Budget Reviews

Have you hired a car from Budget recently? Why not submit a review of your experiences to help others?
Budget's Rating:
3.9/5 based on 102 reviews
5 stars
53
4 stars
27
3 stars
12
2 stars
2
1 star
8
Save money on your car hire! Get the best cover for your
Car Hire Excess Insurance
Excellent. Easy to find. Quick service.

City/airport: belfast international

wk's rating of their experience of Budget: (5/5) on 12 June 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Very easy to deal with and I had no issues. I first had a booking with Easyrent but after reading the terrible reviews of that company I decided to change to a more reliable company and I am happy it all went well.

City/airport: manchester train station

Sandero's rating of their experience of Budget: (4.5/5) on 12 June 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

very friendly and efficient

City/airport: belfast

bedders's rating of their experience of Budget: (4.5/5) on 11 June 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

smooth process

City/airport: zakynthos

pete's rating of their experience of Budget: (4.5/5) on 10 June 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Excellent service very efficent

City/airport: London Standstead

Kerrbear's rating of their experience of Budget: (4.5/5) on 10 June 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Excellent, speedy service with great car selection and on airport collection

City/airport: Larnaca

SaintDPC's rating of their experience of Budget: (4.5/5) on 10 June 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Easy pick up at airport and drop off

City/airport: Milan

Tab's rating of their experience of Budget: (4/5) on 8 June 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Two problems: 1. Low battery warning on the keycard. It was the only means of entry and starting of the car. Had to go to YouTube to discover how to change the battery. I would have been stranded had I not done so. Budget should have picked this up before handing me the car. 2. Understandedly there were longish queues at the pick up. This was not the problem. It was not obvious that one needed to selected a ticket to acquire a place in the queue. The monitor displayed the ticket number being processed and the preceding numbers that had been processed. What it needed to show is where you were in the queue. I was quite happy to wait the 20 to 25 mins if I knew that's what it was.

City/airport: Lisbon

Scruffy's rating of their experience of Budget: (3/5) on 4 June 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Poor quality car. Bit old and beaten up. Abs and engine management dashboard warning lights came on after not very many miles.

City/airport: Shannon

Wevs's rating of their experience of Budget: (2/5) on 3 June 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Ok but as all Spanish car hire companies trying their very best to get more money from you

City/airport: Las Palmas

Dusty's rating of their experience of Budget: (4.5/5) on 2 June 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Car suited our needs. Picking it up was confusing - their ticketing system sent 3 numbers to the same service desk at the same time. Everything else was ok.

City/airport: Faro airport

Si's rating of their experience of Budget: (4/5) on 1 June 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

The checkin process was very bad, although the car received was in a good condition and overall rental was satisfactory. We waited almost 2 hours to get our car at the Bologna airport. Firstly, even though there are clear signs for different car companies (eg Avis, Busget, etc), there is only queue with ticketing system. However, there is no sign that you need to get a ticket and lots of people, us included, stand in the queue into their rental company’s desk to then realise they needed a ticket! Secondly, the workers were very slow with paperwork.

City/airport: Bologna

dmpv's rating of their experience of Budget: (3/5) on 26 May 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

we were told that we had caused damage to the car ? but we solved this problem because we had taken photos of when we picked the car up

City/airport: Valencia

chefgazza's rating of their experience of Budget: (2.5/5) on 23 May 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Rude counter clerk. Particularly when they realised I did not want to take out Budgets additional insurance

City/airport: Oakland

John's rating of their experience of Budget: (1/5) on 23 May 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Pretty efficient, quickly met on arrival back at the airport for vehicle check.

City/airport: Nantes

JB's rating of their experience of Budget: (4/5) on 13 May 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

If I could give Budget 0 stars I would. When collecting the car, I specifically said I DO NOT want any extras, no road side assistance, no nothing. I return home and I have seen a charge of £188 more than what I agreed to. 'You agreed in the written contract' - I would think after saying to the man 'I do not want any extras, I do not want to pay any more than I am already paying' , that he would listen to me and tick the correct box I had asked him to, not tick something else knowing there is a charge and therefore stealing £188 from me. The customer service team first offered me 15% of the money back, then 30%, then 50. So they clearly could have refunded me for the service I DID NOT ASK FOR, but wouldn't. Terrible. I will NEVER rent from Budget again.

