on excess insurance.

City/airport: Malaga

Stevie D's rating of their experience of Delpaso: (1/5) on 13 April 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

DO NOT USE. Terrible. Long wait & very unpleasant staff & they force you in to buying their rip off insurance & fuel as they alternative is being stuck without a car. Spread the word about avoiding them: no-one should have to be treated like we & everyone in the (very long & angry queue) were.

City/airport: Malaga

Julia's rating of their experience of Delpaso: (1/5) on 24 October 2018

Not worth 1 star. Booked this company through Expedia with insurance on the vehicle. When arrived at the pick-up (which was 30 minutes away from the airport) they wouldn't let me take the car without purchasing additional insurance from them. Their response: "Maybe you can call your insurance you already purchased and cancel that". Worst service I have received in my life.

City/airport: Malaga

Julio's rating of their experience of Delpaso: (1/5) on 18 August 2018

Very helpful

City/airport: Malaga

Simon's rating of their experience of Delpaso: (5/5) on 8 April 2018

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE READ THIS PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE READ THIS. Don’t ruin your holiday before it starts. I honestly think that if Hell has a car hire company in it then it would be Delpaso. Even queuing up I was getting worried. Listening to the conversations. One family in one corner arguing with them about money taken from their account and others, one after the other, being forced into paying for the extra insurance of 185 euros. Staff were saying that any mark or scratch of any kind would be chargeable. Signs overhead saying it would cost 600 euros for a replacement window screen and other signs saying it takes half an hour to return a car so they can examine it. When we finally got to the desk, by now very worried, we told a scary woman we didn’t want their insurance. Her response was to say that my husbands card was not working (even though we successfully used it immediately before and after arriving there) and she wouldn’t take my card (even though the card number etc was the same). She refused to give her name just told us to go away and no we couldn’t have our money back and if we had a problem with that to contact DoyouSpain our broker. So we had no car, we lost 110 euros and there were queues of people everywhere. What a horrible start to a holiday. Nasty, nasty people.

City/airport: Malaga

DELPASO, NASTY, NASTY, NASTY's rating of their experience of Delpaso: (1/5) on 3 April 2018

Once the hire company realised I already had excess insurance the agent’s tone changed completely and they proceeded to demand a further €1200 deposit on my credit card. On returning the vehicle they tried to charge me for every single knock and scratch on it and only when I produced photographic evidence that the damage was on the vehicle when I picked it up did they back down and refund my deposit. It was clear from the start that they wanted to sell me their insurance policy which, for 3 days hire, was more than the annual policy with Insure My Excess. Delpaso gave poor service, and I would not hire from them again in the future.

City/airport: Malaga

Simon's rating of their experience of Delpaso: (1/5) on 1 April 2018

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

If you have any comments or concerns about a review listed here please contact us for assistance.