Budget Reviews

Have you hired a car from Budget recently? Why not submit a review of your experiences to help others?
Budget's Rating:
4.0/5 based on 81 reviews
5 stars
44
4 stars
21
3 stars
9
2 stars
1
1 star
6
Save money on your car hire! Get the best cover for your
Car Hire Excess Insurance
All very easy and straightforward with very pleasant staff at Dublin airport.

City/airport: Dublin airport

Lkilby's rating of their experience of Budget: (4/5) on 31 July 2018

One star is far fetched for our experience. Appalling. Budget. Stripping you of all satisfaction. During our experience on a trip to Sicily in Italy on arrival we had to wait over 1 1/2 hours to be served at the counter with no/little organisation as to how long the wait would be or where the paperwork was that had to be filled out before reaching the desk. There were no chairs or tables. As for reaching the desk we had no apology for the time taken or appreciation for our wait. Staff were trying to up sell cars as well as insurance which understandably lead to customers being confused and waiting much longer. Our initial response is to deny all add ons as paying for insurance outside of the company is much cheaper and less time consuming yet this still had a knock on effect on waiting times. Once finding our car we realised how unexpectedly small it was. We paid for the economy which included the fiesta/Yaris or similar. Yet we achieved to be given a Fiat panda, which on advertisement was deceptively advertised in the lower priced category which we had originally intended to avoid. Once we picked up the car we were told we would have to check it over for damage. As usual we had expected this yet the sheet given showed no previous marks on the car in comparison to us finding scratches, dents, scuffs on the bumper, wing mirrors, car doors, wheel arches and boot. Simultaneously we went to the desk to advise them, as we had been told to do so, on the damage found to the car to receive a very impolite welcome. The man didn’t check over the car himself looking drowsy at the marks we had pointed out whilst agitatedly muttering “small damage doesn’t matter” continuously. In direct comparison to this on other occasions we have always taken photos and recorded any damage which was previously on the car for evidence. To our dismay the car was dirty inside and out, making the task of seeing all damage difficult and time consuming it seemed almost certain we would miss a little thing, alternatively “small damage doesn’t matter” and with pointing out the main areas we left. With 3 adults in the car aswell as 2 cases and hand luggage the squeeze was hardly comfortable. After a week we returned to the car hire to be met by another unwelcoming member of staff. To surprisingly check the car over for us indirect comparison to our arrival. Barely checking the car body he checked the left hand side along with the fuel which was fine. Then made a direct route to the windscreen which had just been cleaned complementary to buying our fuel (looking much cleaner than when we got the car). To find a hairline chip which may have been there prior to our hire but was dirty therefore wasn’t drawn to our attention. The size of the chip was no bigger than the end of a sharp pencil and was not visible from driving on the inside. We also struggled to see the chip on the photos we took after it being drawn to our attention. We never heard a chip hit the windscreen as usual but the man argued that it could have been done when parked even though it was parked in a hotel car park with the bonnet facing the garden area under no trees. Now we await the charge of budget not offering even an applicable service on the credit card. In short.... * Dire customer service * Confusion on car size/type * No organisation upon arrival * Staff uninterested * A service which doesn’t deserve the star or your time If you decide to go with Budget just take into consideration the limiting factors for comfort, ease and stress free travels.

City/airport: Catania

2018's rating of their experience of Budget: (1/5) on 26 July 2018

No problems with car hire after original car had minor fault

City/airport: Portsmouth

Davo's rating of their experience of Budget: (4.5/5) on 21 July 2018

A great company, easy to talk to and very reasonable prices

City/airport: Eastbourne

Murtle's rating of their experience of Budget: (4/5) on 31 May 2018

The car was clean t

City/airport: Knock

Toystory35's rating of their experience of Budget: (4/5) on 5 May 2018

Very friendly staff gave clear instruction on return our flight was cancelled due to snow had to rebook car for one day the staff went out of there way, would recommend to friends and family

City/airport: Belfast George Best

Laurie's rating of their experience of Budget: (5/5) on 19 April 2018

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

I get excellent value going through a car hire clearing site.

City/airport: Belfast

Vaka's rating of their experience of Budget: (4.5/5) on 9 April 2018

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Smooth car rental from Budget but the excess insurance provided by Reduce my excess was unsatisfactory.

