Budget Reviews

Have you hired a car from Budget recently? Why not submit a review of your experiences to help others?
Budget's Rating:
3.8/5 based on 161 reviews
5 stars
40
4 stars
16
3 stars
10
2 stars
3
1 star
8
Save money on your car hire! Get the best cover for your
Car Hire Excess Insurance
Highly recommended. I don't have any issues.

City/airport: Katowice

Tomasz's rating of their experience of Budget: (5/5) on 11 March 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Thank you Budget for your compassion shown to myself when I explained that we were attending the funeral of my wifes mother.Not only having to bear that amount of grief but also learning that our airline Flybe had gone bust stranding us.After contacting budget and asking to return the car to derry airport instead of our original belfast city airport the answer was NO.My daughter phonrd you also and explained the circumstances but again NO.Beware of this company a true beacon of compassion.

City/airport: belfast city airport

tomt's rating of their experience of Budget: (1/5) on 7 March 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

I booked a flight from Birmingham to Belfast and included car hire via Easyjet (Budget) as we have always done in the past. When we arrived in Belfast we went to the Budget desk with a credit card, car voucher and drivers licence as requested. We where asked for pre authorisation on the card which we have had to do in the past. We have always just signed for this but Budget wanted a pin. We have never needed to use a pin before and haven't got one for this card. We offered to use a different credit card or to pay the money by debit card and get a refund if there was no damage on return of the vehicle. Both of these offers were declined. We were also asked for £1100, where the documentation stated £1000. We had to wait 3 hours at the airport to arrange alternative travel. I went to the Eurocar and Enterprise to see if I could hire a car, they agreed we could without a pin but they had no cars available due to it being half term. We asked the lady at budget for the phone number to contact easyjet. She gave us two numbers. The first was +3434999600 which didn't work and the second was 08456820193 which had closed for the day. I waited until the next day to phone. I rang the 0845 number given to me by Budget and was kept on hold and transferred 3 times. The call lasted over 2 hours and 30 minutes. I checked my phone bill and this call has incurred a extra £60! On eventually getting through I was told this wasn't the correct number, which was given to me by Budget. This was the second incorrect number they had given me. This additional cost of £60 wasn't even necessary. I eventually got another number for car trawler who offered very little sympathy. There was no refund given and we had no car whilst on holiday. We were left stranded on a 9 day holiday without a car and a disabled passenger. The terms and conditions state may need a pin. This is not a definite statement and therefore is optional. The additional cover we requested from yourselves was not used and yet more money wasted. Not down to yourselves though. 0 rating from us for Budget though!

City/airport: Belfast International

Geb's rating of their experience of Budget: (1/5) on 25 February 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

It took 90 minutes in a queue to get the car. Had to wait 15 minutes for a shuttle bus back to terminal. Car had 60,000 km on clock. Worked fine and service good once the waiting was done.

City/airport: Ben Gurion

Master's rating of their experience of Budget: (1/5) on 25 February 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Simple pick up and return.Nice car.

City/airport: belfast city airport

tomt's rating of their experience of Budget: (5/5) on 21 February 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Service very good but car not so good also tank was not totally full

City/airport: Cape Town

Kiltie's rating of their experience of Budget: (3.5/5) on 14 February 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Very good, very polite and fast service at knock. Took a whole 10 minutes and I had my keys and on my way! They also take photos of the car so no lengthy car inspections when picking up the car so easy to get in and drive off...very happy customer

City/airport: Knock

Rogerb's rating of their experience of Budget: (4.5/5) on 14 February 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Nice car Peugeot 308 estate and very reasonable cost. Easy collection from the airport at Gibraltar. Just a short walk over the border to pick up in the car park which saves queuing at the border check point if you are driving into Spain as we did.

City/airport: Gibralter

Cliff's rating of their experience of Budget: (5/5) on 13 February 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Brilliant quick no hassle

City/airport: Nante

Marcowayboy's rating of their experience of Budget: (5/5) on 6 February 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Decent car, polite friendly staff have always found them to be good

City/airport: Belfast

Lorgol's rating of their experience of Budget: (4/5) on 3 February 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Quick pickup and return with great service.

City/airport: Belfast

JBA's rating of their experience of Budget: (5/5) on 21 January 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Easy to arrange, did not need to use as no damage to car.

City/airport: Belfast international airport

Jackie's rating of their experience of Budget: (5/5) on 13 January 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Great efficient and quick service. No pushy sales stuff and nice new clean car

City/airport: Belfast City Airport

DavyWavy's rating of their experience of Budget: (4.5/5) on 7 January 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Adequate

City/airport: Knock

Alan H's rating of their experience of Budget: (2.5/5) on 6 January 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

It is quick to buy online. Email confirmation was sent immediately. No hassle. However, i am not sure how good they are when it comes to claimimg. I bought the insurance excess for peace of mind and it is definately cheaper than buying from the car hiring co.

City/airport: Dublin

Ohdear's rating of their experience of Budget: (4/5) on 6 January 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Efficient but car was smaller than expected.

City/airport: Gothenburg Airport

Jozef's rating of their experience of Budget: (3/5) on 3 January 2020

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

very slow to actually complete process at desk when collecting car

City/airport: cape town

knarf's rating of their experience of Budget: (3.5/5) on 26 December 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

When we arrived at the desk at airport the staff member was very polite and explained all the details of our hire car would recommend a visit and use the hire company

City/airport: Belfast international

Laza's rating of their experience of Budget: (5/5) on 10 December 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Price cheap. Customer service nil. Avoided eye contact, no greeting and no attempt to rectify issues when Brought up.

City/airport: Dublin

Padsyer's rating of their experience of Budget: (2.5/5) on 9 December 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Quick and easy service

City/airport: Dublin

Traveller's rating of their experience of Budget: (4.5/5) on 15 November 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Really easy and no problem at all.

City/airport: Bristol

Delta94's rating of their experience of Budget: (5/5) on 14 November 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Asked at desk when collecting car if they offered a fuel option so I could pay for tank of gas and return it empty. They said yes so I duly paid the extra. Returned car nearly empty and when I returned back to UK get a final statement through from Budget and find they have charged me a refuelling levy! Have argued the toss with them for the last 7/8 months and even giving them photographic proof of payment they refuse to refund the levy and now simply do not answer my emails. Do not touch this lot with a barge pole they are robbers!

City/airport: Auckland

Geordie traveller's rating of their experience of Budget: (1/5) on 7 November 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Friendly staff, reasonably priced but very basic car with lots of marks on the body.

City/airport: Dublin

JB's rating of their experience of Budget: (3/5) on 30 October 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Not the best, could not provide the exact sized car ordered and took ages to get back a refund due from them.

City/airport: Truro

Mazdaman's rating of their experience of Budget: (3/5) on 27 October 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Simple to book. Easy pick up. No hard sale of extra insurance. Simple drop off and check over of car. Car as expected and in good condition. No problems.

City/airport: Splir

Cauliflowerhead's rating of their experience of Budget: (4.5/5) on 26 October 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

If you have any comments or concerns about a review listed here please contact us for assistance.