Alamo Reviews

Have you hired a car from Alamo recently? Why not submit a review of your experiences to help others?
Alamo's Rating:
4.0/5 based on 64 reviews
5 stars
32
4 stars
20
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 star
5
Save money on your car hire! Get the best cover for your
Car Hire Excess Insurance
Alamo stole $293 from my credit card for a satellite GPS that I supposedly did not return. $293!! I asked the employee at the airport what to do with it when returning car and was told to leave it in the car. Alamo charged to my card several days after getting home. Zero response from Alamo "customer services" after phoning USA 3 times and being told they would get back to me within 24 hours on each occasion. There are far better trustworthy car rental companies you can use.

City/airport: new orleans

Behonest's rating of their experience of Alamo: (1/5) on 12 October 2018

Car pick-up and drop-off were both handled efficiently and were hassle free with no queuing even though it was peak season (late July) and mid-afternoon. The staff were really friendly and very helpful and I got a free upgrade (the lady even wrote 'free upgrade' on the form to allay my concern that I may be charged later on for the upgrade). I was asked if i wanted to purchase their excess insurance. I explained that I'd already bought this from a 3rd party supplier and this was accepted with no attempt to pressure me unlike some previous hire companies I've dealt with. I was taken to the car which was fairly new and in nice condition and shown all the little bumps and scratches that they had made a note of. I did find more which they added to their notes and I was positively encouraged to take as many photos as I wanted for my peace of mind. Unlike previous hire companies which have taken typically around €1200 deposit on my credit card, Alamo only took €50 (yes fifty!). When I returned the car the lady made a quick check of the car inside and out, also confirming that I'd refilled the fuel tank, and refunded me the €50 straightaway. This was my first experience with Alamo. I will definitely use them again. They weren't the cheapest but were fairly priced. For my 2 week hire I could have saved £100+ by going with the cheap companies that I wouldn't touch with a bargepole having read their awful feedback. I could have paid £100+ more for one of the big names but I can't see how they could have been any better than Alamo. Overall it was a really good experience and I highly recommend Alamo.

City/airport: Barcelona El Prat

Baadraad's rating of their experience of Alamo: (5/5) on 14 August 2018

At last a car hire company that plays fair! Drew a 6" line and a circle on the rental agreement and said if any scratches smaller than the circle on the body and length wise on the bumper would be ignored as normal wear and tear!

City/airport: heraklion

judopete's rating of their experience of Alamo: (5/5) on 25 June 2018

Excellent streamlined reception - enthusiastic staff (Victorio) Upgraded both cars hired without additional costs - returning vehicles could not be smoother, on a rushed morning - keep it up.

City/airport: Mao airport (Menorca)

Dark Knight's rating of their experience of Alamo: (5/5) on 19 June 2018

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

No problems. Friendly service and no attempt to sell me last minute unwanted extras or to suggest I'd damaged the vehicle

City/airport: Vancouver

Keith's rating of their experience of Alamo: (4/5) on 22 May 2018

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

I found this company to be friendly and efficient, no trying to sell me extra insurance which I didn’t need. Good car which did what we wanted an efficient relaxed return of the car

City/airport: Corfu

Chris's rating of their experience of Alamo: (5/5) on 18 May 2018

Upon arrival at the service desk, the only thing they wanted to do was sell me overpriced insurance and a more expensive vehicle. I declined both so they gave me no information as to where to collect the car from. Upon returning the car, they found a chip on the windscreen and a scratch along the rear which they tried to bill me for. Fortunately, I took photographs of the car before taking it and could prove the chip and scratch were there already. They said they couldn't understand how these had not been recorded before!

City/airport: Frankfurt

Red Fox's rating of their experience of Alamo: (1/5) on 16 May 2018

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

I used Reduce my excess as it was the best quote for the required cover, the website was very easy to use. I was lucky enough not to need it. I will be using Reduce my excess again.

City/airport: Paphos

Andrew Bristow's rating of their experience of Alamo: (4/5) on 14 April 2018

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Did as it said. Nice car. Helpful staff no more than you would expect .