City/airport: Beirut

Tommy's rating of their experience of Budget: (4/5) on 4 April 2018

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Great service at check in friendly nice clean car no hassle at pick up or drop off.

City/airport: Dublin

Wexford's rating of their experience of Budget: (4.5/5) on 3 April 2018

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Quick service on pick up and drop off with an upgrade included. No issues with car condition at drop off.

City/airport: Paphos

Bluebear68's rating of their experience of Budget: (4.5/5) on 28 March 2018

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Booked a qashqai and was upgraded to a Kia Sorrento pick up was easy, car was superb, though would have liked some instruction on controls. Return was a breeze though no check round with their staff which makes me nervous so we took photos of vehicle.

City/airport: Salzburg

Fishy's rating of their experience of Budget: (4.5/5) on 21 March 2018

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Car was good and all went well. Few things - when you tell the car hire company you are going into a ski resort they almost force you to hire a car with winter tyres and snow chains. If the weather is good this is totally unnecessary. The way they push you to upgrade is uncalled for and they have no understanding of the resorts and its requirements but will still tell you how necessary it is. Lack of honesty. Also when dropping car off, there was no one to check the car. This leaves it open to any damage until they check it.

City/airport: Geneva

Johny81's rating of their experience of Budget: (2.5/5) on 27 February 2018

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Friendly staff. Spotless car although I did ask for an air freshener - as I thought maybe someone had been smoking in the car -which they supplied immediately . Straightforward pick up and drop off.

City/airport: Shannon

Lulu B's rating of their experience of Budget: (5/5) on 12 December 2017

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Good car at a good rate. Good service. One satisfied customer.

City/airport: Birmingham

BAH's rating of their experience of Budget: (3.5/5) on 4 December 2017

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

easy to use website, made clear what is covered and quick purchase of insurance with policy documents sent immediately. would highly recommend

City/airport: Shannon

sarah17's rating of their experience of Budget: (5/5) on 19 November 2017

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Good car, good value for money

City/airport: Belfast

SH's rating of their experience of Budget: (5/5) on 19 November 2017

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Initially booked with Ezirent but they were a nightmare to deal with so I switched to Budget. They've always been great.

City/airport: Glasgow

Scott's rating of their experience of Budget: (5/5) on 9 November 2017

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

A good, value for money service

City/airport: Belfast City airport

Samson's rating of their experience of Budget: (4/5) on 25 October 2017

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

What an easy and hassle free experience - only 15 minutes between arriving and driving off. Drop off was the same, painless experience. A very different proposition to sixt who we used last year and will never use again!

City/airport: Faro airport

Bdabowd's rating of their experience of Budget: (5/5) on 20 October 2017

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Relatively straightforward pickup and drop off process. Unfortunately the car was rather dirty inside....clean enough on the outside but had to ask for the inside to be cleaned again. Even after the second attempt to clean the inside it was still rather dirty.

City/airport: San Francisco

Al's rating of their experience of Budget: (3/5) on 17 October 2017

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Excellent value, good car and quick turnaround at desk. No complaints at all and highly recommended.

City/airport: Zadar

DamienTT's rating of their experience of Budget: (5/5) on 12 October 2017

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Good service

City/airport: Belfast international Airport

Ger's rating of their experience of Budget: (4/5) on 3 October 2017

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Very good service from Budget car hire

City/airport: Schiphol

BobBobbers's rating of their experience of Budget: (4.5/5) on 27 September 2017

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Chose Budget to take advantage of an Aeroplan promotion. On arrival, staff asked if we would mind a different vehicle, as the class we'd booked wasn't available. Turns out we went from a basic 4 door economy to a Jeep SUV! Very smooth ride. SatNav was nice, but not very up-to-date--seemed to have some new road developments but not others. Staff very efficient, despite some office equipment not working. No hidden surprises after the rental. Would use them again.

City/airport: halifax

mel's rating of their experience of Budget: (4.5/5) on 25 September 2017

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

a very good service

City/airport: cork airport

jc's rating of their experience of Budget: (5/5) on 22 September 2017

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

If you have any comments or concerns about a review listed here please contact us for assistance.