City/airport: los angeles

emma crompton's rating of their experience of Budget: (1/5) on 2 May 2019

Easy and quick , little walk to the car into Spain , but that saved queueing up to cross the border

City/airport: Gibraltar

Laurencefahey's rating of their experience of Budget: (5/5) on 22 April 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

I expected a 'Budget' car hire service from this company. Surprisingly the service was 5* and the car was immaculate. Highly recommended!

City/airport: Newcastle

Tree Hugger's rating of their experience of Budget: (5/5) on 15 April 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

There was a short line before sorting out the car. They changed the car for us from a hatchback to saloon.

City/airport: Austin Texas.

DbmB's rating of their experience of Budget: (4/5) on 13 March 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Excellent

City/airport: nimes

ali's rating of their experience of Budget: (4/5) on 12 March 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Fair, straightforward and helpful

City/airport: Brisbane

DCI's rating of their experience of Budget: (4/5) on 3 March 2019

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

All very easy and straightforward with very pleasant staff at Dublin airport.

City/airport: Dublin airport

Lkilby's rating of their experience of Budget: (4/5) on 31 July 2018

One star is far fetched for our experience. Appalling. Budget. Stripping you of all satisfaction. During our experience on a trip to Sicily in Italy on arrival we had to wait over 1 1/2 hours to be served at the counter with no/little organisation as to how long the wait would be or where the paperwork was that had to be filled out before reaching the desk. There were no chairs or tables. As for reaching the desk we had no apology for the time taken or appreciation for our wait. Staff were trying to up sell cars as well as insurance which understandably lead to customers being confused and waiting much longer. Our initial response is to deny all add ons as paying for insurance outside of the company is much cheaper and less time consuming yet this still had a knock on effect on waiting times. Once finding our car we realised how unexpectedly small it was. We paid for the economy which included the fiesta/Yaris or similar. Yet we achieved to be given a Fiat panda, which on advertisement was deceptively advertised in the lower priced category which we had originally intended to avoid. Once we picked up the car we were told we would have to check it over for damage. As usual we had expected this yet the sheet given showed no previous marks on the car in comparison to us finding scratches, dents, scuffs on the bumper, wing mirrors, car doors, wheel arches and boot. Simultaneously we went to the desk to advise them, as we had been told to do so, on the damage found to the car to receive a very impolite welcome. The man didn’t check over the car himself looking drowsy at the marks we had pointed out whilst agitatedly muttering “small damage doesn’t matter” continuously. In direct comparison to this on other occasions we have always taken photos and recorded any damage which was previously on the car for evidence. To our dismay the car was dirty inside and out, making the task of seeing all damage difficult and time consuming it seemed almost certain we would miss a little thing, alternatively “small damage doesn’t matter” and with pointing out the main areas we left. With 3 adults in the car aswell as 2 cases and hand luggage the squeeze was hardly comfortable. After a week we returned to the car hire to be met by another unwelcoming member of staff. To surprisingly check the car over for us indirect comparison to our arrival. Barely checking the car body he checked the left hand side along with the fuel which was fine. Then made a direct route to the windscreen which had just been cleaned complementary to buying our fuel (looking much cleaner than when we got the car). To find a hairline chip which may have been there prior to our hire but was dirty therefore wasn’t drawn to our attention. The size of the chip was no bigger than the end of a sharp pencil and was not visible from driving on the inside. We also struggled to see the chip on the photos we took after it being drawn to our attention. We never heard a chip hit the windscreen as usual but the man argued that it could have been done when parked even though it was parked in a hotel car park with the bonnet facing the garden area under no trees. Now we await the charge of budget not offering even an applicable service on the credit card. In short.... * Dire customer service * Confusion on car size/type * No organisation upon arrival * Staff uninterested * A service which doesn’t deserve the star or your time If you decide to go with Budget just take into consideration the limiting factors for comfort, ease and stress free travels.

City/airport: Catania

2018's rating of their experience of Budget: (1/5) on 26 July 2018

No problems with car hire after original car had minor fault

City/airport: Portsmouth

Davo's rating of their experience of Budget: (4.5/5) on 21 July 2018

A great company, easy to talk to and very reasonable prices

City/airport: Eastbourne

Murtle's rating of their experience of Budget: (4/5) on 31 May 2018

If you have any comments or concerns about a review listed here please contact us for assistance.