City/airport: Rome Fumicino

NOONE's rating of their experience of Alamo: (5/5) on 3 April 2018

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Good hire, easy collect and return , no issues

City/airport: john wayne

holidayusa's rating of their experience of Alamo: (4/5) on 8 March 2018

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

The car was what was ordered. All went well.

City/airport: Munich

JD's rating of their experience of Alamo: (5/5) on 18 February 2018

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Fantastic efficient staff. Quick process and vehicle waiting for us. Car had snow tyres fitted at no extra cost and no pushy sales pitch for insurances after I told them I already purchased. Great price will definately book again.

City/airport: KEFLAVIK

Matty D's rating of their experience of Alamo: (5/5) on 4 February 2018

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Easy to use and book. Excellent customer Service. Will definitely use again

City/airport: Edinburgh

Loxwood's rating of their experience of Alamo: (5/5) on 8 January 2018

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Great vehicles and were flexible and helpful around hurricane time

City/airport: Philadelphia

Linger's rating of their experience of Alamo: (4/5) on 26 December 2017

Alamo, there cheap for a reason, despite ordering a certain size of car they tried to off load one 1/2 the size! a few choice words had the situation resolved. Like i said their cheap for a reason!

City/airport: Kona Hawaii

pete's rating of their experience of Alamo: (2/5) on 11 December 2017

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Excellent car and service found car straight away even though it was a big car park very polite and friendly customer service

City/airport: Orlando

Sim's rating of their experience of Alamo: (4.5/5) on 30 October 2017

Polite and efficient company.

City/airport: Carpiquet

Shirley's rating of their experience of Alamo: (4/5) on 23 October 2017

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

All smooth and easy.

City/airport: Corfu

Lozza's rating of their experience of Alamo: (4/5) on 14 October 2017

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Very good service all round.

City/airport: Montreal

Leafpeeper's rating of their experience of Alamo: (4/5) on 12 October 2017

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Can't fault Alamo/Enterprise at this location - on the doorstep of the train station, car ready within 10 minutes of arrival and they even upgraded me to a Citroen C5 diesel at no extra charge. Return was just as easy to the exact same pick-up spot - after checking over the car I was on my way into the train station again 10 minutes or so after parking.

City/airport: Avignon Gare TGV

Kingotheroad's rating of their experience of Alamo: (5/5) on 8 October 2017

Showed this policy to the vultures at the desk who were trying to sell me there's at approx £275 they looked and said fine!!!!! Still that was cheaper than the tour operator who wanted £320 on a 'free hire car included' in the package. People look around these policies save you a packet are easy to apply for and don't be intimidated by salespeople and tour operators freebies which aren't free...

City/airport: Orlando

IEM's rating of their experience of Alamo: (5/5) on 6 October 2017

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

The reduce my excess gave us peace of mind that if we should damage the car or have an accident we would be covered. Also,it was alot cheaper than the excess insurance offered by hire car company. Fortunately we didn't have to make a claim,so not sure how well that process is? However,when the policy came to an end there was no hard sell to get us to keep it going. Staff were very friendly & polite.

City/airport: Los Angeles

Ross's rating of their experience of Alamo: (3.5/5) on 29 September 2017

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Collection fine even though had to wait 1hour, staff polite. Burst tyre advised covered and to purchase new one and would be repaid on drop off at las vegas. They refused jumping from one excuse to another whilst also being very rude. Came away in tears with no refund. Having to sort out now back home. No concern for the safety of the car or our welfare. Nightmare

City/airport: san francisco

amy's rating of their experience of Alamo: (1/5) on 26 September 2017

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

Fast efficient check in via automated desk helpful friendly staff

City/airport: Miami

Gerry's rating of their experience of Alamo: (4.5/5) on 13 September 2017

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

The car was fine. However, I collected the car from Bilbao train station and arranged to return it to Bilbao airport. I was given NO instructions on how to find where to return the car. It turned out that I had to find the Enterprise office in the carpark basement which had a barrier and needed payment to enter. This is awful when you do not speak Spanish (as I don't).

City/airport: Bilbao

Clive's rating of their experience of Alamo: (1.5/5) on 7 September 2017

Verified ReduceMyExcess customer

If you have any comments or concerns about a review listed here please contact us for assistance.